The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

ben3003
post Sep 3 2013, 01:39 PM

10,859 posts

kk i will try later.. but i getting this ultra dma crc error or something like tat at SMART.. say wat maybe cable problem?

this is i plug into my mobo SATA3 port

this is i plug into SATA2 port

please advice.. my fren also got the same result, i dunno wat he plug la but he just got his desktop 1 week ago.. i5 4670, b85 chipset i think, asrock also. sorry, i searched the net, it says that both sata2 and sata3 is controlled by z68 chipset.. so if like that more weird...

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 3 2013, 04:28 PM
1024kbps
post Sep 3 2013, 06:18 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 2 2013, 10:08 PM)
seems like i m not alone in this case, refer here, will try some suggestions later, now not at home

the ssd is for my pc. in bios post the ssd is not detected until i remove the dvdrw rclxub.gif
weakened rm, sigh... i bought mine rm330
I got the same problem too, my mobo wont boot to SSD unless i select one of my bootable thumbdrive sweat.gif
it happens every time i update BIOS, my mobo is Asus doh.gif
if you dont OC, just reset your bios setting to optimal settting and select SSD as boot drive again, it always worked for me.
sotong168
post Sep 3 2013, 08:49 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Sep 3 2013, 06:18 PM)
I got the same problem too, my mobo wont boot to SSD unless i select one of my bootable thumbdrive sweat.gif
it happens every time i update BIOS, my mobo is Asus doh.gif
if you dont OC, just reset your bios setting to optimal settting and select SSD as boot drive again, it always worked for me.
today i clear cmos as suggested and attach ssd (port0)> dvdrw (port1) > hdd (port2) one by one, seems ok at first but then happened again after reboot (ssd disappeared), last resort is to detach the dvdrw and problem gone completely. mine is gigabyte ga-h87n-wifi & plextor m5s, both already flashed with the latest firmware.

some suggested to detach other hdd during os installation, i will give it a try for my next wins8.1 update in oct, for the time being just need to bare with no odd, anyhow not a big deal as i rarely use dvdrw actually, and furthermore i hv external odd.
huzzLEE_82
post Sep 4 2013, 08:46 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

happened to me b4...
just make sure SSD got separate connector from psu...
do not use molex extender (it gots 4 wires only compared to 5 wires from psu connector)
else as recommended in replied above
wildwestgoh
post Sep 4 2013, 09:42 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2013, 01:39 PM)
kk i will try later.. but i getting this ultra dma crc error or something like tat at SMART.. say wat maybe cable problem?

this is i plug into my mobo SATA3 port

this is i plug into SATA2 port

please advice.. my fren also got the same result, i dunno wat he plug la but he just got his desktop 1 week ago.. i5 4670, b85 chipset i think, asrock also. sorry, i searched the net, it says that both sata2 and sata3 is controlled by z68 chipset.. so if like that more weird...
Ok, use Intel SATA2, no need to think too much, you'll never utilize that high sequential read in daily usage so don't worry too much about SATA2 speed, it seems the 3rd party chipset is not optimized.
When you see the access time, it's obvious Intel chips is a clear winner, access time is 2nd to 4K read/write most important point to consider your SSD setup, it'll determine how much time to write data back to SSD which will eventually affect the 4K write, the Intel SATA port even has better access time for 4K read and access time, so there's no more doubt if you want to continue using your current system.

Intel SATA FTW!!

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 3 2013, 08:49 PM)
today i clear cmos as suggested and attach ssd (port0)>  dvdrw (port1) > hdd (port2) one by one, seems ok at first but then happened again after reboot (ssd disappeared), last resort is to detach the dvdrw and problem gone completely. mine is gigabyte ga-h87n-wifi & plextor m5s, both already flashed with the latest firmware.

some suggested to detach other hdd during os installation, i will give it a try for my next wins8.1 update in oct, for the time being just need to bare with no odd, anyhow not a big deal as i rarely use dvdrw actually, and furthermore i hv external odd.
I wonder if it's BIOS issue in certain board, just like certain server BIOS of which it'll boot into removable drive even with the HDD attached, and some BIOS even has trouble setting the HDD as the default boot drive.
I'm not too sure about your mainboard settings so you might need to takes time to dive into every single possible settings to find out about certain keywords as below:
Boot removable drive
Priority boot
Delay boot/start
... that's all I can know of. sweat.gif
Try different settings such as disable Boot removable drive (USB/DVD drive??), Priority boot the normal drive boot setup, Delay boot/start to delay few seconds to allow system to fully detect other hardware before start booting.

Good luck!
ben3003
post Sep 4 2013, 11:36 AM

10,859 posts

Oh ok.. but wat i mean is i found out later my SATA3 port is also intergrated in z68 chipset, meaning to say it is also an intel controller.. but why sata3 score sucks so bad ><
skylinelover
post Sep 4 2013, 05:36 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

i just found out my OS HDD suddenly got so many bad sectors on the brink of dying off soon...i am planning 2 replace it with either 256GB or 512GB ssd...i want 2 know is it overkill getting either size just 2 installing the windows only hmm.gif hmm.gif
shohoku_14
post Sep 4 2013, 06:59 PM

89 posts

sifu... wanna ask a bit...
my laptop is ASUS A53SV-SX053V.. can i change to my HDD to SSD??
wildwestgoh
post Sep 5 2013, 09:06 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 4 2013, 05:36 PM)
i just found out my OS HDD suddenly got so many bad sectors on the brink of dying off soon...i am planning 2 replace it with either 256GB or 512GB ssd...i want 2 know is it overkill getting either size just 2 installing the windows only hmm.gif hmm.gif
128GB is enough for OS only, you can also install most resource hungry programs in it.
But if you plan to install Games on it as well and plenty of them, then go for 256GB if you can afford it.

QUOTE(shohoku_14 @ Sep 4 2013, 06:59 PM)
sifu... wanna ask a bit...
my laptop is ASUS A53SV-SX053V.. can i change to my HDD to SSD??
Yes you can, but I can't be sure about the hard disk height on that model, is the 750GB 9mm in height? If so then you can install almost every SSD in the market right now, if 7.5mm will need to fork more for some models, wonder why they tend to be much expensive. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Sep 5 2013, 09:09 AM
TShmwgbworld
post Sep 5 2013, 11:37 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 5 2013, 09:06 AM)
Yes you can, but I can't be sure about the hard disk height on that model, is the 750GB 9mm in height? If so then you can install almost every SSD in the market right now, if 7.5mm will need to fork more for some models, wonder why they tend to be much expensive. hmm.gif
Because the manufacturing cost is higher for 7mm/slim ones i suppose laugh.gif . Quite similar to other things like smartphone that tend to be more expensive with slim design.
xyz_cityhunter
post Sep 5 2013, 09:53 PM

238 posts

Add me into the list, Intel 520 240GB icon_idea.gif
Here's my SSD speed test
@skyhawk@
post Sep 6 2013, 01:11 PM

447 posts

need suggestion for 256gb ssd... any reliable brand?and all ssd comes with international warranty?coz im planning to use in my laptop and cont my study in uk.... any suggestion?
nuttyking91
post Sep 7 2013, 01:08 AM

961 posts

Intel X-25m 160gb running in my LAPTOP since swapping my HDD out almost 2 years ago! Never look back since then. SSD FTW!
AaronFPS
post Sep 7 2013, 10:09 AM

1,657 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Sep 6 2013, 01:11 PM)
need suggestion for 256gb ssd... any reliable brand?and all ssd comes with international warranty?coz im planning to use in my laptop and cont my study in uk.... any suggestion?
Better buy @ UK
Samsung 840

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-Series-250...e/dp/B009LI7C9Y

This post has been edited by AaronFPS: Sep 7 2013, 11:51 AM
skylinelover
post Sep 7 2013, 11:50 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 5 2013, 09:06 AM)
128GB is enough for OS only, you can also install most resource hungry programs in it.
But if you plan to install Games on it as well and plenty of them, then go for 256GB if you can afford it.
haha cool...i think i will choose 256gb ssd then...currently i using 100gb hdd just 4 OS only...better 2 double upgrade just 2 make it valuable laugh.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Sep 6 2013, 01:11 PM)
QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Sep 7 2013, 10:09 AM)
Better buy @ UK
Samsung 840
haha yeah mang...hardware in UK is very dirt cheap...you work in mcdonalds part time 4 few months already can buy a decent ssd already laugh.gif rclxms.gif
@skyhawk@
post Sep 7 2013, 05:59 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Sep 7 2013, 10:09 AM)
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 7 2013, 11:50 AM)
haha yeah mang...hardware in UK is very dirt cheap...you work in mcdonalds part time 4 few months already can buy a decent ssd already laugh.gif rclxms.gif
err...r u sure cheap?? coz if convert the price around 700....same price with here rght?? summore I heard price for electronic part mostly very expensive, coz tax very expensive... sweat.gif sweat.gif

btw, currently I c many ppl suggest Samsung and Plextor ssd...nobody suggest intel anymore? a few years back I think intel ssd very2 popular and reliable, 0% failure rate... hmm.gif
skylinelover
post Sep 7 2013, 06:48 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Sep 7 2013, 05:59 PM)
err...r u sure cheap?? coz if convert the price around 700....same price with here rght?? summore I heard price for electronic part mostly very expensive, coz tax very expensive... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

btw, currently I c many ppl suggest Samsung and Plextor ssd...nobody suggest intel anymore? a few years back I think intel ssd very2 popular and reliable, 0% failure rate... hmm.gif
adoi...you dont convert larh...dollar 2 dollar is freaking cheap laugh.gif say SSD for 128gb is only 100 pounds + VAT 20 pounds...you need 2 work part time 4 1 month there and you can buy 128gb SSD already with some spare change rclxms.gif unlike malaysia part time you cannot buy any thing at all doh.gif what you get here is peanuts which is not enough rclxub.gif

intel was the first company ever 2 make SSD but when so many company make SSD with better performance intel is history already haha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Sep 7 2013, 06:52 PM
sotong168
post Sep 11 2013, 05:29 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 4 2013, 09:42 AM)
I wonder if it's BIOS issue in certain board, just like certain server BIOS of which it'll boot into removable drive even with the HDD attached, and some BIOS even has trouble setting the HDD as the default boot drive.
I'm not too sure about your mainboard settings so you might need to takes time to dive into every single possible settings to find out about certain keywords as below:
Boot removable drive
Priority boot
Delay boot/start
... that's all I can know of. sweat.gif
Try different settings such as disable Boot removable drive (USB/DVD drive??), Priority boot the normal drive boot setup, Delay boot/start to delay few seconds to allow system to fully detect other hardware before start booting.

Good luck!
i managed to re-produce the hiccup and there is a temporary workaround (99.9% success rate) for my case sweat.gif
>> if i let socket switch remains 'ON' (supply to PSU), then power-ON PC, i would hv SSD disappears issue.
>> to overcome this, switch 'OFF' main switch, switch it 'ON' and power ON PC almost simultaneously, with that issue resolved whistling.gif
jakuraz
post Sep 11 2013, 08:29 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

hi guys. im currently using crucial m4 256gb, bought last year. works very efficiently.
now i gonna buy another ssd for other laptop. now which ssd is the best? looking for best bang for buck (price to performance ratio)
marfccy
post Sep 11 2013, 10:29 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Sep 11 2013, 08:29 PM)
hi guys. im currently using crucial m4 256gb, bought last year. works very efficiently.
now i gonna buy another ssd for other laptop. now which ssd is the best? looking for best bang for buck (price to performance ratio)
Crucial M500 perhaps?

the 960GB one best bang for buck whistling.gif

128 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:30 AM