Looking for NGFF M.2 SSD which length is 42mm (max)
Any choice in market right now?
Planning using for cache drive in my Y410P
The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
Aug 30 2013, 04:42 PM
3,102 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang *̡͌l̡*̡̡ |
Looking for NGFF M.2 SSD which length is 42mm (max)
Any choice in market right now? Planning using for cache drive in my Y410P |
Aug 30 2013, 06:16 PM
1,327 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 30 2013, 01:10 PM) Yes, you can do that if you want to, you can retrieve your data from the other HDD after you have installed your Windows 8 but beware that sometimes Windows may detect another active drive (boot partition/volume) at your other HDD if connected on the same board (SATA) and it may just add up to your boot up list. I just installed a new win8 on the ssd, now i can sorta dual boot. win8 on ssd and win7 on hdd. Anyway, you just need to install Windows 8 using just the SSD along to prevent something like above happen then plug-in your HDD into your system after you have installed the OS, not sure if it'll still detect the active partition or not but worth a try After that, well, just continue copy data from that HDD, wipe the HDD clean then re-format and use it as normal HDD. now i have to reinstall all my programs and drivers on my win8. any tips how to reinstall the drivers automatically? or do i have to download and install it one by one? |
Aug 30 2013, 09:10 PM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
Aug 30 2013, 09:45 PM
3,102 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang *̡͌l̡*̡̡ |
Aug 30 2013, 09:50 PM
559 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 30 2013, 01:10 PM) Don't think create partition will do any wear down harm, I did mine like 60/59 (119GB formatted) to keep my other portable programs + documents in another drive for easy OS re-installation. Thanx for reply bro Just wonder if create partition will actually impact the overall performance, that's the real question here, hope some sifu here can answer this, doing this myself is kind of time consuming. |
Aug 31 2013, 09:17 PM
6,012 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Aug 30 2013, 06:16 PM) I just installed a new win8 on the ssd, now i can sorta dual boot. win8 on ssd and win7 on hdd. You have to download and install one by one, that's i always download and save it on data HDD.now i have to reinstall all my programs and drivers on my win8. any tips how to reinstall the drivers automatically? or do i have to download and install it one by one? no need to redownload everything if PC components went fubar. Although windows update can install driver for you automatically, but they usually ONLY install drivers, do not expect it will install the extra software/utilities/GUI for you |
Sep 1 2013, 07:14 PM
Hi guys, Im running win8 on a 8gb ram system.
My question is that is page file required? for now my page file is set to automatic and theres 4.6gb of page file. Since I heard that if my ram is alot, i don't really need page file. Is that true? |
Sep 1 2013, 10:47 PM
5,291 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: I Luv Msia |
hi all, it seems like the plextor m5s not "ngam" with either lg dvdrw or ga-h87n-wifi mobo; fyi, the ssd is a boot drive.
my problem is whenever lg dvdrw is attached, during boot-up, the screen (at times) will prompted me "reboot or insert boot media" error, the root cause is due to the ssd gone missing in bios post This post has been edited by sotong168: Sep 1 2013, 10:48 PM |
Sep 1 2013, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 1 2013, 10:47 PM) hi all, it seems like the plextor m5s not "ngam" with either lg dvdrw or ga-h87n-wifi mobo; fyi, the ssd is a boot drive. From what i know, it seems like theres some problem with the boot priority..my problem is whenever lg dvdrw is attached, during boot-up, the screen (at times) will prompted me "reboot or insert boot media" error, the root cause is due to the ssd gone missing in bios post You might have to set ssd as 1st boot priority. Anyway, whats the benefit of ram caching? will it really speed up the speed? |
Sep 1 2013, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 1 2013, 11:21 PM) From what i know, it seems like theres some problem with the boot priority.. spoon-feed me pls You might have to set ssd as 1st boot priority. Anyway, whats the benefit of ram caching? will it really speed up the speed? |
Sep 1 2013, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 1 2013, 11:40 PM) spoon-feed me pls Like i said, i dont know much about this. I just started setting up my ssd a few days ago.So i cant help you much..Maybe you can try unplug the dvd where it can sense the ssd, then from the bios, set the ssd as the 1st to boot? |
Sep 2 2013, 09:47 AM
2,215 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 1 2013, 07:14 PM) Hi guys, Im running win8 on a 8gb ram system. You can, if you don't really utilize the RAM for extreme purpose such as photoshop huge image and I mean seriously huge (couple of mega-pixels with tons of effects) and plenty of them all at once.My question is that is page file required? for now my page file is set to automatic and theres 4.6gb of page file. Since I heard that if my ram is alot, i don't really need page file. Is that true? Gaming wise, there's already a game (Lost Planet 3) require 8GB RAM so I'm not too sure if leaving pagefile-less would crash it? (Sifu please continue....) QUOTE(sotong168 @ Sep 1 2013, 11:40 PM) spoon-feed me pls Check the BIOS for every single available drive when you bootup with all drive plugged-in.Btw, what's your PC? Desktop? Laptop? I haven saw such event where one drive will disappear unless it's the PATA era (Master/Slave jumper) where you must set the jumper carefully. Please also do some camera shots for all the drives list, so we do know what's exactly happened inside your BIOS, with everything plugged-in of course. |
Sep 2 2013, 06:53 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
i just installed plextor m5s 128gb, but the plextools cannot recognize it.. what might be the problem?
and my benchmark is like this.. the value is abit off for write i believe.. other ppl benchmark get around 200MB/s.. is there something wrong with my SSD? just bought few days ago This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 2 2013, 07:16 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 2 2013, 08:02 PM
559 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Harga Plextor M5S 128GB dah naik... Nasib baik aku sempat beli harga murah..
fuhhhh~~~ |
Sep 2 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 2 2013, 09:47 AM) Check the BIOS for every single available drive when you bootup with all drive plugged-in. seems like i m not alone in this case, refer here, will try some suggestions later, now not at homeBtw, what's your PC? Desktop? Laptop? I haven saw such event where one drive will disappear unless it's the PATA era (Master/Slave jumper) where you must set the jumper carefully. Please also do some camera shots for all the drives list, so we do know what's exactly happened inside your BIOS, with everything plugged-in of course. the ssd is for my pc. in bios post the ssd is not detected until i remove the dvdrw QUOTE(lok3i @ Sep 2 2013, 08:02 PM) weakened rm, sigh... i bought mine rm330This post has been edited by sotong168: Sep 2 2013, 10:51 PM |
Sep 2 2013, 11:20 PM
anyone plz help? anything wrong with my reading? the ssd is on sata3 tho.. but not direct intel one cos my z68 mobo don have direct intel controller on sata3..
Sep 3 2013, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 2 2013, 11:20 PM) anyone plz help? anything wrong with my reading? the ssd is on sata3 tho.. but not direct intel one cos my z68 mobo don have direct intel controller on sata3.. Have you tried steps below? (Please use AS SSD in all benchmarks)1. Latest chipset drivers on the SATA port that you installed. 2. Tested with optimization yet? Benchmark 1 before and 1 after to rectify if it helps. 3. How about benchmark on Intel SATA? Also, please list your exact mainboard model (revision if available) + others hardware installed if possible. |
Sep 3 2013, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Sep 3 2013, 10:33 AM) Have you tried steps below? (Please use AS SSD in all benchmarks) my driver all after install windows 8 then i straight test. optimization done based on the website provided at 1st page. i think my mobo don have intel sata, the intel one is sata2. my mobo is ASRock Z68 Pro 3, revision i cant be sure.1. Latest chipset drivers on the SATA port that you installed. 2. Tested with optimization yet? Benchmark 1 before and 1 after to rectify if it helps. 3. How about benchmark on Intel SATA? Also, please list your exact mainboard model (revision if available) + others hardware installed if possible. |
Sep 3 2013, 12:16 PM
44 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Hi, I got an SSD as my boot drive. The problem is my SSD left 2gb free space. Will it reduce the performance of SSD like a normal HDD?
Sep 3 2013, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2013, 12:08 PM) my driver all after install windows 8 then i straight test. optimization done based on the website provided at 1st page. i think my mobo don have intel sata, the intel one is sata2. my mobo is ASRock Z68 Pro 3, revision i cant be sure. Please provide the AS SSD benchmark screen shot then we can go further.Also please do the test on Intel SATA2 port as well, well make it 2 test then one on your SATA3 and one on Intel SATA2, and lets Sifu here judge if you should just use the Intel SATA2. |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:05 PM |