The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

horns
post Jan 17 2015, 12:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 16 2015, 10:58 PM)
Why no one recommends Plextor SSD? sweat.gif
How is the Plextor SSD price in Malaysia? In Singapore here the Plextor SSD M6P price same as 840 EVO, they even gave the external enclosure at first launch.
haha here the price of plextor drives are relatively expensive.

m6p's price is the same as 840 evo?! you're so lucky :/ mlc + ram-caching + 5-year warranty, that's a damn good deal.

ashraf095
post Jan 17 2015, 07:32 PM

1,259 posts

Hi, asking sifu here.. Can i put 7mm ssd into 9.5mm in notebook? I dont have 9.5mm spacer. Will it fit?

Edited: One more thing, i saw people selling oem ssd e.g, micron, liteOn. I tried google it, and those oem brands got a very good score in ssd.userbenchmark. anyone using those ssd?

This post has been edited by ashraf095: Jan 17 2015, 08:01 PM
faisal_smks03
post Jan 17 2015, 08:41 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Jan 17 2015, 07:32 PM)
Hi, asking sifu here.. Can i put 7mm ssd into 9.5mm in notebook? I dont have 9.5mm spacer. Will it fit?

Edited: One more thing, i saw people selling oem ssd e.g, micron, liteOn. I tried google it, and those oem brands got a very good score in ssd.userbenchmark. anyone using those ssd?
I'm using 256GB Micron C400 SSD for 10 months now, still in working condition. Here is the benchmark:

This post has been edited by faisal_smks03: Jan 17 2015, 08:41 PM
horns
post Jan 17 2015, 11:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Jan 17 2015, 07:32 PM)

it will fit. no spacer required usually.

yes i tried liteon previously. for general use, no problem. the reason why oem drives are way cheaper is because the lack of warranty. other than that, they are all good.
S E K A I
post Jan 18 2015, 03:49 PM

391 posts

Hi all, I have a qn.

Just wondering is there any factor that can make your SSD random read and write(IOPS) drop?

I noticed mine dropped significantly after adding a second SSD into my rig.

In my situation, i have a Samsung SSD 840 running for a couple of months and the read and write speed seems normal, but the IOPS dropped. Noticed it after i added a second SSD.

A new Samsung 850 SSD added into the rig, the read and write seems gone haywire, you can see the screenshot. And the IOPS doesn't even reach the standard performance of what Samsung 850 SSD can offer.

Is this all normal or something wrong in my system? Running windows 8.1 64 bit.

This is a benchmark for 850 SSD

This is a benchmark for 840 SSD

S E K A I
post Jan 18 2015, 06:04 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(S E K A I @ Jan 18 2015, 03:49 PM)
Hi all, I have a qn.

Just wondering is there any factor that can make your SSD random read and write(IOPS) drop?

I noticed mine dropped significantly after adding a second SSD into my rig.

In my situation, i have a Samsung SSD 840 running for a couple of months  and the read and write speed seems normal, but the IOPS dropped. Noticed it after i added a second SSD.

A new Samsung 850 SSD added into the rig, the read and write seems gone haywire, you can see the screenshot. And the IOPS doesn't even reach the standard performance of what Samsung 850 SSD can offer.

Is this all normal or something wrong in my system? Running windows 8.1 64 bit.

This is a benchmark for 850 SSD

This is a benchmark for 840 SSD

Nvm. Found the culprit sweat.gif

I enabled the rapid mode and totally forgot about that
mrbob
post Jan 19 2015, 11:13 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 16 2015, 10:58 PM)
Why no one recommends Plextor SSD? sweat.gif
How is the Plextor SSD price in Malaysia? In Singapore here the Plextor SSD M6P price same as 840 EVO, they even gave the external enclosure at first launch.

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 17 2015, 12:12 AM)
haha here the price of plextor drives are relatively expensive.

m6p's price is the same as 840 evo?! you're so lucky :/ mlc + ram-caching + 5-year warranty, that's a damn good deal.

Ditto Plextor is on the Premium level. Malaysia market too small so Plextor rather give way for Samsung and Intel. Sigh... sad.gif

This post has been edited by mrbob: Jan 19 2015, 11:15 AM
1024kbps
post Jan 19 2015, 01:42 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jan 19 2015, 11:13 AM)
Ditto Plextor is on the Premium level. Malaysia market too small so Plextor rather give way for Samsung and Intel. Sigh...  sad.gif
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/converge...bo-4767969.html
Price at first launch, though 840 EVO price already dropped further.
I went to shop yesterday i think they still have the external enclosure left lol sweat.gif

It's so damn cheap you can pretty much forget the external HDD or big capacity thumbdrive, because the later are slower/unreliable and much more expensive doh.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 19 2015, 01:43 PM
horns
post Jan 19 2015, 02:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jan 19 2015, 11:13 AM)

Ditto Plextor is on the Premium level. Malaysia market too small so Plextor rather give way for Samsung and Intel. Sigh...  sad.gif
this is boring :/ previously when m5 series was around, i thought plextor had all the potentials to become one of the best options here.

so far i think idealtech sells quite a number of them. smart choice.

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 19 2015, 01:42 PM)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/converge...bo-4767969.html
Price at first launch, though 840 EVO price already dropped further.
I went to shop yesterday i think they still have the external enclosure left lol sweat.gif

It's so damn cheap you can pretty much forget the external HDD or big capacity thumbdrive, because the later are slower / unreliable and much more expensive  doh.gif
yeah as i explained about this before, big capacity thumb drives simply are not up to the speed of a ssd + enclosure. it's relatively cheaper too with this combo.

for now, i just get some oem drives for this purpose. risky, but i don't have any issues with any of them yet.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 19 2015, 02:20 PM
chinkw1
post Jan 19 2015, 05:46 PM

3,156 posts

Item 1: https://pcdiy.asus.com/2014/07/plextor-m-2-...etter-together/

Item 2: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/plexto...s-ssd,3763.html

Item 1 plug into an M.2 slot in a Z97 mobo is faster or
Item 2 plug into a PCIE slot in a Z97 mobo ?
horns
post Jan 20 2015, 12:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 19 2015, 05:46 PM)
Item 1:   https://pcdiy.asus.com/2014/07/plextor-m-2-...etter-together/

Item 2: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/plexto...s-ssd,3763.html

Item 1 plug into an M.2 slot in a Z97 mobo is faster or
Item 2 plug into a PCIE slot in a Z97 mobo ?
they are the same ssd (pcie 2.0 x2). item 1 is the bare m.2 drive, while item 2 is the same drive mounted on a pcie adapter for compatibility reasons (so that it can be used in mobo's without m.2 slot)

in terms of speed, they are the same.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 20 2015, 12:12 AM
mamasos
post Jan 21 2015, 08:27 AM

176 posts

anyone know where can i get the Samsung XP941, and how must is it?
horns
post Jan 21 2015, 10:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Jan 21 2015, 08:27 AM)
anyone know where can i get the Samsung XP941, and how must is it?
you can get it from ramcity.com.au. note that there is a 10% gst 'discount' for international buyers.

as for the price, it's slightly expensive (double of sata ssd's of the same capacity).
skylinelover
post Jan 21 2015, 12:51 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

[quote=mrbob,Jan 19 2015, 11:13 AM]
[/quote]
Ditto Plextor is on the Premium level. Malaysia market too small so Plextor rather give way for Samsung and Intel. Sigh... sad.gif

[/quote]

Awww dang it doh.gif doh.gif
rurushu
post Jan 21 2015, 01:01 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jan 21 2015, 10:20 AM)
you can get it from ramcity.com.au. note that there is a 10% gst 'discount' for international buyers.

as for the price, it's slightly expensive (double of sata ssd's of the same capacity).
i dont think the price is "slightly expensive" when it costs 2x of SATA SSD of equivalent capacity sweat.gif

but damn.... hope prices for SATA SSDs can come down faster abit... cry.gif cry.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 21 2015, 01:01 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 21 2015, 01:01 PM)
i dont think the price is "slightly expensive" when it costs 2x of SATA SSD of equivalent capacity  sweat.gif

but damn.... hope prices for SATA SSDs can come down faster abit...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Can, but our weak currency doesn't really help much... sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 21 2015, 02:00 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

i dont think the price is "slightly expensive" when it costs 2x of SATA SSD of equivalent capacity  sweat.gif

but damn.... hope prices for SATA SSDs can come down faster abit...  cry.gif  cry.gif
You can always opt for 2X SSD as RAID 0, double capacity, double speed and double the risk rclxms.gif
horns
post Jan 21 2015, 03:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

Oh crap i forgot to edit that part :/

Samsung announced its external ssd drive already. It's based on an usb 3.0 uasp with msata 840 evo (or 850 evo i didnt read clearly) hehe

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 21 2015, 02:00 PM)
You can always opt for 2X SSD as RAID 0, double capacity, double speed and double the risk  rclxms.gif
This alternative guarantees work well also. Since we have more sata ports than we need hehe

skylinelover
post Jan 21 2015, 10:33 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

i predicted the day when big space ssd cheaper is equals when 4k monitors become cheaper laugh.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
iRonTech
post Jan 22 2015, 08:33 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

my transcend ssd after fw update

the Plextor M6e BE

Turbo off

Turbo on

test source