The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
ashraf095
Jan 17 2015, 07:32 PM
Hi, asking sifu here.. Can i put 7mm ssd into 9.5mm in notebook? I dont have 9.5mm spacer. Will it fit?
Edited: One more thing, i saw people selling oem ssd e.g, micron, liteOn. I tried google it, and those oem brands got a very good score in ssd.userbenchmark. anyone using those ssd?
This post has been edited by ashraf095: Jan 17 2015, 08:01 PM
ashraf095
Jan 25 2015, 10:50 PM
i just bought oem ssd, LiteOn L9S 256gb. In crystaldiskinfo i got unknown result. Also, it does not show any temperature reading. Maybe because it doesnt have temp sensor i guess.  Other benchmark seems okay though.
ashraf095
Feb 5 2015, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Feb 5 2015, 01:42 AM) err.. u hav any suggestion for less pricier? How about transcend ssd370 256gb? Anandtech give a good review on it.
ashraf095
Feb 10 2015, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Feb 10 2015, 02:29 PM) This thing is RM380 from C-Zone [attachmentid=4337664] This is essentially Plextor M5 Pro but with 3 years warranty. http://www.overclock.net/t/1453688/liteon-...e-badge-plextorGot a pair of it for RAID 0  LOL i bought it without knowing that is a rebadge of M5 Pro
ashraf095
Feb 12 2015, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 12 2015, 12:31 PM) Where's the Crucial MX100?  Also, do you know what's the flash memory used in the Transcend drive? There's not much information right now, and the quality of flash memory is crucial (no pun intended) for the longevity of SSDs.  About the bolded part - is this already proven by reviewers, or is this an estimate by the manufacturer?  It is stated in spec sheet. I read it on anandtech review. They also recommend transcend 370 over mx100, unless you want low power consumption.
ashraf095
Mar 1 2015, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 1 2015, 01:46 PM) Mind to share your source? jayacom pricelist
ashraf095
Mar 2 2015, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(Kylin @ Mar 2 2015, 08:05 PM) May I know where do you get it below 400?? All I could find are around RM450. Lite-On 900s 256gb at Rm380-399. Basically this is a rebadge of plextor.
ashraf095
Mar 3 2015, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 3 2015, 07:11 PM) weird liteon no firmware for ssd. No firmware from Lite-On website. But, you know what? I googled the model number (LiteOn IT LCS-256L9S) and i found firmware update from Dell website. http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/...?driverId=8YCC5~Looks like Dell also use this ssd in their latitude and precision laptop series.
ashraf095
Mar 3 2015, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 3 2015, 10:12 PM) u try 1st then let us know whether is work or not. i don't own the ssd. No noticeable change in performance and benchmark scores. The only difference I found is in crystaldiskinfo result. Before update, it shows "bad" while now I got "unknown". Seems like they don't have the details about this ssd.