128 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

Vin13
post Nov 15 2014, 01:35 PM

44 posts

I am thinking of doing a bulk order for 'Crucial MX 100 - 256 GB SSD' Any one interested ?
minkha
post Nov 15 2014, 01:38 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Vin13 @ Nov 15 2014, 01:35 PM)
I am thinking of doing a bulk order for 'Crucial MX 100 - 256 GB SSD' Any one interested ?
estimate price?

Vin13
post Nov 15 2014, 01:42 PM

44 posts

RM 400 - RM 410
horns
post Nov 17 2014, 09:36 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

according to hardware.fr, the following are the latest ranking of manufacturers in terms of ssd rate of return (published 6 November 2014):

- Samsung 0.24% (last year 0.54%)
- Intel 0.27% (last year 0.90%)
- Sandisk 0.29% (last year 0.70%)
- Crucial 0.57% (last year 1.08%)
- Kingston 0.63% (last year 0.72%)
- Corsair 0.87% (last year 0.91%)

ssd's with high return rates:
- 3,27% Kingston SSDNow mS200 mSATA 120 GB
- 2,84% Corsair Force GS 240 GB
- 2,54% Corsair Neutron 64 GB
- 1,44% Corsair Force LS 120 GB
- 1,34% OCZ Agility 3 480 GB

120-128 GB 2.5":
- 1,44% Corsair Force LS 120 GB
- 0,70% Crucial M500
- 0,66% Kingston V300
- 0,66% Corsair Force GT
- 0,45% Sandisk Extreme II
- 0,37% Sandisk Ultra Plus
- 0,29% Kingston HyperX 3K
- 0,29% Samsung 840 Pro
- 0,07% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,00% Corsair Neutron
- 0,00% Intel 530
- 0,00% Sandisk SSD

240-256 GB:
- 2,84% Corsair Force GS
- 0,71% Kingston HyperX 3K
- 0,68% Crucial M500
- 0,64% Kingston V300
- 0,49% Sandisk Extreme II
- 0,34% Samsung 840 Pro
- 0,32% Sandisk Ultra Plus
- 0,26% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,00% Corsair Neutron
- 0,00% Intel SSD 335
- 0,00% Intel SSD 530

480-512 GB:
- 1,34% OCZ Agility 3 480 GB
- 0,27% Samsung 840 EVO
- 0,15% Crucial M500

you might wanna check out the conclusions as well. again, this is for reference only.

source: http://www.hardware.fr/articles/927-1/taux...posants-11.html
snnchw88
post Nov 17 2014, 07:02 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 6 2014, 04:50 PM)
Erm, if your posted link is your actual mainboard, it's unfortunately you don't have any SATA3 (6Gbps) port.
SATA2 won't have much difference with your boot time, SSD is always faster than HDD.
The only difference is only the max speed, which is the sequential read/write speed which is advertise by every vendor.
Your best bet is the 4K read/write, that's the most important, it determines your daily usage speed, without compression. wink.gif

According to the link, Intel only provide 6x ports, blue color, connect to that for optimum performance, the black one is JMicron, may slow.
If you do can install your Windows fresh into the SSD and still having BSOD, best is to unplug all other connected devices, like other HDDs, other USB devices other than your necessity, try with the most basic hardware and report here again.
If all fail... erm... maybe try to access and format your SSD using your installed OS on your HDD, it could be just a bad SSD.
And do benchmark from there...  hmm.gif Well, rare case, need more white ratz experiments testing... sweat.gif
Hi, Will,

Like sifu horn suggest, yea.. now in AHCI mode without BSOD by setting the mode to AHCI mode before fresh install the Window 7...

Below is my benchmark test for Sata2 (3Gbps) port :-

Any comment?
wildwestgoh
post Nov 18 2014, 08:13 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 17 2014, 07:02 PM)
Hi, Will,

Like sifu horn suggest, yea.. now in AHCI mode without BSOD by setting the mode to AHCI mode before fresh install the Window 7...

Any comment?
This pretty much sum it up, Kingston is pretty darn slow... kidding aside, that's what you get for using SATA2, still pretty decent for booting and running office programs (Microsoft Office) and light usage on graphics and 3Ds programs.
You won't get the maximum speed, but you're utilizing the potential of response speed, that's the latency between each IO, almost 10x faster than using normal HDD, getting small files over the sea of scattered data is one of the SSD main objective over HDD. wink.gif
horns
post Nov 18 2014, 09:55 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snnchw88 @ Nov 17 2014, 07:02 PM)
Hi, Will,

Any comment?
good to know everything is fine smile.gif

like what wildwestgoh explained, that's normal speed for sata 2. for general use it's still better than hdd.
snowberry
post Nov 22 2014, 05:39 PM

504 posts

guys can recommend me 1 cheap SSD for my OS?

like 80gb/120gb

kelvyn
post Nov 22 2014, 08:31 PM

3,173 posts

Upgrading from HDD to SSD, it is better to reinstall the Windows 7 or to use the cloning way? Any chances of the OS getting corupted, etc?
DeepMemory
post Nov 23 2014, 07:30 AM

1,805 posts

Giys wanna ask what should I do when I want to use my old Intel 320 to upgrade my Acer V3-112p? The laptop does not detect and just show no bootable media. And my SSD seems to come with a bracket that increases the size to 9mm which make it cannot fit but when removed, the ssd falls apart.
horns
post Nov 23 2014, 08:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 22 2014, 05:39 PM)
guys can recommend me 1 cheap SSD for my OS?

like 80gb/120gb
intel 530 120gb. there are also other cheaper brands so please refer to the price lists published online.

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 22 2014, 08:31 PM)
Upgrading from HDD to SSD, it is better to reinstall the Windows 7 or to use the cloning way? Any chances of the OS getting corupted, etc?
the best option is a fresh install. it gets rid of a lot of potential problems. cloning works, with the risks of dealing with potential problems, including corrupted OS.

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Nov 23 2014, 07:30 AM)
Giys wanna ask what should I do when I want to use my old Intel 320 to upgrade my Acer V3-112p? The laptop does not detect and just show no bootable media. And my SSD seems to come with a bracket that increases the size to 9mm which make it cannot fit but when removed, the ssd falls apart.
maybe your laptop takes 7mm only, but what do you mean by falling apart? there must be a bracket in your laptop for you to secure the ssd to its place.
snowberry
post Nov 24 2014, 03:45 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Nov 23 2014, 08:53 PM)
intel 530 120gb. there are also other cheaper brands so please refer to the price lists published online.
so after some browsing in garage sales, i found out 2 SSD:

Transcend 128gb SSD RM215

http://my.transcend-info.com/Products/No-631

Kingston v300 Series SSD RM235.

http://www.kingston.com/en/ssd/v#sv300s3

sifu can tell me which would u go?

Endevor
post Nov 24 2014, 04:20 PM

57 posts

Hi all,

I'm planning to get a SSD for my friend for Christmas.

I saw someone selling Transcend SSD SSD370 512Gb for Rm670.

My friend loves to have those old classic games (like Dragon Age O?, Mass Effect and etc) installed and updated in his system so that he can just launch the game to replay them whenever he wants. So that's why he told me he prefers at least a 500Gb SSD drive.

But i read from the first page of this thread, no mentioned of Transcend SSD, is this brand not good at all?

Rm670 for 512Gb SSD is the cheapest i managed to find in LYN.

Any feedback will be appreciated.

wildwestgoh
post Nov 24 2014, 07:02 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Endevor @ Nov 24 2014, 04:20 PM)
Hi all,

My friend loves to have those old classic games (like Dragon Age O?, Mass Effect and etc) installed and updated in his system so that he can just launch the game to replay them whenever he wants. So that's why he told me he prefers at least a 500Gb SSD drive.

But i read from the first page of this thread, no mentioned of Transcend SSD, is this brand not good at all?

According to Review, it's a good buy.
http://proclockers.com/reviews/storage/tra...view?page=0%2C2
If it is a 512GB that you're looking for, it is definitely bang for buck.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Nov 25 2014, 07:44 AM
horns
post Nov 25 2014, 10:36 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 24 2014, 03:45 PM)

i don't have experience about these two. based on price only, i will go for transcend, but i will go for much higher capacities. (smaller drives usually run slower) imo they are both mainstream drives, so they should be good enough for general use.

QUOTE(Endevor @ Nov 24 2014, 04:20 PM)
Hi all,

wow your friend is lucky to have you as a friend.

transcend is not in the list doesn't mean it's "not good at all". it just lacks of user reports. you can always refer to online reviews and make your own justifications.
-kytz-
post Nov 26 2014, 10:42 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 24 2014, 03:45 PM)

http://my.transcend-info.com/Products/No-631

http://www.kingston.com/en/ssd/v#sv300s3

Top a little bit more for a Samsung EVO
snowberry
post Nov 27 2014, 01:51 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 26 2014, 10:42 PM)
Top a little bit more for a Samsung EVO
what so special abt samsung evo ar... rclxub.gif
-kytz-
post Nov 27 2014, 02:00 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Nov 27 2014, 01:51 AM)
what so special abt samsung evo ar... rclxub.gif
The SSDs you quoted are the low end SSDs. Samsung EVO SSDs are the mid end SSDs and with rapid mode, it is one of the fastest in the market.

Plus, you get good warranty support and reliability icon_rolleyes.gif
saru04
post Nov 27 2014, 02:28 AM

1,358 posts

Hey guys,

I just got my MSi laptop. Planning to change to SSD.

Any recommendations? Want to go for performance type.

So far what I have in mind is SAMSUNG 850 Pro. Any other suggestions that is better in terms of lifespan and performance?

Apart from that, should I go for 256GB or 512GB? As I know the price difference is kinda huge.
-kytz-
post Nov 27 2014, 02:48 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(saru04 @ Nov 27 2014, 02:28 AM)
Hey guys,

I just got my MSi laptop. Planning to change to SSD.

Any recommendations? Want to go for performance type.

So far what I have in mind is SAMSUNG 850 Pro. Any other suggestions that is better in terms of lifespan and performance?

Apart from that, should I go for 256GB or 512GB? As I know the price difference is kinda huge.
Samsung 850 PRO is probably the best SSD in the market right now. That 10 years warranty is also no joke, just to show how confident Samsung is towards its reliability, durability and performance brows.gif

However you could still opt for cheaper models, like the Intel 530 240GB which is quite cheap at around RM400 ish.

As to whether you require 256GB or 512GB, I guess that depends on you yourself lol. For me I *think* 256GB should be enough for me but if you have tons and tons of programs and games, probably should go for 512GB straight laugh.gif

128 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:39 PM