The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
cstkl1
Jul 6 2013, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(Cizuka97 @ Jul 6 2013, 06:33 AM) How come your number one recommendation is using Sandforce? What means leader in tlc atm? If I dun wait for Intel 530 and 535, what's your recommendation to use a main drive? wasnt a ranking. just stating either of those.
cstkl1
Apr 5 2014, 06:42 AM
QUOTE(btfan @ Apr 5 2014, 02:32 AM) My 3-weeks old SSD has a total nand writes of 452GB so far. Is this normal? Seems kinda high to me. It's an O/S drive with 2-3 games installed and the usual web surfing. Normal. Copying OS, moving Files, Installing games etc... All my SSD few 10-20tbs etc...
cstkl1
May 9 2014, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ May 9 2014, 07:09 PM) Hi guys, does anyone have any experience with the Sandisk Extreme II 120GB SSD? Is it good + reliable? Thinking of getting one, also IIRC it is faster than the Samsung 840 Evo (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) Its the best SSD out there dude overall. Close to enterprise grade on consistency. Uses the same controller as neutron gtx.
cstkl1
May 9 2014, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ May 9 2014, 07:35 PM) You mean the Extreme II right? gonna get that one then  thanks Eh but remember price 120gb sandisk u can buy 250gb evo.
cstkl1
May 9 2014, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(horns @ May 9 2014, 09:52 PM) no, sandisk extreme ii uses marvell controller, same as crucial m500. the one in neutron gtx is lamd. crap always thought they were using that. Misread the review. Mistook it for the seagate. the sandisk extreme ii was the next target after my neutrons although a bit keen to get back to intel 720. my x25ms lol been performing so consistent for years already. This post has been edited by cstkl1: May 9 2014, 11:26 PM
cstkl1
May 13 2014, 01:03 PM
http://bcove.me/18s60vifthought this was interesting... intel 730 240gb raid 0 vs single 480gb sorry if this is a repost.
cstkl1
Jun 9 2014, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Racerx @ Jun 9 2014, 04:27 PM) I'm doing a small bulk for the Crucial MX100 256GB version. It's going to be RM400 per unit. If anyone's interested feel free to check my thread linked in my signature  i can get this cheaper at staff price. but not so fast only middle of July. Buying two 512gb. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 9 2014, 05:07 PM
cstkl1
Jun 14 2014, 02:15 PM
if u guys want but it will be only end of the month/first week of July.
Straight from Boise/idaho Crucial HQ Staff Price. RMA can be done in Crucial Singapore. should be cheaper than amazon. DHL cost around Rm120 up to 10 units of SSD. 5 business days delivery.
This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 14 2014, 02:15 PM
cstkl1
Jun 18 2014, 12:19 AM
Crucial MX100 256gb Raid 0 Result Compressible vs Incompressible.. No diff. Pretty good for two ssd that cost in total was Rm667. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 18 2014, 02:28 AM
cstkl1
Jun 19 2014, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 19 2014, 05:46 PM) i rmb this test  this really shows you how long can SSD last my friends Kingston SSD from 2010 (i think?) still working well until today My x25mG2 x 3 raid 0 which has 20tb write on each.. 30000 hours each.. only 90 percent health and performance still the same ... 2009 from x48 (two boards) to x58 ( Three boards) , P67, Z67, Z87. same os all the way. just retired them recently to my mx100
cstkl1
Jun 23 2014, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(Saladz @ Jun 23 2014, 12:26 AM) hi bro, i am interested, do update when you start taking orders, thanks =) i will know in next week how many i can get. doing 512gb. mx100 is really selling very well and a lot of oem makers are taking a lot also..
cstkl1
Jun 29 2014, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(Saladz @ Jun 23 2014, 01:08 AM) ordered 10 unit of the 512gb. Selling price for each arnd RM700. might be less. Warranty by crucial. RMA ureself with crucial Singapore. 5 units reserved. 2 for me and 3 for friends. so only selling 5. Just waiting for allocation. Really long wait to get it... 256gb waiting list is short. A lot of System builders are ordering a lot. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 29 2014, 11:10 PM
cstkl1
Jun 30 2014, 02:28 AM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 30 2014, 12:13 AM) i have a friend interested in procuring a SSD too, can he join the bulk order? if yes, PM me on how much is the 256GB variant  as u know the price is way less than the amazon with shipping. not a bulk order bro. i only start the wts when allocation and shipping confirmed. so after that when about to reach ppl just have to cod. thought more ppl would be interested in the 512gb since its much cheaper on gb to price ratio.
cstkl1
Jun 30 2014, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jun 30 2014, 02:42 AM) well, its the Crucial MX100 right? should be more or less RM300-400 for 256GB it is cheaper, but 512GB for mainstream user is kinda too much considering they dont use SSD for work  heck i might join in the order as well, but too much of a hassle unless i can get rid of my current Intel SSD. so at this moment only a friend of mine is interested how would the ordering process goes? RSP is USD110, Amazon had initial price at USD100. This one afaik the delay is even longer to get. Now the 512gb has dropped and so has 128gb. The 256gb was popular in the beginning. My prob is getting the allocation for 10 for price that is less than the rsp. So the 512gb was easier but still taking time. I will do forward pricing and breakdown so u all know how much ure paying. But now tentatively its max is RM700. per piece. Thats includes two shipping cost. One in the US and one to here. This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jun 30 2014, 12:41 PM
cstkl1
Jul 1 2014, 03:44 AM
sorry guys gonna cancel this
Price Went up its now RM654 for me with the 6 percent tax. no included is the shipping, spread loss etc.. not worth it for me. Before it was RM604. Crucial increased all the price by USD5 now. Selling it off ebay in the US at RM740 as per RSP price.
Amazon price. lol its cheap but their exchange rate lol 3.39 crazy. when now USD to MYR is only 3.27. but looking at the USD214 price and u take the longer shipping.. it works out around RM760.
This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jul 1 2014, 03:46 AM
cstkl1
Jul 3 2014, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 3 2014, 07:21 PM) reading a few of the review on Samsung 850 Pro, what strike me: Samsung is claiming that with its V-NAND technology, they will be able to push out a 8TB SSD in 2017  I am so looking forward to this. If that come true: 1. SSD capacity will probably overtake HDD capacity by 2017. 2. Since Samsung V-NAND is going back to 40 nm, price of SSD will probably drop pretty fast from now till then. All the other NAND manufacturers are also working hard on their VNAND tech, since if they don't catch up soon, Samsung may be able to wipe the floor with price competition if it decide to be aggressive. yeah and it will be insane price. price drop only happens when the v-nand size can match something like crucial 16nm planar Nand