just when i thought not many ppl use savvy, just now i saw 4 savvy in a traffic light including mine. 1 lite black, 1 lite white, 1 red and 1 green. white savvy is nice... but too bad only for savvy lite...
welcome to the club do u think the MT clutch is heavy and precise as any sports oriented car?
representing my fren (which i hop onto his car almost everyday) i can say his modded savvy (with open pod and exhaust upgrade) had pawned many cars.. even can trail behind the latest Honda Civic 1.8 version. why can follow only?because of HP difference. so he only can catch up during corners
and yes, he occasionally complains to me that the savvy's clutch is abit heavy.
QUOTE(gary_cheah85 @ Mar 20 2008, 02:19 PM)
u cannot compare a 1.2liter car with a 1 liter car of coz savvy can reach 500km using rm50 petrol, all depends on your style of driving. http://star-motoring.com/news/story.asp?fi...7&sec=motornews BTW, this car can reach 170, yet still stable but not recommended on public roads
this savvy can reach more than 170km/h.
73WHP savvy, my fren's one.
This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 22 2008, 04:21 AM
just when i thought not many ppl use savvy, just now i saw 4 savvy in a traffic light including mine. 1 lite black, 1 lite white, 1 red and 1 green. white savvy is nice... but too bad only for savvy lite...
wah.. so colorful. You all going on a convoy?
I also notice quite a number of new proton Savvy on the road nowadays. White color not bad, but I think it requires thorough car wash every week coz any stain is very visible on the white paint.
Added on March 22, 2008, 10:15 am
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 22 2008, 04:02 AM)
representing my fren (which i hop onto his car almost everyday) i can say his modded savvy (with open pod and exhaust upgrade) had pawned many cars.. even can trail behind the latest Honda Civic 1.8 version. why can follow only?because of HP difference. so he only can catch up during corners
and yes, he occasionally complains to me that the savvy's clutch is abit heavy. this savvy can reach more than 170km/h.
nice dyno chart there. 74bhp is the stated output from the brochure/car specs. Maybe ur fren can try to lighten the car, to increase the power to weight ratio. BTW, be careful when driving at high speeds although Savvy is built tough.
taken from savoc.net
University Student Killed in accident
Kuching: A second year mechanical engineering student was killed after his car went out of control and slammed into a tree while on his way back home after a game of futsal yesterday.
The victim, A**** A**** H***** A**** Y****, 22, of Taman Foong Joon in Kubah Ria, succumbed to injuries sustained in the midnight crash which occurred at Jalan Bako.
H*****, a student of private university here, was in the Savvy with two female companions after playing a game of futsal with a group of friend at Demak Laut.
According to a relative, H***** was driving along Jalan Bako heading towards Satok when he swerved his vehicle in an attempt to avoid hitting a motorcyclist who had crashed moment earlier.
But the wet and slippery road caused his car to go out of control and crash into a tree beside the road, with the driver's door bearing the brunt of the impact.
The force of the impact caused the girl sitting at the back of the Savvy to be flung out but she only sustained minor injuries, while the girl in front suffered serious injuries.
Both were sent to a nearby private specialist hospital for medical treatment.
The girl seated in front was reported to be in critical condition.
An ambulance from Sarawak General Hospital rushed to the scene after being informed of the accident, and paramedics gave first aid to H***** before transporting him to hospital, where he succumbed to his injuries.
Meanwhile, the sound system of the Savvy was stolen by unknown persons and a purse belonging to one of the female victims, which contained her salary, went missing in the aftermath of the accident.
Both items were believed taken by those at the scene who were seen searching the vehicle after the victims were sent to hospital.
old news but it serves as reminder that our Savvy is not indestructible.
This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 22 2008, 10:16 AM
^ that night i just got back from hangout with frens. then on the way back i saw the savvies..
about savvy accident, i heard many case caused by cornering in a wet road/raining. eventhough savvy's handling is very good, but never underestimate the wet road.
I also notice quite a number of new proton Savvy on the road nowadays. White color not bad, but I think it requires thorough car wash every week coz any stain is very visible on the white paint.
Added on March 22, 2008, 10:15 am
nice dyno chart there. 74bhp is the stated output from the brochure/car specs. Maybe ur fren can try to lighten the car, to increase the power to weight ratio. BTW, be careful when driving at high speeds although Savvy is built tough.
taken from savoc.net
University Student Killed in accident
Kuching: A second year mechanical engineering student was killed after his car went out of control and slammed into a tree while on his way back home after a game of futsal yesterday.
The victim, A**** A**** H***** A**** Y****, 22, of Taman Foong Joon in Kubah Ria, succumbed to injuries sustained in the midnight crash which occurred at Jalan Bako.
H*****, a student of private university here, was in the Savvy with two female companions after playing a game of futsal with a group of friend at Demak Laut.
According to a relative, H***** was driving along Jalan Bako heading towards Satok when he swerved his vehicle in an attempt to avoid hitting a motorcyclist who had crashed moment earlier.
But the wet and slippery road caused his car to go out of control and crash into a tree beside the road, with the driver's door bearing the brunt of the impact.
The force of the impact caused the girl sitting at the back of the Savvy to be flung out but she only sustained minor injuries, while the girl in front suffered serious injuries.
Both were sent to a nearby private specialist hospital for medical treatment.
The girl seated in front was reported to be in critical condition.
An ambulance from Sarawak General Hospital rushed to the scene after being informed of the accident, and paramedics gave first aid to H***** before transporting him to hospital, where he succumbed to his injuries.
Meanwhile, the sound system of the Savvy was stolen by unknown persons and a purse belonging to one of the female victims, which contained her salary, went missing in the aftermath of the accident.
Both items were believed taken by those at the scene who were seen searching the vehicle after the victims were sent to hospital.
old news but it serves as reminder that our Savvy is not indestructible.
can't lighten it yet. he's going for GRA this april for Grass (novice) category. in the regulations stated that novice category cars must remain stock, except for some minor upgrades like intake and exhaust.
maybe next year we'll see interior strippings
and btw, what a sick world it is now. ppl is dying in the car and yet u can take the sound systems out
This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Mar 22 2008, 10:55 AM
kesian the guy that died. Well a car VS a tree surely the car will lose. even a merc s class vs a tree, the tree will still win
nothing can survive a side impact crash. that is the weak spot for any cars. if u see properly, u can notice how the car "wraps" itself around the tree.
Added on March 22, 2008, 11:35 am
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 22 2008, 10:54 AM)
can't lighten it yet. he's going for GRA this april for Grass (novice) category. in the regulations stated that novice category cars must remain stock, except for some minor upgrades like intake and exhaust.
maybe next year we'll see interior strippings
and btw, what a sick world it is now. ppl is dying in the car and yet u can take the sound systems out
ooh... ur fren sure petrol head. lighten the car by taking out the ICE, sure can strip a few kilo here and there. spare tire consider stock accessories? take out the spare tire, another few kilo advantages. then ask ur fren go for diet, lower his body weight
This post has been edited by gary_cheah85: Mar 22 2008, 11:35 AM
of cos cannot bro.. but rm20 for below 100km?? its like 10L/100km.. its like driving a 2.0l engine already.. i expect at least with 10L of fuel can reach 130-150km..
Added on March 20, 2008, 3:05 pmhow come in the article you give me it claims to be 4.2L/100km while mine 10L/100km..at least 7-6 is acceptable for an AMT model. is there anything wrong with my sis savvy? btw, the style of driving is conservative with occasional speeding..
Just like what Gary said, refill full tank - drive - refill full tank and see how much fuel s used..that's more accurate since our fuel gauge is set pretty weird.
sequence macam ni
2 bar blinking (low fuel icon flashes) ---> after few minutes jadi 2 bar balik not blinking (no icon flash) --> after few KMs like 20-30km 2 bars blinking, icon ----> pastu finally 1 bar blinking, icon.
Quote:
When the low fuel indicator 1st starts to display when the the last 2 out of 6 bars blink ( it will stop blinking after some time - acting like an early warning or something)..We could only refuel 25 litres of petrol..that is RM48 worth of petrols..
And then when the last bar starts to blink/low fuel indicator comes out (2nd and final warning), we could only refuel 28 litres of petrol/ RM53 after the pump auto stops. Probably there's still much petrol left in the tank.
So we could hardly refuel more than RM55-60..I think the fuel gauge is set that way to preserve the fuel pump.
One full tank could last me melaka-K.trg trip.
even at 1 bar fnally, savvy still go more than 100km..
Added on March 22, 2008, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(phas3r @ Mar 21 2008, 12:12 AM)
is this a common problem? everytime i left my car idle, the temp goes from normal 3 bar to higher, 4-5 bar, sometimes even at a full 6 bar!! does the engine gets hot when its idle or is it reading problem.. what shud i do car is september 2005, Manual, 41k km, black
Hi check if the coolant thermostat..if it's faulty the thermostat's valve will block completely/a bit coolant from entering the bulkhead to cool down engine...blocking is a feature for cold start to warm up the engne qucker until it reaches certan temp then the themostat change shape then let the valve open.
thermostat housing cost RM160..
Added on March 22, 2008, 6:36 pm
QUOTE(blackorange @ Mar 22 2008, 10:38 AM)
^ that night i just got back from hangout with frens. then on the way back i saw the savvies..
about savvy accident, i heard many case caused by cornering in a wet road/raining. eventhough savvy's handling is very good, but never underestimate the wet road.
Ditch the eagle NCT5, it's bad, even my cheap 13'' barum Brillantis feels so much better on wet road... nct5 is prone to aquaplanning but i dun experience any with my barums..
imagine 'm usng lighter 13'' rms, see how bad is it the nct5.
i'm using 185/60/13 tyres..stll no buang feeling at corners, better than stock!
Added on March 22, 2008, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Mar 22 2008, 04:02 AM)
and yes, he occasionally complains to me that the savvy's clutch is abit heavy. this savvy can reach more than 170km/h.
yes many people express surprise when they test drve my car..savvy is powerful,..change change to open pod ar filter and most the exhaust..the low end torque s excellent..
ride n handling it pawns ALL japan cars includng swift..
many people overlook savvy becos of its size..hgh speed stability and cornerng are excellent,
on tighter cornering, the body roll could be elminated using sport sprng, just one minor flaw.
This post has been edited by hypermount: Mar 22 2008, 06:41 PM
yeah. i owned a savvy for almost a year already. very damn nice excellent performance. I'm too sure my stock savvy can outrun any stock 1.5l wira specially in 'bengkang bengkok' road and panjat gunung. still remember only my savvy and a perdana v6 can climb mountain in semenyih-seremban road smoothly. and another thing, my savvy was fully loaded with me and another 4 chicks. wakaka.
my savvy top speed was about 170 with ordinary petrol and can go up to 175 using shell v power.huhu
This post has been edited by iq_myst: Mar 24 2008, 02:57 PM
I have unused 3 bottle of manual gear oil, accidentally buying at proton parts center for 40k service,but after going service at PESC,they said gear oil change at 60K,so for the time, I dont need this..who interested can PM me..
This post has been edited by h_bib: Mar 30 2008, 10:56 AM
my rear door is hard to close....i have to slam the door... anybody face the same problem?
No prob with my doors.
check the rubber seal (weather strips around the door) and stopper....one of my 2 tailgate's rubber stopper was missing...one was missing from my co-driver door..dunno ho long it's been missing..gotta check properly when getting ur car straight from the showroom.
Added on March 30, 2008, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(h_bib @ Mar 30 2008, 04:19 AM)
I have unused 3 bottle of manual gear oil, accidentally buying at proton parts center for 40k service,but after going service at PESC,they said gear oil change at 60K,so for the time, I dont need this..who interested can PM me..
no harm if wanna change it earlier...i tot it was 40k for the gearbox...
This post has been edited by hypermount: Mar 30 2008, 07:11 PM
Just heard on the news, Proton is recalling ALL Savvys on the road.. all 34K of them for safety inspection. i missed the part of the nature of the problem
just saw the news...they fear water going into the rear wheel bearing. I kena this before but that was my fault driving into a flood A few days later the rear brakes jammed shut.
(STAR) PETALING JAYA: Proton is recalling its Savvy cars over a possible problem with regards to the car's rear-wheel bearing.
The company said a recent inspection has brought to its attention that water could get into the bearing, which could lead to a malfunction.
"The safety and satisfaction of our customers is a primary concern. As a precautionary measure, we are recalling all Savvy's for inspection and repair," Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed said in a press statement.
The recall will affect a total of 34,000 cars. All Savvy owners are advised to take their cars to the nearest Proton Edar or EON service branch for an inspection.
Proton said it would conduct the necessary checks and replacements at no cost to the customer.
They can also call Proton i-Care at 1-300-880-888 for further info.
The symptoms are loud squeaking noise when coming to a stop, and loud humming noise when on the move.
Usually they will change the whole rear wheel hub assembly all together consist of drum brake, spindle and bearing...
Save money no need to get brake shoe replacements thanks Proton..
I believe the prob was already surfaced in mid 2006 and savvy club had notified proton about this..they took time to redesign the hub..
Savvy has fixed -ve camber wheel setting on the rear which is very slanted compare to most of the cars on the street to make it handles great on corners- this could contribute to prob if they kept using the old design coupled with the torsion beam.