131 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2013, 03:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 29 2013, 03:30 PM)
you are correct (especially for the bold part) notworthy.gif , anyway i don't encourage people to use pirated software..
No one is la haha. After I started earning my own money, I've gradually made the switch to ori already... but unfortunately some still has issues doh.gif

But to be honest, not many can afford a RM2.5k Photoshop, and its only one part of the entire collection sad.gif
wanfortheboyz
post Aug 29 2013, 04:41 PM

Hey guys and girls (and those in between)

I'm looking to buy a new laptop with a max budget of 4k rm. I've had bad experiences ACER with overheating, so would like to avoid them! vmad.gif

My main requirements are:

1) Able to play old LAN games (your quake 3's, AOE 2, WoW etc)
2) Needs to be light in weight (Below 2.5kg)
3) Good media laptop (good sound system and viewing)
4) NON integrated gfx card

I thought the MSI GE40 was a good fit for the above but welcome any other opinions icon_question.gif

Thanks!!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2013, 04:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wanfortheboyz @ Aug 29 2013, 04:41 PM)

I'm looking to buy a new laptop with a max budget of 4k rm. I've had bad experiences ACER with overheating, so would like to avoid them!  vmad.gif

I thought the MSI GE40 was a good fit for the above but welcome any other opinions   icon_question.gif

Thanks!!
Looks like you have already done your homework laugh.gif
That MSI is pretty much your only pick at the moment for that price and weight range hmm.gif
But do take note that the MSI is pretty slim and it packs a lot of punch, so it might get hot as well, have to take good care of it icon_rolleyes.gif

Check: there's the bigger MSI brothers (~2.4kg) as well which is below 2.5kg (excluding the adapter tongue.gif)
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 29 2013, 04:48 PM
eddydo
post Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Aug 29 2013, 02:04 PM)
I would have clicked "LIKE" for this reply. Nowadays, gadget buyers have no idea what they are buying. Buying the best gadget out there and hardly produce anything significant that has the same level of processing requirements.

Another thing is, if one were so rich to splash, there is really no need to ask around here cause they usually have no budget constraint. Better save some money as gadgets phase out so fast... -.-

Just being harsh in general, no pointing icon_rolleyes.gif
If I'm rich to splash, I won't be asking here according to you.
But that means the poor can't ask for the best?
And if that's so, why am I here?

Asking for the best gadget is to know where technology actually stand these days.
Not everyday people will tell you what is good and what is bad, and not everything is on google.
Asking is a form of learning, we are here to listen to people's opinion, experience and ask questions which we don't understand.

Some people here aren't contributing any useful informations, instead I assume they are doing a good job here flaming the rich.

Everyone do wants to get the best out of something, but in this case, budget is the restriction.
Let me make this clear, I'm not rich, my parents may be but who cares.
But if it is a worthwhile investment, why not go for the best?

Why do our parents want us to get into a good school?
Want us to get good grades to get into a good college.
Why do our parents want us to get into a good college?
To graduate as someone they could be proud of.
But will you use everything taught in school after you graduated?
Knowledge do expire or should I say, outdate.
But what if you don't like studying from the start? Will you even get good grades?

And again, why get a Ferarri?
What's the purpose of all these? Nothing. I just like it.

"Buying the best gadget out there and hardly produce anything significant that has the same level of processing requirements. Better save some money as gadgets phase out so fast"

So if gadgets phase out quickly, why do people still get the latest phones?
Take S4 as example,
Are you gonna use S Beam?
Most probably not, but why is the technology there in your phone?
Or why did you even buy that phone if you aren't fully utilizing the phone's ability? More else it's the phone's signature ability.

Sometimes it ain't about fully utilizing it.

I love editing video's. But I hate waiting.
Slow rendering time, wait time longer than usage time.
People say time is money.
You can't buy time with money.
But if you can get a laptop that only have short rendering time, why not?
That's like purchasing time already.

And for a newbie I do know what am I doing.

Just wondering what generation are you from, the Y generation? Or X or Z?
Well it doesn't matter anyways.

The reason I was looking into macbook pro was:
Retina display
Light weight compare to those big ass gaming laptops
Stability
I'm gonna emphasize on this a little.
I got a teacher which is in advertising industry.
He started off his business right after he graduated and invested in WINDOWS.
After that he changed all his computers into MAC.
WHY?
Windows keeps crashing.
I'm not sure about it now but i guess MAC a safer road to go in this particular industry and it's worth the investment.

You just wasted 3 minutes and 53 seconds on this.
Oh and I'm not pointing fingers, just replying your post with my own opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by eddydo: Aug 29 2013, 06:11 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2013, 06:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM)

Chill man, there will always be flame wars between Windows and Mac users one icon_rolleyes.gif

But I think its better not to use so much of your parents money la haha, RM8k is quite a lot.

Since you are just starting out, stick to a "cheaper" notebook 1st (perhaps even the non-Retina Display MBP15 too), and trust me, along the way when you become more pro, you will know what you really need eventually (including programs, damn expensive). And by that time you will be able to really buy what you really need nod.gif

As mentioned earlier, my notebook is capable of handling my D800's 36MP images pretty swiftly (not 100% smooth though; I'm using an i7-2820QM, very powerful during its time, but not even close to the ones we have now). We often recommend buyers with "limited" budget to focus more on RAM, CPU and SSD. Those 3 will really bring about the difference nod.gif

As for stability, not really sure since I haven't been able to compare side-to-side. As for software compatibilities.. While I've been trying to get Nik Software plugins to work on my Photoshop and Lightroom. I've came across many Mac users also having the same problem. But that's probably because of the software, not the brand haha

The choice is yours icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 29 2013, 06:34 PM
eddydo
post Aug 29 2013, 09:03 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 06:33 PM)
Chill man, there will always be flame wars between Windows and Mac users one  icon_rolleyes.gif

But I think its better not to use so much of your parents money la haha, RM8k is quite a lot.

Since you are just starting out, stick to a "cheaper" notebook 1st (perhaps even the non-Retina Display MBP15 too), and trust me, along the way when you become more pro, you will know what you really need eventually (including programs, damn expensive). And by that time you will be able to really buy what you really need nod.gif

As mentioned earlier, my notebook is capable of handling my D800's 36MP images pretty swiftly (not 100% smooth though; I'm using an i7-2820QM, very powerful during its time, but not even close to the ones we have now). We often recommend buyers with "limited" budget to focus more on RAM, CPU and SSD. Those 3 will really bring about the difference  nod.gif 

As for stability, not really sure since I haven't been able to compare side-to-side. As for software compatibilities.. While I've been trying to get Nik Software plugins to work on my Photoshop and Lightroom. I've came across many Mac users also having the same problem. But that's probably because of the software, not the brand haha

The choice is yours  icon_rolleyes.gif
You and a few other sifu gave me good advices and different situations, totally appreciate it. I know it is too early for mbp now so yeah i'm settling down on y510p( which i don't see on lenovo webpage?) or illegear ( which keeps on poisoning me with those specs).

Heh thanks smile.gif
hyuga9
post Aug 29 2013, 09:35 PM

70 posts

1. Preferred Brand: open to any brand
2. Budget RM 2000 (plus minus RM 200)
3. Usage every day use,little gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inch

want to buy my wife new laptop,she use for every day use(movie,surfing) n little games (Sims, FB game)

i use ROG laptop n it got me no prob for past 2 years..so got more confident than asus than any brand..
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2013, 09:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 29 2013, 09:03 PM)
You and a few other sifu gave me good advices and different situations, totally appreciate it. I know it is too early for mbp now so yeah i'm settling down on y510p( which i don't see on lenovo webpage?) or illegear ( which keeps on poisoning me with those specs).

Heh thanks smile.gif
Lenovo Y510p is selling already, its still somewhat new, and not shown on brochures yet brows.gif
Do refer here for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949

The Illegear thread is here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184
;you can PM Prince J or Mr. Docter for guidance in hardware customizations, they are kind, real pros rclxms.gif

Good hunting mate! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 29 2013, 10:06 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 29 2013, 10:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hyuga9 @ Aug 29 2013, 09:35 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: open to any brand
2. Budget RM 2000 (plus minus RM 200)
3. Usage every day use,little gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14 inch

want to buy my wife new laptop,she use for every day use(movie,surfing) n little games (Sims, FB game)

i use ROG laptop n it got me no prob for past 2 years..so got more confident than asus than any brand..
Can consider this one for Asus nod.gif
14"
Asus K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Alternation
post Aug 29 2013, 11:42 PM

912 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus or any reliable Acer laptop
2. Budget ± RM 2500
3. Features: light ultrabook, flip screen would be bonus.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 or 14 inch

Yuanz
post Aug 30 2013, 12:49 AM

260 posts

HP Envy 4-1035TU

Hi.is this ultrabook good?
I m afraid of laptop that get heat fast.

I just need a lappi for normal college using.typing,searching and only game for dota 1.

any one experience with this lappi before?

How much will a new one normally cost?
And also a second hand guiding price.

thanks for helping

hauwong
post Aug 30 2013, 01:01 AM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 09:06 AM)
If gaming is more important to you, get this:
15.6"
Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

If work is more important, than this:
15.6"
MSI GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

Illegear Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for the reply, some noob question to ask,
i'm in illegear hope page, customize the component for Re15,

1. should i upgrade to 16gb ram now or do it later if need.
2. hows the storage drive raid option work? which should i choose? no raid ? raid 0 or raid -1.
3. whats the different between mSata solid state drive and the normal solid state drive? just in size different?
when i choose a mSata solid state drive as primary, in the primary drive i should choose non ? am i correct?

thanks.
nexus2238
post Aug 30 2013, 01:26 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Aug 29 2013, 11:42 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus or any reliable Acer laptop
2. Budget ± RM 2500
3. Features: light ultrabook, flip screen would be bonus.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 or 14 inch

what do you mean by "flip screen"? hmm.gif

Acer
S3-371-53334G50, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V5-471P, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V5-471G-53334G50, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200 + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8
S300CA-C1050H, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Spend the remaining of your budget to swap out HDD with SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600).
nexus2238
post Aug 30 2013, 01:33 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Yuanz @ Aug 30 2013, 12:49 AM)
HP Envy 4-1035TU

Hi.is this ultrabook good?
I m afraid of laptop that get heat fast.

I just need a lappi for normal college using.typing,searching and only game for dota 1.

any one experience with this lappi before?

How much will a new one normally cost?
And also a second hand guiding price.

thanks for helping
Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

Are you sure you can still get this brand new? hmm.gif
2nd hand price depend on condition of laptop and negotiation skills between buyer and seller smile.gif

Don't game on ultrabook if "I am afraid of laptop that get heat fast" biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway, always get good external cooling solution if you plan to game on laptop (cooling pad, table fan, ... )

If you really like the Envy 4 ultrabook look, then try to look for these (also not easy to find anymore) tongue.gif
Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

All the prices are RSP for brand new unit, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 30 2013, 01:34 AM
hyuga9
post Aug 30 2013, 07:09 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 29 2013, 10:07 PM)
Can consider this one for Asus nod.gif
14"
Asus K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD
tq bro.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
devour
post Aug 30 2013, 11:34 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Aug 29 2013, 01:56 PM)
oh ok, since i'm gonig to the uk is the warranty valid over there? or non valid as well?
non valid
devour
post Aug 30 2013, 11:35 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(wanfortheboyz @ Aug 29 2013, 04:41 PM)

I'm looking to buy a new laptop with a max budget of 4k rm. I've had bad experiences ACER with overheating, so would like to avoid them!  vmad.gif

I thought the MSI GE40 was a good fit for the above but welcome any other opinions  icon_question.gif

Thanks!!
Asus N550 JV, 
xproc
post Aug 30 2013, 12:56 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Aug 29 2013, 06:05 PM)

Asking for the best gadget is to know where technology actually stand these days.
Not everyday people will tell you what is good and what is bad, and not everything is on google.
Asking is a form of learning, we are here to listen to people's opinion, experience and ask questions which we don't understand.

Some people here aren't contributing any useful informations, instead I assume they are doing a good job here flaming the rich.

Everyone do wants to get the best out of something, but in this case, budget is the restriction.
Let me make this clear, I'm not rich, my parents may be but who cares.
But if it is a worthwhile investment, why not go for the best?

Why do our parents want us to get into a good school?
Want us to get good grades to get into a good college.
Why do our parents want us to get into a good college?
To graduate as someone they could be proud of.
But will you use everything taught in school after you graduated?
Knowledge do expire or should I say, outdate.
But what if you don't like studying from the start? Will you even get good grades?

And again, why get a Ferarri?
What's the purpose of all these? Nothing. I just like it.

"Buying the best gadget out there and hardly produce anything significant that has the same level of processing requirements. Better save some money as gadgets phase out so fast"

So if gadgets phase out quickly, why do people still get the latest phones?
Take S4 as example,
Are you gonna use S Beam?
Most probably not, but why is the technology there in your phone?
Or why did you even buy that phone if you aren't fully utilizing the phone's ability? More else it's the phone's signature ability.

Sometimes it ain't about fully utilizing it.

I love editing video's. But I hate waiting.
Slow rendering time, wait time longer than usage time.
People say time is money.
You can't buy time with money.
But if you can get a laptop that only have short rendering time, why not?
That's like purchasing time already.

And for a newbie I do know what am I doing.

Just wondering what generation are you from, the Y generation? Or X or Z?
Well it doesn't matter anyways.

The reason I was looking into macbook pro was:
Retina display
Light weight compare to those big ass gaming laptops
Stability
I'm gonna emphasize on this a little.
I got a teacher which is in advertising industry.
He started off his business right after he graduated and invested in WINDOWS.
After that he changed all his computers into MAC.
WHY?
Windows keeps crashing.
I'm not sure about it now but i guess MAC a safer road to go in this particular industry and it's worth the investment.

You just wasted 3 minutes and 53 seconds on this.
Oh and I'm not pointing fingers, just replying your post with my own opinion.  icon_rolleyes.gif
TL:DR
sometimes budget is not the most important factor... i agree with the part that you cant buy time with money... anyway you have the right to know which is the best and settle down to what else because of the budget... not the budget which setting out what the best you can have... most of the time people choose new laptop have wide budget range (last time i intro my fren, he have budget 3k-5k, end up buying a laptop just 2.5k because i analysed and explained to him his needs)... so no harm suggesting... if really suits their needs....

i believe this forum is open to discussion... so everyone will have thier POV.....

(off topic)
btw... firstly i surveying for a espresso machine for my fren which about 3k... then after find out... the budget already top up to RM8k... but based on their needs... i think i will suggest them espresso machine range from 8k-15k.... any people have knowledge of these at here? (off topic end)
Cheesenium
post Aug 30 2013, 02:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Aug 30 2013, 12:56 PM)
(off topic)
btw... firstly i surveying for a espresso machine for my fren which about 3k... then after find out... the budget already top up to RM8k... but based on their needs... i think i will suggest them espresso machine range from 8k-15k.... any people have knowledge of these at here? (off topic end)
Used to work as a barista in Australia. If your friends can afford, i think they can go for the higher end ones as those machines will be able to extract the taste of the coffee better than the cheap ones while the steam ward will have higher pressure to produce better steamed milk. The cheap 2-3k ones, the coffee shots extracted feels much weaker.

Still, back to topic, I am just looking for options for:

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Gigabyte, MSI. Must have nVidia GPU.
2. Budget: Not more than 3.5k.
3. Usage: mainly AutoCAD drafting and Office with maybe a bit of gaming with newer touch screen supported games like XCOM Enemy Unknown, Civilization V, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed to old games like C&C Generals or Dawn of War 1.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Up to 15.3 inch. Not more than 2kg if possible. Must have touch screen, heard Win 8 is more bearable with it.

Additional Information: Something with similar specs to a Razer Edge slate where it has a touch screen with ULV version of i7 and an nVidia 650M GPU. Better if there is one that is similar to a Surface Pro, if not ultrabook form factor is ok too.

I know Asus has one with similar specs as Razer Edge but in ultrabook form factor.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 30 2013, 03:17 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 30 2013, 02:36 PM)
Used to work as a barista in Australia. If your friends can afford, i think they can go for the higher end ones as those machines will be able to extract the taste of the coffee better than the cheap ones while the steam ward will have higher pressure to produce better steamed milk. The cheap 2-3k ones, the coffee shots extracted feels much weaker.

Still, back to topic, I am just looking for options for:

1. Preferred Brand: Asus, Gigabyte, MSI. Must have nVidia GPU.
2. Budget: Not more than 3.5k.
3. Usage: mainly AutoCAD drafting and Office with maybe a bit of gaming with newer touch screen supported games like XCOM Enemy Unknown, Civilization V, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed to old games like C&C Generals or Dawn of War 1.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Up to 15.3 inch. Not more than 2kg if possible. Must have touch screen, heard Win 8 is more bearable with it.

Additional Information: Something with similar specs to a Razer Edge slate where it has a touch screen with ULV version of i7 and an nVidia 650M GPU. Better if there is one that is similar to a Surface Pro, if not ultrabook form factor is ok too.

I know Asus has one with similar specs as Razer Edge but in ultrabook form factor.
Wow, this is a really tough one laugh.gif laugh.gif
I think the closest would be these, though not neccesarily the brands/requirements/dimensions/weight you wanted. 15.6" touchscreen notebooks are pretty uncommon at this time
15.6"
Acer
V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S550CB-CJ103H i7-3537U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768; touch)@RM3199[2.3kg], 4GB, W8
S551LB-CJ077H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x767; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Lenovo
Z500T, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2499[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

Don't think MSI has touchscreen 15 inchers hmm.gif

131 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:39 AM