24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Campro Engine Good or Not?

K3nnYkl82
post May 14 2006, 01:03 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 13 2006, 09:52 PM)
the reason of not applying CPS n VIM in campro it simple. proton just cannot produce enough engine to cover up the cost back ! if they put the CPS n VIM in campro, they will be losing money every single campro engine they produce with the tech.
example,at the moment only gen 2 n waja using campro engine.
based on february report waja 1.6 is 2258 and gen2 1.6 is 1064.
roughly we take combine of waja n gen2 is 4000 unit a month.
4000 X 12 months is only 48 000 units a year.
tht simply not enough and at the moment, proton will take a long time just to recover the campro R&D money.
so do u think they will put CPS n VIM n lose more money ? unless they can put all the cars with campro. then i guess enough to recover the money back.
if that is so ... please dont name the ENGINE as CAMPRO .. as it does NOT have anything to do with CAM PRofiling.. laugh.gif
K3nnYkl82
post May 14 2006, 01:40 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 13 2006, 09:52 PM)
the reason of not applying CPS n VIM in campro it simple. proton just cannot produce enough engine to cover up the cost back ! if they put the CPS n VIM in campro, they will be losing money every single campro engine they produce with the tech.
example,at the moment only gen 2 n waja using campro engine.
based on february report waja 1.6 is 2258 and gen2 1.6 is 1064.
roughly we take combine of waja n gen2 is 4000 unit a month.
4000 X 12 months is only 48 000 units a year.
tht simply not enough and at the moment, proton will take a long time just to recover the campro R&D money.
so do u think they will put CPS n VIM n lose more money ? unless they can put all the cars with campro. then i guess enough to recover the money back.
something to add-on ..

Since they already spend the money to R&D the Cam Profiling system... means the product actually exist ... then why not included it ?? if the not include .. their R&D is totally wasted... better still dont do R&D..???

Take Honda as an Example... honda sell both with VTec and without VTeC ... those without V-TEc is cheaper than those with VTEC. WHy not Gen2 comes with this OPTION?? since as u said .. the CPS is already working juz not implemented into the CAR only.. i believe .. if add thousand to get a Camprofiling system .. sure still got ppl buy one.. summore they dun sell it .. they totally EARN nothing at all!

get wat i mean whistling.gif

btw, do remember.. the Campro engine was suppost to fit in the WAJA first.. b4 the Gen2... its because of Camprofiling .. it has been delay.. and yet . fit to a GEN2 without Profiling and sell it .. and now fit to WAJA .. still without profiling..

how much was a gen2?? around 55k rite?? .. i believe.. if they add CAMPRO (as stated by u that its already working .. juz my 2 cent) ... and they sell it for RM60k .. there will still plenty of ppl buy it ... true or not?

This post has been edited by K3nnYkl82: May 14 2006, 01:43 AM
ulet
post May 14 2006, 08:39 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ May 14 2006, 01:40 AM)
something to add-on ..

Since they already spend the money to R&D the Cam Profiling system... means the product actually exist ... then why not included it ?? if the not include .. their R&D is totally wasted... better still dont do R&D..???

Take Honda as an Example... honda sell both with VTec and without VTeC ... those without V-TEc is cheaper than those with VTEC. WHy not Gen2 comes with this OPTION?? since as u said .. the CPS is already working juz not implemented into the CAR only.. i believe .. if add thousand to get a Camprofiling system .. sure still got ppl buy one.. summore they dun sell it .. they totally EARN nothing at all!

get wat i mean  whistling.gif

btw, do remember.. the Campro engine was suppost to fit in the WAJA first.. b4 the Gen2... its because of Camprofiling .. it has been delay.. and yet . fit to a GEN2 without Profiling and sell it .. and now fit to WAJA .. still without profiling..

how much was a gen2?? around 55k rite?? .. i believe.. if they add CAMPRO (as stated by u that its already working .. juz my 2 cent) ... and they sell it for RM60k .. there will still plenty of ppl buy it ... true or not?
options... it something that proton wont do in the future for us.
they dont give us options to put airbags in the car even though oversea like UK got the options to install side airbags.
UK proton cars also got abs, ebd, traction controls. here in msia, for it to be options is also dont have. from all the talk i get from the engineers, it is all becoz of the stupid proton marketing department. they the 1 decide it.

btw, for CPS n VIM to be an options, is not a choice.
becoz in manufacturing world, there is no such thing as options coz to do some n not to do is actually losing money bigger than implement it to all the engines. and summore u must guarantee the order constant all the times.
thts y, even though proton is not selling very good, the factory still produce the car like normal becoz they will keep receiving supply. it is in the contract.

ok, for campro to be implement 1st in WAJA, im not sure about the truthfulness of this news coz there is no black n white news about it. to implement in the waja, they have to do R&D all over again.
btw, do u know why waja campro dont have airbags ? is becoz they need to do crash test again becoz the characteristic of the impact already change. n to do it need money.

ur last statement, even though if they add campro in gen2 n selling for 60k they will still lose money coz the figures of gen2 + waja campro is just not enough in the manufacturing world !!! i forgot aedi where i read but they need to sell around 200,000 cars a year with the same engine for how many years(forgot) just to recover the R&D for the engine !(i totally forgot where i got the figures but this topic hot during 1st proton implement the campro)
thats y u see the same engine is being used for a few generation of cars.
sakaic
post May 14 2006, 08:56 AM

936 posts

worse still, some of the options that we are given here are suppossed to be standard so you cannot don't want it.

take the lines on the early perdanas ( the lines down the side of the car) they told my dad that although its an optional item, the car must come with it.

but anyway, back to the topic.

theoretically the engine is good. it is suppossed to be a promising design with its futuristic enhancements and features which promises flexible power with minimal effect on fuel economy.

the fact is when compared with their japanese equivalent, they are NOT as good. and don't start telling me about proton is new and don't expect hem to get it right the first time, go and read up hondas history and see what real determination and competitiveness is.

This post has been edited by sakaic: May 14 2006, 08:57 AM
navigator
post May 15 2006, 09:54 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 13 2006, 05:07 PM)
You mena torque is maintained from 2000 to 6500 rpm.
it's maintained "in a 80~100% margin" and it's proven on dyno.

and dear all, Campro do have the VIM.

and one more, the campro maned as campro becaouse the cam profile is different from conventional "normal" engine. although there's no CPS in there.

the same campro system is used to build lotus APX. but in 3.2 litre turbocharged. just for your info

This post has been edited by navigator: May 15 2006, 09:57 AM
rcracer
post May 15 2006, 12:36 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 15 2006, 09:54 AM)

and one more, the campro maned as campro becaouse the cam profile is different from conventional "normal" engine. although there's no CPS in there.

the same campro system is used to build lotus APX. but in 3.2 litre turbocharged. just for your info
Haha bro i mean try revving all the way until 6500rpm, it pulls all the way there..
rclxm9.gif
soggie
post May 15 2006, 12:44 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 13 2006, 10:50 AM)
one thing to clear it off, the engine maned as CAMPRO is because the cam profile they used is different from the normal engine (and i don't mean performance engine over here).

The engine did some very impressive figure on prototype GEN2, which is 165BHP stock and without CPS. but same as the production, the engine do equipped with VIM system. and thisfigure achieved without violating Euro 4 emmission standard.

but due to the cost problem (plotong alwaysliked to cut cost for profit...) the engine used some rather cheaper material and the horsepower is reduced to the figure shown today......

and to fully boost the ability of the campro, you need some very skilled engineer to tune the ECU up. which none exist in any Klang valley service centers.... but there's one at batu pahat.

for my Gen2, i can have my 0 to 100 kph with near to 9 sec. and this is achieved without the need to fully depress the acceletor.

CAMPRO is a good anddecent engine. for mine, the torque is maintained from range of 2000rpm to 5500rpm. I don't think any of the "normal" japanese car seen in malaysian market have the same capability.

This statement is valid for my 2005 DEC Lennox black HL manual GEN2. i do not sure the previous batch, but I have a friend with 1st batch GEN2 mentioned the same thing.
Don't be so naive. ANY engine, can make 100 horses per litre if its a prototype version. This is because only one engine is made, and it follows all the blueprint of the original sketch. And high quality materials are used. When going down to the mass production pipe, materials are switched to more mass production materials and the engine's tolerances, shape, dimensions and eerything viaries from the original prototype. THat's why in the final product, expect to lose 40-50% of the horse power in the prototype.

Campro is just a normal engine. Nothing to be proud of.
soggie
post May 15 2006, 12:48 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 15 2006, 09:54 AM)

My arse. Tell me what's the "normal" cam profile, and what's the difference between it and the campro's profile. Its just a more aggressive profile, which shows because power is pathetic on the lower ranges and acceptable on the higher ranges. While everybody is targeting more torque for the normal drivers, Proton decides to go for high range powers with not many people will ever use. That's the only "genious" in the campro design. As for VIM, that's for variable intake manifold. I beg you to open the engine hood and point out where the mechanism lie. So far I only see one tube from the air intake to the intake manifold. Show me the second, shorter tube please.

And so what if the campro system is in the APX? We'll probably never see that car in malaysia due to its braindead aluminium chassis which Proton does not have the capability to build yet. Building a huge engine is easy. Building an engine that has 100 horses/litre is not. And proton is good at NOT being able to do the second one.
JasonKing
post May 15 2006, 01:32 PM

G-Unit
1,642 posts

your arse got campro???hahahahaa...
tunertoobe
post May 15 2006, 02:38 PM

9,309 posts

Seen Waja Campro yesterday. Quite good looking inside. thumbup.gif

Didn't get to inspect the inside a little further though, can't tell the quality.
karhoe
post May 15 2006, 02:46 PM

6,238 posts

If you have read the star RM50 winner column recently, you will remmember that a Gen2 was burned
K3nnYkl82
post May 15 2006, 03:43 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ May 15 2006, 02:46 PM)
If you have read the star RM50 winner column recently, you will remmember that a Gen2 was burned
dun bring up this topic .. it will causes flaming!..

btw, the gen2 burn because had an accident... hit another car..
post May 15 2006, 05:37 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ May 14 2006, 08:39 AM)
options... it something that proton wont do in the future for us.
they dont give us options to put airbags in the car even though oversea like UK got the options to install side airbags.
UK proton cars also got abs, ebd, traction controls. here in msia, for it to be options is also dont have. from all the talk i get from the engineers, it is all becoz of the stupid proton marketing department. they the 1 decide it.

btw, for CPS n VIM to be an options, is not a choice.
becoz in manufacturing world, there is no such thing as options coz to do some n not to do is actually losing money bigger than implement it to all the engines. and summore u must guarantee the order constant all the times.
thts y, even though proton is not selling very good, the factory still produce the car like normal becoz they will keep receiving supply. it is in the contract.

ok, for campro to be implement 1st in WAJA, im not sure about the truthfulness of this news coz there is no black n white news about it. to implement in the waja, they have to do R&D all over again.
btw, do u know why waja campro dont have airbags ? is becoz they need to do crash test again becoz the characteristic of the impact already change. n to do it need money.

ur last statement, even though if they add campro in gen2 n selling for 60k they will still lose money coz the figures of gen2 + waja campro is just not enough in the manufacturing world !!! i forgot aedi where i read but they need to sell around 200,000 cars a year with the same engine for how many years(forgot) just to recover the R&D for the engine !(i totally forgot where i got the figures but this topic hot during 1st proton implement the campro)
thats y u see the same engine is being used for a few generation of cars.
OK, then we wait till year 2020 and see how things going on..... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
CAMPRO... Coning Anticipative Malaysian PROgram

shinjite
post May 15 2006, 05:50 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Waja Campro is very nice the interior, way better than the Saga Special Edition
vincentl
post May 15 2006, 05:56 PM

LIM
1,240 posts

Campro or Campor ?

btw anyone turbocharge this engine or not ?
maybe can produce 200HP leh .... whistling.gif
then someone would really sell his/her civic @180HP tongue.gif

SUSceo684
post May 15 2006, 06:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 15 2006, 05:50 PM)
Waja Campro is very nice the interior, way better than the Saga Special Edition
4G13 in Mit Lancer F
79.1 PS (78.0 bhp) (58.2 kW)
@6000 rpm

4G13 in Proton Saga current edition
MAXIMUM OUTPUT
62 kW (83hp) @ 6000 rpm

I think must've been dynoed in the middle of the night.

Saga LMST interior really sucks lah..the LMSS was much better.

Difference between a normal engine (aka Camtakpro) vs VTEC is that the VTEC still can putter around town nicely + whack fast.. instead of whacking high rpm all the time
K3nnYkl82
post May 15 2006, 06:36 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ May 15 2006, 12:48 PM)
My arse. Tell me what's the "normal" cam profile, and what's the difference between it and the campro's profile. Its just a more aggressive profile, which shows because power is pathetic on the lower ranges and acceptable on the higher ranges. While everybody is targeting more torque for the normal drivers, Proton decides to go for high range powers with not many people will ever use. That's the only "genious" in the campro design. As for VIM, that's for variable intake manifold. I beg you to open the engine hood and point out where the mechanism lie. So far I only see one tube from the air intake to the intake manifold. Show me the second, shorter tube please.

And so what if the campro system is in the APX? We'll probably never see that car in malaysia due to its braindead aluminium chassis which Proton does not have the capability to build yet. Building a huge engine is easy. Building an engine that has 100 horses/litre is not. And proton is good at NOT being able to do the second one.
may be the rubber tube connected to the air filter is full of tiny holes so that it can have lots of intake leh tongue.gif
eric84cool
post May 15 2006, 06:41 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Ohhh...I met a lotsa of GEN2 caught on fire in newspaper recently leh........dare not to purchase the car....
tunertoobe
post May 15 2006, 06:58 PM

9,309 posts

CamPro engine got potential, I really do think so.
The only problem is Proton advertised the technology too early.
If they say earier that the engine was still in R&D, we wouldn't be bashing them like hell now.
CooShyRee
post May 15 2006, 07:01 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 15 2006, 06:58 PM)
CamPro engine got potential, I really do think so.
The only problem is Proton advertised the technology too early.
If they say earier that the engine was still in R&D, we wouldn't be bashing them like hell now.
proton juz wanna show off.. they wanna tell us that they can make stuff like that.. but the prob is, y dont they, rite???

24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:43 AM