126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

ivanswk
post Jun 18 2013, 05:21 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 18 2013, 04:37 PM)
Something new. I don't know how your case is possible. But my sis-in-law asked JPJ recently, the law still same like the time I applied. Only can hold one driving license, have to cancel the other one. I remember they punch hole to my MY driving license when applying.
which JPJ is this ?
few thread back , this is only happening in JB sweat.gif
i did both extraction in klang valley - edited

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jun 18 2013, 05:28 PM
hokin
post Jun 18 2013, 05:24 PM

245 posts

I posted this (below in spoiler) on the official rules of JPJ about converting to Singapore Driving Licence in July 2012 and Big Boss Deodorant posted it as the 2nd post in V13. Perhaps Deodorant or any other administrator of this thread can also post this as part of the 1st post of V14.

This post has been edited by hokin: Jun 18 2013, 05:28 PM
crazy25kid
post Jun 18 2013, 05:26 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 18 2013, 04:37 PM)
Something new. I don't know how your case is possible. But my sis-in-law asked JPJ recently, the law still same like the time I applied. Only can hold one driving license, have to cancel the other one. I remember they punch hole to my MY driving license when applying.
the law is that way...but in our malaysian way, most are not bothered
jpj cannot punch a hole in ur licens cause if they do, how are u leaving jpj since most of us drive? u have not yet convert and ur license just got invalidated.
sg will not destroy a foreign country document
so yea..the law says that one can only hold either a MY or SG license, but jpj sometimes tend to ignore the extra work.
Mackiddo
post Jun 18 2013, 05:52 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(light traveler @ Jun 18 2013, 12:16 AM)
is it not advisable to travel from jb to sg by car everyday?
why not ?
Mackiddo
post Jun 18 2013, 05:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dualshock @ Jun 18 2013, 02:09 PM)
you can convert your malaysian license to sg ones without cancelling, but once your license expired, you wouldn't be able to renew it again...

reason being is that when you do your conversion, sg will ask you to go jpj to get a letter stating that you have a clean driving license record...

jpj will issue you a letter and will tell you at that point of time that you will not be able to renew your license anymore...

that was the procedure i went through, 2 years ago...
they will un-blacklist only if ...

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 18 2013, 05:55 PM
cychoy
post Jun 18 2013, 06:30 PM

34 posts

How's the Singapore job market lately? Want to move on.
Mackiddo
post Jun 18 2013, 07:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(cychoy @ Jun 18 2013, 06:30 PM)
How's the Singapore job market lately? Want to move on.
quite good if you are targeting pharmaceutical, oil and gas, service industries and shipping industries.
uberlebender
post Jun 18 2013, 09:40 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 18 2013, 07:13 PM)
quite good if you are targeting pharmaceutical, oil and gas, service industries and shipping industries.
I can agree with oil and gas industry. This year I got two interviews in Singapore. And I also see many advertisements in Jobstreet.
Lester1987
post Jun 18 2013, 11:37 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 18 2013, 03:08 PM)
i repeat me and my wife, convert license from MY to SG, myself driving 1 year plus and my wife 2 few month back
no problem in renew license 
no letter stating cannot renew license whatsoever  thumbup.gif
is very legal, went to JPJ counter face to face to collect conversion letter on the spot
Most other states will not cancel your license when you request for the extract. Only JB does it strictly. so you can still use your Malaysia license

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 18 2013, 03:38 PM)
Bro keii-kun,

You the man bro.... thank you for the info bro... Now I clear already regarding this license issue.

So the conclusion, I just use my MY license and MY bike as long as I stay in JB and not reside in SG...

can or not like that bro? them... all the procedure make me blur.... hahahahhaa
by book, foreign worker are not suppose to use their foreign license after 1 year. by left, They did not enforce it as long as you are not driving or riding a Singapore vehicle.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 18 2013, 04:49 PM)
Who punched the hole? Singapore Traffic Police?
non of my license get punch any hole in it. They will just blacklist your name in their JPJ system and you can't renew your license anymore.

By right, It is illegal to hold 2 driving license at the same time. But with your Malaysian driving license still around, It would be good when it comes to kopi $$.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jun 18 2013, 11:38 PM
rexona
post Jun 18 2013, 11:45 PM

90 posts

I did mine in JPJ Bangi (selangor), wrote on the form that I want the extract for driving overseas, they no problem also, nv say my license blacklisted or cannot renew or etc.

Anyways don't understand why there is this rule.
Mackiddo
post Jun 19 2013, 12:01 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 18 2013, 11:37 PM)

by book, foreign worker are not suppose to use their foreign license after 1 year. by left, They did not enforce it as long as you are not driving or riding a Singapore vehicle.

no such rule. Malaysian on work pass can use their licence as long as they want to ride/drive Malaysia registered vehicle into Sg, as long as they do not not stay in Sg
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 19 2013, 12:20 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Jun 18 2013, 01:11 PM)
anyone here converted MY driving license to SG without cancel the MY driving license?
me, no prob at all... renewed b4 rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 19 2013, 12:29 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

so smelly... zzz, how's it at your place?

since sunday, the haze has been very bad, visibility is bad... smell is bad... zzzz

Singapore Smog Is Worst in 16 Years as Forests Burn in Asia

Why banks are pressured to hire Singaporeans for senior front-office roles

deodorant
post Jun 19 2013, 03:50 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 19 2013, 12:01 AM)
no such rule. Malaysian on work pass can use their licence as long as they want to ride/drive Malaysia registered vehicle into Sg, as long as they do not not stay in Sg

a-ei-a
post Jun 19 2013, 08:09 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 18 2013, 07:13 PM)
How about IT/Data Warehousing?
RabbitS
post Jun 19 2013, 08:49 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 19 2013, 12:01 AM)
Errr, not all work pass can.

Ep n sp for the first year only.. Wp restricted by occupation..
Feizai2013
post Jun 19 2013, 09:08 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Jun 19 2013, 08:09 AM)
How about IT/Data Warehousing?
IT field i feel KL better pay.
ivanswk
post Jun 19 2013, 09:10 AM

+J
2,110 posts

By right, It is illegal to hold 2 driving license at the same time. But with your Malaysian driving license still around, It would be good when it comes to kopi $$.
maybe some sifu can enlighten me, as i been driving for years and my car was snap for speed for tonnes of time
how u know, cause the one at serdang got flash light, so far i have not receive any saman and i believe got more than that

so i have concluded that the next time when i am being block, i was thinking i let them just saman me
i was thinking how they going send the summon to, if i give them my sg license

just saying hmm.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jun 19 2013, 09:16 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 18 2013, 04:49 PM)
Who punched the hole? Singapore Traffic Police?
JPJ in my state. I can't remember the exact procedure when they punched the hole since it was more than one decade ago. I got the impression from the JPJ officer that the MY license must be cancel according to their Act. JPJ also issued a letter from their director saying that the MY license is cancel and return, to reactivate next time when I give up the SG license with a letter from LTA.

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 18 2013, 05:21 PM)
which JPJ is this ?
few thread back , this is only happening in JB  sweat.gif
i did both extraction in klang valley - edited
JPJ in Sabah. No standard procedure one...

Eh, so you need to pay two side for the driving license renewal?

Most other states will not cancel your license when you request for the extract. Only JB does it strictly. so you can still use your Malaysia license
non of my license get punch any hole in it. They will just blacklist your name in their JPJ system and you can't renew your license anymore.

So far never get any trouble from traffic police during road block. thumbup.gif JPJ side should be ok since got the letter from them.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Jun 19 2013, 09:26 AM
ivanswk
post Jun 19 2013, 09:35 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 19 2013, 09:16 AM)
Eh, so you need to pay two side for the driving license renewal?
hmm i think sg license is lifetime for PR /Sg citizen nod.gif
only renew malaysia license, mainly because i am driving my malaysia car on weekend
i dun want to have problem with polis say my sg license cannot drive malaysia car shakehead.gif

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:11 PM