Working in Singapore V14

Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 01:44 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
Lester, big bike stuck in Causeway jam is not good.
Zerglings do not care for others as you care for yourself. Need to get construction earplugs also if you want your hearing protected. Loud, honking zerglings are another thing.

If you are bike lover, for sure she will be scarred everyday. Kena the signal broken, everyday will feel angry.
Big bikes also cannot push slowly so have to keep on running the engine and play FREE, gear 1, FREE. Very tiring lah.

oh ya, i'm a safe driver/rider and old also. >30yr
bro, blade is 250 only i doubt it is very heavy. i used to ride a elegan 200 scooter last time before i get this kapcai. the bike is freaking heavy, heavier than the CB400 (I know coz i get my 2A license on that bike).
As most of the time he will be travelling on the highway, a bigger bike is a better choice. I say bigger bike as in 200-500cc, but not those Honda Goldwing or those 1000cc superbikes.
As for the horns, its ok la, its normal. Had been doing this for 2 years +. U will get use to it and eventually join in the fun biggrin.gif.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:57 PM

45 posts

Bro Lester..

Currently I stay in Gelang Patah.... I recently buy a new house in Mutiara Rini area and expected to move there around November this year.

My office in SG is at Bukit Timah Road and same building with the Toyota Show Room.

Any idea for the best route I should take? I plan to use 2nd link and my friend here in Johor said that the traffic are much better compare to go by Woodland.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
mind sharing where is your office? and also ur exact location in Skudai? then I can give you some tips on it
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 02:06 PM

1,120 posts

enermax
if now u stay gelang patah, better follow 2nd link around 42km based on Googlemap....but your office is in bukit timah rd = near to woodlands la.
mutiara rini houses ~500k RM, whistling.gif

lester,
i dun wan to join the fun of having balls kecut to marbles when near SG CIQ. Y cannot queue quietly like in foodcourt i cannot brain.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jun 9 2013, 02:08 PM
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 02:11 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 01:57 PM)
Bro Lester..

Currently I stay in Gelang Patah.... I recently buy a new house in Mutiara Rini area and expected to move there around November this year.

My office in SG is at Bukit Timah Road and same building with the Toyota Show Room.

Any idea for the best route I should take? I plan to use 2nd link and my friend here in Johor said that the traffic are much better compare to go by Woodland.
ok, pros and cons for causeway and 2nd link listed below.

2nd Link

Pros
1. U will be on highway most of the time.
2. less bike on 2nd link (doesn't mean no jam, its still jam like mad)
3. easier to get to 2nd link from your house in JB compare to causeway.

cons
1. Pay extra RM2.40 and $1 SGD for toll.
2. riders in 2nd link is like barbarian. they squeeze until you got no place to put your leg down and u need to step on other ppl's bike. (a lot of factory in Tuas)
3. further from 2nd link to get to bukit timah compare to causeway.
causeway
Pros
1. no toll, only pay VEP.
2. cars are slower in EDL (80-110kph) compare to 2nd link highway (100-150kph), same goes to SG side, cars are faster in AYE compare to BKE.
3. people are basically more considerate, (never once i kena squeeze until no place put down my leg)

Cons
1. The traffic is bad, like kei said, zerg rush in the morning, If you lucky, u queue for 20 mins, if u got halau to the back lane by immigration, prepare to queue 1 hour.
2. not so convenient to get to EDL from your place compare to 2nd link.
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 02:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
enermax
if now u stay gelang patah, better follow 2nd link around 42km based on Googlemap....but your office is in bukit timah rd = near to woodlands la.
mutiara rini houses ~500k RM,  whistling.gif

lester,
i dun wan to join the fun of having balls kecut to marbles when near SG CIQ. Y cannot queue quietly like in foodcourt i cannot brain.

Kei,

U need to understand the reason why they horn in the 1st place. They don't horn for no reason like a barbarian. They horn because some idiot blocked the way waiting for the Aux police to open the front lane.
It cause a massive jam at the back. Don't have to scare the police will catch u even if u horn, coz the police will catch the fellow blocking the road instead of you.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 02:15 PM

45 posts

Hahahaha... mana ada 500k bro... just buy a normal house there tha more comfortable for my family... besides.. i quiet love the environment.

Thank you for the route advise bro... I will find sometime to experience the situation myself... heheeh...

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
enermax
mutiara rini houses ~500k RM,  whistling.gif

lester,
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 02:39 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 02:11 PM)
ok, pros and cons for causeway and 2nd link listed below.
2nd link
2. riders in 2nd link is like barbarian. they squeeze until you got no place to put your leg down and u need to step on other ppl's bike. (a lot of factory in Tuas) - i did not know that. Woodlands so far zerglings never squeeze until like that.

causeway
pros
3. people are basically more considerate, (never once i kena squeeze until no place put down my leg) : true also but i no zerglings, just happened to morph as one when coming back from JB
cons
if u got halau to the back lane by immigration, prepare to queue 1 hour. means your queue lane kena stop? i kena before, just few more bikes only then kena stop

They don't horn for no reason like a barbarian. They horn because some idiot blocked the way waiting for the Aux police to open the front lane.
It cause a massive jam at the back. Don't have to scare the police will catch u even if u horn, coz the police will catch the fellow blocking the road instead of you.
from my experience, the lane is already jammed, massive or not, no point honking and making things more stressed. And yes, they are honking like a monkey got horn first time. not being considerate at all. Queue quietly la, i dun see any problem being quiet, but zerglings are used to it.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jun 9 2013, 02:39 PM
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 03:08 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 02:39 PM)
from my experience, the lane is already jammed, massive or not, no point honking and making things more stressed. And yes, they are honking like a monkey got horn first time. not being considerate at all. Queue quietly la, i dun see any problem being quiet, but zerglings are used to it.
if you didn't horn, the people in front will stay there and not moving at all. and wait until the immigration open the front section then only they move.
since I have time now. I draw u a diagram below.

enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 04:43 PM

45 posts

Wow... thank you bro... the diagram is really help me out to ready for a war in the border... hehehehe..

I will try both way... Woodland and 2nd Link to see which suit my daily ride the best way..

Based on the Manager explanation.. I will have 3 month training and after that start to travel to do work at site... Hope this can reduce my daily commute to SG.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 03:08 PM)
if you didn't horn, the people in front will stay there and not moving at all. and wait until the immigration open the front section then only they move.
since I have time now. I draw u a diagram below.

megadisc
post Jun 9 2013, 06:24 PM

4,349 posts

this is super helpful
was considering getting a bite

but need to get the motor driving license 1st leh then convert to sg wan

also how ?

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)
enermax,

marine telco in Petronas ICT , i guess for MMHE pasir gudang?
since you already moved to Johor and stay with your parents, then it is easier to decide , as you had moved from KL > JB already.
Well, u have decided already laugh.gif

its a good offer if 1:1 and even better if the Britain co even give u CPF encashment, which you can save to UT for long term as EPF saving.

like keelim said, mentally and physically prepared for daily commuting in/out SG via Woodlands. Also be mentally and physically prepared working here as its not the same as working in malaysian environment in petronas/mmhe/iperintis.

Hope your EP approved without problem.

anyway, answering your question with my little exp of commuting. Lester1987 has more details.

Cost wise : MY bike vs SG bike
MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Petrol can fill in MY Ron95
Pakai till bike kaput or 20 yrs ++
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif
Kapcai EX5 cheap to buy and maintain.

SG Bike
No VEP
ERP paid as per gantry charged
Petrol still can fill MY Ron95
Pakai till 10yrs (if new) or buy used renew COE later (S$2k)
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
Kapcai price is 1:1 MY price. whistling.gif
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 07:16 PM

45 posts

Do I still need to convert my MY driving license to ride my MY bike in SG?

Or just converte the license if one day I buy SG bike.....

Need explanation on this friends..

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 9 2013, 06:24 PM)
this is super helpful
was considering getting a bite

but need to get the motor driving license 1st leh then convert to sg wan

also how ?
be_happy
post Jun 9 2013, 07:22 PM

77 posts

had been submitted quite numbers of applications in jobstreets but none of them replied. cry.gif
megadisc
post Jun 9 2013, 08:00 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jun 9 2013, 07:22 PM)
had been submitted quite numbers of applications in jobstreets but none of them replied.  cry.gif
yeah ..we both in the same boat , ship and sampan ... blush.gif

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 07:16 PM)

yeah me want to know too ...

or we jsut get MY bike then leave it in singapore ....or must bring back ...???? whistling.gif
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 08:22 PM

1,120 posts

megadisc, u are so lazy and kept on putting no value comments to kick up your post count. good luck on your job hunting.

Ic3pRInc3sSsIcA
post Jun 9 2013, 10:00 PM

186 posts

hi all sifu sifu here smile.gif

im thinking to work in sg to gain experience for few years, as i graduate in the end of june..

may i know any jobs kang tao for Electrical Engineering Field?

wilhelm
post Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM

28 posts

Hey guys, anyone here working in recruitment firm? Hows the job market there for Malaysian? And is it true that SIngapore bank normally won't take foreigners?
I have been looking for job in SG for a month, some of you may thought that it's still not long but im getting more concern as i have sent almost 50 applications and none of them call back for at least a phone interview? I'm wondering is it my problem or what..I have two years experiences in trade finance with a global bank in Malaysia, i wouldn't say that my profile and resume are very impressive but i believe should be no problem for at least maybe secure an interview? This is a huge knock on my confidence sad.gif
I am now still in Malaysia, due to financial problem it's not wise for me to simply go down and stay without interview. With Malaysia address and numbers in resume, could these affect the employer when they are short-listing?
Thanks in advance guys
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 10 2013, 01:09 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 07:16 PM)

u can check at lta's website...

QUOTE(be_happy @ Jun 9 2013, 07:22 PM)
had been submitted quite numbers of applications in jobstreets but none of them replied.  cry.gif
me too cry.gif

QUOTE(wilhelm @ Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here working in recruitment firm? Hows the job market there for Malaysian? And is it true that SIngapore bank normally won't take foreigners?
I have been looking for job in SG for a month, some of you may thought that it's still not long but im getting more concern as i have sent almost 50 applications and none of them call back for at least a phone interview? I'm wondering is it my problem or what..I have two years experiences in trade finance with a global bank in Malaysia, i wouldn't say that my profile and resume are very impressive but i believe should be no problem for at least maybe secure an interview? This is a huge knock on my confidence sad.gif
I am now still in Malaysia, due to financial problem it's not wise for me to simply go down and stay without interview. With Malaysia address and numbers in resume, could these affect the employer when they are short-listing?
Thanks in advance guys
trade finance? back room? check lc n providing treasury instruments? all those kind of stuff?
be_happy
post Jun 10 2013, 08:17 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2013, 01:09 AM)
u can check at lta's website...
me too  cry.gif
trade finance? back room? check lc n providing treasury instruments?  all those kind of stuff?
They said is hard to go in now... rules and regulations are strictly done
megadisc
post Jun 10 2013, 10:19 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 08:22 PM)
megadisc, u are so lazy and kept on putting value comments to kick up your post count. good luck on your job hunting.
thanks anyways ...

i think ..

just saw a motorcycle accidnet this morning , there goes my plan to get a bike ...
seantang
post Jun 10 2013, 11:09 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(wilhelm @ Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM)

Thanks in advance guys
There is no shortage of fresh/junior bank employees right now.

Only if you're a pretty senior hire, will they will take the trouble to recruit someone who is still overseas (they have to phone, get you into SG for interviews, juggle your leave/flights/accommodation with the interviewers' schedules etc), and with no work permit or residency status (ie. they have to get it for you).

126 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:46 AM