Working in Singapore V14

enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 05:44 AM

45 posts

Dear all forumerz member, tuan tuan, puan puan, cik cik, taiko taiko and all sifu sifu...

I want to ask your guys opinion regarding a job offer from SG.

I just be clear with all the details for your guys view.

I work now in O&G fields as marine telco. engineer. Current company is Petronas ICT (formerly known as iPerintis) with basic MYR 3k and plus other allowance.

This telco company from Britain offering me job to be base in their SG office with basic SGD 3k and plus other allowance.

If I take the job... I will deal with new challenge and travel extensively as I will support Asia Pacific Region and New Zealand. In my current company.. I more like the boss and my work scope is monitoring the vendor in project (feel like there are no improvement in my work environment now because more to see and watch job).

The interesting part of SG offer offcourse money.

I plan to ride my bike daily for office hour job in SG.

Can I have your guys opinion.. should I take the offer?

Rasa serba salah mau take this offer or not... by the way... anyone may experience the cost for motorcyle usage in and out SG daily...

Thank you guys...

I just buy a house for my mom in the Skudai area.
enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 06:14 AM

45 posts

Forget to tell... it is a permanent position in SG as per mention by the HR and my current position also permanent...
enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 12:00 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jun 8 2013, 10:47 AM)
Mind if I ask how many years of experience and how old are you btw? How many years have you worked in your current company? If you don't have much commitment, I would say go ahead with the job. This will greatly boost your resume and expand your horizons when you work in an international environment.

If I were you, I would take up the offer without a second thought.

if you don't want it, intro it to me smile.gif
Bro.... I just recently working in Petronas ICT.. baru 3 bulan

Before this I working in the local satellite comm. company and serve also as comm. engineer in O&G platform plus rigs. Working experince 2 years.

Yeah... ur right... it will totally boost up my resume, salary and experience.

Just maybe I wil lost little of my social live in KL... sudah lama stay in KL maybe make me feel this way...

Yeah.. I decide to take this challenge... as my parents also sudah manyak heppi as I will stay with them..

Just for your guide... If you interested to apply for O&G telco fields, you can try this company:

harriscaprock
Rignet
Axis Teknologi - local
Scopetel - local

This post has been edited by enermax: Jun 8 2013, 12:02 PM
enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 08:41 PM

45 posts

Bro keelim,

I had tried negotiate with the manager, but they said that I still need a lot of training as my experience previously difference with their product.

Regarding the EPF, i don't think I will get that in SG as their EPF/CPF only for PR or Singaporean. So for the time being.. I have to plan my own saving or any suitable investment.

I decide to take the challenge due to few factor such as money conversion, experience, knowledge for boom my career and stay closer to my parents.

Now I still waiting for the EP to ready and hoping that my decision will guide me for better future.. Pray for my success friends... hehehe

Thank you again for your guys advise..

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 8 2013, 08:14 AM)
You should compute your salary net of tax. So the calculation should include your EPF as well. But on relative terms, the dollar and cents will be higher if you are working in SG. The conversion will help tremendously in your mortgage payment and spending power in Johor.

The job exposure seems to be better with APAC responsibility. I love New Zealand and will be bias here. The daily commute will be painful but make sure you are prepared for it mentally and physically. I hope you are not commuting from Skudai daily because that is going to be very demanding.

Take a long term view of the prospects. As an outsider, it looks pretty good but negotiate for a few more hundreds will seal the deal for me.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:21 PM

45 posts

Bro keii-kun,

My current work now in Petronas is to monitor the progress of Comm. Infra. Upgrade for all Petronas offshore Platform in Terengganu, Sarawak and Sabah. Never get the chance to visit MMHE at pasir gudang.

Yup bro, I already firm with my decision to take the offer in SG and hope that my EP will be ready in short time.

Thank you bro for the motorcycle riding cost from MY to SG. It is really helpful to made me allocate all the daily budget.

But the best part is how you know that I own Naza Blade 250... because I already used the bike for 1 year and proud to be the members of Blade community.... heheheee

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)
enermax,

marine telco in Petronas ICT , i guess for MMHE pasir gudang?
since you already moved to Johor and stay with your parents, then it is easier to decide , as you had moved from KL > JB already.
Well, u have decided already laugh.gif

its a good offer if 1:1 and even better if the Britain co even give u CPF encashment, which you can save to UT for long term as EPF saving.

like keelim said, mentally and physically prepared for daily commuting in/out SG via Woodlands. Also be mentally and physically prepared working here as its not the same as working in malaysian environment in petronas/mmhe/iperintis.

Hope your EP approved without problem.

anyway, answering your question with my little exp of commuting. Lester1987 has more details.

Cost wise : MY bike vs SG bike
MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Petrol can fill in MY Ron95
Pakai till bike kaput or 20 yrs ++
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif
Kapcai EX5 cheap to buy and maintain.

SG Bike
No VEP
ERP paid as per gantry charged
Petrol still can fill MY Ron95
Pakai till 10yrs (if new) or buy used renew COE later (S$2k)
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
Kapcai price is 1:1 MY price. whistling.gif
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:28 PM

45 posts

Hehehee... thank you for the wish bro.. I hope my career will grown extensively in SG.

Do not say like that bro, become an entrepreneur is much better than working for other people as business will provide unlimited income. However it will still have pro and cons lorh.. smile.gif

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 9 2013, 11:00 AM)
Baby steps. Most importantly your EP has to be approved. Good luck on that.

Staying close to parents is wonderful. Unfortunately, the part of Msia where I came from do not have job opportunity unless I aspire to be an entrepreneur. You are blessed.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:34 PM

45 posts

Yezz bro... with all the traffic jam at border, it is really gonna be a hard time for me and my air cool blade... the vtwin engine is extremely source of heat... will make me sweat like hell.... hahaaha

By the way... I plan to cross the border using Tuas aka 2nd link... is there any difference with the cost ur guys mention above?

Using motorcycle of course...

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 01:27 PM)
naza blade is a lucky guess. but, I strongly suggest , if your future co in Sg is office hour based job, e.g non-flexible shift, better buy a used EX5 or any other cheap bike. Zerg rush to SG in AM and back to MY in PM can be pretty nasty for you and your Blade.

MMHE was a guess since I thought you already moved to JB.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:37 PM

45 posts

If everything run smoothly in SG.. I hope I can get a superbike from there... I really inspire with the inline 4 engin... hahaahaa

Biasa bro... once become a rider.. always have dream for the best bike.. wakkakka

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 01:30 PM)
haha, i like this word. I am 1 of the zergling there in the morning. But I think Blade is fine. Kapcai is really not good enough especially he is staying in Skudai.
I personally riding a kapcai now. really not fast enough to keep up with the lorries in EDL. Now saving money to get myself a Cb400.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:57 PM

45 posts

Bro Lester..

Currently I stay in Gelang Patah.... I recently buy a new house in Mutiara Rini area and expected to move there around November this year.

My office in SG is at Bukit Timah Road and same building with the Toyota Show Room.

Any idea for the best route I should take? I plan to use 2nd link and my friend here in Johor said that the traffic are much better compare to go by Woodland.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM)
mind sharing where is your office? and also ur exact location in Skudai? then I can give you some tips on it
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 02:15 PM

45 posts

Hahahaha... mana ada 500k bro... just buy a normal house there tha more comfortable for my family... besides.. i quiet love the environment.

Thank you for the route advise bro... I will find sometime to experience the situation myself... heheeh...

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
enermax
if now u stay gelang patah, better follow 2nd link around 42km based on Googlemap....but your office is in bukit timah rd = near to woodlands la.
mutiara rini houses ~500k RM,  whistling.gif

lester,
i dun wan to join the fun of having balls kecut to marbles when near SG CIQ. Y cannot queue quietly like in foodcourt i cannot brain.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 04:43 PM

45 posts

Wow... thank you bro... the diagram is really help me out to ready for a war in the border... hehehehe..

I will try both way... Woodland and 2nd Link to see which suit my daily ride the best way..

Based on the Manager explanation.. I will have 3 month training and after that start to travel to do work at site... Hope this can reduce my daily commute to SG.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 03:08 PM)
if you didn't horn, the people in front will stay there and not moving at all. and wait until the immigration open the front section then only they move.
since I have time now. I draw u a diagram below.

enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 07:16 PM

45 posts

Do I still need to convert my MY driving license to ride my MY bike in SG?

Or just converte the license if one day I buy SG bike.....

Need explanation on this friends..

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 9 2013, 06:24 PM)
this is super helpful
was considering getting a bite

but need to get the motor driving license 1st leh then convert to sg wan

also how ?
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 09:41 AM

45 posts

Dear Friends,

I just get my approval and they required me to do my medical first in SG before they proceed with my EP card and etc.

My basic is 3000 SGD, so I assume I will get the Q1 EP.

I just wondering regarding the Tax, as in my contract of employmeent. On the tax part, it is written that all the income tax is under IRAS and SG goverment.

Is that mean I have to declare and pay my own?

Can otai here advise me regarding the amount of Tax? I have look at IRAS website but still not really understand on the procedure.

I probably start work in SG this August 2013.

Thank you all.

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 14 2013, 09:30 AM)

yeah me too ...

just checking the pass requirements

Q1 Employment Pass : Professionals, Managers, Executives or Specialists

Young graduates from good institutions could qualify if they earn at least $3,000
S Pass                  :  Mid-level skilled workers (e.g. Technicians)

Fixed monthly salary = $2,000
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 11:37 AM

45 posts

tyj82,

thank you for the info bro...

So is that mean if I start working at SG, they only will tax me after I complete1 year right? I thought I will still have to pay the tax for August to Dec 2013, which mean less than 183 days = 15 percent or tax resident (which is higher).

Like what my friend say in KL, I will be kopak lorh... heheheehe

I planning to stay in Skudai area, Taman Mutiara Rini if you know where I already buy a house there and commute daily to SG (plan ride my malaysia register bike using 2nd Link which I assume less traffic jam). Other alternative is using public transport but have to check all the route first from my house. Depend which one are cheaper and better time consume.

My office will be around Bukit Timah Road (Toyota Show Room Building).

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:25 AM)
Regarding the Tax, you only need to worry 1 year later, when your company give you 8A form, it time for you to submit the tax.

Some company auto submit, some manual depends on the employer. $3000 salary around $400 tax or less. Depending on your bonus.

dont worry too much on that.

When time come IRAS will send you mail to ask you to pay 2-4 month after you submit. Just pay whatever amount there.. Unlikely the calculation goes wrong as the shown in detail. Just remember to submit relief if you have any.

Welcome to SG life. Eat all the good food you can think of before you come down.

Advice for renting.
If possible avoid agent. those goes to agent because it is expensive or owner not good. But without agent it is much more hassle.
I jumped 4 places in 5 year without agent. Google is your best friend.
If you have friend here, you can ask him check the NTUC notice board. Best place to get low rental room.

Share with you rental rate i paid
2008 $420 common room inclusive utility and internet. Stay with owner. Walking distance to JE MRT.
2009 $550 common room inclusive utility and internet. Stay with owner. Previous owner give the room to his relative. (Stay here 3 month as the next room not available yet. The owner raise from $500 to $550. 2 days before we move it). Walking distance to JE MRT.
2009 $600 Master room with bath room. PUB shared around $100/month. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till owner sold the house.
2011 $600 Master room with bath room. PUB shared around $100/month. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till owner increase rent to $900.
2012 $550 Common room. PUB around $80. No owner. Take bus to MRT. Stay till my HDB ready
2013 ----- My own HDB !!!!!.
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 12:10 PM

45 posts

Thank you much bro JohnJon82....

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:51 AM)
Download the spreadsheets from the link below and key in the value you getting or expect to get from now until Dec 2013.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/taxcalculators.aspx
Ah welcome to SG.

Ya you are right, your tax is from August to Dec 2013, not August 2013 to July 2014.  Not sure about which category you belong to though. If you are considered resident, then income taxable after 20k, below 20k no need fill the tax. May not hit if 3k * 5 months unless got bonus or other income.
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 12:11 PM

45 posts

Bro,

Can you give me some examples for the tax relief?

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Jun 14 2013, 11:56 AM)
EP also depends on other thing like paper cert, year of exp and job title. I have my people getting 4.5k but rejected EP, only SP.

The manual form call IR8A, stating basic salary, bonus, director fee, cpf contribution etc just like the first page of the electronic form in IRAS. Then just fill in the numbers.
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 02:39 PM

45 posts

TQ bro deodorant...

yup... so it will gonna be a bomb for my first year tax. Hope the SG gov can give some muka to me and reduce a little bit or repaiy me back the total tax.

I will refer to IRAS when I start my career in SG.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 14 2013, 02:02 PM)
I think your first thought was correct. SG works on a calendar tax year, so for Aug-Dec 2013 you could be taxed at non resident i.e. 15% rates. However by early 2014 you would have then changed classification to tax resident under the '183 days over 2 years' rule, and would be able to claim back your overpaid tax amount. Though I don't know what the timing is for that / how to do the reclaim.
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 03:13 PM

45 posts

Mackiddo,

Who are you again? Not understand what you mean bro....

You refer to this statement ar bro .... "Hope the SG gov can give some muka to me"... this one just a joke lah bro...

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 14 2013, 03:04 PM)
who are you again ?
This post has been edited by enermax: Jun 14 2013, 03:15 PM
enermax
post Jun 14 2013, 03:28 PM

45 posts

hahahahaa... i think something serious lorh... wakkakakaa brows.gif

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 14 2013, 03:24 PM)
i'm just pulling you legs, really  biggrin.gif
enermax
post Jun 18 2013, 11:46 AM

45 posts

Dear friends,

I have question regarding conversion of MY motorcycle license to SG motorcyle license.

Currently I hold MY license class B2 (250 cc or below) and I own Naza Blade 250 as my daily ride.

I have read some articles as below:

Another note: If you have a Malaysian Full B Motorcycle license (500CC and above), they will only give you a 2B (200CC and below) license. This is not negotiable. If you want your 2A (200CC and above but below 500CC) or the class 2 (500CC and above). You must start at 2B, wait for one year and have no bad driving records, and then take the course for 2A. You must wait another year to do the same for the full class 2. This is Singapore's 3-tier motorcycle licensing system. No way out! If you find a loophole, do let me know!

So, even though after I complete all the procedure and able to class 2B motorcycle license, I will not able to use my Naza Blade 250 legally in SG, is that correct? and have to wait for one year before can proceed for 2A and 2.

Kindly advise bro.... Aiyo... tak kan I have to buy another smaller cc bike to be use in SG...

0.0586sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:19 PM