126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

seantang
post Jun 11 2013, 10:25 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 11 2013, 10:07 AM)
wide open spaces, bigger accomodation
This is a difference, not better or worse. It's the difference between living in a city state (SG, HK, Monaco...) vs everywhere else perhaps.

Whether wide open spaces and bigger accomodation are better... it's a matter of preference (although it has to be said that the vast majority will agree that bigger is better). Personally I value location more than space.

QUOTE(robertchoo)
no queues during lunchtime or dinner time, no need for reservations most of the time
I don't know how true this is... I've been left standing over diner's shoulders waiting for tables lots of times. Or cannot find parking near the restaurant, SS2, Uptown, Taipan etc. Or dealing with the curry mee seller or chee cheong fun seller who says "cannot wait ah, don't eat lah".

QUOTE(robertchoo)
Food (the everday fare - not the high krass ones), did i mention food?,
Compared to Ipoh or Penang food... you've got a point. KL food... ummm, I don't think so. If you have a car in SG, you can find everyday hawker stall food that can match anything KL has to offer.
ivanswk
post Jun 11 2013, 11:11 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 11 2013, 10:07 AM)
Food (the everday fare - not the high krass ones), wide open spaces, bigger accomodation, no queues during lunchtime or dinner time, no need for reservations most of the time, did i mention food?,
hmm.. is that the reason u relocating back ?

Fiona Chin
post Jun 11 2013, 12:59 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 10 2013, 10:28 PM)
Well, that's you.
Alot of hiring manages from certain banks don't think like you.
But having said that I heard MOM is looking into this problem already.
Hopefully the bank you saying is not my bank, and the hiring manager is not me lol. I was involved in the hiring rounds for my team recently. The process we go through are very tedious and all following the book from upstairs, 2-3 day course before I join the committee, those MOM rules, fairness in recruiting, psychology kind of thing.

There may be some black sheep you met or heard. But I has worked with very professional HR people. After all, they still have their boss to report to. I have my boss to report to, and he has the board to report to. And complains from people not getting the job stating whatever reasons (sometime targeting us for personal reason like what you mentioned - nationality) do come in, and we will be questioned by the audit team. They are not fun to deal with.
Fiona Chin
post Jun 11 2013, 01:18 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 11 2013, 10:25 AM)
This is a difference, not better or worse. It's the difference between living in a city state (SG, HK, Monaco...) vs everywhere else perhaps.

Whether wide open spaces and bigger accomodation are better... it's a matter of preference (although it has to be said that the vast majority will agree that bigger is better). Personally I value location more than space.
I prefer a safe environment more than space. I don't dare to walk or drive around KL alone, but walking down Merlion Park to MBS at 2-3am, no need to look over my shoulder now and then.

SG still has a lot of space, but come with a bigger price tag. Drive around those GCB and landed estate, a lot of empty plot still available. The estates feel like taman in MY.

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 11 2013, 10:25 AM)
I don't know how true this is... I've been left standing over diner's shoulders waiting for tables lots of times. Or cannot find parking near the restaurant, SS2, Uptown, Taipan etc. Or dealing with the curry mee seller or chee cheong fun seller who says "cannot wait ah, don't eat lah".
Some hawker stall owners here also behave like that hehe, careful.

This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: Jun 11 2013, 01:21 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 11 2013, 01:55 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 11 2013, 11:11 AM)
hmm.. is that the reason u relocating back ?
Nah. Family issues.
c_f_lambda
post Jun 11 2013, 01:58 PM

Hi all,
This is my 1st post. Hope to get some suggestion I am Penang people (26 years old) who working for automation industry for 5 years already. Recently thinking to change job.

I get a offer from Singapore (SGD 3600) and a offer from Penang (RM 4000).

-Singapore-
Salary: SGD 3600 (No epf)
Rental : SGD 700
Transport and other expenses : SGD 1000
Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
Salary : RM 4000(epf 13%), Total RM4520
Rental : RM 210
Transport and other expenses : RM 1000
Left RM 3310.

After compared, Savins in SG minus savings in Malaysia. The differences is around RM 1500. I love staying in Malaysia. BUt the extra income that can earn from SG is kinda attractive too.
Both is waiting for me to sign my offer letter. I have a very hard to struggle where to choose.
Hope I can get some opinion/suggestion here...

One point is, I will definately come back if I'm working in SG.
ivanswk
post Jun 11 2013, 02:50 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^SG
crazy25kid
post Jun 11 2013, 02:53 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(c_f_lambda @ Jun 11 2013, 01:58 PM)
Hi all,
This is my 1st post. Hope to get some suggestion I am Penang people (26 years old) who working for automation industry for 5 years already. Recently thinking to change job.

-Singapore-
Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
Left RM 3310.

After compared, Savins in SG minus savings in Malaysia. The differences is around RM 1500. I love staying in Malaysia. BUt the extra income that can earn from SG is kinda attractive too.
Both is waiting for me to sign my offer letter. I have a very hard to struggle where to choose.

this would be the first ever time i seen someone take EPF into saving consideration sweat.gif sweat.gif
if that is to be considered, u can take into account in future for CPF...3rd year onwards employer is 16% (can ask for 3rd year straight also) rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
i do not know much abt the automation industry, but in my opinion, it would be a good opportunity to venture out of the comfort zone a bit since you are still quite young.
the offer seems pretty much good too.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jun 11 2013, 02:54 PM
Dark NT
post Jun 11 2013, 03:01 PM

1,006 posts

Strictly from a $ standpoint, I would recommend you to negotiate with the MY and SG employer to up the offer since you have 2 offers in your pocket.

their response (posivitve or negative) will likely help you with your decision making.

tailtwist
post Jun 11 2013, 04:23 PM

1,564 posts

Hi all,

-Singapore-
Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
Left RM 3310.

SGD1k for transport and other expenses are more than enough....SGD5 per meal x 3 per day x 30 == 450, public transport == 150
Mind you SGD5 per meal is quite a decent meal liao....sometimes can include a drink somemore
tyj82
post Jun 11 2013, 04:42 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)

Cost wise : MY bike vs SG bike
MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Petrol can fill in MY Ron95
Pakai till bike kaput or 20 yrs ++
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif
Kapcai EX5 cheap to buy and maintain.

SG Bike
No VEP
ERP paid as per gantry charged
Petrol still can fill MY Ron95
Pakai till 10yrs (if new) or buy used renew COE later (S$2k)
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
Kapcai price is 1:1 MY price. whistling.gif
Forget about EX5 in Singapore highway unless u running 50-60kmph.
The EX5 will vibrate till ur hand drop off. Get a better bike if u cross border daily.

Once you get your PR you cannot ride Msia bike in SG.

I been riding for 4 year+ in SG
jitshiong
post Jun 11 2013, 04:50 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

Hi all,

-Singapore-
Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
Left RM 3310.

I send back about 60% of my salary at the moment.
if u dun have commitment in Malaysia, then coming over to SG is the right choice. Plus, u r only 26...
tyj82
post Jun 11 2013, 05:26 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 6 2013, 11:56 PM)
Btw, anyone working at CBP?
What is CBP ?
tyj82
post Jun 11 2013, 05:27 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jun 11 2013, 04:50 PM)
I send back about 60% of my salary at the moment.
if u dun have commitment in Malaysia, then coming over to SG is the right choice. Plus, u r only 26...
Wah 60%, your salary must be high....
jitshiong
post Jun 11 2013, 05:32 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jun 11 2013, 05:27 PM)
Wah 60%, your salary must be high....
nope...very little
i everyday eat chap fan
no entertainment, stay home only
ride bicycle to work
tyj82
post Jun 11 2013, 05:35 PM

LYN Freak
1,047 posts

Hi all,

-Singapore-
Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
Left RM 3310.

Balance SGD 2000 is different from RM 3300 in MY
your phone/internet bill only S$60/month compare to Msia RM200.
your Water/electric bill RM100. S$0 consider inclusive in rental
your iphone less than 1/2 price.
you dont have to pay for petrol RM200/month. MRT around $S50 month.
the rest of the thing is like 60% discount.
If you like travel it make lots of different.

I like stay in Malaysia(from Penang too) but the figure does not look correct, especially when Car/Home installment comes in.

I was working in KL as fresh grad with 1.7K salary 6 years back. End of the month i got nothing left. My parent have to pay my car installment/repair.
Then i move to SG with 1.6K salary. I managed to save around 800/month. That was 6 year ago.
Now the starting salary around 2-3K much better.

This post has been edited by tyj82: Jun 11 2013, 05:36 PM
elice
post Jun 11 2013, 05:51 PM

98 posts

How to get a job in singapore? I apply few job but no reply at all! sigh! cry.gif
Argiope
post Jun 11 2013, 08:23 PM

300 posts

-Singapore-
That's more than enough for you to take cab to work everyday (assuming $15/trip). You can settle for bus/MRT and occasionally cab for less than $200.

Left SGD 2000.

-Malaysia-
But your take home pay is only RM3560 or lesser (can't remember employee EPF is 11 or 12%). Should not take employer contribution as your consideration factor.
That's assuming you stay nearby your workplace and walk to work or take public transport or drive a loan paid off car? If you are still serving your HP loan, incl. petrol, toll, parking, insurance, saman etc. definitely more than RM1000.
Left RM 3310.
You don't have RM3310 cos your nett pay is only RM3560.

QUOTE(tyj82 @ Jun 11 2013, 05:26 PM)
What is CBP ?
Changi Business Park

This post has been edited by Argiope: Jun 11 2013, 08:25 PM
keelim
post Jun 11 2013, 09:52 PM

941 posts

I hope you do consider employer contribution as part of the comparison. It's part of total compensation from your active service. Your human capital will progressively be converted to financial capital as you age.

Hence the amount of employer epf that you forgo is an opportunity cost to you. At least I would see it from that lenses.

keelim
post Jun 11 2013, 10:12 PM

941 posts

Sorry, I mean marginal income that you forgo.

126 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0869sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:27 PM