Working in Singapore V14

wilhelm
post Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM

28 posts

Hey guys, anyone here working in recruitment firm? Hows the job market there for Malaysian? And is it true that SIngapore bank normally won't take foreigners?
I have been looking for job in SG for a month, some of you may thought that it's still not long but im getting more concern as i have sent almost 50 applications and none of them call back for at least a phone interview? I'm wondering is it my problem or what..I have two years experiences in trade finance with a global bank in Malaysia, i wouldn't say that my profile and resume are very impressive but i believe should be no problem for at least maybe secure an interview? This is a huge knock on my confidence sad.gif
I am now still in Malaysia, due to financial problem it's not wise for me to simply go down and stay without interview. With Malaysia address and numbers in resume, could these affect the employer when they are short-listing?
Thanks in advance guys
wilhelm
post Jul 10 2013, 12:17 PM

28 posts

Guys, anyone staying in Tampines area?

After months of depositing resume finally manage to secure an interview and got my offer rclxms.gif

Little advice for fellow Malaysian who intending to work here, get yourself a Singapore address and number and put them in your resume
It does make a difference for me, but it's only applicable when you are unemployed tongue.gif

Cheers
wilhelm
post Jul 12 2013, 09:59 PM

28 posts

Guys, just to confirm.
Can we withdraw our initial deposit straightaway after the account is opened with bank?

I never knew foreigners like us who wish to open a saving account required so much deposit shocking.gif
wilhelm
post Jul 13 2013, 03:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Jul 12 2013, 10:50 PM)
Open account at POSB no need deposit ma...
Sadly, I will be joining UOB, staff account also kena sgd 500
wilhelm
post Jul 13 2013, 03:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(alangth @ Jul 12 2013, 11:16 PM)
Dear all who working in Singapore~

May I know it took how long for S'pore Employer to call u after applying from Jobstreet, JobDB???

any advice for me on applying job in S'pore???

Thanks~ ^^
For my case, it took only 2 minutes after i hit the apply button, and 3 working days to get my offer, very efficient rclxms.gif
It depends on the employer but i guess they are still efficient than Malaysian employers
wilhelm
post Jul 14 2013, 01:49 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(alangth @ Jul 13 2013, 03:49 PM)
May I know what position/ job u apply???
Trade Finance, import operation, in banking. I guess they need people urgently
wilhelm
post Jul 14 2013, 02:33 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 14 2013, 07:45 AM)
back office document checking?
yea. Documentary credit stuff. nod.gif
wilhelm
post Jul 15 2013, 01:36 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 14 2013, 11:14 PM)

LC checking? have you got the certification yet?
The scope is kinda wide, from LC opening, checking to payment. This is the reason i took this job.
I only have two years experience previously from bills payment function.
The certification is it CDCS you mean? I haven't got that
You from the related field?
wilhelm
post Jul 22 2013, 09:57 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Jul 22 2013, 06:42 PM)
I saw the website state u need to earn at least SGD$3000 to apply employment pass, is tat mandatory?
No. My friend who earn much lesser than that get epass too.
It pretty much depends on your company (maybe the quota etc, not so sure)
wilhelm
post Jul 22 2013, 10:00 PM

28 posts

all sifus here

I will be going MOM for fingerprinting this weekend.
However now my IPA and medical reports are all stated my old passport number (yes i renewed after the application)
I wonder there will be any issues..I don't want to go through the process all over again
wilhelm
post Oct 14 2013, 12:50 AM

28 posts

hello guys

can intro any good restaurants? it's my partner birthday next saturday and i'm looking for some fine dining to celebrate with her, any cuisine, my budget is around S$300 for 2 persons
i know there are a lot of top restaurants in singapore, which expect to spend more than 300 per person sad.gif still can't afford those, it's only my 3rd month here
wilhelm
post Oct 15 2013, 03:40 AM

28 posts

thanks for all the recommendations guys smile.gif
have anyone tries Equinox located on Swissotel The Stamford?
The view is seems superb, not sure about the foods

0.0230sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:25 AM