Working in Singapore V14

elvenchou1987
post Jun 8 2013, 10:47 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 8 2013, 05:44 AM)
Dear all forumerz member, tuan tuan, puan puan, cik cik, taiko taiko and all sifu sifu...

I want to ask your guys opinion regarding a job offer from SG.

I just be clear with all the details for your guys view.

I work now in O&G fields as marine telco. engineer. Current company is Petronas ICT (formerly known as iPerintis) with basic MYR 3k and plus other allowance.

This telco company from Britain offering me job to be base in their SG office with basic SGD 3k and plus other allowance.

If I take the job... I will deal with new challenge and travel extensively as I will support Asia Pacific Region and New Zealand. In my current company.. I more like the boss and my work scope is monitoring the vendor in project (feel like there are no improvement in my work environment now because more to see and watch job).

The interesting part of SG offer offcourse money.

I plan to ride my bike daily for office hour job in SG.

Can I have your guys opinion.. should I take the offer?

Rasa serba salah mau take this offer or not... by the way... anyone may experience the cost for motorcyle usage in and out SG daily...

Thank you guys...

I just buy a house for my mom in the Skudai area.
Mind if I ask how many years of experience and how old are you btw? How many years have you worked in your current company? If you don't have much commitment, I would say go ahead with the job. This will greatly boost your resume and expand your horizons when you work in an international environment.

If I were you, I would take up the offer without a second thought.

if you don't want it, intro it to me smile.gif
enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 12:00 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jun 8 2013, 10:47 AM)
Mind if I ask how many years of experience and how old are you btw? How many years have you worked in your current company? If you don't have much commitment, I would say go ahead with the job. This will greatly boost your resume and expand your horizons when you work in an international environment.

If I were you, I would take up the offer without a second thought.

if you don't want it, intro it to me smile.gif
Bro.... I just recently working in Petronas ICT.. baru 3 bulan

Before this I working in the local satellite comm. company and serve also as comm. engineer in O&G platform plus rigs. Working experince 2 years.

Yeah... ur right... it will totally boost up my resume, salary and experience.

Just maybe I wil lost little of my social live in KL... sudah lama stay in KL maybe make me feel this way...

Yeah.. I decide to take this challenge... as my parents also sudah manyak heppi as I will stay with them..

Just for your guide... If you interested to apply for O&G telco fields, you can try this company:

harriscaprock
Rignet
Axis Teknologi - local
Scopetel - local

This post has been edited by enermax: Jun 8 2013, 12:02 PM
glo0my
post Jun 8 2013, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 8 2013, 12:07 AM)
that means u have a university degree but offer way less than that figure. u serious? many of my friends doesn't have a degree and getting more than that figure.
Not sure how u define "way less" but i think u should be getting at least 2.3k as a degree holder. unless u got a job as a Mc.d worker with ur degree.
i define "way less" as - 800. way less than 3k and that's the salary offered to me.

does it considered underpaid ? im a fresh 0 experience degree holder joining the local SME in software development industry
Fiona Chin
post Jun 8 2013, 04:08 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 7 2013, 02:35 PM)
As long as you're happy with your decision, that's all one can hope for.

In my opinion, the best time to come to Sg to work is immediately after graduating, when you're ready to start a new phase of life and not too tied up with relationship baggage.

The other good time to move is when you're mid-career and your employer is willing to compensate you handsomely to give up your relationship baggage or pay you enough to bring all your baggage over here.
For someone who graduated here, I was quite curious why many fresh graduates will choose to come SG to work. If I am to leave my comfort zone and commitment like my family behind, I would have choose Australia compare to SG after staying and working in both places. Other place I will consider is UK or US.

For job relocation from MY to SG then no choice since tied to the same company.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 8 2013, 12:07 AM)
that means u have a university degree but offer way less than that figure. u serious? many of my friends doesn't have a degree and getting more than that figure.
Not sure how u define "way less" but i think u should be getting at least 2.3k as a degree holder. unless u got a job as a Mc.d worker with ur degree.
QUOTE(glo0my @ Jun 8 2013, 02:52 PM)
i define "way less" as - 800. way less than 3k and that's the salary offered to me.

does it considered underpaid ?  im a fresh 0 experience degree holder joining the local SME in software development industry
I think the starting pay should not be the main issue for fresh graduates if you don't have financial burden. Have to consider exposures, opportunities, and future career. My BF and one of the forumers here I know accepted a below average pay in their field after graduating, 1.8k for my BF, both of them even lower than the poly graduates in the same field. But now they are promoted to associate director and partner of their company, big jump in salary with share profit.

I started off in MNC with above average pay in my industry, but still feel like nobody inside my company although in the mid level. My ex boss and seniors got retrenched in the previous sub prime crisis with just a letter in a typical happy working day and to pack all their stuff, escorted by security officers and leave immediately from office compound. Not a very secure job. The higher I go, the more worried I got.
Lester1987
post Jun 8 2013, 04:15 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(glo0my @ Jun 8 2013, 02:52 PM)

does it considered underpaid ?  im a fresh 0 experience degree holder joining the local SME in software development industry
i see, this is the key word. I think they offer you fairly unless you grad in a Singapore uni.
seantang
post Jun 8 2013, 07:48 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 8 2013, 04:08 PM)
For someone who graduated here, I was quite curious why many fresh graduates will choose to come SG to work. If I am to leave my comfort zone and commitment like my family behind, I would have choose Australia compare to SG after staying and working in both places. Other place I will consider is UK or US.
Studied and worked in Australia for 5 years, just didn't feel as comfortable there as I do at home. To me, Sg is the closest thing to living in Malaysia (literally and figuratively) but earning a gwailo's income.

The only thing I miss are the winters.
enermax
post Jun 8 2013, 08:41 PM

45 posts

Bro keelim,

I had tried negotiate with the manager, but they said that I still need a lot of training as my experience previously difference with their product.

Regarding the EPF, i don't think I will get that in SG as their EPF/CPF only for PR or Singaporean. So for the time being.. I have to plan my own saving or any suitable investment.

I decide to take the challenge due to few factor such as money conversion, experience, knowledge for boom my career and stay closer to my parents.

Now I still waiting for the EP to ready and hoping that my decision will guide me for better future.. Pray for my success friends... hehehe

Thank you again for your guys advise..

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 8 2013, 08:14 AM)
You should compute your salary net of tax. So the calculation should include your EPF as well. But on relative terms, the dollar and cents will be higher if you are working in SG. The conversion will help tremendously in your mortgage payment and spending power in Johor.

The job exposure seems to be better with APAC responsibility. I love New Zealand and will be bias here. The daily commute will be painful but make sure you are prepared for it mentally and physically. I hope you are not commuting from Skudai daily because that is going to be very demanding.

Take a long term view of the prospects. As an outsider, it looks pretty good but negotiate for a few more hundreds will seal the deal for me.
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 8 2013, 08:41 PM)
Bro keelim,

I had tried negotiate with the manager, but they said that I still need a lot of training as my experience previously difference with their product.

Regarding the EPF, i don't think I will get that in SG as their EPF/CPF only for PR or Singaporean. So for the time being.. I have to plan my own saving or any suitable investment.

I decide to take the challenge due to few factor such as money conversion, experience, knowledge for boom my career and stay closer to my parents.

Now I still waiting for the EP to ready and hoping that my decision will guide me for better future.. Pray for my success friends... hehehe

enermax,

marine telco in Petronas ICT , i guess for MMHE pasir gudang?
since you already moved to Johor and stay with your parents, then it is easier to decide , as you had moved from KL > JB already.
Well, u have decided already laugh.gif

its a good offer if 1:1 and even better if the Britain co even give u CPF encashment, which you can save to UT for long term as EPF saving.

like keelim said, mentally and physically prepared for daily commuting in/out SG via Woodlands. Also be mentally and physically prepared working here as its not the same as working in malaysian environment in petronas/mmhe/iperintis.

Hope your EP approved without problem.

anyway, answering your question with my little exp of commuting. Lester1987 has more details.

Cost wise : MY bike vs SG bike
MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Petrol can fill in MY Ron95
Pakai till bike kaput or 20 yrs ++
Can buy Naza Blade 250 whistling.gif
Kapcai EX5 cheap to buy and maintain.

SG Bike
No VEP
ERP paid as per gantry charged
Petrol still can fill MY Ron95
Pakai till 10yrs (if new) or buy used renew COE later (S$2k)
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
Kapcai price is 1:1 MY price. whistling.gif

Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 09:11 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)
enermax,

since you already moved to Johor and stay with your parents, then it is easier to decide , as you had moved from KL > JB already.

its a good offer if 1:1 and even better if the Britain co even give u CPF encashment, which you can save to UT for long term as EPF saving.

like keelim said, mentally and physically prepared for daily commuting in/out SG via Woodlands. Also be mentally and physically prepared working here as its not the same as working in malaysian environment in petronas/mmhe/iperintis.

anyway, answering your question with my little exp of commuting. Lester1987 has more details.

MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office. (this only applicable for Car, for bike you will be fine $70 per gantry u pass without IU)
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation. Its $155 to be exact
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif

SG Bike
No VEP
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300 (this one depends on your age and riding experience and NCD. My 110cc kapcai Insurance + roadtax is $500 per year for 3rd party.
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 09:24 AM

1,120 posts

lester,

straightaway fine? then it is worth it to install IU for MY bike, compared to MY car.
btw, the fine are deducted from your Autopass card at checkpoint?

your kapcai insurance y so expensive. my 200cc scoot S$300~ from directasia.com.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jun 9 2013, 09:54 AM
keelim
post Jun 9 2013, 11:00 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 8 2013, 08:41 PM)
Bro keelim,

Baby steps. Most importantly your EP has to be approved. Good luck on that.

Staying close to parents is wonderful. Unfortunately, the part of Msia where I came from do not have job opportunity unless I aspire to be an entrepreneur. You are blessed.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:21 PM

45 posts

Bro keii-kun,

My current work now in Petronas is to monitor the progress of Comm. Infra. Upgrade for all Petronas offshore Platform in Terengganu, Sarawak and Sabah. Never get the chance to visit MMHE at pasir gudang.

Yup bro, I already firm with my decision to take the offer in SG and hope that my EP will be ready in short time.

Thank you bro for the motorcycle riding cost from MY to SG. It is really helpful to made me allocate all the daily budget.

But the best part is how you know that I own Naza Blade 250... because I already used the bike for 1 year and proud to be the members of Blade community.... heheheee

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:00 AM)
enermax,

MY bike
Daily S$4 VEP
Daily S$5 ERP if no IU - if your route to office has ERP gantry activated during your travelling to office.
Else pay SG$100+ for IU installation.
Can buy Naza Blade 250  whistling.gif

SG Bike
No VEP
3rd party ins for <200CC is ~ S$300
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 01:27 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 01:21 PM)
Bro keii-kun,

My current work now in Petronas is to monitor the progress of Comm. Infra. Upgrade for all Petronas offshore Platform in Terengganu, Sarawak and Sabah. Never get the chance to visit MMHE at pasir gudang.

Yup bro, I already firm with my decision to take the offer in SG and hope that my EP will be ready in short time.

Thank you bro for the motorcycle riding cost from MY to SG. It is really helpful to made me allocate all the daily budget.

But the best part is how you know that I own Naza Blade 250... because I already used the bike for 1 year and proud to be the members of Blade community.... heheheee
naza blade is a lucky guess. but, I strongly suggest , if your future co in Sg is office hour based job, e.g non-flexible shift, better buy a used EX5 or any other cheap bike. Zerg rush to SG in AM and back to MY in PM can be pretty nasty for you and your Blade.

MMHE was a guess since I thought you already moved to JB.
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 01:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 09:24 AM)
lester,

straightaway fine? then it is worth it to install IU for MY bike, compared to MY car.
btw, the fine are deducted from your Autopass card at checkpoint?

your kapcai insurance y so expensive. my 200cc scoot S$300~ from directasia.com.
Yes, straight fine. Will charge you when you exit the causeway later. my colleague kena before. didn't install IU, pass 2 ERP gantry. 1 at BKE ($0.50), 1 at PIE ($1.00).
End up he pay $150, $70 for each gantry and $10 admin fees. It is a must to install IU for your bike if you need to pass by ERP.

As for your 2nd question, I am getting my insurance from NTUC. SG insurance is very much affected by the rider's age. If you are young, then the insurance is really crazy.
The premium will be lowered every year when you grow older. they have this category like below 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, above 30. So if you are above 30, pretty much you are safe.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:28 PM

45 posts

Hehehee... thank you for the wish bro.. I hope my career will grown extensively in SG.

Do not say like that bro, become an entrepreneur is much better than working for other people as business will provide unlimited income. However it will still have pro and cons lorh.. smile.gif

QUOTE(keelim @ Jun 9 2013, 11:00 AM)
Baby steps. Most importantly your EP has to be approved. Good luck on that.

Staying close to parents is wonderful. Unfortunately, the part of Msia where I came from do not have job opportunity unless I aspire to be an entrepreneur. You are blessed.
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 01:30 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 01:27 PM)
naza blade is a lucky guess. but, I strongly suggest , if your future co in Sg is office hour based job, e.g non-flexible shift, better buy a used EX5 or any other cheap bike. Zerg rush to SG in AM and back to MY in PM can be pretty nasty for you and your Blade.

haha, i like this word. I am 1 of the zergling there in the morning. But I think Blade is fine. Kapcai is really not good enough especially he is staying in Skudai.
I personally riding a kapcai now. really not fast enough to keep up with the lorries in EDL. Now saving money to get myself a Cb400.
enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:34 PM

45 posts

Yezz bro... with all the traffic jam at border, it is really gonna be a hard time for me and my air cool blade... the vtwin engine is extremely source of heat... will make me sweat like hell.... hahaaha

By the way... I plan to cross the border using Tuas aka 2nd link... is there any difference with the cost ur guys mention above?

Using motorcycle of course...

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jun 9 2013, 01:27 PM)

enermax
post Jun 9 2013, 01:37 PM

45 posts

If everything run smoothly in SG.. I hope I can get a superbike from there... I really inspire with the inline 4 engin... hahaahaa

Biasa bro... once become a rider.. always have dream for the best bike.. wakkakka

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 9 2013, 01:30 PM)
haha, i like this word. I am 1 of the zergling there in the morning. But I think Blade is fine. Kapcai is really not good enough especially he is staying in Skudai.
I personally riding a kapcai now. really not fast enough to keep up with the lorries in EDL. Now saving money to get myself a Cb400.
keii-kun
post Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM

1,120 posts

Lester, big bike stuck in Causeway jam is not good.
Zerglings do not care for others as you care for yourself. Need to get construction earplugs also if you want your hearing protected. Loud, honking zerglings are another thing.

If you are bike lover, for sure she will be scarred everyday. Kena the signal broken, everyday will feel angry.
Big bikes also cannot push slowly so have to keep on running the engine and play FREE, gear 1, FREE. Very tiring lah.

oh ya, i'm a safe driver/rider and old also. >30yr

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM
Lester1987
post Jun 9 2013, 01:39 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(enermax @ Jun 9 2013, 01:34 PM)
Yezz bro... with all the traffic jam at border, it is really gonna be a hard time for me and my air cool blade... the vtwin engine is extremely source of heat... will make me sweat like hell.... hahaaha

By the way... I plan to cross the border using Tuas aka 2nd link... is there any difference with the cost ur guys mention above?

Using motorcycle of course...
mind sharing where is your office? and also ur exact location in Skudai? then I can give you some tips on it

126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0983sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:41 PM