Working in Singapore V14

be_happy
post Jun 9 2013, 07:22 PM

77 posts

had been submitted quite numbers of applications in jobstreets but none of them replied. cry.gif
be_happy
post Jun 10 2013, 08:17 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 10 2013, 01:09 AM)
u can check at lta's website...
me too  cry.gif
trade finance? back room? check lc n providing treasury instruments?  all those kind of stuff?
They said is hard to go in now... rules and regulations are strictly done
be_happy
post Jun 13 2013, 10:16 AM

77 posts

Need advice.

I am working as a mortgage sales in penang. My basic is RM2600 + 300 allowance. Just working for 6months only. I had applied a few jobs in sg thru jobstreets but no replied. Planned to resign and stay SG for a few weeks to apply job but kinda risky.

If I get SGD 2000, should I move?

My brother is a PR in SG and persuade me to go there. Bank had a career advancement which make me more hard to switch. Plus, if I move to SG I had no idea which industry to go. Kinda confuse...
be_happy
post Jun 13 2013, 10:11 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 13 2013, 08:05 PM)
so fast  rclxms.gif  dunno good sign or bad  sweat.gif
do u get commission for ur sales? if this line gives you commission then move if not it would be better to stay in msia.. dont resign, u can apply in msia.. only when you get the job you resign
heh? no1 to help her meh? she's not very smart lor... join ntuc, they have got advisory  thumbup.gif
maybe coz those cheaper units have high grants/subsidies and it is meant for staying.. and not renting hmm.gif
I do have commission but I will not get it if I can't hit the kpi. This job is unstable because when the market is slow, you will have nothing.

I had tried applied here but it seems like not working. I m vr impatient to keep on send yet no reply.
be_happy
post Jun 25 2013, 04:14 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Jun 15 2013, 11:31 PM)
Not worth, if u only request for SGD2K. U know how expansive is the rental here. Unless, ur bro can let u stay at his house. Besides, u still need to reduct all the expanses from ur salary. I advice to stay in Penang. As you're quite new with only 6months of working experiences with a total RM2.9K salary in Penang is consider quite good pay! My best advice to you "Unless, u can get at least SGD 2.5K only u consider to move here"... Before that my friend is a PR and her salary is only 2K. She always told me that she wanna come back to work in Msia. Coz the pay in sg not nice! Now, she got 2.5K and she feel satisfy and no more complaint!.... 

Sg Living Expanses:
Room: 500 - 800
Transport: 200
Meals: 500
Total: About 1500

U haven't include shopping or buy others necessary things.
If I get 2200sgd and 500 for rental is ok right? My brother told me sg always start with low salary then they will increase base on performance.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 18 2013, 07:13 PM)
quite good if you are targeting pharmaceutical, oil and gas, service industries and shipping industries.
For fresh grads? I have been in bank industry for 1year 6months. Planning to go for other industry.

QUOTE(cychoy @ Jun 19 2013, 11:29 AM)
Too bad la...... I am in finance industry.
Me too sad.gif

be_happy
post Jun 25 2013, 10:35 PM

77 posts

Any better job portal besides than jobstreets? How do you guys get jobs frm sg actually.... was wondering
be_happy
post Jun 30 2013, 07:27 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(cherryl9 @ Jun 30 2013, 04:08 PM)
HI all, i have just graduated college from a university in the US and i am planning to apply for a job in Singapore. However, friends who graduated overseas told me that they all had a hard time getting a job there and eventually went back to Malaysia. Can someone enlighten me on this? How difficult is it to get a job in Singapore for a fresh graduate? I heard that the Sngaporean government has now a policy on limiting the intake of foreigners into the job market. How true is that? Thank you in advance!
my friend said coming July will be tougher to go in.... haiz cry.gif
be_happy
post Jun 30 2013, 08:23 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 30 2013, 08:12 PM)
hooray ...i think ..  icon_rolleyes.gif
dont ar... i wan to go there nxt month...
be_happy
post Jul 2 2013, 07:09 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 30 2013, 08:33 PM)
okok

i c u there

what job u aiming for ?
megadisc, u work in sg now?
i have been in banking line for 1year half. Will resign and go to sg this end of month...
no idea which industry to go sad.gif

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 30 2013, 08:45 PM)
I haven't see the link shared above. But from what I said it's kinda hard to get jobs in July and August.. The reason is the SG students are graduating in this period and they tend to hire SG ppl over MY ppl lor of coz..
However, no harm trying right? Just apply and see whether you will be invited to interview.. Who knows you might be the right guy that they are finding  rolleyes.gif

Edit : Ok I have just viewed the PDF file shared above. That applies on Work Permit workers, I think companies will still hire degree students as degree students are holding E Pass.. so IMO this is not the reason why they intake lesser fresh graduates gua..
hopefully can get lor... if not... eat sand liao.... sweat.gif
be_happy
post Jul 2 2013, 08:10 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 2 2013, 08:04 PM)
me no job at the moment so still looking ..so will go to prepaid ..

best u get a firm job before resigning and coming over unless u have a place to stay then ok lah ..
me no job at the moment so still looking ..so will go to prepaid ..
congrats to u ...
will stay my brother place lo... for temporary
be_happy
post Jul 2 2013, 08:19 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 2 2013, 08:11 PM)
if relative place then not so bad lah ...can slowly slowly look

me stuck in jb for the moment ...

hua hua hua ...
you major in what? looking for higher salary izzit? sweat.gif
be_happy
post Aug 22 2013, 11:13 AM

77 posts

So many people want to go Singapore. ..
be_happy
post Aug 22 2013, 09:59 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 22 2013, 08:27 PM)
thanks for the info...  thumbup.gif
Haha ... I will go there on October. ...

QUOTE(trytohelp @ Aug 22 2013, 09:00 PM)
Singapore will sink one day biggrin.gif .
By the way, i heard that people with form 5 can get almost the same salary as the one with 1st class Bachelor degree in singapore, is this true?
Anybody can double confirm this?
Really? My brother told me if u go there, you hv to start from scratch. .. unless u r professional such as auditor or engineer...
be_happy
post Aug 23 2013, 10:04 PM

77 posts

I had been waiting for 3 months cry.gif
be_happy
post Oct 4 2013, 10:07 PM

77 posts

if i get 1.8k for customer service or event crew, should i accept the job?
with degree, izzit under paid?
be_happy
post Oct 6 2013, 08:51 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Oct 4 2013, 11:42 PM)
What degree you have? Well in that industry or rather for that job.. is around that price..
i had degree in marketing... previously i worked in bank Penang....

This post has been edited by be_happy: Oct 6 2013, 08:54 PM
be_happy
post Oct 13 2013, 12:43 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(keeganz @ Oct 13 2013, 12:30 AM)
Which position you are interested? I could help you if you wanted to join into banking sector.

Which group are you looking at? Commercial or personal banking?
u have back end or trade department? or marketing but not sales...

be_happy
post Oct 16 2013, 06:43 PM

77 posts

who still looking job in Singapore?

This post has been edited by be_happy: Oct 16 2013, 06:45 PM
be_happy
post Oct 17 2013, 10:53 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Oct 16 2013, 11:47 PM)
dont worry, u can also do something meaningful with your money... donate to impian sarawak  thumbup.gif  no money also nvm, they accept condos too  brows.gif
me  cry.gif
omg... cry.gif

QUOTE(menmissed @ Oct 17 2013, 12:14 AM)
me also...

I've made several application. Few application thru recruitment firm got a reply as below, the rest no news at all.

"...In order to conduct timely interviews, this job is suitable for candidates who currently live in the country where the role is based, and who have the right to work there. We are sorry to advise that for this reason, we are unable to proceed further with your application...."

Is that normal reason they reject? or they need those ppl already stay in sg?
Maybe now is not the right timing, due to off peak and Sg gov strengthen the rules.  rclxub.gif

How you guys apply job? mind to share? How to know they will consider Malaysian?
yap... not the right timing... somemore year end
be_happy
post Oct 21 2013, 05:52 PM

77 posts

Today I went to an interview at Science Park. Woke up early in the morning and reached there at 9.40am.
Met the CEO and after he brief me about the work role then he asked me go back and consider. mad.gif
If really want the job, only he schedule the managers to interview me after i drop him email.
I was like "WTH" of coz i want the work only I came here. rclxub.gif "Faint" (wasting my time)

0.0520sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:17 PM