Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

kadS
post Jul 1 2013, 03:13 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 1 2013, 12:03 PM)
1. Yeah, its pretty bad, often "jumping" from here to there. But it can be easily fixed by using a mouse. Most people don't use touchpad anyway laugh.gif
2. Depends on what processor you are getting. A normal (mobile) i3 and also i5 will definitely heat up when on load, especially when its on such a slim notebook
3. Short battery life (3-cell battery to save weight, so its quite understandable) and also the poor built in front of the touchpad (will hurt hands via friction when used to much)
i got a chance to test the laptop yesterday on PC Expo yesterday and yeah the touch pad pretty bad. maybe the surface feel a bit 'kasar' that caused our finger to "jump" like u said.i realized this happen when u swipe up, other directions no problem.
another one is they keyboard design look cheap, its like the finishing isnt done well.
other than that the laptop is really light and overall design is good

my cents smile.gif
meGATron77
post Jul 1 2013, 11:12 PM

248 posts

guys this model better than vostro arr? hmm.gif Inspiron 14R
suadrif
post Jul 3 2013, 03:58 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(meGATron77 @ Jul 1 2013, 11:12 PM)
guys this model better than vostro arr?  hmm.gif Inspiron 14R
the inspiron model is heavier sweat.gif
rlky
post Jul 4 2013, 10:40 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 1 2013, 12:03 PM)
1. Yeah, its pretty bad, often "jumping" from here to there. But it can be easily fixed by using a mouse. Most people don't use touchpad anyway laugh.gif
2. Depends on what processor you are getting. A normal (mobile) i3 and also i5 will definitely heat up when on load, especially when its on such a slim notebook
3. Short battery life (3-cell battery to save weight, so its quite understandable) and also the poor built in front of the touchpad (will hurt hands via friction when used to much)
I'm considering this laptop mainly because of the reasonable screen size and the weight. I'm using this laptop for simple applications like Words, Excel, Chrome - you can say it is for office work. But since the price between the lowest spec and the highest spec don't differ much so its not a problem to choose either. A few thing's that I'm concerned is:

Will the Nvidia GPU make the laptop hotter?

Will the ULV processor produce less heat than the i3?

Will the higher spec be a lot heavier than the lowest spec?

Another reason why I consider the lowest spec is i get to install Windows 7. However I have experienced with an old Dell laptop where native installed Windows OS boots faster compared to when I installed an OEM Windows OS. I guess the preinstalled one is optimized for the laptop. Is it the same still now? Also will drivers be easily available for Windows 7?
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 4 2013, 11:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(rlky @ Jul 4 2013, 10:40 PM)
I'm considering this laptop mainly because of the reasonable screen size and the weight. I'm using this laptop for simple applications like Words, Excel, Chrome - you can say it is for office work. But since the price between the lowest spec and the highest spec don't differ much so its not a problem to choose either. A few thing's that I'm concerned is:

Will the Nvidia GPU make the laptop hotter?

Will the ULV processor produce less heat than the i3?

Will the higher spec be a lot heavier than the lowest spec?

Another reason why I consider the lowest spec is i get to install Windows 7. However I have experienced with an old Dell laptop where native installed Windows OS boots faster compared to when I installed an OEM Windows OS. I guess the preinstalled one is optimized for the laptop. Is it the same still now? Also will drivers be easily available for Windows 7?
- The additional GPU will definitely make the notebook hotter, especially when in use. But good thing is that Nvidia Optimus is available nod.gif

- Definitely, but you get less the performance. It all boils down to whether you need that extra "juice" or not. Most people don't nod.gif

- Weight differences will be negligible, not for something already that light hmm.gif

- Better stick to W8. Or make sure you check Dell's website and see whether complete W7 drivers are available or not. If you want Windows to boot fast, get an SSD, or at least a hybrid HDD brows.gif
mtgh
post Jul 5 2013, 10:49 PM

217 posts

Was at digital to check out vostro
Was disappointed with built
Sharp edges
Touchpad was bad
Keyboard looks very plastic
In fact everything looks cheapo
Definitely not for business use
Only plus is lightweight

[PF] T.J.
post Jul 5 2013, 11:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Jul 5 2013, 10:49 PM)
Was at digital to check out vostro
Was disappointed with built
Sharp edges
Touchpad was  bad
Keyboard looks very plastic
In fact everything looks cheapo
Definitely not for business use
Only plus is lightweight
Its worth it for the price nod.gif
What else can you get for that budget with good warranty support? brows.gif
mtgh
post Jul 6 2013, 02:15 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 5 2013, 11:19 PM)
Its worth it for the price  nod.gif
What else can you get for that budget with good warranty support?  brows.gif
I would be more incline to acer v5, heavier at 2.1 kg
But price and specs wise comparable
i5/4g/nvidia2g/dos 1699
rlky
post Jul 6 2013, 01:06 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 4 2013, 11:11 PM)
- The additional GPU will definitely make the notebook hotter, especially when in use. But good thing is that Nvidia Optimus is available nod.gif

- Definitely, but you get less the performance. It all boils down to whether you need that extra "juice" or not. Most people don't nod.gif

- Weight differences will be negligible, not for something already that light hmm.gif

- Better stick to W8. Or make sure you check Dell's website and see whether complete W7 drivers are available or not. If you want Windows to boot fast, get an SSD, or at least a hybrid HDD  brows.gif
I think I'll get the RM1749 version. Thanks for the reply second time I'm following your recommendation.

QUOTE(mtgh @ Jul 6 2013, 02:15 AM)
i5/4g/nvidia2g/dos 1699
2.1kg is alot heavier almost like the Lenovo S400.
suadrif
post Jul 6 2013, 02:03 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(rlky @ Jul 6 2013, 01:06 PM)
I think I'll get the RM1749 version. Thanks for the reply second time I'm following your recommendation.
2.1kg is alot heavier almost like the Lenovo S400.
Yeah its true
Same goes for me
For it to be call "portable", i prefer 1.5kg max and no more than 1inch
Even dell xps 14z with 21mm is considered bulky for me
Thats why i prefer xps13 or vostro 5460
Xps13 is only 1.3kg but the price is "wow" -.-"
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 6 2013, 03:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 6 2013, 02:03 PM)
Yeah its true
Same goes for me
For it to be call "portable", i prefer 1.5kg max and no more than 1inch
Even dell xps 14z with 21mm is considered bulky for me
Thats why i prefer xps13 or vostro 5460
Xps13 is only 1.3kg but the price is "wow" -.-"
Managed to play around with my supervisor's XPS13... I have to say it is worth every single cent laugh.gif
The craftsmanship and the attention to detail is crazy XD
Even the service tag and Windows serial numbers beneath the notebook are kept under a flippable metal plate wub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 6 2013, 03:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Jul 6 2013, 02:15 AM)
i5/4g/nvidia2g/dos 1699
different category already tongue.gif
lee0525
post Jul 6 2013, 06:44 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 6 2013, 03:57 PM)
different category already tongue.gif
why are you saying so? blink.gif
gxthelord
post Jul 7 2013, 11:59 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(lee0525 @ Jul 6 2013, 06:44 PM)
why are you saying so? blink.gif
Ultrabook? biggrin.gif
I played with my friend's V5 that he recently bought not sure why but his lappy sometimes lags for a sec or two when opening or just start up a game :/
Eg; Metro Last Light/ Firefox/ L4D2 also hangs for a while when exit. Is it due to its processor? But dosent seem the same with another friend's 14R
gxthelord
post Jul 8 2013, 12:02 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 4 2013, 11:11 PM)

- Better stick to W8. Or make sure you check Dell's website and see whether complete W7 drivers are available or not. If you want Windows to boot fast, get an SSD, or at least a hybrid HDD  brows.gif
Actually wanna ask about the last question. If upgrade to SSD drive how to upgrade ah? I see that some config is with the Msata or is it all got?
If I dun want the Msata but actually replace the entire HDD with a new SSD, can I do it myself? or can ask them help us do?
And aside of that the warranty will void? Cuz already bought an 128GB SSD recently and still deciding to get a new laptop :/
I see online pics the bottom seems like no screw de wo doh.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 12:35 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 7 2013, 11:59 PM)
Ultrabook? biggrin.gif
I played with my friend's V5 that he recently bought not sure why but his lappy sometimes lags for a sec or two when opening or just start up a game :/
Eg; Metro Last Light/ Firefox/ L4D2 also hangs for a while when exit. Is it due to its processor? But dosent seem the same with another friend's 14R
HDD, most probably smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 12:38 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 8 2013, 12:02 AM)
Actually wanna ask about the last question. If upgrade to SSD drive how to upgrade ah? I see that some config is with the Msata or is it all got?
If I dun want the Msata but actually replace the entire HDD with a new SSD, can I do it myself? or can ask them help us do?
And aside of that the warranty will void? Cuz already bought an 128GB SSD recently and still deciding to get a new laptop :/
I see online pics the bottom seems like no screw de wo doh.gif
Yes, you could replace the HDD with SATA SSD (you can ask re-sellers to help, or DIY by reading the instruction manual), but you need to make sure the z-height of the SSD is 7mm. Doing so, as long as you don't tear any "warranty void if broken" seal, will not void hardware warranty smile.gif
gxthelord
post Jul 8 2013, 07:25 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 8 2013, 12:38 AM)
Yes, you could replace the HDD with SATA SSD (you can ask re-sellers to help, or DIY by reading the instruction manual), but you need to make sure the z-height of the SSD is 7mm. Doing so, as long as you don't tear any "warranty void if broken" seal, will not void hardware warranty smile.gif
ohhh~! just that most probably I need to clone the HDD first is it? so I can have the recovery and etc, etc.
nexus2238
post Jul 8 2013, 09:47 AM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jul 8 2013, 07:25 AM)
ohhh~! just that most probably I need to clone the HDD first is it? so I can have the recovery and etc, etc.
For Dell, you could actually ASK for recovery OD when you order the laptop. Most probably they will give it to you for free smile.gif If you buy online, just ask for it during online chat.
PsVitaForLife
post Jul 11 2013, 12:02 AM

284 posts

Wondering should i get this model with the Core I5 3230M with Ubuntu Dos at RM1720 + rm300 for 128Gb SSD + Rm50 windows 8 Keys

OR

Go for samsung ativBook 7 with Full HD + 128gb SSD + 1.5Kg + 6-7 hours battery life ( Due to ULV core i5 ) at rm2860.

55 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:18 AM