just notice on the 3 spec of the Alienware 14, 2 of them got the Killer NIC 1202 802.11n WiFi but the highest spec got the Broadcom 4352 802.11 ac 2x2. which one better??
Alienware Mothership V10, AW 14,17 & 18 released!
Jul 11 2013, 07:00 PM
1,930 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: The Grid |
just notice on the 3 spec of the Alienware 14, 2 of them got the Killer NIC 1202 802.11n WiFi but the highest spec got the Broadcom 4352 802.11 ac 2x2. which one better??
Jul 11 2013, 07:05 PM
985 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jul 10 2013, 11:41 PM) it seems that other aw14 user at other forum do face exactly thing as you do where theres not compatible hardware found.so dont worry, by the way for me if it isn't broke, just dont bother on fixing it |
Jul 11 2013, 09:12 PM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
I'm at about 10s, I'm not using UEFI. |
Jul 11 2013, 10:43 PM
7,214 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kamino |
Jul 11 2013, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Jul 11 2013, 07:00 PM) just notice on the 3 spec of the Alienware 14, 2 of them got the Killer NIC 1202 802.11n WiFi but the highest spec got the Broadcom 4352 802.11 ac 2x2. which one better?? The broadcom is known to have better performance. Its 11ac. But ill choose killer bcoz of the traffic shaping tech. And the name more macho one! Also to get 11ac performance u need 11ac router which is still scarce. |
Jul 11 2013, 11:04 PM
Jul 11 2013, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 11 2013, 10:47 PM) The broadcom is known to have better performance. Its 11ac. But ill choose killer bcoz of the traffic shaping tech. And the name more macho one! Also to get 11ac performance u need 11ac router which is still scarce. Actually, Killer has consistent performance compared to everything else. Not sure if that has changed recently. |
Jul 12 2013, 02:36 AM
2,374 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Subang / PJ |
Looking at X51 R2, any fans got any insight discount or comment?
http://www.dell.com/my/p/gaming-system-dea...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn |
Jul 12 2013, 09:41 AM
281 posts Joined: May 2008 From: kay el |
QUOTE(refnulf @ Jul 11 2013, 11:05 PM) Actually, Killer has consistent performance compared to everything else. Not sure if that has changed recently. Killer card have tons of issues. If you would google up, almost all dell laptop that come with killer wifi card will have wifi issue. Myself experience 5 faulty killer card= ='' Get broadcom, is more worth d price. |
Jul 12 2013, 09:41 AM
Jul 12 2013, 09:43 AM
Jul 12 2013, 09:53 AM
73 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Jul 12 2013, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(Kris187 @ Jul 12 2013, 09:53 AM) Use Intel RST to set the mSATA as cache for your main drive.That's how. BUT... it's still slow compared to SSD. I just need to convert to UEFI and ill be good. bcoz i am already running SSD as my main drive. So RST will do no good. This post has been edited by xandman: Jul 12 2013, 10:42 AM |
Jul 12 2013, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(Jayi @ Jul 11 2013, 07:05 PM) it seems that other aw14 user at other forum do face exactly thing as you do where theres not compatible hardware found. Thanks, this has comfort me a bit. But still my laptop is with 3 dead pixel and they only can replace refurbish lcd for me. I wonder where they get the refurbish unit?so dont worry, by the way for me if it isn't broke, just dont bother on fixing it |
Jul 12 2013, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 12 2013, 10:40 AM) Use Intel RST to set the mSATA as cache for your main drive. Yea, I notice intel have this "rapid start tech" app to speed up your start up. U can try that on top of d rapid storageThat's how. BUT... it's still slow compared to SSD. I just need to convert to UEFI and ill be good. bcoz i am already running SSD as my main drive. So RST will do no good. My rapid storage cached msata + uefi boot time = you ordinary bios ssd boot...... keep up pal This post has been edited by whyteaz: Jul 12 2013, 10:57 AM |
Jul 12 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jul 12 2013, 10:56 AM) Yea, I notice intel have this "rapid start tech" app to speed up your start up. U can try that on top of d rapid storage no point.My rapid storage cached msata + uefi boot time = you ordinary bios ssd boot...... keep up pal Bcoz the main drive will be faster than the cache... |
Jul 12 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jul 12 2013, 09:41 AM) Killer card have tons of issues. If you would google up, almost all dell laptop that come with killer wifi card will have wifi issue. Myself experience 5 faulty killer card Mine is great. Works perfectly. Version 1103 with 2012 drivers. Never drops, never an issue. Most of my friends that use it also have nothing but good things to say.= ='' Get broadcom, is more worth d price. QUOTE(whyteaz @ Jul 12 2013, 09:41 AM) One of those 512gb SSDs.This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 12 2013, 11:39 AM |
Jul 12 2013, 12:29 PM
537 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuala kangsar/UPM |
just called dell,
i am getting bitter about this 10% discount..for different customer... for a RM4999 laptop.. 10% discount is RM499.. i asked them about this and not getting a good help... to cancel my order, i will be charged RM80 for logistic. to me it is fine then... after canceling the order i will make a new order via telefon/email/chat like you guys... and 499-80 it is still RM419 save... better than nothing... thinking to just forget about dell already... haihz.... edit: dell giving me excuses that they need a referral to alter my order edit1: the customer service recomended me to cancel my order and make a new order. edit2 update: call the customer service to cancel , they said cannot cancel because the laptop is en route for delivery today.. (suddenly today i will got my laptop) haihz... This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Jul 12 2013, 01:35 PM |
Jul 12 2013, 02:00 PM
782 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Sry guys for those who were waiting for my quotation, I was outstation due to emergency staff meeting >< .. oh well I hope it still helps
Quotation: 5433 > all same spec (5019 if not mistaken) + 2 years warranty + 14' vindicator + 17' messenger freebies > 1tb hdd, razer electra headset method > email/call, payment = maybank mastercard For those who may want my agent's contact (not sure can call her direct to order or have other procedures to go through), please PM me as I would like to give references to her as she did a great job in helping me placing my order and not forgetting to mention that she was patient enough and efficient. my AW14 will be arriving before 30/7 if not on 30/7 itself (from what my confirmation told me) again thanks guys and sry for keeping you guys waiting. |
Jul 12 2013, 02:23 PM
537 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuala kangsar/UPM |
^ will pm u right now
| Change to: | 0.0349sec