8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V10, AW 14,17 & 18 released!

whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:13 PM

281 posts

Hi all~!
I just received my AW 14 today~!!!
@xandman, you r not the only one buying with 4999 without freebies
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:21 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 10 2013, 03:14 PM)
ordered via online?
how long was the delivery after placement of order?
my case is totally different, at 1st i brought a xps14 highest spec.
then this machine got lots of problem even i got whole unit replacement.....
then i buat bising at the support and thy willing to change my model to alienware 14

however my xps14 market value is RM5549....
upgrade in spec but downgrade in $$ vise
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:21 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 10 2013, 03:20 PM)
bought mine with discount.... =)
and freebies...
sorry quote d wrong guy~
what freebies you got?
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:25 PM

281 posts

@xandman, then what you do with your 2 original ram?
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:39 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 10 2013, 03:34 PM)
i got a 1TB external drive USB 3.0...=)
i still keep it. dunno what to do with it. biggrin.gif
so u said your previous configuration is slow, how slow was it?
now u success change the msata into storage?
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 03:57 PM

281 posts

OMG~
so ur ssd u replace with hdd or odd?

now i m switching from full ssd to hybird....i think i will angry
sad.gif
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 05:30 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 10 2013, 04:29 PM)
i replace my HDD with SSD...
=)
Ill get back to u on that... biggrin.gif
omg, so now u have xtra ram n hdd to spare?
i wonder what can we do with that
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 05:31 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 10 2013, 05:27 PM)
hmm.gif Do I need 8GB or 16GB RAM?
really depends on your usage, even for hardcore gaming 8gb is more than enough as long as you are not planning to play several game in one shot sweat.gif
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 05:43 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 10 2013, 05:33 PM)
haha.. that's what I thought as well.
I guess I should stick with 8GB RAM and save some money
save money on ssd....now i m having headache to remove my hdd or odd for ssd upgrade...haizzz....y dont dell let us customize the way we wanted to
cry.gif
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 11:31 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Jul 10 2013, 11:27 PM)
just download from nvidia website, tats all  nod.gif
ohh u got lubang for EPP ar  brows.gif
do keep us update with the quotation ya  tongue.gif
how come i download from nvdia said it cant find d compatible hardware?
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 11:32 PM

281 posts

HAIZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ~!
Again bad experience with Dell.
Upon turning on my AW14 already said system fail ask to reboot......then during screen check found dead pixel~!
Anyone else gt dead pixel problem?
whyteaz
post Jul 10 2013, 11:41 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Jul 10 2013, 11:38 PM)
U use the 2nd option at the nvidia website where it automatically find drivers ?
or u mean during the installation it says compatible hardware not found?
just make a call to Dell, no worries with their aftersale service  thumbup.gif
for my case, Dell technician came to me 1 day after the call made but i believe they need to have the replacement parts ready in stock.
Upon d installation it said tat, if i use auto detect it is worse, it dont let me download at all

Yea, their after sales service is good. But i have very bad experience with their tech skill. In total of 5 times I experience their service on my same laptop within 1 month time frame and each service will cause another defect
= =''

Now i m not sure to call them or just shallow d defect T^T

This post has been edited by whyteaz: Jul 10 2013, 11:59 PM
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 12:24 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Jul 11 2013, 12:22 AM)
Tat was new AW14 right? Guess you just out of luck and got a lemon unit
Do you able to use the gpu right now? since it says no compatible hardware found mean no gpu detected = your gpu not working

just call Dell up, tats what the warranty do  biggrin.gif
GPU is working I guess as I am running in GPU mode only and the nvidia panel and computer management can detect this card......do u just download d driver using auto detect??
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 10:40 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 11 2013, 06:15 AM)
woah that's bad....
i kena once with my Dell....
but after calling the tech support...problem solved...

try pressing F2 to check the BIOS. Maybe u can tinker around in the BIOS.

I now cannot use UEFI mode d... =(
Have to go Legacy....
SADZZZZZ!
Besides d machine failing upon 1st time start up....now it has bunch of issue with directx.......do u guys need to do anything with the alienware resource dvd?
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 11:19 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 11 2013, 11:16 AM)
i had problems booting into windows after changing some settings.
I changed the HDD and re installed windows...
Now....everything is fine d! =)
then do u remember your based score for window performance index?

n do u get to install all those preloaded software?

This post has been edited by whyteaz: Jul 11 2013, 12:00 PM
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 01:03 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 10 2013, 10:28 PM)
rough calculation from pressing power button to login screen is arnd 9-10 secs...
havent done proper testing... =)
lol....9 -10 sec enough to make u angry?
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 01:03 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 11 2013, 12:52 PM)
I tried, 10% is the best I can get. Managed to negotiate for a Dell backpack instead of the Alienware backpack sweat.gif
the 1TB HDD is possible if you pay with Mastercard. The ext. 1TB HDD is from Dell and it's USB3.0.
u get free backpack or u order 1?
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 01:07 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Jul 11 2013, 12:38 AM)
nope. i download manually with the option 1 at nvidia website then just install.
AHHH is so frustrating~!
the whole directX is missing from my laptop......
the recovery partition is not there~!!!!

it looks like they send me an unfinish machine......
wth~!!!
called them thy will send me win8 cd to reformat myself in the price I will be losing preloaded software~!!!

what is worst is i m under epp so no replacement no refund
dont buy epp is totally not worth it
T^T

whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 02:58 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(n3rd3y3 @ Jul 11 2013, 01:18 PM)
Even if you get the accidental warranty? I thought at least should have replacement for defect.
that is y i said epp is not worth it....u will lost all your premium coverage
T^T
whyteaz
post Jul 11 2013, 02:59 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 11 2013, 01:26 PM)
this is AFTER the SSD upgrade....
so what is the previous boot time?
My stock/defect alienware takes 12 sec to boot up.

9 - 10s is very bad my friend, full ssd + win 8 should have 2 - 3s which i m having with my XPS 14 not to mention i loaded it with huge amount of software

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:48 PM