The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v4, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM148

danieltay
post Jan 29 2015, 03:15 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 29 2015, 03:05 PM)
This is expected until u chg that thomson router to any custom router...
Need to use the phone wo, can change the router ah?
sitescope
post Jan 29 2015, 04:22 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jan 29 2015, 03:15 PM)
Cannnnnn... brows.gif
Quanta
post Jan 29 2015, 05:24 PM

Idiot member
1,425 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 29 2015, 04:22 PM)
Cannnnnn...  brows.gif
show it ... flex.gif
sitescope
post Jan 29 2015, 05:33 PM

4,490 posts

Buy a recommended router, send to me, charge RM50, go back n test...
If working, both happy...

Look like this is a good biz too... drool.gif

p/s : Even hp shop also charge RM30 to factory reset a hp... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sitescope: Jan 29 2015, 05:34 PM
sordanny
post Jan 29 2015, 06:15 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Jan 29 2015, 02:26 PM)
Hmm, not so sure but public ip is definitely the way to go if you're hosting a server, have cctv or want to do port forwarding.
Thanks bro I'll request

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jan 29 2015, 02:31 PM)
Nope this is not the issue, the internet is down twice within 6 hours apart.
This happening today??

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jan 29 2015, 02:35 PM)
Mind one I waited for about 5 minutes but nothing happened. I first thought it was my wifi issue. Then I used wired, still the same. And I proceed to reboot.

After so many years launching, Maxis FTTH is still not ready for big time. Yet they dared to advertise, looking for more victims!
Well true that Maxis has not been able to offer consistent services but at least they have a friendly break off clause without paying penalty. Unlike TM or other telco that have strict penalty for early termination
kamfoo
post Jan 29 2015, 06:58 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 29 2015, 06:15 PM)
Thanks bro I'll request
This happening today??
Well true that Maxis has not been able to offer consistent services but at least they have a friendly break off clause without paying penalty. Unlike TM or other telco that have strict penalty for early termination
what clause no need penalty...??
sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 09:06 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Jan 29 2015, 06:58 PM)
what clause no need penalty...??
Relocate to a new place out of Maxis fibre coverage. U need to show proof such as utility bill under your name, tenancy agreement etc

http://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...t:fiberinternet
What if I move homes within my contract period?

You will need to provide documented proof of your new house address (e.g. utility bill addressed to your new home). If we are able to offer the service in the new location (depending on whether your new location is within our coverage areas) we will re-locate the service for you for a fee of RM200.

Note that your contract will be restarted for another 24 months.

If the service is not available in your area, we will waive your penalty fees and if you are unable to provide proof of your new house address and you are still bound to the contract and you will incur a penalty fee for early termination in your final bill.

Where can I terminate the service?

You need to walk-in to any Maxis Centre. A penalty of RM500 is applicable should you terminate the service within the 24 months contract period.

If I terminate the service before the contract ends, do I need to return the devices?

We only require for you to return the Optical Network Terminal (ONT) to Maxis. Our installers will arrange to pick up the ONT from your home. Customers who fail to return the ONT will be charged RM500, in addition to the early termination penalty charges of RM500.

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jan 30 2015, 09:13 AM
sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 09:10 AM

3,009 posts

After testing again yesterday, the internet experience at night is stable and speed consistent quite high
Just websites load a bit slow perhaps due to some throttling or heavy load on Maxis side
But that's still acceptable for now

sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 09:20 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jan 29 2015, 03:15 PM)
Can change. Look for router that support fibre broadband. Normally manufacturer will print at the box support unifi/maxis

Refer this thread for details:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...hl=maxis+router

sitescope
post Jan 30 2015, 11:55 AM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 30 2015, 09:10 AM)
After testing again yesterday, the internet experience at night is stable and speed consistent quite high
Just websites load a bit slow perhaps due to some throttling or heavy load on Maxis side
But that's still acceptable for now
yday night so nice lorrr... even streaming iptv not belong to astro also no buffering...
aneip
post Jan 30 2015, 12:03 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 30 2015, 09:06 AM)
Relocate to a new place out of Maxis fibre coverage. U need to show proof such as utility bill under your name, tenancy agreement etc

http://www.maxis.com.my/en/personal/intern...t:fiberinternet
What if I move homes within my contract period?

You will need to provide documented proof of your new house address (e.g. utility bill addressed to your new home). If we are able to offer the service in the new location (depending on whether your new location is within our coverage areas) we will re-locate the service for you for a fee of RM200.

Note that your contract will be restarted for another 24 months.

If the service is not available in your area, we will waive your penalty fees and if you are unable to provide proof of your new house address and you are still bound to the contract and you will incur a penalty fee for early termination in your final bill.

Where can I terminate the service?

You need to walk-in to any Maxis Centre. A penalty of RM500 is applicable should you terminate the service within the 24 months contract period.

If I terminate the service before the contract ends, do I need to return the devices?

We only require for you to return the Optical Network Terminal (ONT) to Maxis. Our installers will arrange to pick up the ONT from your home. Customers who fail to return the ONT will be charged RM500, in addition to the early termination penalty charges of RM500.
This applied to unifi also.
sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 12:19 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 30 2015, 12:03 PM)
This applied to unifi also.
For unifi case, u're not completey free from TM but will need to convert to streamyx in order to waive the penalty. If not u still need to pay penalty

aneip
post Jan 30 2015, 02:30 PM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 30 2015, 12:19 PM)
For unifi case, u're not completey free from TM but will need to convert to streamyx in order to waive the penalty. If not u still need to pay penalty
That's is different product. They might ask you to convert to streamyx but you can denied.
kkm
post Jan 30 2015, 03:51 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jan 29 2015, 05:33 PM)
Buy a recommended router, send to me, charge RM50, go back n test...
If working, both happy...

Look like this is a good biz too...  drool.gif

p/s : Even hp shop also charge RM30 to factory reset a hp...  rclxub.gif
And what would be the model/price of the router?
sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 04:06 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 30 2015, 02:30 PM)
That's is different product. They might ask you to convert to streamyx but you can denied.
For Unifi relocation, the only way to waive the early termination penalty is to convert to Streamyx
Other than that gotta pay penalty. If u decline to convert to Streamyx then pay penalty lor

QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2015, 03:51 PM)
And what would be the model/price of the router?
Router prices start from 100+ all the way up to 800+
Depends on what product u want

kkm
post Jan 30 2015, 04:10 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 30 2015, 04:06 PM)
Router prices start from 100+ all the way up to 800+
Depends on what product u want
Would my Asus RT-AC68U be compatible? Would I need to buy any more hardware? --- wait, you're the wrong guy to answer my question! sitescope

This post has been edited by kkm: Jan 30 2015, 04:12 PM
Quanta
post Jan 30 2015, 04:22 PM

Idiot member
1,425 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2015, 04:10 PM)
Would my Asus RT-AC68U be compatible? Would I need to buy any more hardware? --- wait, you're the wrong guy to answer my question!  sitescope
let me answer on behalf

he is using tplink MR3220: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3482880

If your Asus RT-AC68U support VLAN tagging, yes it is compatible

This post has been edited by Quanta: Jan 30 2015, 04:22 PM
sordanny
post Jan 30 2015, 04:22 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2015, 04:10 PM)
Would my Asus RT-AC68U be compatible? Would I need to buy any more hardware? --- wait, you're the wrong guy to answer my question!  sitescope
Can use

Read this thread for how to do it:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...hl=maxis+router

And this too
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBRbk1FSFj0

This post has been edited by sordanny: Jan 30 2015, 04:24 PM
kkm
post Jan 30 2015, 05:01 PM

1,258 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 30 2015, 04:22 PM)
Can use
Oh, this. I thought he had a way to totally bypass the Thomson/Technicolor box...
sitescope
post Jan 30 2015, 07:20 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(Quanta @ Jan 30 2015, 04:22 PM)
let me answer on behalf

he is using tplink MR3220: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3482880

If your Asus RT-AC68U support VLAN tagging, yes it is compatible
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kkm @ Jan 30 2015, 05:01 PM)
Oh, this. I thought he had a way to totally bypass the Thomson/Technicolor box...
i think u've misunderstanding here... thomson act as internet & voip for ur fibre...
u prob now is internet not voip... so we redirect ur internet to more stable router & leave voip handling by thomson...

UNLESS... u've a prob with voip in thomson too (eg : intermittent disconnect call or kenot hear) then i unable to advise...

AND ALSO UNLESS... u dun wan to use voip at all, then after connect to ur custom router, throw ur thomson into the dustbin...

126 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0232sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:43 AM