jitshiong
post Mar 27 2013, 06:26 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 02:45 PM)
other ppl rant nvm.

but own relative also like that, it makes me sad.gif

its like every word she said to me i also feel offended.

maybe this is a part of being a foreigner.
for me, it boils down to u urself

it's always ur choice how or what ppl say affects you.

1. be sad, she achieved what she wants to....to make u feel unwanted
2. be happy, she gets frustrated herself, cos she didn't get what she wants

get it?
xtylish
post Mar 27 2013, 06:58 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 27 2013, 04:47 PM)
Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received
A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 64,209 337 923
B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 73,900 307 940
C GOODS VEHICLE & BUS 54,111 225 312
D MOTORCYCLE 1,909 543 634
E OPEN 73,301 279 635

40%/50% downpayment also COE at $64k, lots of cash rich people with money in Singapore icon_idea.gif
yea morning also got loads of cars. same like kl anyway.
xtylish
post Mar 27 2013, 06:59 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 27 2013, 05:52 PM)
only two type of people in sg, rich people and poor people
rich people can straight buy condo, drive to work, they feel at home everything is within reach
poor people rent and stay in hdb and squeeze in train and complain  cool2.gif

i look at my ang moh colleague on expat package,
u think beign white he is foreginer  cool2.gif
bloody hell he feel more at home than in UK  nod.gif
he is not going back to UK and pay high tax  whistling.gif 

can conclude your aunty is in the P category  rolleyes.gif
yea. buy a longchamp bag only also feel like very grand.
LiangZhuge
post Mar 27 2013, 07:59 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 06:59 PM)
yea. buy a longchamp bag only also feel like very grand.
Why would one pay $140+ for a bag which is not even leather ? rclxub.gif

Maybe I won't understand .. hahahaha.

If you feel your aunty nagging, you can opt to rent outside, which will cost you a little more ( I am assuming you are staying with her). The extra money will buy you more sanity as you seems to be very affected by your aunty's comments.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 27 2013, 08:22 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 01:35 AM)
UTAR cry.gif
hmm.gif they would use this as an excuse to squeeze
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 27 2013, 02:51 AM)
wah poly win degree ah... sure or not
so far that's what i had witness... some poly grads have really good work ethics and determination... only downside is they are not willing to OT and do job outside of their jobscope...
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 27 2013, 01:08 PM)
Your aunt will never be consider a true blue Singaporean. At best a FT Singaporean like some sport players. Even you aunt win a gold medal, many local will think she is still not Singaporen enough.

PR pay more to the gov for less subsidy and zero benefits when there is any bonus. These Sinagporean should be thankful to PR for not diluting their bonus share. If Sinagporean alone are capable to fill up all the demanding jobs here then there is no reason why the Gov NEED to bring in the FT since long time ago. So don't bother these anti FT talks.

PR don't buy HDB with gov subsidy. They only help Singaporean to be richer by buying their HDB at higher markup price. They should blame their ex minister for linking the new HDB price with resale price which make the new HBD unaffordable to young Sinagporean.
hmm... how u feel is also how the many foreigners feel in msia
QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 02:10 PM)
and they always complain and complain and complain.

and they think they sacrifice themselves a lot of by going ns.

got one issue i read that sg government give scholarships to students in constructions field,

and citizen get 4k more than PR out of 30k. they say they serve ns for nothing. they only worth 4k.

!!!
actually ns and the military burden is a big thingie.. a lot of them get injured n etc... d reason why they need us is for population replacement
JustcallmeLarry
post Mar 27 2013, 08:29 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 27 2013, 05:52 PM)
only two type of people in sg, rich people and poor people
rich people can straight buy condo, drive to work, they feel at home everything is within reach
poor people rent and stay in hdb and squeeze in train and complain  cool2.gif

i look at my ang moh colleague on expat package,
u think beign white he is foreginer  cool2.gif
bloody hell he feel more at home than in UK  nod.gif
he is not going back to UK and pay high tax  whistling.gif 

can conclude your aunty is in the P category  rolleyes.gif
Ya may I ask, why foreign workers who are ang moh get look at differently compare to other foreign workers like exe us & banglas?? I also see these ang moh act like they are at home. I think even Singaporean don't mind them?
dhzh4x
post Mar 28 2013, 02:52 AM

15 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone travelling by bike to Singapore using second link?
Possible advice how long will it take from gelang patah till after sg custom especially during peak hour??

I'm thinking should I travel by bike to sg as the causeway buses are getting more and more crowded plus the jammed especially is making me real sick..

Btw, how much petrol cost will it be if daily travel?
yhoong12
post Mar 28 2013, 08:31 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 27 2013, 07:59 PM)
Why would one pay $140+ for a bag which is not even leather ?  rclxub.gif

Maybe I won't understand .. hahahaha.

If you feel your aunty nagging, you can opt to rent outside, which will cost you a little more ( I am assuming you are staying with her). The extra money will buy you more sanity as you seems to be very affected by your aunty's comments.
I think she yet to found a job so pay alittle more for rent, dont think is a little more, quite alot there, one month depo+ one month rental, maybe got agent fee... so shift out is not an option for her.

but for me, i rather rent outside than staying with relative, one is dont want to disturb their life, especially with family one, the second is maybe i just want to act like i am strong enough to survive alone in this cruel world.. tongue.gif
tom_kkh
post Mar 28 2013, 08:54 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Mar 27 2013, 03:52 PM)
I do not believe that's the way it should be.

Look, they (the Singaporean) need us as much as we need them. Don't let them fool you into believing otherwise.

Although you could call it a marriage of convinience (we need the job and money - they need the manpower to do the job to get money), do note that we have our rights as well. Rights that include not being discriminated against.

Arguments that they don't have a hinterland where they can hide in, is not valid. Serving NS is their national obligation. Using it to complain is just not a valid reason.

This is becuase without the "foreigners" and "PRs" they love to "hate", Singapore will be nothing more than a tourist destination. We help them build SG to where it is today.
let me say something fair as a singaporean.

Ya, grumbling is a national hobby biggrin.gif

most ppl who complains, regardless, malaysian in malaysia, singaporean in singapore or american in america, they are bunch of ppl who mostly cant make it in life and thinks the whole world owes them money.

They are ppl who hate the foreigners, but not all singaporean are like that.

i understand that foreigner issue is not unique to singpore, likewise malaysia have issues with too many foreigners living in kl too so does Australia, the states and all

yes, without the foreign workers that slog their life in construction sites, singapore wont be wht it is but many singaporean, as stated above, cannot comprehend that.

so peace.

i don mind foreigners so long they don spit, urine in public and talk super loud on the street tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tom_kkh: Mar 28 2013, 08:59 AM
megadisc
post Mar 28 2013, 09:06 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 08:54 AM)
let me say something fair as a singaporean.

Ya, grumbling is a national hobby  biggrin.gif

most ppl who complains, regardless, malaysian in malaysia, singaporean in singapore or american in america, they are bunch of ppl who mostly cant make it in life and thinks the whole world owes them money.

They are ppl who hate the foreigners, but not all singaporean are like that.

i understand that foreigner issue is not unique to singpore, likewise malaysia have issues with too many foreigners living in kl too so does Australia, the states and all

yes, without the foreign workers that slog their life in construction sites, singapore wont be wht it is but many singaporean, as stated above, cannot comprehend that.

so peace. 

i don mind foreigners so long they don spit, urine in public and talk super loud on the street  tongue.gif
such a simple request....cant us foreign beings just be nicer ?? thumbup.gif
maggi
post Mar 28 2013, 09:10 AM

1,653 posts

is SG having a bad time or restricting anymore Malaysian worker to go in sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

sent many applications till now no answer yet
tom_kkh
post Mar 28 2013, 09:17 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:10 AM)
is SG having a bad time or restricting anymore Malaysian worker to go in  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

job is hard to source now in singapore.

also due to some measures introduced by the government, it is now harder to apply for work permit/employment passes for any foreigner not targeting malaysia for sure biggrin.gif
maggi
post Mar 28 2013, 09:22 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 09:17 AM)

also due to some measures introduced by the government, it is now harder to apply for work permit/employment passes for any foreigner not targeting malaysia for sure  biggrin.gif
means only other countries are restricted right ...like 阿中 unsure.gif
tom_kkh
post Mar 28 2013, 09:25 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:22 AM)
no wor.

Singapore government digs tiongs as they are rich.......... shocking.gif
maggi
post Mar 28 2013, 09:26 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 09:25 AM)
no wor.

Singapore government digs tiongs as they are rich..........  shocking.gif
means 阿马also kena ?
unsure.gif
tom_kkh
post Mar 28 2013, 09:33 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:26 AM)
means 阿马also kena ?
unsure.gif
no nationality is restricted to enter singapore for employment is my knowledge.

iWoz
post Mar 28 2013, 09:52 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:10 AM)
is SG having a bad time or restricting anymore Malaysian worker to go in  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 09:17 AM)

also due to some measures introduced by the government, it is now harder to apply for work permit/employment passes for any foreigner not targeting malaysia for sure  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:22 AM)
QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 09:25 AM)
no wor.

Singapore government digs tiongs as they are rich..........  shocking.gif
QUOTE(maggi @ Mar 28 2013, 09:26 AM)
means 阿马also kena ?
unsure.gif
QUOTE(tom_kkh @ Mar 28 2013, 09:33 AM)
no nationality is restricted to enter singapore for employment is my knowledge.
probably just East Malaysians but it's done under a lot of secrecy's. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iWoz: Mar 28 2013, 09:52 AM
tom_kkh
post Mar 28 2013, 09:54 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(iWoz @ Mar 28 2013, 09:52 AM)
probably just East Malaysians but it's done under a lot of secrecy's.  laugh.gif
maybe biggrin.gif
Mackiddo
post Mar 28 2013, 10:22 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Man injured in shipyard blaze in critical condition; 3 missing

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1262558/1/.html

ivanswk
post Mar 28 2013, 02:25 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^ avoid shipyard job at all cost