Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

seantang
post Apr 24 2013, 11:18 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 24 2013, 10:38 AM)
QUOTE(alexis2power)
If 1997 crisis ever happen again then alot of suicide might happen again. You would never know.
please explain.
I was actually waiting for people to jump down from buildings in 2008. Because that would be the signal to enter the property market (or whichever market you were eyeing). Sadly, nobody did and the fire sale did not materialise.
hitsugaya2010
post Apr 24 2013, 11:41 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 24 2013, 11:01 AM)
For me I've taken AA, Tiger and Jetstar to KL multiple times in the past, so far touch wood all 3 also decent. But a lot of our members here dunno why very anti Tiger and won't choose to fly it at all.
How can compare yourself to me? I am low paid nobody in the bank with no access to any information of value, so they don't care whether I can buy or cannot buy. Elite asset managers of course naturally are different and will have all sorts of restrictions to prevent insider trading mah.
hahaha... i saw many bad remarks too.. that's why hesitate to take.. ok thanks for the opinion!!
lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 11:58 AM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

I'm graduating sooner and able start working on August. I'm still confuse that I should work at Penang Or start in construction field. Any idea or advice? Getting SGD 3k compare to MYR 3K is really make me headache. doh.gif
xtylish
post Apr 24 2013, 11:59 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 11:58 AM)
I'm graduating sooner and able start working on August. I'm still confuse that I should work at Penang Or start in construction field. Any idea or advice? Getting SGD 3k compare to MYR 3K is really make me headache.  doh.gif
u get MYR3k in m'sia, u won't get SGD3k in sg.
hitsugaya2010
post Apr 24 2013, 12:01 PM

946 posts

I'm graduating sooner and able start working on August. I'm still confuse that I should work at Penang Or start in construction field. Any idea or advice? Getting SGD 3k compare to MYR 3K is really make me headache.  doh.gif
construction field in sg is really tough.. be prepared mentally and physically! =)
lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 12:03 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 24 2013, 11:59 AM)
At least 2.9k (Checked). Does anyone here in construction field for civil eng here ? I hope you dont mind to share your view as a consultant or contractor in sg notworthy.gif
momijigari
post Apr 24 2013, 12:07 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 24 2013, 11:41 AM)
hahaha... i saw many bad remarks too.. that's why hesitate to take.. ok thanks for the opinion!!
There were a lot of flight delays for Tiger Airways during 2011. It was crazy.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 24 2013, 12:08 PM

1,172 posts

[quote=seantang,Apr 24 2013, 11:18 AM]
please explain.[/quote]I was actually waiting for people to jump down from buildings in 2008. Because that would be the signal to enter the property market (or whichever market you were eyeing). Sadly, nobody did and the fire sale did not materialise.

[/quote]

Strong eat weak, smart eat stupid, rich eat poor world. Something I kind of agree because look like its the flow now.

The recent 2008 downturn don't affect SG much, the properties dip a bit, then go up even more.

The big dip for properties is around 1998 and 2003. My dad got this house in the 1998, but the value doesn't really appreciate so much compare to the shares. Recent offer 1-2 years ago by agents is about 5-6 times the original value, but that is over a period of 10+ years. Condos bought during the 2003 and 2006 are about 2.5-3 times and 2 times the original value. The return rate can't really compare to the stock market.

Another way of thinking for stock market - the karma side - for every dollar you earn, some one have to come out that dollar. My dad always think the poor is paying for that dollar in the stock market due to the lack and lag of information compare to the rich and he stay out of the stock market. Old man thinking...
crazy25kid
post Apr 24 2013, 12:09 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

RM3k vs SGD3k gives you headache?
then I would recommend you to stay back in hometown.
you are not ready to leave your comfort zone...probably never will.

most people here are concerned whether they would be underpaid.
most fresh grad having such offer would jump on it without a 2nd thought due to the amt paid and exposure.
here, you are in a dilemma which means it is due to leaving your comfort zone.
Mackiddo
post Apr 24 2013, 12:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:33 AM)
Aihz.. air tickets so expensive now.. Just now saw a MAS tickets is rm152, suddenly can't proceed for payment... checked back.. sudah naik rm320... shitttt... haha.. anyone took tiger airways before? reliable?
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 24 2013, 11:01 AM)
For me I've taken AA, Tiger and Jetstar to KL multiple times in the past, so far touch wood all 3 also decent. But a lot of our members here dunno why very anti Tiger and won't choose to fly it at all.
I've taken Tiger Airways a few times already. normally my 1st choice would be Jetstar. Never actually experience delay but bumped my timing to an earlier flight a couple of times. if you are on a tight flight schedule, better avoid Tiger Airways

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:03 PM)
At least 2.9k (Checked).  Does anyone here in construction field for civil eng here ? I hope you dont mind to share your view as a consultant or contractor in sg  notworthy.gif
jitshiong our k-pop star is working in that field.

lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 12:18 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 24 2013, 12:09 PM)
RM3k vs SGD3k gives you headache?
then I would recommend you to stay back in hometown.
you are not ready to leave your comfort zone...probably never will.

most people here are concerned whether they would be underpaid.
most fresh grad having such offer would jump on it without a 2nd thought due to the amt paid and exposure.
here, you are in a dilemma which means it is due to leaving your comfort zone.
Nope, I'm not leaving hometown is due to my parents as I'm the only one son. Sorry, That I'm not mentioned at the first place. Besides, I also consider about getting PE in malaysia. Is that anyone can ensure we can get IR/PE in malaysia with 3-4 years singapore working experiences + 1 year local ?

lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 12:20 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 24 2013, 12:15 PM)
I've taken Tiger Airways a few times already. normally my 1st choice would be Jetstar. Never actually experience delay but bumped my timing to an earlier flight a couple of times. if you are on a tight flight schedule, better avoid Tiger Airways
jitshiong
Yup, He had help me and thanks to him as the company called for interview. But i'm missed it as I have the lecturer class atm. Maybe I will rearrange a convenience time. Thank btw notworthy.gif
JohnJon82
post Apr 24 2013, 12:20 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 24 2013, 11:59 AM)
3k sgd is possible and already on the low side. Depend on where the degree is from, some might get 4-5k if you work on site, civil side.

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:03 PM)
At least 2.9k (Checked).  Does anyone here in construction field for civil eng here ? I hope you dont mind to share your view as a consultant or contractor in sg  notworthy.gif
What you want to know? Civil/Mechanical/Electrical? Got another active one from the M&E side .
mysecondlove
post Apr 24 2013, 12:24 PM

53 posts

Yeah~ Finally i got a job offer from Sg with SGD2,800. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
But i expect at least 3k or above sad.gif
Should i take it?

lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 12:30 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:20 PM)
3k sgd is possible and already on the low side. Depend on where the degree is from, some might get 4-5k if you work on site, civil side.
What you want to know? Civil/Mechanical/Electrical? Got another active one from the M&E side .
I'm from UTM as a CIVIL eng. I prefer go to consultancy firm. Any company that you can recommended ?
JohnJon82
post Apr 24 2013, 12:33 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:18 PM)
Nope, I'm not leaving hometown is due to my parents as I'm the only one son. Sorry, That I'm not mentioned at the first place. Besides, I also consider about getting PE in malaysia. Is that anyone can ensure we can get IR/PE in malaysia with 3-4 years singapore working experiences + 1 year local  ?
Same situation cry.gif . Just go back often if you have time during the weekends. You from PG? Plenty of flights/bus going there, and affordable. You can plan your flight/bus friday night, then come back sunday night. Tiring but still young can afford to do that.

By the requirement yes. The final year before applying for interview must be local (take 2 exams before you apply for interview), reside in Malaysia for 6 months I think. But it is very hard to pass the interview if you only have that 6 months to 1 year local experience. Those things we practice in SG are not all applicable to MY. For SG PE the first degree is important. Where your degree from?
lwk523
post Apr 24 2013, 12:36 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:33 PM)
Same situation  cry.gif . Just go back often if you have time during the weekends. You from PG? Plenty of flights/bus going there, and affordable. You can plan your flight/bus friday night, then come back sunday night. Tiring but still young can afford to do that.

By the requirement yes. The final year before applying for interview must be local (take 2 exams before you apply for interview), reside in Malaysia for 6 months I think. But it is very hard to pass the interview if you only have that 6 months to 1 year local experience. Those things we practice in SG are not all applicable to MY. For SG PE the first degree is important. Where your degree from?
UTM and PG. How about you ? what is your field btw?
JohnJon82
post Apr 24 2013, 12:48 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:36 PM)
UTM and PG. How about you ? what is your field btw?
I from Sabah civil side, no buildings there all tree so I have to come here.

A lot of UTM seniors are here. You know any? Just come on Saturdays and buy Strait Time go back and look for jobs bah.

You want big firm MNC then Aecom, TYLin, Arup, Meinhardt, CPG, PB those. Local firm then you have to find yourself to see the company good or not. My opinion is that you find a PE that have time and willing to teach and guide you. More important than salary. After 4-5 years you can and should stand up on your own. Design engineer don't earn much. Consider this 4-5 years as paying for tuition fee because of the pay. I think you need to take a MSc here because PEB don't allow UTM to sit for the first exam. You have to check yourself don't take my words. I only remember one of my UTM friend said something like that.
jitshiong
post Apr 24 2013, 12:52 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 24 2013, 12:15 PM)
I'm not a civil guy leh...
plus i'm not k-pop star.
Not sure bout Civil engineers.....
i'm just a labourer
jitshiong
post Apr 24 2013, 12:54 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:20 PM)
jitshiong
Yup, He had help me and thanks to him as the company called for interview. But i'm missed it as I have the lecturer class atm. Maybe I will rearrange a convenience time.  Thank btw  notworthy.gif
oh, i did? lol!!! blush.gif
SGD 3k is a lot more compared to RM3k

125 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:33 AM