125 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

jitshiong
post Apr 19 2013, 05:02 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(NasyyEngine @ Apr 19 2013, 04:34 PM)
Yes , they were getting paid in Malysia about 4k to 5k , and they got the salary in singapore between 3k to 3.5k, ,I know its low , but they said getting job in Singapore is very tough now , and they took it since to were getting a chance to work for major mnc's
if ur fren is contented and willing to accept it, then it's totally fine.
everyone has a different preference.
and weigh the factors differently...
reign226
post Apr 19 2013, 06:41 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:48 PM)
No company there one, I working from home in pyjamas blush.gif .
Found through agent. Next to the bus station for bus going KL, PG those, next time come here take bus can find me yum cha if I in SG. Nearer to the Nicoll Highway circle line MRT, 10 mins walk to Lavender MRT. Include PUB but no internet so have to apply the mobile broadband.
My room only $150 including Internet and utilities. But 35 km away from nearest mrt station. whistling.gif
Ddaniell
post Apr 19 2013, 06:42 PM

154 posts

i just got an offer from a company from singapore. the nature of business of the company is oil & gas. what have they offered me is reasonable and after do calculation, i can save a lot (converted to ringgit). this means i am not worry about salary vs expenses.

what i am worry now is the working environment with singaporean culture. lot of ppl said that singapore working culture is stressfull.
perhaps anyone in here can clarify this.

my current job is good and very relax working place. if i go to singapore, i will sacrifice all of this just because of money. Hurmmmm...
Lester1987
post Apr 19 2013, 06:45 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Apr 19 2013, 06:41 PM)
My room only $150 including Internet and utilities. But 35 km away from nearest mrt station.  whistling.gif
my Whole 3 bedroom Flat only $125. But its 18KM from the nearest MRT. better than yours tongue.gif
seantang
post Apr 19 2013, 07:01 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

A lot of people tend to think Singapore is not an affordable place to retire. I tend to agree. Even if you do nothing, eat nothing, go nowhere, own your own property.. you still have to fork out a few hundred per month to cover HDB conservancy charges/condo maintenance fees, property taxes, PUB etc. If you want to drive in your old age... COEs, ERPs, parking, petrol... And if you want to eat well...

I did a quick back of the envelope calculation last time:...

$300 condo maintenance
$100 property tax ($36000 annual value - $6000 owner occupier concession * 4% owner occupier rate / 12 months)
$100 PUB
$900 food and other household necessities
$200 transport (bus, train & very occasionally... taxi)
$1600 Total Monthly Basic Subsistence Spending

That's about RM4000 if I go back to Ipoh:

RM50 cukai tanah (RM600 / 12 months... Ipoh Gdn Semi D)
RM100 Utilities
RM1000 food and other household necessities
RM2500 instalment on used Lancer Evo X
RM150 maintenance and road tax
RM400 petrol
RM4200 Total Monthly Basic Subsistence Spending

Guess where I'm going to retire.

World’s Longest Retirements Fuel Pressure for Singapore Remodel
2013-04-18 16:01:00.2 GMT
By Sharon Chen

April 19 (Bloomberg) -- Singaporean Richard Mui joined the ranks of the world’s longest-living retirees when his career ended in 2010. Three years on, the 54-year-old can no longer afford to pay his father’s medical bills, and worries about putting his two children through university.

Almost half a century after independence, Singaporeans now live the most number of years after leaving the workforce, according to the Global Sunset Index of 68 countries compiled by Bloomberg. In the world’s sixth-most expensive city, 41 percent of more than 1,000 residents surveyed by HSBC Holdings Plc said they haven’t saved for retirement, with nearly half of them blaming living costs for hampering efforts.

“The standard of living has improved, but the cost of living, we’re feeling the pinch,” said Mui, who’s made S$4,000 ($3,240) in the past six months as a part-time taxi driver, compared with S$12,000 a month at digital-storage device company SM Summit Holdings Ltd. before a corporate takeover put him out of a job. “The Singapore government is one of the richest in the world but yet the people don’t feel they are rich.”

Mui’s experience encapsulates the economic success that forged Southeast Asia’s only developed nation, as well as the challenges emerging after decades of policies emphasizing self- reliance over state-funded welfare. An aging population and voter demands for more government aid for the poor and elderly have put pressure on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to boost social spending even as growth slows.

The ruling People’s Action Party will probably keep urging Singaporeans to take care of themselves, as any other method could impose excessive demands on the government’s coffers, said Eugene Tan, an assistant law professor at Singapore Management University and a non-elected member of Parliament.

Bigger Burden

“Given that Singaporeans are living longer after retirement, and given that we now have smaller families, the question is whether that traditional model would be as robust,”
he said. “This could point toward an evolving social compact where the state will now have to take on a bigger burden than it has been accustomed to.”

Lee warned in his August National Day Rally address that Singapore will need to raise taxes in the next two decades as the government boosts social spending to support an aging population. He pledged to ensure sufficient affordable housing for citizens and add nursing homes for the elderly, while proposing measures to boost the country’s birth rate.

“We’re going to have to spend more on health care, substantially more,” Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said in a February interview. “A very key objective is to provide a greater sense of security in retirement for the middle-income group when they retire.”

Larger Share

Still, while the government will take on a larger share of medical costs after a review of the health-care financing system, it will continue to make individuals pay a portion, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Grace Fu was cited as saying by the Straits Times this week.

Singaporean men live an average 20.8 years after retirement while their female counterparts have 25.6 years, according to the Bloomberg Sunset Index. The measure, which places Singapore ahead of France and South Korea, estimates the age at which residents leave the workforce and subtracts this from their life expectancy. A 2012 Bloomberg study on the healthiest nations awarded the highest grade to Singapore out of 145 countries.

While the nation’s gross domestic product per capita climbed to $50,123 in 2011 from $516 in 1965, funding retirement is a challenge as lifespans increase and living costs soar, fueling public discontent that led to record opposition gains in the 2011 general election.

Expensive City

Inflation averaged 4.6 percent in 2012 and the island is the third-most expensive Asian city to live in and the sixth globally, according to an Economist Intelligence Unit ranking published in February. That’s more than double the 1.9 percent average in the past 20 years.

The city’s number of elderly will triple to 900,000 by 2030, according to the National Population and Talent Division. The government says that about half of Singaporeans aged 65 today are expected to live beyond 85, and a third beyond 90.

Singapore was the highest-ranked Asian country among 18 nations in the 2012 Melbourne Mercer Global Pension Index compiled by Mercer International Inc. and the Australian Centre for Financial Studies, which measures the adequacy, sustainability and integrity of retirement systems.

The government has for decades encouraged citizens to own their homes, and they can use a part of their mandatory pension savings for mortgage payments. That has brought the home ownership rate to 90 percent, with about 82 percent of Singaporeans living in apartments built by the state.

Struggling Retirees

Yet, many retirees in the city of 5.3 million people struggle to make ends meet after investing the bulk of their savings in homes, said Theresa W. Devasahayam, a researcher at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies in Singapore.

“It’s becoming a country where only the very rich will age in a very dignified way,” said Devasahayam, who has published papers on the nation’s policies for the elderly. “The inflation is just impossible to catch up. When you think you’ve saved enough, things keep going up and then you just find you still do not have enough.”

A survey by Friends Provident International released this month of 556 people in Singapore with investable assets of at least S$80,000 showed 57 percent of them felt they are saving enough to reach their retirement goals.

Mandatory Savings

Retirees in Singapore can withdraw a part of their government-mandated savings on their 55th birthdays, leaving a required minimum sum that they will later receive in monthly payouts, earliest at age 63.

For Kwan Fook Chuen, born on Dec. 29, 1950, his birthday this year can’t come soon enough. That’s around when he will start receiving S$400 a month from his pension savings, cash he desperately needs to make rent payments and cover his medical bills as he battles prostate cancer. A former drug addict who didn’t work for more than a decade, Kwan is among the worst off in a system that emphasizes self reliance.

“I need to survive,” says Kwan, who works two cleaning jobs from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. to make S$74 a day. “It’s very tiring. With my illness, I don’t think I can work very long,”
he said at the end of a four-hour shift bussing tables at a food court on the outskirts of the city’s central business district.

Senior workers like Kwan are a common sight in the city state’s malls, where they often work as cleaners and service staff. McDonald’s Corp., which has 9,000 employees in more than 120 restaurants on the island, started hiring retirees and senior citizens in the 1980s.

Mui, who grew up while Prime Minister Lee’s father Lee Kuan Yew boosted citizens’ wealth through policies that focused on education, business friendliness and strict laws, says the government isn’t doing enough for Singaporeans who need support. A supporter of the ruling party previously, he voted for the opposition in the last two general elections.

“The emphasis is no more on the people,” he said. “I feel that the government is not improving our lives.”

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 19 2013, 07:09 PM
JohnJon82
post Apr 19 2013, 09:09 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:53 PM)
Oh, Golden Miles complex there.quite noisy during friday night?hehe
Ya, the blocks opposite Golden Mile. Friday night here jam pack.
reign226
post Apr 19 2013, 09:11 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Ddaniell @ Apr 19 2013, 06:42 PM)
i just got an offer from a company from singapore. the nature of business of the company is oil & gas. what have they offered me is reasonable and after do calculation, i can save a lot (converted to ringgit). this means i am not worry about salary vs expenses.

what i am worry now is the working environment with singaporean culture. lot of ppl said that singapore working culture is stressfull.

my current job is good and very relax working place. if i go to singapore, i will sacrifice all of this just because of money. Hurmmmm...
Yes.

What were you expecting? No?

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 19 2013, 06:45 PM)
my Whole 3 bedroom Flat only $125. But its 18KM from the nearest MRT. better than yours tongue.gif
My room is nothing compared to your mansion, your royal highness.

reign226
post Apr 19 2013, 10:02 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 19 2013, 04:12 AM)
Guys,

If you have 4-5 years experience in IT, how much do you think reasonable to demand for a job in SG?

How much is do you think I need if I decide to work in SG, stay in JB? Is it good pay if can get 3.5k-4k SGD? If convert to Malaysian Ringgit, it is about RM8k-RM10k.

Thank you!
I think that's reasonable although depending on where you stay you might discover its not cheap staying in Johor either.

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 19 2013, 10:25 AM)
another high earning elite !! but if you getting the whole unit just for your parent once in a while visit, why not you take a room, then stay with them in hotel when they come to visit?
Elite...is there more reasons needed?

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 19 2013, 11:42 AM)
Yup it is, common room summore with queen bed biggrin.gif but unfortunately the owner only wants females. No couple & no male.  hmm.gif Moving in on 1 May  brows.gif
Careful....I heard of many horror stories. My friend was forced to move out middle of the night. I think he was scammed or shocked into moving out. But of course there are others who were fortunate to meet nice owners as well.
Mackiddo
post Apr 19 2013, 11:32 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 19 2013, 03:18 PM)
jitshiong, you going back PG on 3rd May then when will you be returning to SG? Still got empty space in your car to tumpang?
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 19 2013, 03:26 PM)
Yeah, back to SG on sunday night.
Not sure still got place or not.

Depart 3rd May Noon
come back 5th May Noon

If ok, pm me. I'll give u the contact number.
eh, please bring back some Penang famous snacks.

The are tons of businesses dealing with OnG, either directly, vendor or services. Working everywhere also stressful. It's how well you manage it.
samual8833
post Apr 20 2013, 01:18 AM

98 posts

What is ur position with ur future oil & gas company in sg? It's depend on company/ management... Majority of my friends working in sg said it is very stress to work at there and always go back home very late... Sometimes, they wotk till 3AM! But, some of them told me that they are quite enjoy with their jobs and still can manage to knock off before 7pm with 5days works... My colleague from sg also quite enjoy at sg! She always ask me did ur company pay OT to us? Since, we always work late!... Sometimes, 8.30pm-11pm still working at office and reply email... She even says they don't need to stay for OT! And, they can knock off on time... If the jobs really requite them to stay for OT, Company will cover it!
samual8833
post Apr 20 2013, 02:13 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Apr 19 2013, 02:31 AM)
Guys is it ok for fresh grad to look for job in Singapore? Or should get some experience in Malaysia first b4 going over, bcs will ur Singaporean colleague be willing to train & help out Malaysians???
Hello. I think is abit hard to get a job in sg recently... Their govt have been release the new quota for foreigner vs Singaporean/SPR... I beleive that If you really searching sg job, you'll find out many recruitment ads stated ONLY Singaporean/ SPR needs apply. Or, "No quota for foreigner"...
I think that if you really likes to work in sg, u better go now as u are fresgraduated. Don't wait till u hv more n more experiences in Malaysia and only decide to looking for a job in sg! It's too late... Coz u will start compare about the salary... For example, currently u earn RM3K with 3 yrs working experience in MY! But, sg company might not offer u SGD 3K!... They will offer you below SGD2K!... Are you willing to accept it? If you request for the same amount in SGD, I'm sure that HR will reject you!... They will says u earn RM3K and currency, and blah... blah... blah....
Hmmm.... It's depend... I believe that everywhere also hv good and bad colleagues and it is not depend on countries... M'sia companies also got quite many bad colleagues that do not want to help new incomer!... Especially, u r degree or master graduated. They will expect you to know everything from busniess--> IT---> Account---> Operation---> System----> Engineering---> Sales & Marketing---> and so many things that I can't really state one by one!... My currently company senior will only teach you one time!... No repeat... Their mind set is they do not get extra salary if they teach you. They are being force to teach new incomer! Or else, they will get scold by boss & affect their bonus!... The most important is +ve learning attitude for freshgraduted nowaday... I notice that quite many freshgraduated changed jobs every 3months in every company!... I really don't know what reasons that they give the interviewers...
They suppose to teach u if u r freshgraduated. If not, who are you going to start ur work?
reengurl
post Apr 20 2013, 08:41 AM

199 posts

Just came to SG last week and my current company isn't that bad. Work is work but if your superior & colleagues are OK then should be no problem. Stress exists everywhere even in Malaysian companies. Depending on the size of the company & the work culture as well but not all are the same.

QUOTE(reign226 @ Apr 19 2013, 10:02 PM)
I think that's reasonable although depending on where you stay you might discover its not cheap staying in Johor either.
Elite...is there more reasons needed?
Careful....I heard of many horror stories. My friend was forced to move out middle of the night. I think he was scammed or shocked into moving out. But of course there are others who were fortunate to meet nice owners as well.
Haha i signed a contract with agent laugh.gif so don't think I will be forced out.

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 19 2013, 11:32 PM)
eh, please bring back some Penang famous snacks.
The are tons of businesses dealing with OnG, either directly, vendor or services. Working everywhere also stressful. It's how well you manage it.
If i go back then can buy tau sar pneah
jitshiong
post Apr 20 2013, 08:49 AM

1,868 posts

well, ppl here are more efficient.
not so relaxed compared to malaysia.
U can see that in the service sector itself.

apart from that, other pressures like meeting datelines are the same

Lester1987
post Apr 20 2013, 09:02 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 20 2013, 08:41 AM)
Just came to SG last week and my current company isn't that bad. Work is work but if your superior & colleagues are OK then should be no problem. Stress exists everywhere even in Malaysian companies. Depending on the size of the company & the work culture as well but not all are the same.
Haha i signed a contract with agent laugh.gif so don't think I will be forced out.
If i go back then can buy tau sar pneah
early morning already start spam... spam in Whatsapp la. here no good spaming. later mod ban u.

Btw, just to share on my case, when i work in KL, my employer consider quite good, not much stress but only a krony style local construction company.
COlleagues are good but company very kedekut, always here cut cost there cut cost, 8 years old computer also want to fix and not buy a new one.

When i move to SG, manage to get into an MNC, the situation is totally different and I like it a lot better. Benefits are good, company facilites is fantastic.
work culture is also good, less stress since American company doesn't really want their workers to do OT as it is not good for health.
reengurl
post Apr 20 2013, 09:16 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 20 2013, 09:02 AM)
early morning already start spam... spam in Whatsapp la. here no good spaming. later mod ban u.

Btw, just to share on my case, when i work in KL, my employer consider quite good, not much stress but only a krony style local construction company.
COlleagues are good but company very kedekut, always here cut cost there cut cost, 8 years old computer also want to fix and not buy a new one.

When i move to SG, manage to get into an MNC, the situation is totally different and I like it a lot better. Benefits are good, company facilites is fantastic.
work culture is also good, less stress since American company doesn't really want their workers to do OT as it is not good for health.
Ceh hello I'm giving some constructive opinions also ma...not spam without any substance want okay.

Now I'm working in the Logistics field, busy time is busy but boss and colleagues are quite cincai type. Got time to kopi break..lepak awhile and chit chat. As long as the work gets done and nothing screw up nobody is going to come after you. Last time in Penang different industry, hospitality but doing sales. Boss very kedekut, always want you to come early even before your working hours, go back cannot go back sharp sharp if not you will feel she treating you one kind.

If you're someone who appreciates efficiency then by all means I believe Singapore will be better.
Mackiddo
post Apr 20 2013, 09:27 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 20 2013, 09:02 AM)

American companies work culture is totally different from most asian companies. My boss will 'shooo' all the 8-5 folks away if they stay on too long after the office hour.
And of coz in our field, we have to have state of the art equipments.
fongwan
post Apr 20 2013, 09:39 AM

139 posts

all the tailo, can i check with you all . I heard about aws. How does it really work. i heard is company must give but the question is the day you start working in Singapore or the day you sign contract? Anyone have any comment on this ?

Also anyway renting from room from landed properties. I found a room in joo chiat but the problem is i will be staying together assuming 6 people in one house. me and my wife will be 2. But i heard the toilet is share with all tenant. my worry is that when you really need to go and someone is using the toilet . how ar. Any one got experience this , please share your comment. Thank you
jitshiong
post Apr 20 2013, 10:14 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 20 2013, 09:39 AM)
all the tailo, can i check with you all . I heard about aws. How does it really work. i heard is company must give but the question is the day you start working in Singapore or the day you sign contract? Anyone have any comment on this ?

Also anyway renting from room from landed properties. I found a room in joo chiat but the problem is i will be staying together assuming 6 people in one house. me and my wife will be 2. But i heard the toilet is share with all tenant. my worry is that when you really need to go and someone is using the toilet . how ar. Any one got experience this , please share your comment. Thank you
I don't think it's a must. Cos i do not have AWS. If you found any regulation on this, pls share with me so i can inform my HR on this matter.
Mackiddo
post Apr 20 2013, 10:22 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 20 2013, 09:39 AM)

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 20 2013, 10:14 AM)
I don't think it's a must. Cos i do not have AWS. If you found any regulation on this, pls share with me so i can inform my HR on this matter.
Not every company have AWS. Payment of AWS depends on the contractual agreement between the employer and the employee.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices...e-wage.aspx#aws

Your wages start calculating on the day you started work and not the day you signed the contract. AWS payment is mostly given out end of the year.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 20 2013, 10:25 AM
jitshiong
post Apr 20 2013, 10:30 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 20 2013, 10:22 AM)
Not every company have AWS. Payment of AWS depends on the contractual agreement between the employer and the employee.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices...e-wage.aspx#aws

Your wages start calculating on the day you started work and not the day you signed the contract. AWS payment is mostly given out end of the year.
Sigh...
labourer like me always kena con by the employers
not stated in my contract...means tarak

what to do, i need the job more than the job needs me

125 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:07 AM