GrumpyNooby
post May 25 2020, 03:23 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 25 2020, 03:20 PM)
Not topup but separate additional contribution
Any different? Limit is still the same as RM 60k per year.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution...lf-contribution
michael2727
post May 25 2020, 03:31 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 25 2020, 03:10 PM)
Yes, you can do top up contribution up to RM 60k per year.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution...gs-contribution
appreciate it smile.gif

is it worth it? or should i try invest in robo advisors like Wahed/Stashaway?
GrumpyNooby
post May 25 2020, 03:36 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(michael2727 @ May 25 2020, 03:31 PM)
appreciate it smile.gif

is it worth it? or should i try invest in robo advisors like Wahed/Stashaway?
With EPF, your risk free return is 2.5%.
romuluz777
post May 25 2020, 03:40 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ May 25 2020, 11:52 AM)
Monthly self contribution (on top of the annual $60k) via Borang 17A. I think, up to X% of your monthly net salary. (ie, your after tax n mandatory kwsp deduction)

If you r serious, go check eligibility at KWSP, only applicable if you work locally.

Reading your posts, likely you a Bumi... Have you maxed the ASB123? I apologise if I come across as uncouth.
Are you referring to the additional contribution in excess of the statutory 11% from salary ?

Am non-bumi bro, thats why hv to look at other means of returnsđŸ˜…
romuluz777
post May 25 2020, 03:44 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 25 2020, 11:20 AM)
May I know what the reason behind this proposition?
For easy liquidity in case of emergency need, at rates above FD.

backspace66
post May 25 2020, 05:15 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ May 25 2020, 03:44 PM)
For easy liquidity in case of emergency need, at rates above FD.
Good idea if one have a million in epf to make all the self contribution available when needed again. Can treat epf as high yield saving account.
magika
post May 25 2020, 05:22 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 25 2020, 03:23 PM)
Any different? Limit is still the same as RM 60k per year.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution...lf-contribution
Its different. Topup means exixting salaried monthly contribution plus extra contribution . Separate means salaried contribution are not taken into account.

GrumpyNooby
post May 25 2020, 05:25 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 25 2020, 05:22 PM)
Its different. Topup means exixting salaried monthly contribution plus extra contribution . Separate means salaried contribution are not taken into account.
So separate self contribution can have extra RM 60k limit on top of the salaried contribution?
But topup contribution will have lower limit of RM 60k minus salaried contribution (at annual)?
romuluz777
post May 25 2020, 06:06 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ May 25 2020, 06:15 PM)
Good idea if one have a million in epf to make all the self contribution available when needed again. Can treat epf as high yield saving account.
Yep thats the planđŸ˜‹
CoronaV
post May 25 2020, 07:34 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ May 24 2020, 02:10 PM)
looking at current situation...loan rate, FD rate all going down

i maxed out my 60k self contribution in epf already

zero FD
That quota thingy for 60k. What if I put 60k now in may this year , next year Jan 2021 I still can enjoy refresh 60k quota am I right?
Or have to do it in may 2021?

Unkerpanjang
post May 25 2020, 08:00 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(CoronaV @ May 25 2020, 07:34 PM)
That quota thingy for 60k. What if I put 60k now in may this year , next year Jan 2021 I still can enjoy refresh 60k quota am I right?
It's based on calender year n earn monthly interest.

Go confirm with kwsp...so, next year earliest topup 4 Jan 2021 (Mon)

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: May 25 2020, 08:00 PM
lyc1982
post May 25 2020, 10:09 PM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(CoronaV @ May 25 2020, 07:34 PM)
i think it's by year...
not by 12 months
Salary
post May 25 2020, 10:24 PM

668 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ May 25 2020, 10:09 PM)
i think it's by year...
not by 12 months
Yes, it’s by year, not 12-month rolling period.
CoronaV
post May 26 2020, 08:57 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ May 25 2020, 08:00 PM)
It's based on calender year n earn monthly interest.

Go confirm with kwsp...so, next year earliest topup 4 Jan 2021 (Mon)
QUOTE(lyc1982 @ May 25 2020, 10:09 PM)
i think it's by year...
not by 12 months
QUOTE(Salary @ May 25 2020, 10:24 PM)
Yes, it’s by year, not 12-month rolling period.
I see. Thank you for sharing .
GrumpyNooby
post May 26 2020, 10:27 AM

12,387 posts

What is the dividend rate that you guys expecting for this year?
5%?
Unkerpanjang
post May 26 2020, 12:10 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 26 2020, 10:27 AM)
5%?
Morning, a genuine n logical question...

For the majority of wage earners, both kwsp and lhdn are mandatory contributions. Although during special instances, they allow dome flexibility in Kwsp personal contribution (due to mco - retrenched, pay cut). Thats the rude reality, if 100% income used on expenses.

If the economy continues to worsens, expect personal income tax, gst %, inflation, etc to increase; while dividend yields to further compress.

This pandemic teaches some people (despite their relatively high net worth) to live simply, while many others (facing basic food shortage) to simply live.

I'm hoping for 6.5% dividend, whether realistic or otherwise, ...as the saying goes "Hope is the last thing to die" .

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: May 26 2020, 12:53 PM
Wedchar2912
post May 26 2020, 12:12 PM

3,656 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ May 26 2020, 10:27 AM)
5%?
It is really up to the Government of the day, ie the PM and FM. The government can override any rate recommended by EPF.

Having said that (a bit cynical with the above statement), given what we know how the markets been performing until today 26 of May, and that PN government would want to remain popular, I would say your guess is very fair. Can even aim higher at 5.5 to 5.99%. MGS/GII been holding so well that they are capital gains, while our Bursa shares has rebounded nicely. All thanks to BNM's rate cut.

A wild thought. Maybe EPF should give bonus dividend like extra 3% on top of what they normally declare, and state that this bonus dividend must be distributed and spent. Help spur the economy somemore.
Unkerpanjang
post May 26 2020, 01:15 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 26 2020, 12:12 PM)
It is really up to the Government of the day, ie the PM and FM. The government can override any rate recommended by EPF.

Having said that (a  bit cynical with the above statement), given what we know how the markets been performing until today 26 of May, and that PN government would want to remain popular, I would say your guess is very fair. Can even aim higher at 5.5 to 5.99%. MGS/GII been holding so well that they are capital gains, while our Bursa shares has rebounded nicely. All thanks to BNM's rate cut.

A wild thought. Maybe EPF should give bonus dividend like extra 3% on top of what they normally declare, and state that this bonus dividend must be distributed and spent. Help spur the economy somemore.
Hahaha, good to read a relatively young man with head screwed on right!

Based on your last paragraph, most readers wud have immediately categorised you as T20% or even T10%. (last Kwsp report suggests only 0.5% active contributors hit above the $1mil savings mark)...Congrats!
cempedaklife
post May 26 2020, 01:16 PM

Master Decoy
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 26 2020, 12:12 PM)

Having said that (a  bit cynical with the above statement), given what we know how the markets been performing until today 26 of May, and that PN government would want to remain popular, I would say your guess is very fair. Can even aim higher at 5.5 to 5.99%. MGS/GII been holding so well that they are capital gains, while our Bursa shares has rebounded nicely. All thanks to BNM's rate cut.

At first, i thought what a wild thought indeed. But think deeper, it can be down.

Declare divvy for 2020, but forced to take out. It can be as simple as that. Since they allow ppl to take money out from epf for this period (cant remember dunno called what), should be doable.

Good for economy. Granted, some may still save it up but at least a large portion will use or need it.
Wedchar2912
post May 26 2020, 02:31 PM

3,656 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 26 2020, 01:16 PM)
At first, i thought what a wild thought indeed. But think deeper, it can be down.

Declare divvy for 2020, but forced to take out. It can be as simple as that. Since they allow ppl to take money out from epf for this period (cant remember dunno called what), should be doable.

Good for economy. Granted, some may still save it up but at least a large portion will use or need it.
In the interest (pun intended smile.gif ), in order to stimulate the economy, one cannot keep the money in EPF account but must spend the bonus dividend. Maybe throw the money into respective contributor's e-wallets run by companies that Epf has a stake in, and put restrictions that the money must be spent on certain purchases, medicine, or donations to charities. It is purely to stimulate the economy.

1310 Pages « < 221 222 223 224 225 > » Top

0.0171sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:54 AM