EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

prophetjul
post Jul 6 2023, 01:57 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jul 6 2023, 01:35 PM)
maybe they t20 people to be scared and take out immediately now so in in future pay less dividend to them. No need to implement tier-dividend.

also will implement basic income drawdown. how much a month?
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/673791

KUALA LUMPUR (July 6): Prime Minister Datuk Sri Anwar Ibrahim said any decision on the basic income drawdown plans for members' savings will be decided by the Employment Provident Fund (EPF).
Wondering what is "basic income drawdown"?
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 01:58 PM

3,644 posts

maybe they t20 people to be scared and take out immediately now so in in future pay less dividend to them. No need to implement tier-dividend.

KUALA LUMPUR (July 6): Prime Minister Datuk Sri Anwar Ibrahim said any decision on the basic income drawdown plans for members' savings will be decided by the Employment Provident Fund (EPF).
Assuming 240K rm at start of 56 years old, EPF div rate stable at 5% pa, achieve 0 balance by age 76 (ie 20 years drawdown),
can spend 1.6K pm.

worth it?
batman1172
post Jul 6 2023, 02:08 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 01:58 PM)
Assuming 240K rm at start of 56 years old, EPF div rate stable at 5% pa, achieve 0 balance by age 76 (ie 20 years drawdown),
can spend 1.6K pm.

worth it?
I think they gonna cap withdrawl at RM1k monthly from 56 since only 18% of members have enough money. And then later extend retirement age to say 65.
https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/07/927...post-retirement

batman1172
post Jul 6 2023, 02:09 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 6 2023, 01:57 PM)
Wondering what is "basic income drawdown"?
RM240k/20 years = 1k monthly?

This post has been edited by batman1172: Jul 6 2023, 02:09 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 02:11 PM

3,644 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:08 PM)
I think they gonna cap withdrawl at RM1k monthly from 56 since only 18% of members have enough money. And then later extend retirement age to say 65.
problem is if the starting amount is 240K rm, and cap withdrawal at 1K pm, it becomes a perpetual annuity...cos 5% div means 12K rm dividend already.

Then this will be even more draconian than SG's CPF version.... EPF want to keep our funeral and burial funds and more!!!!!!!
Any worse is everyone can only take out max 1K pm regardless of balance. haha

shocking.gif

EPF and gov really need to be better in communicating this to the public...
HolyCooler
post Jul 6 2023, 02:13 PM

439 posts

I feel like i am back to 30+ years ago when so much rumours about EPF flying around.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 6 2023, 02:17 PM

Β 
3,833 posts

EPF say will discuss with gomen, and PM say will be decided by EPF.

Topkek.
HolyCooler
post Jul 6 2023, 02:19 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 6 2023, 02:17 PM)

Topkek.
Nothing wrong, after EPF discussed with gomen, then EPF makes the decision. It is quite normal in many organizations / companies, collect info and discuss, but only one will make the decision.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jul 6 2023, 02:25 PM

Β 
3,833 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jul 6 2023, 02:19 PM)
Nothing wrong, after EPF discussed with gomen, then EPF makes the decision. It is quite normal in many organizations / companies, collect info and discuss, but only one will make the decision.
Sure. EPF is the one making the decision.

innocent.gif
Super2047
post Jul 6 2023, 02:33 PM

276 posts

This news really make people who volunteer contribute more up car already... Now even if they announce can contribute extra RM200k I also don't dare already. Masuk senang keluar no pintu.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 02:34 PM

3,644 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 6 2023, 02:25 PM)
Sure. EPF is the one making the decision.

innocent.gif
This is a policy change... hence it is more the gov's move. Pointing at EPF is just a coward way out by PH gov.
faizfizy39
post Jul 6 2023, 02:46 PM

VVIP
681 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:11 PM)
problem is if the starting amount is 240K rm, and cap withdrawal at 1K pm, it becomes a perpetual annuity...cos 5% div means 12K rm dividend already.

Then this will be even more draconian than SG's CPF version.... EPF want to keep our funeral and burial funds and more!!!!!!!

shocking.gif
I believe it's not max RM 1K but should be min RM 1K...
prophetjul
post Jul 6 2023, 03:19 PM

12,268 posts

https://www.utusan.com.my/berita/2023/07/kw...ntuk-pesara-pm/

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is open to the proposal of the Employees' Provident Fund (EPF) to make periodic or monthly withdrawals when contributors reach the retirement age of 55 from voluntary to mandatory for new contributors.

Still got hope
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 6 2023, 03:26 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 01:58 PM)
can spend 1.6K pm.

worth it?
Have been saying it's not really your money.

That's why they are even encouraging you to self contribute.

So if now it's for 240k can you imagine 5 years later?

But gov has no ill intentions right?

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:08 PM)
This is crazy man.

What can you even do with 1k per month.

Have been saying even in kopitiam that this is going to happen

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:34 PM)
This is a policy change... hence it is more the gov's move. Pointing at EPF is just a coward way out by PH gov.
It's ok. Gov can never do this.
This is what you got by putting Anwar into power.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 6 2023, 03:33 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 03:45 PM

3,644 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 6 2023, 03:26 PM)

This is crazy man.

Haha... while I understand you are sore and trying to be cheeky for some reason, you must also be really naive to think that the majority of us trust 100% of the current and future politicians of Malaysia's gov? Today say A but tomorrow is a different gov made of different politicians but of same rubbish DNA.

So, if you think your funds in EPF is not yours, then take it all out then if you can. If you cannot, then think of a constructive way to alleviate the situation. If you admit there is nothing you can do, then I guess all you can do is complain....

If one has been planning properly one's retirement and didn't screw it up fully (or gotten so much bad luck that it just didn't work out), 240K being withheld by EPF is just a joke vs one's retirement eggnest. 240K just pretend you put into a FD issued by EPF which will pay better than FD rate by CIMB.
And any worry that EPF will raise the amount withheld sky high, say 1 million, is also silly to ponder.

The only catastrophic step EPF can take is everyone's amount regardless of notional is frozen and everyone can only take out 1K pm... Now this is the only scenario worth worrying. (ponder under what kind of economic situation will this happen).

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 6 2023, 03:51 PM
SUSxander2k8
post Jul 6 2023, 03:46 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jul 6 2023, 10:40 AM)
For my case, I would prefer to leave my EPF money in there and withdraw only the interest. Not even all the interest, just part of it. I would prefer to withdraw only what I need and when I need it.

But frankly I am getting sick of all these uncertainties. Maybe I will just take out everything and earn a couple of percent less interest to avoid any future headaches.
If you want control take out πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ otherwise leave it for govt political machinisation

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:11 PM)

shocking.gif
Blame it on PR dept and mass media for spinning it out of hand πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 6 2023, 02:17 PM)

Topkek.
EPF makes the decision πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ but the signatory and amendment to the act is more important than the decision

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:34 PM)
Another rush job again πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ just like EPF contributions forced raised to 20% from the employers

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 6 2023, 03:26 PM)

This is crazy man.

Now you know why the encouraging such thing πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ it is because the coffee is drying up and while losing investments holdings and remember this is a govt of indecisiveness πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ this what happens when ppl can’t decide and leave it to bunch of political fools to decide to the man of power

Another master stroke πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ since Labor Day announcement and proposal
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 6 2023, 04:18 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 03:45 PM)
Haha... while I understand you are sore and trying to be cheeky for some reason, you must also be really naive to think that the majority of us trust 100% of the current and future politicians of Malaysia's gov? Today say A but tomorrow is a different gov made of different politicians but of same rubbish DNA.

So, if you think your funds in EPF is not yours, then take it all out then if you can. If you cannot, then think of a constructive way to alleviate the situation. If you admit there is nothing you can do, then I guess all you can do is complain....

If one has been planning properly one's retirement and didn't screw it up fully (or gotten so much bad luck that it just didn't work out), 240K being withheld by EPF is just a joke vs one's retirement eggnest. 240K just pretend you put into a FD issued by EPF which will pay better than FD rate by CIMB.
And any worry that EPF will raise the amount withheld sky high, say 1 million, is also silly to ponder.

The only catastrophic step EPF can take is everyone's amount regardless of notional is frozen and everyone can only take out 1K pm... Now this is the only scenario worth worrying. (ponder under what kind of economic situation will this happen).
Well I will not be surprised it's not going to be just 240k when I reach 55. So you think in 10 years time, they cannot raise it to say 500k? At this point they are just seeing the reactions that's all.

Of course 10 years or even before that it's a long time and if they really try this, I can always plan ahead.

Still dunno why you are so upset with me.

But you really are not that smart to be honest if you think they cannot implement the same thing that Singapore does. Maybe you really are not.

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 6 2023, 04:37 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 07:25 PM

3,644 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 6 2023, 04:18 PM)
Well I will not be surprised it's not going to be just 240k when I reach 55. So you think in 10 years time, they cannot raise it to say 500k? At this point they are just seeing the reactions that's all.

Of course 10 years or even before that it's a long time and if they really try this, I can always plan ahead.

Still dunno why you are so upset with me.

But you really are not that smart to be honest if you think they cannot implement the same thing that Singapore does. Maybe you really are not.
Rather than worry about my smartness, you are better off thinking of ways to take your funds out of EPF if you have any and is really worried....
Don't just talk and no action... nod.gif

If really concern, be like me... took almost 150K rm out 3 months back to readjust my position...

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 6 2023, 07:25 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Jul 6 2023, 07:27 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 6 2023, 07:25 PM)
Rather than worry about my smartness, you are better off thinking of ways to take your funds out of EPF if you have any and is really worried....
Don't just talk and no action...Β  nod.gif

If really concern, be like me... took almost 150K rm out 3 months back to readjust my position...
If I can I would.
But I have not reach 55 years or 50 years

In fact I took out as much monies as possible when given the chance to do so.

And in my current job, I took a contract role in such a way my company does not need to pay epf to me.

But side note. Do you have mental issues?

This post has been edited by BrookLes: Jul 6 2023, 07:34 PM
gashout
post Jul 6 2023, 07:51 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Government and any bodies have no business to hold our retirement fund to ransom.

If wanna do to epf. Then also do too older people bank accounts.

This will piss off so many people.

1309 Pages « < 700 701 702 703 704 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:06 PM