8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Serious How much dowries you would give, share your expirience

megaheart
post Jan 17 2013, 01:43 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM)
Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme.

If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony.

No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet.
Easier said than done, dude.. tongue.gif
SUSTyler__Durden
post Jan 17 2013, 02:00 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:15 PM)
Cainis wedding really waste of money. In the end who benefit? The restaurants, the wedding photographer, the MC you hire, the wedding planner and the wedding dress designer. Its totally a mafia extortion scheme.

If I get married, I just want to drive my future waifu to putrajaya, with family, relatives and friends for the signing ceremony.

No tea ceremony and hell no stupid dinner banquet.
For those that want to get married.

Remember to transfer all your money and property and business to your family before marriage.

So when the sucker punch came from cupcake when divorce call coming, she'll be in for a real surprise.

Alvin330000421
post Jan 17 2013, 02:05 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 02:20 PM)
bro,
i have a same thinking with u , but when u really facing this, its totally a different case, you cant control due to
2 family come together...
Before I get married, i'll tell the in-laws that I plan to migrate overseas...need the money for migration.

They will understand.

My cousin did this before he migrated to UK.
Alvin330000421
post Jan 17 2013, 02:08 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 17 2013, 03:00 PM)
For those that want to get married.

Remember to transfer all your money and property and business to your family before marriage.

So when the sucker punch came from cupcake when divorce call coming, she'll be in for a real surprise.
Thats what my friend's dad did before he got married. He transferred the family home title 50/50 between him and the sister.

25 years later, the marriage gave birth to 2 sons (my friend and his brother), the father suddenly suffer from old age dementia. Now the mother needs money to pay for the 2 son wedding, wants to sell the house. But the sister in law is refusing to sell the house.

Alvin330000421
post Jan 17 2013, 02:09 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(megaheart @ Jan 17 2013, 02:43 PM)
Easier said than done, dude..  tongue.gif
I am planning to make some lame excuse like I gotta migrate overseas with my wife, so I need the capital badly, the in-laws would understand.

Another trick is to marry a rich wife..the in-laws would sure finance a lavish wedding.
heinlein
post Jan 17 2013, 02:10 PM

1,794 posts

My dowry is RM 9999
SUSTyler__Durden
post Jan 17 2013, 02:14 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Jan 17 2013, 02:08 PM)
Thats what my friend's dad did before he got married. He transferred the family home title 50/50 between him and the sister.

25 years later, the marriage gave birth to 2 sons (my friend and his brother), the father suddenly suffer from old age dementia. Now the mother needs money to pay for the 2 son wedding, wants to sell the house. But the sister in law is refusing to sell the house.
His mistake is to transfer it to another female, LOLOLOLOL.

Apart from that, WTF kind of wedding that needs to cost of selling 1 house?
msxeroz
post Jan 17 2013, 02:15 PM

im getting married end of this year too! My mom didn't ask for a cent but fiance is also having a dilemma as tradition to give dowry is a must. >.< I had some friends dowry from 20k-100k (what I heard). True or not, i dun know le.
ymc2303
post Jan 17 2013, 03:02 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jan 17 2013, 01:10 PM)
she told me she need to give her mom also, which means the another 5k she give her mom from her own pocket,

but if she did that, which means all of her saving gave her mom and empty herself... other those wedding dinner , make up , bro and sister money including the red packet everything by me...

really hate this tradition man...
its really making this wedding looked that her mom is selling her off at 5k..
if you really hate this kind of set up, why not make effort to discuss this over and over until you get a comfortable compromise where you will no end up being in debts due to this wedding?
i03001126
post Jan 17 2013, 03:07 PM

want wedding then don't stingy ady, be a real man please, its a must of giving the dowries above 10k.
heinlein
post Jan 17 2013, 03:10 PM

1,794 posts

I dunno about you people but during my sister wedding, my mum buy gold bracelet, necklace and ring for my sister and sister in law from the dowry given. My mum even bake cakes to be given to everyone that attend the wedding and etc etc. KL people take dowry masuk pocket end of story kah?
Alvin330000421
post Jan 17 2013, 03:12 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Tyler__Durden @ Jan 17 2013, 03:14 PM)
His mistake is to transfer it to another female, LOLOLOLOL.

Apart from that, WTF kind of wedding that needs to cost of selling 1 house?
His dad got no other sibling but his sister.

No lar..because his dad don't trust his newlywed wife, he scared that she would leave him so he decided to transfer half his house to his sister's name.
Ball of Fish ball
post Jan 17 2013, 03:15 PM

166 posts

Aunty .. you jual anak ke ? 10K ?
TSfreestyler87
post Jan 17 2013, 04:11 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(Ball of Fish ball @ Jan 17 2013, 03:15 PM)
Aunty .. you jual anak ke ? 10K ?
that's come out in my mind straight...

Nine9
post Jan 17 2013, 04:28 PM

216 posts

so, prepare 30k for wedding...

8,888 for dowries
999 for open room door
100 for open car door
10,000 (min) for dinner
5,000 for photo
3,00 ~ 4,000 for ring

skloda
post Jan 17 2013, 04:33 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

easy wedding dinner give them 10 tables ...
shinchan^^
post Jan 17 2013, 04:41 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(msxeroz @ Jan 17 2013, 02:15 PM)
im getting married end of this year too! My mom didn't ask for a cent but fiance is also having a dilemma as tradition to give dowry is a must. >.< I had some friends dowry from 20k-100k (what I heard). True or not, i dun know le.
dafuq 100k
xecton
post Jan 17 2013, 04:42 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(i03001126 @ Jan 17 2013, 03:07 PM)
want wedding then don't stingy ady, be a real man please, its a must of giving the dowries above 10k.
Real men charts their own course.
Pusseh mommy's boys would follow tradition because mama said so.
Kiraneko
post Jan 17 2013, 04:47 PM

69 posts

Mine 2k saja, my mom understands the amount that went through all the dinner and preparations and also the amount we need for future things so she didn't mind any amount.
cc980024
post Jan 17 2013, 05:01 PM

492 posts

TS, is your wife/gf problem for not helping you to negotiate with her mum.
Usually a mother will be understanding if the daughter have a real talk with her regarding your financial ability. ... problem is.. your gf did talk or not? She even thinking to help you pay out instead of negotiating.. that is "stupid".

Last time, I told my mum that my hubby only manage to save $5K and we will give all to her as dowry. For the wedding expenses, he will have to borrow from his father. Indirectly telling my mum that my hubby got no more extra $ to give. My mum understood and due to that, she even help me prepare all the angpao for open door, children, etc. And my parents pay for the girl side wedding dinner themselves.
And the cost of the jewelry my mum given me and my hubby (a ring for the son-in-law) total already cost RM4K++.
But the one of the condition my mum mention is.. the RM5K must be totally his $. I should not sponsor any. If calculate.. my mum given it back to us in other form.

TS, discuss with your gf and do a proper talk to your future MIL. I believe normal mother is not $ sucker. But of coz, if she really is $ sucker.. then forget it.

Fyi, my wedding was 7yrs ago.. RM5K.
My younger sister wedding 5yrs ago.. RM8K.

Unless the girl parents never request in the first place. They requested RM10K actually is quite normal price.
Thats your choice, chosen chinese girl. Is the custom to pay.. unless they dun 1.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:16 PM