Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club, Go Further

SP|D3RMaN
post Nov 7 2013, 08:46 AM

+1 to lowkl

Cheers mate ...

I too sometimes have the juddering issue, but again, it is how we adapt to a DCT GB ...
But the pleasure after the 2nd gear is sweet ...
styloh
post Nov 7 2013, 09:42 AM

25 posts

+1 to both of you lah! haha. yeah couldnt agree with lowkl more
SP|D3RMaN
post Nov 7 2013, 10:36 AM

Some poison for those Mk3 Owners out there ...

Snorkel Delete
Done this. Felt really nice especially on mid to high end ...
Tuning Solution
Future investment ...
Custom Tuning
Future investment ...
SportyHandling
post Nov 7 2013, 12:17 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(styloh @ Nov 6 2013, 08:25 AM)
Hi all Ford Focus owners,

I plan to get the Ford Focus, but have been contemplating on the car's auto transmission issue such as juddering, shaking, etc. Anyone experienced it before care to share their experience here? And did the issue ever got resolved?

I would really appreciate if anyone is willing to share their experience, so it would help me in my dilemma.

Thank you!
QUOTE(styloh @ Nov 6 2013, 01:49 PM)
hi spiderman, totally agree with you. but what i am afraid of is getting the car with constant GB problem, and they cant fix it. have read a few of those problems online, where the owner have to constantly go back to SC to get it look at. It would be great if someone actually know or have the issue fixed?
Strong jerks and juddering at low speeds only occur during the first 1,000km, in my case. The gear shifts are much smoother at 2,000km. It does not have the smoothness of a CVT but it's close - only at 2,000km mileage and above.

As Lowkl has mentioned, it's not exactly a gearbox problem but a characteristic, and in my experience the characteristic is only evident at low mileage below 1,000km. At 2,000km/h mileage and above, there is very minimal juddering, and I don't see any problem or even an issue with the gearbox. Perhaps some owners who have to constantly go back to the service centre to get the "problem" fixed, those problems are something else?

Personally I don't have any issues with the gearbox of the Focus as it shifts quite smoothly now with very minimal judders at low speeds. The mileage of my vehicle is about 1900km now. I am actually more critical on the suspension of the vehicle, the noises that it produces when going over uneven or bad roads which I feel is quite loud. I was told this is a characteristic that is inherent in the Focus. I can live with it but sometimes wished the suspension is little quieter.

styloh
post Nov 7 2013, 12:50 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 7 2013, 12:17 PM)
Strong jerks and juddering at low speeds only occur during the first 1,000km, in my case. The gear shifts are much smoother at 2,000km. It does not have the smoothness of a CVT but it's close - only at 2,000km mileage and above.

As Lowkl has mentioned, it's not exactly a gearbox problem but a characteristic, and in my experience the characteristic is only evident at low mileage below 1,000km. At 2,000km/h mileage and above, there is very minimal juddering, and I don't see any problem or even an issue with the gearbox. Perhaps some owners who have to constantly go back to the service centre to get the "problem" fixed, those problems are something else?

Personally I don't have any issues with the gearbox of the Focus as it shifts quite smoothly now with very minimal judders at low speeds. The mileage of my vehicle is about 1900km now. I am actually more critical on the suspension of the vehicle, the noises that it produces when going over uneven or bad roads which I feel is quite loud. I was told this is a characteristic that is inherent in the Focus. I can live with it but sometimes wished the suspension is little quieter.
Thanks SportyHandling for sharing your experience. No doubt all of you who "pen" down your thoughts & experience here do help in making better decision

Tq guys!
blay
post Nov 7 2013, 02:11 PM

50 posts

share share
usucx
post Nov 7 2013, 02:27 PM

40 posts

Guys,

Just completed my sport+ software upgrade this morning at Trio Mantap Taman Kenchana. Hopefully all the juddering and grinding will go away permanently. Currently now at 14K++ mileage.
SP|D3RMaN
post Nov 7 2013, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(usucx @ Nov 7 2013, 02:27 PM)
Guys,

Just completed my sport+ software upgrade this morning at Trio Mantap Taman Kenchana. Hopefully all the juddering and grinding will go away permanently. Currently now at 14K++ mileage.
Bro.
Keep us updated to it.
lowkl
post Nov 7 2013, 05:42 PM

88 posts

Guys,

Can share what version got installed? Thanks in advance......
usucx
post Nov 7 2013, 08:04 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Nov 7 2013, 05:42 PM)
Can share what version got installed? Thanks in advance......
There's no specific software version no. The SC only mention it upgrades the gear box software.
fastford
post Nov 7 2013, 10:56 PM

Hi Guys, I'm a proud owner of the new Focus S+, a week old. I have a few questions to ask here....

1. I have been looking high and low for a right size rims/wheels for the ride, any idea where I can find one?

2. Do you guys have a regular meet up? Felt abit lonely on the road... tongue.gif

All inputs are welcome! Thanks!
lowkl
post Nov 7 2013, 11:15 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(fastford @ Nov 7 2013, 10:56 PM)
Hi Guys, I'm a proud owner of the new Focus S+, a week old. I have a few questions to ask here....

1. I have been looking high and low for a right size rims/wheels for the ride, any idea where I can find one?

2. Do you guys have a regular meet up? Felt abit lonely on the road... tongue.gif

fastford,

Firstly, congrats on the new ride. I'm confident you will have an absolutely exhilarating experience with how the car performs.

I would suggest you join the Ford Focus MK3 - Malaysia Owners Group on Facebook as the group is quite active and it's a great place to share our enthusiasm for the car. In fact, if you can't get the details for the rims in this forum, I pretty much guarantee it can be found on the group page. It is a closed group so there's a little bit of registration that needs to be done, but the admins are usually very attentive.

There have been a few TT sessions (Teh Tarik) where the group members meet up; in fact the most recent was a trip for Kajang satay. Unfortunately due to a combination of bad timing on my part and family commitments, I myself have not attended these sessions yet.

Looking forward to your presence in the group!

hihihehe
post Nov 8 2013, 01:25 AM

13,790 posts

I am in the market for new car and Focus S+ attracted me but at the same time I kinda like the interior of Civic 2.0.

Which one do you guys actually prefer? Focus is slightly faster than Civic? How about FC? Do they have navigation and reverse camera? Can connect to Android devices without issue?
thanish
post Nov 8 2013, 09:29 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 8 2013, 01:25 AM)
I am in the market for new car and Focus S+ attracted me but at the same time I kinda like the interior of Civic 2.0.

Which one do you guys actually prefer? Focus is slightly faster than Civic? How about FC? Do they have navigation and reverse camera? Can connect to Android devices without issue?
Wrong question to ask if we prefer civic in focus owners group.. Haha.. Frankly highway drive gives excellent FC.. 6l/100km cruising at 120 to 150.. Lower speed gives further low numbers... Stuck in jam... It sucks... This i believe is common in this class of vehicle...no nav oror camera offered in malaysia focus... No issues with Android.. Works great.... In fb focus forum someone posted comparison of backseat space with 3 adult seated at back.. Surprisingly civic is smaller...
tkyrgun
post Nov 8 2013, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(usucx @ Nov 7 2013, 08:04 PM)
There's no specific software version no. The SC only mention it upgrades the gear box software.
bro, care to review how's ur drive now since u said tat u have done the upgrade for gearbox..
the gearbox really gif us a hardtime due to the jerkiness, juddering..
& how long it take to do the gearbox software upgrade?
SP|D3RMaN
post Nov 8 2013, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(fastford @ Nov 7 2013, 10:56 PM)

Hi bro, welcome to the family.
First at foremost, you need to understand what rims you are using.
Our standard S+ rims comes in 17" x 7.5JJ +55 (IIRC) with 215/50R17 tires with PCD 108.
Focus ST comes with 18" x 8JJ +50 (IIRC) with 235/40R18.

For aftermarket rims, 18" with 8JJ is suitable. However, offset wise, from +40 to <+50 should suffice.
Tires i would recommend 235/40R18.

Many shops you can look for but do remember, PCD108 rims are a bit harder to find.
Cheers.
SuperKL2020
post Nov 8 2013, 11:20 AM

63 posts

Btw, is that any ways that we can check on our own whats the software version? Hitting about 5k on my Fofo, then low speed jerking has been much reduced to the initial 1-2k. Thinking of waiting until the 1st service at 10k before upgrading my software..
tkyrgun
post Nov 8 2013, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(SuperKL2020 @ Nov 8 2013, 11:20 AM)
Btw, is that any ways that we can check on our own whats the software version? Hitting about 5k on my Fofo, then low speed jerking has been much reduced to the initial 1-2k. Thinking of waiting until the 1st service at 10k before upgrading my software..
Good to hear tat ur fofo jerkiness has reduce. mine now at 2k km stil very noticeable..my wife keep on saying why like tat 1, rather drive conventional auto gb etc..
lowkl
post Nov 8 2013, 12:40 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(usucx @ Nov 7 2013, 08:04 PM)
To get the version number, you can try this:
- with the car completely off, depress the OK button on the Information Display control (right side of the steering wheel) then while depressed, press the START button (with or without depressing the brake). This will enter the Self-Diagnostic mode.

- use the up and/or down arrow keys on the Information Display control to navigate the various info & test screens, until you see 'NVM EEPROM' and a number below; that should be the software version number.
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
post Nov 8 2013, 02:14 PM

Luxury & Lifestyle Enthusiast
308 posts

Guys,

That's good news indeed - I take Trio Mantap has already been given the latest transmission calibration update that everyone's been waiting for. I was there 2 saturdays ago and spoke to Lau - he mentioned the update (stable) wasn't available yet back then.

Just FYI

http://www.fordservicecontent.com/Ford_Con...tsb13-09-04.htm

126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:07 AM