10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club, Go Further

SportyHandling
post Aug 20 2013, 03:15 PM

623 posts

Can more owners comment on the "tak tak tak" sound that Patrick12 has mentioned above? Does your Focus experience this sound?

I don't seem to hear this sound when I test-driven two Focus earlier last week. Both Focus Sport and Focus Titanium.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Aug 20 2013, 03:15 PM
SportyHandling
post Aug 20 2013, 04:56 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(usucx @ Aug 20 2013, 04:45 PM)
The Tak Tak Tak sound is there during 1-2K, like mine is no more already. My mileage now is 8K plus.
Ok, thanks for the information.
SportyHandling
post Aug 21 2013, 03:50 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(usucx @ Aug 21 2013, 03:32 PM)
Guys,
Need you help, now i'm at Ford service centre for my 10K service. Ask foreman to upgrade software and they say can do but need time since the upgrade requires certain steps i.e. cruise at specific speed 60KM, 100KM, 120KM for certain time duration like 2mins in order to succesfully and complete the upgrade. Also the upgrade steps requires clear road and no jam to be able to cruise at specific speed. Is this true?
What issues you have with your car that you require this software upgrade? Also, which service centre that requested you to do all that? It's 60km/h, 100km/h and 120km/h. At first I thought you need to complete certain mileage when I saw the units in km.
SportyHandling
post Aug 21 2013, 04:11 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(usucx @ Aug 21 2013, 03:56 PM)
No major issues, just rare jerking when climbing hill and currently my mileage is 8K plus and will travel to spore this wknd so decided to send for early service. Since most of people in this forum recommended to upgrade the software.
Okay, thanks for the response. I wonder if there is a specific mileage where owners can do the software upgrade, say at 1000km or 2000km etc.
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 07:22 AM

623 posts

Guys, just wondering. Do you let Ford do the tinting of our choice on your car before collection, or do you do the tint yourself after collection? Which tint have you chosen for your Focus? I would appreciate some urgent feedback on this matter as I need to make a decision very soon.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Aug 22 2013, 07:27 AM
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 08:05 AM

623 posts

Another question, is engine braking applicable for the Focus when going down a steep slope, say when going down Genting Highlands? In other words, does the engine automatically apply the brakes to the vehicle, causing the rpm to shoot up and the car moving slowly when going down a steep slope?
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 10:25 AM

623 posts

Thanks for the advice on the tints. Problem of tinting the new car ourselves is some of my family members are not in favour of this due to concern of the car getting messed up by the installers. If it is arranged by SA before collection of car, perhaps more appropriate and less hassle of bringing the new car to the tint shop. Anyway will decide on this later on.
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 11:23 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Aug 22 2013, 11:16 AM)
Got mine free from Ford
May I ask what brand and the code? Any idea how much is it worth?

SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 11:25 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Aug 22 2013, 11:12 AM)
i did mine myself  days ago. Research research ended up with Raytech CS85  beside IOI Mall Puchong.
Good workmanship, No bubbles or defect seen after few days. The tint has good clarity. Maybe not the best heat rejection on CS85 but worthy i guess (time will tell).
Checked on Raytech Ultra7 for front windscreen and Centurion RX-4mil for sides and back windscreens. Quoted RM2500.

YOur CS85 is on all front, sides and back windscreens?
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 12:40 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Aug 22 2013, 11:26 AM)
cs85 for sides and n85 for front and back.
May I ask which Raytech branch did you go to?

Anyone else got your Focus done up with Raytech tints? Just concerned on quality of workmanship. The worker that will be doing the car is very important. Just found out Raytech isn't in Ford's standard list of tint installers. Ford only has connection with Vkool, Llumar, Wingard and 3M.

Most likely will go with Raytech as it offers high TSER at high VLT if compared to other manufacturers. Though the price at RM2.5k is quite a bit higher than Huper Optik. Huper Optik's Sech60's TSER is 54% which is lower than Raytech's TSER 62% (Centurion RX-3mil).

Just called up Vkool and their Vkool Elite and 55 package costs RM3320 non-negotiable.
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 01:40 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Aug 22 2013, 01:32 PM)
wow TSER at 62%.. I wonder how dark will the tint be and how about compliance to JPJ?

for my ride, i am settle with 3m crystalline 70 on front..
Hi, I am surprised too. For this particular security tint, the Centurion RX-4mil, the VLT is 53%, TSER is 62%. This tint is only in compliance with the side windscreens.

From my understanding after speaking with the installers from Huper Optik and also Raytech, and also by reading the forummers' experience on this forum, most of the tints even if on paper are in compliance with JPJ regulations ie. VLT 70% for front windscreen and VLT 50% for side windscreens, if sent for testing most of the tints will usually fail the test as the original windscreen may already come with 5%-10% tint in the factory. Not too sure how true is this. Also, the VLT as published or claimed by the manufacturer isn't exactly all accurate. Bottomline is in real life or practice, when your vehicle is on the road, if the tint isn't too dark then there should not be any problem ie. you won't get into any trouble with the police or JPJ guys. Those who tint their vehicles way below JPJ's regulation, belo VLT40% for front windscreen and below VLT30% for side windscreen, these vehicles might have a higher chance getting into trouble with the police.

Funny thing during my conversation with Raytech's lady on the telephone. She mentioned she tinted her vehicle way below JPJ's regulation, very dark, and she was stopped by police twice. An RM30 to RM50 tip had got herself free.
SportyHandling
post Aug 22 2013, 01:42 PM

623 posts

Forgot to provide the link in my previous post above. This is the link to Raytech's Centurion RX-4mil link which shows the 62% TSER at VLT 53%.

http://raytech.com.my/security-solar-window-film/
SportyHandling
post Aug 31 2013, 09:09 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(syangloo @ Aug 30 2013, 11:56 PM)
Hi All

I just receive my FOFO titanium+ with midnight sky color today. biggrin.gif
Facebook FOFO page still available?

3M tint is good?

Thank you
Regards
LOo
Congratulations on your Focus Titanium+. Midnight Sky is a nice color. Similarly I will be going for the Midnight Sky as well on the Titanium non-plus. For me, the Midnight Sky on the Titanium looks best, followed by Red and finally White.

No idea whether the Facebook Focus page is available or the 3M tint is good. Perhaps others can comment. Currently I am shortlisting Raytech but yet to discuss with the Ford salesperson to include it into the package. I will be letting the Ford guys to install the tint before taking delivery of the car.
SportyHandling
post Aug 31 2013, 03:56 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(syangloo @ Aug 31 2013, 03:07 PM)
rclxms.gif  yea.. tint first it better, may be ford salesman can give you offer on the tint
Salesman recommending or offering Rhinepro from Coolword. I just checked on the specs and apparently this one isn't too convincing. I've asked him to check out the price of Raytech tints for me. Hopefully it will be cheaper than the price that was quoted by Raytech themselves.

I just got to know that the profit of most Tinting shops is very high. If you have connections or know somebody who can get the tint at a cheaper price, usually it will be around 50% off the price.
SportyHandling
post Sep 3 2013, 08:17 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Joefox14 @ Sep 3 2013, 07:30 AM)
Tinted with Sahara X yesterday. Not sure about the outcome yet since its been raining lately.
Mind to share which Sahara X series and the tint model that you have chosen for your vehicle, and the price? Just checked the website and there are many series available - Dynasty, Miracle, Superior IR, Armor Shield series and more.

I am surprised the TSER figures are quite high for some of the series, TSER up to 75% for VLT62%. Not too sure if the figures are accurate as it is impressive to achieve more than 70% TSER at these VLT levels.
SportyHandling
post Sep 3 2013, 10:55 AM

623 posts

Need some advice.

I've narrowed down to 3M, Raytech and Sahara-X as there are too many tints available in the market to choose from. Specs on paper look good though not sure if they are all that accurate in real life.

Just stumbled upon Sahara-X Tint and did a quick research. The specs for some range of their tints seem to be impressive, though not too sure if the figures are all accurate.

The specs for one of the available tint is as below.

Sahara-X NF Specialty Sputter

Sahara-X MIRACLE 999 (FREE Sahara-X Keychain or Sahara-X Cap)
RM1888 (WALK-IN RM2800):
- SUPREME ULTIMATE infrared heat rejection
- Nano-Technology IR and UV protection
- Conducive and comfortable ambience
- JPJ claimable
UVR 99%
VLT 62%
IRR 99%
TSER 75%
color: green

For VLT62%, it is impressive to achieve TSER up to 75%.

Anybody who tinted their vehicles with Sahara can comment?

My SA currently recommends the 3M as it has a package that includes the tint and the car protection layer which protects the car against small stones and sand.

Anybody has any feedback, experience or comments on 3M, Raytech and Sahara-X tints?
SportyHandling
post Sep 4 2013, 08:04 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Sep 4 2013, 01:04 AM)
i am having issue with 3M crystln. some part of front screen already feel off. Asking around and some of them said that 3m is not a good tint , but still orfer a grear heat resistsnt
Thanks for the information. Much appreciated. sorry to hear about yoru 3M crystalline. Anyway hope it will still serve you well although some parts already peeled off. For me, durability is equally important as heat resistant. Guess I'll just shortlist Raytech and Sahara-X instead. Read good reviews on Raytech, just the price is quite a bit higher than the rest. Don't know much about Sahara-X.

Cheers.
SportyHandling
post Sep 4 2013, 03:19 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(wyntm @ Sep 4 2013, 03:15 PM)
I am using the Dynasty series from Sahara-X. Installed it for close to RM1500 if I recall correctly. Heat rejection is pretty good. However, due to the high infrared rejection, I have to come to a total stop at toll booths in order for it to scan my Smart Tag.
Thanks for the information. Oh shucks. So Sahara-X is a poor Smart Tag compliance tint. RM1500+/- is quite a reasonable budget, which is around my target. Too bad the Raytech option is RM1000 extra at RM2500!
SportyHandling
post Sep 4 2013, 04:33 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(wyntm @ Sep 4 2013, 04:15 PM)
Same thing, the installer also told me that it should be ok but maybe I've to drive slower but in the end, driving slow doesn't work for me and I've to stop completely.
Wow, quite dangerous to stop completely as sometimes some drivers just do not want to stop and drive by. Guess you have to go really slow and press on the brakes several times just to show that you are going to stop completely when approaching the Smart Tag booth to make sure the driver behind does not bang you from behind.

SportyHandling
post Sep 5 2013, 08:49 AM

623 posts

Just to confirm. The Focus can use Ron95 fuel isn't it?

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0556sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:23 AM