5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club, Go Further

lowkl
post Jun 11 2013, 11:58 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Jun 11 2013, 05:27 PM)
Guys, my car already clocked 6k++, im planning to polish my car...stumble upon promotion in groupon, the package is quite interesting...rm 50 for 3 steps....how reliable it is the package? Anybody from here purchased the package from groupon before?
I got two promos from either Groupon or another discount coupon site (can't remember which).. the deals were similar. The first one refunded the purchase because they said the response was overwhelming.... so can't tell you if that would have been good or not. The second one did as advertised, but the quality was only so-so. In fact, when I got back I noticed they had actually slightly scratched my car in two places with their polisher (!).

This time round when I get my Fofo (the waiting's killing me!) it will go to a car wash I have been using for the last few weeks.... the workers there seem to do their job carefully. After discount, it should be RM80 (wash, clay, wax x 2, sealant).

Do you really need to have your new car polished after 6k? Shouldn't a good wax job be sufficient?

lowkl
post Jun 12 2013, 11:31 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Jun 12 2013, 02:10 AM)
There are some scratches at the front is it by waxing enuf to remove the scratches?
AFAIK the suspension for hb and sedan are different....
For hb the suspension as a bit hard. There will be a difference for sure..correct me if im wrong smile.gif
ooo.... I guess it would depend on how deep the scratches are....

From what I could read from other Ford forums, the suspension systems for the sports and sedan are actually identical; except they "configured" the damping of the sports model to be harder.... they also mention that the lower profile tyres of the sports model contribute to a harder ride as well, so it's difficult to tell exactly to what extent the tuning is done.
lowkl
post Jun 12 2013, 05:51 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tkyrgun @ Jun 12 2013, 03:42 PM)
i guess the harder ride of the hb can be reduce by pump less pressure into 4tyres..any1 try b4?
umm.... I think generally it isn't advisable to keep your tyres below the specified pressure. Your fuel consumption and tyre wear will go through the roof.

If you are drag racing, then a totally different matter.... biggrin.gif
lowkl
post Jun 22 2013, 05:12 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nitros06 @ Jun 21 2013, 05:05 PM)
yeahh..especially at night with ambient light turn on.. thumbup.gif

nway,im studying FoFo manual book last night, looks like many features lacks with my FoFo..wondering why they take off some features from us... hmm.gif
Can you elaborate on what features appear "missing"?

lowkl
post Jun 22 2013, 05:33 PM

88 posts

Peoploids,

Much-anticipated FoFo Titanium to touch down next week .... am seriously considering putting in DRLs...

Can anyone suggest a shop that sells/installs DRLs that are:

- reasonably priced
- good quality
- won't void our warranty when installed?

TIA!

lowkl
post Jun 26 2013, 12:45 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(charmeleon04 @ Jun 22 2013, 09:59 PM)

and my bro also considering second hand ford focus. He searches through Mudah and found that the 2nd hand value for Focus was horrible (don't mind about that). The big question , is Ford focus a reliable car? Can anyone help us with it?

My humble opinion on the issue of the FoFo's "bad" resale value:

- firstly, all cars depreciate in value over time.
- I estimate (based on 4-7 year-old cars as listed on online car markets) that the FoFo is selling at between RM10K (most optimistic) to RM20K (worst case) less value compared to the purported market leaders of the same class and the same age (Toyota Altis/Honda Civic).
- You also have to factor in the fact that for 2 liter variants, Toyota/Honda is actually priced about RM10K more than FoFo. So there's a bit of additional cost-of-funds to consider.
- Furthermore, if you are talking about the new FoFo, you get 3 years maintenance free.... that's worth let's say RM3K?
- Taking all of the above into account, the additional "cost" of choosing a FoFo is something like (on average)RM15K "paid" over 5-7 years. That works out to be RM2K to RM3K extra cost per year.... effectively less than a pack of cigarettes per day (a common amount for many smokers).

Now... in my personal view, the additional joy that I get from driving a car that makes me happy for the 2-3 hours a day I am stuck in it EASILY is worth more than a pack of smokes! Let's see.... I get:
- a higher performance car
- better handling
- turns heads (it is more unique and rare than luxury cars like Merc S-Classes or BMW 7-Series! In Malaysia, those are a dime a dozen!)
- TRUE JOY

SO....when you look at it this way..... is the additional cost so unreasonable?
lowkl
post Jun 30 2013, 04:23 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(jellybean-fish @ Jun 29 2013, 06:55 AM)
thanks bro, i being searching up and down for any of the auto lock , but manage to find some mk2.0 or mk2.5 some one hack some blue tooth device in the car to auto lock.
Just to add: just found out that:

- the only door 'lock' is a lock button on the central control panel). None of the doors (including the drivers) has lock devices
- the lock is purely to prevent people outside from getting in. At any time, unlocked or locked, any door can be opened directly.
lowkl
post Jun 30 2013, 05:11 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jun 30 2013, 12:01 AM)
I was browsing from the 1st page of this thread until the 31st page for about 2 hours. Several questions as follows :-

1) I read that the 0-100km/h acceleration of the Focus is 8.0s. Does this apply to both Sport and Titanium models? Where does this figure come from? Is it mentioned in the brochures or somebody tested it in real life? The reason I asked this question is because most 2.0 litre sedans register 10.0s to 10.5s from standstill to 100km/h. Some of the powerful (non-turbo) cars manage to go down to 9.0s. In my mind, 8.0s is quite excellent for a 2.0-litre family sedan.
There is a road test done by Edmunds with full test specs that look pretty much stock what we get here for the Sports/Titanium model. They got 8.7 secs for 0 to 60mph (not quite 8 seconds, where did you read that?).

Both Sports & Titanium (non-ST, Plus and non-Plus) have exactly the same engine and drivetrain. Since acceleration depends also on the weight of the car, I guess it would depend whether the Sports model has the same weight as the Titanium sedan. The sports-tuned suspension should not have any bearing on the acceleration.

This post has been edited by lowkl: Jun 30 2013, 05:16 PM
lowkl
post Jul 1 2013, 11:07 AM

88 posts

Got my FoFo last Saturday.... rclxms.gif

Any suggestions for a full-blown alarm system?

Ideally:
- works transparently with the existing immobilizer/keyless entry system
- GPS tracking would be nice

Can recommend the shop (if in the Klang Valley)?

TIA!
lowkl
post Jul 8 2013, 03:45 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(mzzq @ Jul 8 2013, 12:01 PM)
just reach 1.1k mileage.

the jerking and shuddering is still there. but a lil bit better now. (not sure if the DCT breaking in or i just learn how to control it better now)

my FC is a little bit worrying. i got ard 430km on a full tank. full city driving. 1-2 hours stuck in traffic everyday. like my persona only leh..
I've clocked about 670km as of today.... been keeping track of my FC via aCar app; as per last fill-up 3 days ago, I have been averaging 12.74 l/100km.... that works out to be exactly similar to yours, at 430km for the full 55L tank!!

Agreed... FC is not as great as expected... according to the website, it is supposed to be 9.4L/100km... about full tank 585km for pure city driving, and 6.6L/100km or full tank 850km combined.

Could it be because our cars are so new?

Also, when I first got the car, I was really light on the gas pedal earlier, with very slow acceleration (I'm sure the drivers behind me were cursing!), and I noticed that the jerking/shuddering was worse as expected; in addition the felt like the gear was higher than what it should be, resulting in sluggish performance. Now what I do is give it a little more gas at the start, then end up coasting more. Based on the "Average Fuel Consumption" reading on the dashboard, this style of driving is giving me improved FC woh!

This post has been edited by lowkl: Jul 8 2013, 03:49 PM
lowkl
post Jul 8 2013, 05:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(technonerd @ Jul 8 2013, 05:09 PM)
Hi everyone!

i just bought a fofo 2013 Sport (without +) from SDAC and i was thinking of changing the headlamps to HID myself instead of adding the extra 13k to get the HID BI XENON (one of the features in the + model). My SA told me that if it has anything to do with the car wiring, the car's warranty will be voided. Any suggestion on this ? where i can change my lights to white lights instead of yellow lights without getting my warranty voided.

thanks in advance!
Firstly, the disclaimer: I haven't done this myself, just reading up on it....

If the objective is to achieve a whiter headlight, then it is possible to simply use a halogen bulb with a higher colour temperature... pure white should be in the 4000K to 5000K region (above 5000K will give a bluish tinge). I found quite a few listed on Lelong.com.my; I'm sure most car accessory shops would also stock them. According to the owner's manual, our non-Plus FoFo uses H1 for the high beam, and H7 for the normal/dipped beam.

I have also heard hearsay that these whiter bulbs burn out faster...
lowkl
post Jul 8 2013, 05:45 PM

88 posts

Thought I would just share this news article that recently came out on Reuters:

What would Jesus drive? Pope tells priests to buy "humble" cars

(Reuters) - Pope Francis said on Saturday it pained him to see priests driving flashy cars, and told them to pick something more "humble".

As part of his drive to make the Catholic Church more austere and focus on the poor, Francis told young and trainee priests and nuns from around the world that having the latest smartphone or fashion accessory was not the route to happiness.

"It hurts me when I see a priest or a nun with the latest model car, you can't do this," he said.

"A car is necessary to do a lot of work, but please, choose a more humble one. If you like the fancy one, just think about how many children are dying of hunger in the world," he said.

Since succeeding Pope Benedict in March, the former cardinal Jorge Bergoglio of Argentina has eschewed some of the more ostentatious trappings of his office and has chosen to live in a Vatican guest house rather than the opulent papal apartments.

The ANSA news agency said the pope's car of choice for moving around the walled Vatican City was a compact Ford Focus. (Reporting By Catherine Hornby; Editing by Robin Pomeroy)
lowkl
post Jul 8 2013, 06:39 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(technonerd @ Jul 8 2013, 06:16 PM)
ok thx alot for the feedback . so you're using a non plus like me and you dont plant to change ur headlamps or bulbs? i was thinking a 2013 car without white light or HID wud look rather old fashioned
Yes, a non-Plus.... (we got a get a better term than "non-Plus"... sounds more like describing it as what it is NOT instead of what it IS. Mebbe we should just call it Sport or Titanium and leave it to the plussers to insist on adding the symbol!)

Before I got the car a week ago, I was also thinking the same thing... those halogens are so yester-year. But now after getting some hours behind the wheel, I think I really like the off-white shade the stock bulbs give... they are still a lot whiter than my previous car's headlights. I also read that this pure white/blue-white light is actually more strenuous on the driver, especially in fog and worse... haze, which Klang Valley folk have to fight with frequently.

Instead, I'm arranging to install DRLs, which not only make the aesthetic difference throughout the day, but also increases safety.

And because of the triangular "vents" in front, we have an option of between the more classic horizontal DRLs or a funky near-vertical layout which identifies a Fofo a mile away!
lowkl
post Jul 9 2013, 02:49 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(technonerd @ Jul 8 2013, 08:22 PM)
Make sure u snap a photo and show it off here when uve installed them DRLS buddy. hahaha! alot of ppl are getting them from online. why is that ? dont the retail shops have them stocked? is it just simply because of cheaper price thats why ppl get it online or fofo has a custom add on DRLS ?
Hope to get it done next week sometime... was pointed to this shop by this forum. So far have only been dealing with them online; yet to meet them face-to-face. What I like about them is that they are obviously FoFo enthusiasts... from their language it seems they are owners themselves. I prefer dealing with someone who knows specifically our car instead of generic add-ons, to reduce issues like bad fit.

The price I consider reasonable... you can probably get some versions which are cheaper and some which are more expensive as well.
lowkl
post Jul 11 2013, 06:29 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(sc4 @ Jul 11 2013, 05:51 PM)
I guess you can get some aftermarket rear camera installed if you want to.

I remember reading in the brochure last time, front and rear parking sensors are standard across all model range. I could be mistaken though...
A rear camera would be nice... not used to the extremely short rear-end... seems like I'm going to hit something when reversing, even though the sensor hasn't gone red yet! Won't such an installation void the warranty, though?

I confirm that there is no front parking sensor for the Titanium.
lowkl
post Jul 14 2013, 09:07 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(cOMMANDER pRASNTH @ Jul 14 2013, 03:23 AM)
Got my man's jewel yday - excellent car indeed and hope no major issues crop up.

Btw, any recommendation for floor mats as the beige carpet mat isn't meant for people to wear their shoes inside hehe ;-)

Also, may i know what engine oil is provided in the service - was informed it was a fully synthetic (impressive for a free service package)?

Finally, the ICE is above average although the rear speakers and omission of the sub does make quite a difference, at least to me :-)

Nonetheless, no complaints from my side and looking to review the FC after filling up 41.58 liters to full
Firstly, congrats on your new ride. I'm sure it will bring you countless hours of joy (and maybe a few of heartbreak) as it has me.

For the floor mats, what I did was hack a few "coil mats" which I bought from a local carpet shop. Got 3 small mats at RM15 each and one big one for the driver's for RM30. Looks pretty neat, but corners won't stay where I want them to, so will further hack on some velcro.... should work. Of course, these are nothing in quality compared to those custom jobs that cost RM200 and possibly more.

FC now at 1K km is 12.11 litres/100km overall... is was steadily getting better to 10.5 but the last three days I was basically sitting in a parking lot for 2 hours a day, so now we are back to crappy numbers.
lowkl
post Jul 16 2013, 11:20 AM

88 posts

What I figured out only after driving the car for over a week was that the cup holder has a removable rubberized insert. Once I took it out, my phone could easily fit.

...unless of course your phone is an Xperia Ultra or a Fonepad!
lowkl
post Jul 17 2013, 11:37 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(alvinfcj @ Jul 17 2013, 02:28 AM)
Hi bros, any nice dealers you all can recommend me around klang valley?

Most of u say the puchong is bad, so I decided to go for others..

The puchong dealer did gave me very nice discount on the fofo..

Any nice dealer with nice discount can u all recommend me?
I went to Trio Mantap @ Cheras... very satisfied...problem-free and fast delivery. Got a discount, but not as high as what I see on this forum lately...is that for real ah?
lowkl
post Jul 17 2013, 06:13 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(SuperKL2020 @ Jul 17 2013, 05:02 PM)
On a side note, just did my tinting (Vkool + Solargard). Noticed that there are some bubbles. The tint guy says must wait 3-4 months for tint to cure.. then bubbles will automatically go away..

Must really wait that long???  rclxub.gif
Umm... also just did tinting (Huper Optik); no bubbles (yay!); the installer said curing would only take 2 days. In fact, there are these paper stickers that cover the side window controls to remind you not to use the windows for 48 hours.

Was hoping to have hot weather today to test out the tint, but ... cloudy skies! dang......
lowkl
post Jul 18 2013, 05:50 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jul 18 2013, 04:18 PM)
nobody own this car?
After going through many of the hundreds of posts in this topic, it really looks like the heading should be "Ford Focus Mk3 Owner/Fan Club".

tongue.gif

You might want to check out the Ford Owners Club Malaysia

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:12 PM