The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

lolzcalvin
post Dec 6 2016, 05:00 PM

shibe in predicament
1,519 posts

QUOTE(gonti36 @ Dec 6 2016, 12:50 PM)
I plan to buy a quality psu for my system which is m12ii-520 evo, however after asking around seem like sellers dont sell it. My budget around 350, suggest me an alternatives. Thx.
An alternative for that PSU is Cooler Master V550S 550W, at around RM380 which is slightly higher than your budget.
Another alternative is to get the seasonic PSU online such as from lelong.
fish133
post Dec 27 2016, 02:02 AM

hi sifus, need some advice
1.what is the difference between seasonic s12ii and m12iievo ?is it only m12iievo is modular?can i expect the m12iievo quality on s12ii? and i see some m12ii without the EVO whats is the difference
2.how long is the warranty coverage i checked some say 3 years some stated 5 years so abit confusing
thanks in advance

This post has been edited by fish133: Dec 27 2016, 02:02 AM
ave666
post Dec 27 2016, 09:45 AM

Beginner
1,515 posts

Guys, so long I didn't upgrade my PC since Intel 4670. I planning to buy sapphire nitro+ rx480 and trying to find good PSU for it in rm300-400 range and aiming for 600-650w. Any idea for the best PSU around that range?
kurogetsu
post Jan 1 2017, 11:21 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 23 2012, 07:07 PM)
How do I test my PSU ? Really out of budget to get a new PSU.

My rig currently is problematic, ramdom freeze, sometimes can't even turn on, I need to on and off the switch multiple times in order to get the PC on. hmm.gif

I am not sure problem with the mobo or the PSU.

How to test that my PSU is dying/problematic or still going strong ?
Yes, I have the same problem too(Cooler Master GX750W bronze).. tried testing with multimeter. All volt register properly with minus or plus 0.02 volt for each port. Which is normal.. yet it couldn't power up my r9 290 reference, but once i change to a newer psu (Silverstone 750 bronze) it works like a charm. Is it because of old age and it cause deficiency or anything else? with jumper it powered up just fine.. any idea why? I just wanna know more, and learn more. THanks OTai2 rclxms.gif
bansheelipsx
post Jan 11 2017, 08:11 AM

85 posts

i7 6700k
GSkill DDR4 8GB 2133 x 2
Gigabyte GV-N1050D5-2GD
Enermax T40 CPU cooler
ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING/AURA
120gb ssd

can i reuse my corsair 450w on this new rig ? havent plan to OC that i7 yet... will OC when i have $ to upgrade GPU ... pls advise.. kinda urgent ... ~THANKS A MILLION
demondomon
post Mar 6 2017, 11:27 PM

115 posts

Hi all, my psu just died. Twas enermax naxn 500w. Cheap but last for 2 years! Thinking about getting one with semi modular. How about cm g550m or corsaix cx430m? Thanks

Oh here is my spec http://valid.x86.fr/eh6uxn
Skylinestar
post Mar 7 2017, 01:39 PM

Mega Duck
10,090 posts

kindly recommend a good 400-500w ATX psu. (replacing a budget corsair VS psu) just to power up an office rig (type writer replacement)

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Mar 7 2017, 01:40 PM
richard912
post Mar 7 2017, 02:57 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 7 2017, 01:39 PM)
kindly recommend a good 400-500w ATX psu. (replacing a budget corsair VS psu) just to power up an office rig (type writer replacement)
Silverstone ST50F-ES230 (80+) - RM199
FSP HEXA+ 450W - RM199
Cap Ayam 500W - RM60 - Reference only tongue.gif
Chriss
post Mar 9 2017, 01:06 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

Cooler master!cheap & reliable.Already 8yrs & still going on strong
Edifier
post Mar 17 2017, 06:14 PM

Store Representative
8,536 posts

You can buy SilverStone Power Supply at Sri Com Low Yat

PeterJohn48115
post Mar 22 2017, 01:03 AM

Hi...i am a new user here. I know theres some online PSU calculators but they generalize too much. My SeaSonic is a 620W only and I want to keep using it with this system. I also have a CoolerMaster G700 but I definitively do not thrust it, I dont want even try it with this system, It scared me in the past when I tried to use it to power an older config (same VGA, everything else was different and I had no grounding at all at the time - the SeaSonic didnt die suddenly at the same situation, as the G700).

printed circuits assembly

This post has been edited by PeterJohn48115: Jun 6 2017, 03:13 AM
richard912
post Mar 22 2017, 09:11 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(PeterJohn48115 @ Mar 22 2017, 01:03 AM)
Hi...i am a new user here. I know theres some online PSU calculators but they generalize too much. My SeaSonic is a 620W only and I want to keep using it with this system. I also have a CoolerMaster G700 but I definitively do not thrust it, I dont want even try it with this system, It scared me in the past when I tried to use it to power an older config (same VGA, everything else was different and I had no grounding at all at the time - the SeaSonic didnt die suddenly at the same situation, as the G700).
Seasonic is generally a reliable PSU. If you want to have peace of mind, do consider Superflower Leadex. The many online calculators out there provide a reasonable estimate as a guide. As long as you don't use a lower output PSU, you'd be okay. Do keep in mind too that PSU don't run at the max rated output. Getting silver or gold (better) rated PSU gives you the extra comfort.
alexdhas
post Mar 29 2017, 11:09 PM

Hey, just got a slight warning from the C-Zone guy about using Corsair VS550 550W PSU when I bought their MSI RX 470 8GB. They told me about 'true power' vs 'extreme power' which I don't quite comprehend, though sites like techpowerup forums and most PSU calculator show that using a VS550 is enough for a RX 470. I knew the risk of VS 550 not having a good capacitor and a low tier PSU(not even bronze rated), but if I'm not going over 400W usage why is VS550 a compromise when having the MSI RX 470 8gb?
avengers88
post Apr 4 2017, 01:03 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

FSP hydro G vs Superflower LEADEX , which one will you guys go for ?
richard912
post Apr 4 2017, 02:45 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Apr 4 2017, 01:03 PM)
FSP hydro G vs Superflower LEADEX , which one will you guys go for ?
Superflower LEADEX is my choice
Skylinestar
post Apr 8 2017, 06:16 PM

Mega Duck
10,090 posts

Anyone has experience with RMA-ing a Corsair PSU?
Do you need to return the original power cable? The problem is I don't know which power cable in my house is the one that comes bundled with the PSU. icon_question.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Apr 8 2017, 06:45 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 8 2017, 06:16 PM)
Anyone has experience with RMA-ing a Corsair PSU?
Do you need to return the original power cable? The problem is I don't know which power cable in my house is the one that comes bundled with the PSU.  icon_question.gif
Which power cable? The modular cables or the three pinned fat cables (which can be used on a monitor or rice cooker) hmm.gif
Skylinestar
post Apr 8 2017, 06:47 PM

Mega Duck
10,090 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 8 2017, 06:45 PM)
Which power cable?  The modular cables or the three pinned fat cables (which can be used on a monitor or rice cooker)  hmm.gif
the standard IEC power cable
pantheratigris
post Apr 10 2017, 07:50 AM

23 posts

Which one ia better, Silverstone Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 80+ 500W or ENERMAX NAXN82+ 650W 80Plus Bronze PSU ?

My load wattage from psu calculator is 462 watt.
TristanX
post Apr 10 2017, 10:14 AM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(pantheratigris @ Apr 10 2017, 07:50 AM)
Which one ia better, Silverstone Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 80+ 500W  or ENERMAX NAXN82+ 650W 80Plus Bronze PSU ?

My load wattage from psu calculator is 462 watt.
Comparing with different wattage is not proper comparison. Obviously Enermax is better.

98 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.1643sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:18 AM