TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:00 AM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

Mini Tips

1. All local Y480/Y580 (not sure for Y400/Y500) sets comes with 2 year warranty. The steps to register the warranty as follows:

2. Currently, Microsoft is offering cheap Windows 8 Upgrade for Windows 7 owner for only RM50.
More info -> https://windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-MY/Home/ProgramInfo
3. It is recommended to make factory default disc after you bought your laptop. Go to OneKey Recovery and choose Create Recovery Disc. Then select Factory default recovery disc. It should take about 4 blank DVD for this purpose.
4. It is also recommended to change to SSD for major speed improvement. Many opt to use SSD+HDD combo by replacing HDD with SSD while putting the original HDD at ODD spot with caddy.
5. There are some pre-installed softwares that come with laptop that are safe to be uninstalled. But, make sure don't uninstall important ones such as Energy Management, OneKey etc..

Graphic Cards Comparison/Review
GT 650M
GT 650M SLI
GTX 660M

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Jan 26 2013, 06:36 PM
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:01 AM

969 posts

-reserved-
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:01 AM

969 posts

-reserved-
xyz_cityhunter
post Dec 8 2012, 02:06 AM

238 posts

1st Sofa~! =P
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:09 AM

969 posts

oh you.....
guess i'll spend my time tonight to fill in those reserved posts laugh.gif
sss2sssss
post Dec 8 2012, 02:11 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

Woohooo, congraz for new thread open....rclxms.gif
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:14 AM

969 posts

wonder how to attract those y500 and future y400 owner to come here?
since pretty sure most of spammer laugh.gif here come from y480/580 thread tongue.gif
sss2sssss
post Dec 8 2012, 02:23 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 8 2012, 02:14 AM)
wonder how to attract those y500 and future y400 owner to come here?
since pretty sure most of spammer laugh.gif here come from y480/580 thread tongue.gif
Well Y400/Y500 user still not so many, give them some time....tongue.gif

Added on December 8, 2012, 2:34 amWell now got one things make me think abt it...
If buyer does buy Y400/Y500 come with single GT650M GPU and dun want add an extra GPU ultrabay, it actually perform slightly weaker graphic performance than Y480 since what we seen from Y500's single GT650M is downclocked?

This post has been edited by sss2sssss: Dec 8 2012, 02:34 AM
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 02:43 AM

969 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Dec 8 2012, 02:23 AM)
Well Y400/Y500 user still not so many, give them some time....tongue.gif

Added on December 8, 2012, 2:34 amWell now got one things make me think abt it...
If buyer does buy Y400/Y500 come with single GT650M GPU and dun want add an extra GPU ultrabay, it actually perform slightly weaker graphic performance than Y480 since what we seen from Y500's single GT650M is downclocked?
probably yeah....well, the main selling point of those two model is the ultrabay which most probably be used for extra GPU for SLI setup...
but maybe can find a way to overclock it back

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Dec 8 2012, 02:46 AM
mrl
post Dec 8 2012, 09:30 AM

977 posts

Congratulations for the new thread!!! rclxms.gif

been waiting for quite some time for you guys to open up new threads before joining in... tongue.gif

Been owning Y580 for quite some time already and all I can say is I'm impressed with the value vs performance of this laptop... Coming from desktop gaming, I'm pretty much satisfied with this laptop..

I'm still curious though on few things... one thing is extra cooling. Of course by default this laptop is not that hot (though I'm pretty nervous when I run it first time because I'm used to having 38'C CPU idling on my desktop) but any good extra cooler suggestion? I'm on Targus Chillmat at the moment and I dont really notice much improvement in cooling actually...

Another thing is, we all know that gtx660m is capable of running 3d vision, but I wonder if anybody has tried that?
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 09:39 AM

969 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Dec 8 2012, 09:30 AM)
Congratulations for the new thread!!!  rclxms.gif

been waiting for quite some time for you guys to open up new threads before joining in...  tongue.gif

Been owning Y580 for quite some time already and all I can say is I'm impressed with the value vs performance of this laptop... Coming from desktop gaming, I'm pretty much satisfied with this laptop..

I'm still curious though on few things... one thing is extra cooling. Of course by default this laptop is not that hot (though I'm pretty nervous when I run it first time because I'm used to having 38'C CPU idling on my desktop) but any good extra cooler suggestion? I'm on Targus Chillmat at the moment and I dont really notice much improvement in cooling actually...

Another thing is, we all know that gtx660m is capable of running 3d vision, but I wonder if anybody has tried that?
well, most of us use CM Notepal U3 for our Y580 because of adjustable fan position. It do helps a bit in cooling our laptop smile.gif

As for that 3d vision, i dunno... never tested it
guilt79
post Dec 8 2012, 10:04 AM

149 posts

Name: Guilt79

Own: Y580

Bought: November 2012

Reporting in. tongue.gif

I'm still not sure wanna replace DVD with Blu ray. Can it play P disc?

This post has been edited by guilt79: Dec 8 2012, 10:13 AM
tennytyy
post Dec 8 2012, 10:56 AM

1,915 posts

Congratz for new thread dedicated for Lenovo Y series rclxms.gif
Hope more and more users will be joining in biggrin.gif

Btw TS, i have pm you to add me in user list
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 11:14 AM

969 posts

I think I reserved too many post laugh.gif
1 post will be used for links & tips etc... but there's still 2 extra post tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kuroneko0509: Dec 8 2012, 11:15 AM
lee_what2004
post Dec 8 2012, 11:17 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

1 post for user review and another one for mods tongue.gif
jslut
post Dec 8 2012, 12:26 PM

l@2y b@$t@rd
2,236 posts

Oh man. Thundermatch offer me y580 for rm2999 for the usual spec but add a 500g ext hdd & add 4g ram

For the model 5934-6843/9463
chopin
post Dec 8 2012, 12:30 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ Dec 8 2012, 12:26 PM)
Oh man. Thundermatch offer me y580 for rm2999 for the usual spec but add a 500g ext hdd & add 4g ram

For the model 5934-6843/9463
make sure it is FHD 1920x1080
TSkuroneko0509
post Dec 8 2012, 12:31 PM

969 posts

well, the listed price is the suggested price.... it's up to seller to price it above or below the price smile.gif
jslut
post Dec 8 2012, 12:36 PM

l@2y b@$t@rd
2,236 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 8 2012, 12:30 PM)
make sure it is FHD 1920x1080
Yeah, when they open the box i'll turn on & check

Btw the spec on the side of the box can be trusted?
lee_what2004
post Dec 8 2012, 12:37 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ Dec 8 2012, 12:36 PM)
Yeah, when they open the box i'll turn on & check

Btw the spec on the side of the box can be trusted?
Should be, make sure the box is sealed.

But if can confirm on the spot, its better.

130 Pages < 1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:32 AM