Loans & Scholarships PTPTN Thread, Face problem or queries? Head here

SUSkockroach
post Mar 27 2007, 05:11 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 27 2007, 04:02 PM)
Errm. My friend in MMU, 2.0k already 75% loan. smile.gif
I think he can appeal for the loan amount.
stevanistelrooy
post Mar 27 2007, 11:00 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 27 2007, 04:02 PM)
Errm. My friend in MMU, 2.0k already 75% loan. smile.gif
yes, that is before the new rules are out early this year.That is due to some factor that need to be considerate as well.

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 27 2007, 05:11 PM)
I think he can appeal for the loan amount.
They can appeal, but with relevant reason/proof. PTPTN would not give extra money if you could not provide things that they needed.
ken_zie
post Mar 28 2007, 02:05 AM

830 posts

is there anyone studying in mmu that get the ptptn loan... one of my friend studying in mmu said it's not difficult and the forumer in mmu thread also said the same thing... i'm just scared if i really enter mmu then can't get the loan, how am i going to pay for the fees? the ptptn loan include living cost or not?
Rena_blue
post Mar 28 2007, 11:44 AM

Pint -- Quartz -- ???
920 posts

living cost not included la~ hehe

SUSkockroach
post Mar 28 2007, 06:20 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Mar 28 2007, 02:05 AM)
is there anyone studying in mmu that get the ptptn loan... one of my friend studying in mmu said it's not difficult and the forumer in mmu thread also said the same thing... i'm just scared if i really enter mmu then can't get the loan, how am i going to pay for the fees? the ptptn loan include living cost or not?
It is 16k per year if not mistaken. And I think 95 out of 100 applicant can get the loan.
Lover
post Mar 28 2007, 10:58 PM

-H@TE FFKer-
1,852 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 28 2007, 06:20 PM)
It is 16k per year if not mistaken. And I think 95 out of 100 applicant can get the loan.
i tot is depends on the course fees?
nnu
post Mar 28 2007, 11:48 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Mar 28 2007, 02:05 AM)
Last time easier to get full loan, now I think most of us can only get half loan, about 13K. But still enough to cover the fees.
ken_zie
post Mar 29 2007, 12:19 AM

830 posts

QUOTE(nnu @ Mar 28 2007, 11:48 PM)
Last time easier to get full loan, now I think most of us can only get half loan, about 13K. But still enough to cover the fees.
13k per year or the whole duration?
nnu
post Mar 29 2007, 01:52 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Mar 29 2007, 12:19 AM)
13k per year or the whole duration?
13k per annum.
fruitie
post Mar 29 2007, 04:57 AM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 28 2007, 06:20 PM)
Yes, RM 16K per year if get the full loan. smile.gif

QUOTE(Lover @ Mar 28 2007, 10:58 PM)
i tot is depends on the course fees?
I think PTPTN will give RM 16K (full loan) for each student regardless any degree course in MMU because it's the duration of the course that counts in.
If the degree course is 3 years, then the loan will get is RM 48K, if 4 years degree course is RM 64K. smile.gif
Not depend on the tuition fees, at least for MMU's case. smile.gif
Teong
post Apr 2 2007, 11:09 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jan 22 2007, 11:22 PM)
err...much to the contrary there sir
ptptn still slurs into ur pocket even if u fail
i dunno but my friend's under ptptn many had failed their subjects in one particular semester or the other
but notiing's wrong with their ptptn

haha

just a quick q, what if i have ptptn but i still wanna apply for other scholarships
say Maybank
what do i need to do?
pay off the ptptn outright or?
Hi. The reason PTPTN still pumps money into your account is that the college failed or is late in reporting your grades to PTPTN. They could also lie about your failure to ensure that they are paid.

You are free to apply for scholarships. If you get it, just inform PTPTN and they will terminate your loan. You may pay off the loan.

Added on April 2, 2007, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 28 2007, 11:44 AM)
living cost not included la~ hehe
Whether living cost is included or not depends on the individual college's LAN TC-01 document submission. Under the fees category, colleges should ideally list down living expenses, allowances and transportation as part of the fees.

What PTPTN does is refer to the LAN document. If it's listed there, they will cover that part (subject to the maximum allowed under the category o studies).

Many colleges don't do this. They merely list tuition fees. Therefore other expenses are not covered by PTPTN.

In any case, most tuition fees at reputable IPTS are above what is allowed by PTPTN i.e. RM15-16K per year for degree and RM8K for diploma.

Added on April 2, 2007, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(camron @ Mar 9 2006, 08:52 PM)
when u apply loan for the diploma they might be need your spm result..
emm i think when u wan to apply for degree i think they only view your diploma cert and make sure that your cert has LAN approval....
u have to check 1st lo...
www.lan.gov.my
PTPTN provides loans for both degree and diploma.

If you are an SPM school leaver, they will only cover your diploma.

PTPTN does not cover foundation, a-levels, etc...as these are considered certificate level courses.

They do however, provide loans for degrees.

This post has been edited by Teong: Apr 2 2007, 11:16 PM
fruitie
post Apr 3 2007, 03:24 AM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(Teong @ Apr 2 2007, 11:09 PM)
PTPTN provides loans for both degree and diploma.

If you are an SPM school leaver, they will only cover your diploma.

PTPTN does not cover foundation, a-levels, etc...as these are considered certificate level courses.

They do however, provide loans for degrees.
unsure.gif PTPTN does cover part of our Foundation studies in MMU, RM 5K each and our full amount of tuition fees for Foundation is RM 8K+. smile.gif
Few years back, the senior got around RM 12K for only their Foundation studies. shocking.gif However, it was reduced to RM 5K after that. smile.gif

typo, just realised after a day laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Apr 4 2007, 02:58 AM
erxier
post Apr 3 2007, 01:14 PM

807 posts

when can i apply for ptptn?
im going to finish my foundation soon..
where can i get the form?
how if my degree started but i haven apply for ptptn yet?
ianchaiz
post Apr 3 2007, 01:40 PM

38 posts

^
get the form from your college lor.

anyways,
they will transfer the money straight to your college?
or into your account?
for INTI.
Teong
post Apr 4 2007, 12:02 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(ianchaiz @ Apr 3 2007, 01:40 PM)
^
get the form from your college lor.

anyways,
they will transfer the money straight to your college?
or into your account?
for INTI.
The form costs RM6. Some colleges will sponsor the form.

There is a choice to either transfer money directly to the student or into the college account. Some colleges are getting smarter, by working with PTPTN to ensure that monies are paid directly to them.

This will ensure that students do not spend their loan money on other things when they see a significant amount of money in their account.

On the flipside, we hear tales of colleges that refuse to refund PTPTN money (which rightfully belong to students) when they overpay.

Speak to the college and find out exactly what the arrangement is before you take the plunge.

doinkz_gaara
post Apr 6 2007, 06:28 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

If I gotten a scholarship in other college; my previous college's PTPTN will be terminated?

Do I have to pay at once?
fruitie
post Apr 6 2007, 08:04 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Apr 6 2007, 06:28 PM)
If I gotten a scholarship in other college; my previous college's PTPTN will be terminated?

Do I have to pay at once?
Yes, you need to declare this matter to them. It's because if they found out, you will be sued with legal law. smile.gif
And yes, you need to pay them back one shot. smile.gif
doinkz_gaara
post Apr 6 2007, 08:47 PM

2,381 posts

One shot. O_O
Cannot pay in ansurance?
fruitie
post Apr 6 2007, 09:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,878 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Apr 6 2007, 08:47 PM)
One shot. O_O
Cannot pay in ansurance?
Nope, one shot. No installment...
Last time I had problems with my PTPTN and I needed to pay them back one shot but then the case resolved already. Thank God.
I did talk to them to nego but they said can't. sweat.gif

For e.g.: My friends in MMU were taking PTPTN loan but later were offered with Yayasan Telekom Malaysia (YTM) loan. And, they were asked to pay back the amount loaned to them by PTPTN, luckily YTM helped them to pay back to PTPTN.
Maybe the scholarship can help in this matter too? I'm not so sure. Nevertheless, as far as I'm concern, they required us to pay back one shot. sweat.gif
doinkz_gaara
post Apr 6 2007, 09:50 PM

2,381 posts

If I do not want to stop the PTPTN for my new college, do I have to reapply?
But will I need to pay back the original amount they gave me first?

Sorry for these never ending questions >.<

This post has been edited by doinkz_gaara: Apr 6 2007, 09:51 PM

137 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:36 AM