Loans & Scholarships PTPTN Thread, Face problem or queries? Head here

Teong
post Jan 9 2007, 06:59 PM

479 posts

PTPTN operate within guidelines in providing loans.

In the case of loans to study at IPTS, they will pay RM15K per year for degree studies and RM5K for diploma level studies. This will often not be sufficient to cover the tuition fees charged at private institutions of higher learning.

Maximum one can get is RM52K for degree and RM12,500 for diploma level studies.

Am not sure how you arrive at RM19K.

Anyway, heard that diploma limits may be increased to RM8K for 2007 but this is unconfirmed news.

My advise: if you don't have the money but have the will to study, PTPTN is one of your best bets for a loan. It certainly beats borrowing from banks or worse...from friends and relatives. At least you stand on your own feet after you graduate.
Teong
post Jan 22 2007, 04:36 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(~PussyDevil~ @ Jan 18 2007, 04:44 PM)
EXACT DATE : 10th MARCH 2007 !!!!!!!
There is NO exact date for PTPTN application.

All universities and colleges are given 4 windows of submission by PTPTN. The universities and colleges advise PTPTN on the dates. There is no set date by PTPTN.

Some prefer to spread it around in 3 month intervals, whereas some institutions with specific intake dates in january and july will submit as january & feb, and july and august. This is to provide for late submissions.

If you have missed the window for PTPTN application, you need to ask the college/ university on when is the next date of submission.

Many who want to sign you up will allow you to start class pending PTPTN approval. Some may ask you to pay fees first to show that you are serious...and the fees are refundable upon PTPTN money coming in. This option is for desperados only.
Teong
post Jan 22 2007, 04:50 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Ballz8787 @ Aug 24 2006, 01:04 AM)
Just go to any commisioner of oath(pesuruhjaya sumpah) to sign for you la...give RM5 oni nia...
Any class A civil servant will also suffice (even your school principal can sign). If and when you intend to apply for PTPTN loan, the college will help you obtain the signature.

If not, pay RM5 for commissioner of oaths signature.
Teong
post Jan 22 2007, 07:43 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(UberNoob @ Jan 22 2007, 06:17 PM)
then wat would happen if after u've paid da fees ur application has been rejected?
You'll have to continue paying fees, get other sources of funding or stop studying. Some colleges allow for a refund but it's best that you get this in black and white.

It's a risk one has to take. If not, wait until you get the approval and then start class.

Again, if you have PTPTN approval, it doesn't mean that you'll continue getting the loan. If you fail, you'd have to pay for the next semester/ year from your own pocket.

Teong
post Apr 2 2007, 11:09 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jan 22 2007, 11:22 PM)
err...much to the contrary there sir
ptptn still slurs into ur pocket even if u fail
i dunno but my friend's under ptptn many had failed their subjects in one particular semester or the other
but notiing's wrong with their ptptn

haha

just a quick q, what if i have ptptn but i still wanna apply for other scholarships
say Maybank
what do i need to do?
pay off the ptptn outright or?
Hi. The reason PTPTN still pumps money into your account is that the college failed or is late in reporting your grades to PTPTN. They could also lie about your failure to ensure that they are paid.

You are free to apply for scholarships. If you get it, just inform PTPTN and they will terminate your loan. You may pay off the loan.

Added on April 2, 2007, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(Rena_blue @ Mar 28 2007, 11:44 AM)
living cost not included la~ hehe
Whether living cost is included or not depends on the individual college's LAN TC-01 document submission. Under the fees category, colleges should ideally list down living expenses, allowances and transportation as part of the fees.

What PTPTN does is refer to the LAN document. If it's listed there, they will cover that part (subject to the maximum allowed under the category o studies).

Many colleges don't do this. They merely list tuition fees. Therefore other expenses are not covered by PTPTN.

In any case, most tuition fees at reputable IPTS are above what is allowed by PTPTN i.e. RM15-16K per year for degree and RM8K for diploma.

Added on April 2, 2007, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(camron @ Mar 9 2006, 08:52 PM)
when u apply loan for the diploma they might be need your spm result..
emm i think when u wan to apply for degree i think they only view your diploma cert and make sure that your cert has LAN approval....
u have to check 1st lo...
www.lan.gov.my
PTPTN provides loans for both degree and diploma.

If you are an SPM school leaver, they will only cover your diploma.

PTPTN does not cover foundation, a-levels, etc...as these are considered certificate level courses.

They do however, provide loans for degrees.

This post has been edited by Teong: Apr 2 2007, 11:16 PM
Teong
post Apr 4 2007, 12:02 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(ianchaiz @ Apr 3 2007, 01:40 PM)
^
get the form from your college lor.

anyways,
they will transfer the money straight to your college?
or into your account?
for INTI.
The form costs RM6. Some colleges will sponsor the form.

There is a choice to either transfer money directly to the student or into the college account. Some colleges are getting smarter, by working with PTPTN to ensure that monies are paid directly to them.

This will ensure that students do not spend their loan money on other things when they see a significant amount of money in their account.

On the flipside, we hear tales of colleges that refuse to refund PTPTN money (which rightfully belong to students) when they overpay.

Speak to the college and find out exactly what the arrangement is before you take the plunge.

0.0175sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:55 PM