erm sorry if i repeat wat other forumers hav ask i wud lyk 2 noe wat r the avantages of dd-wrt .. i noe it hs more features but does it boost performance of wirelesS?
tq
THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-
Jul 4 2006, 08:07 PM
68 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
erm sorry if i repeat wat other forumers hav ask i wud lyk 2 noe wat r the avantages of dd-wrt .. i noe it hs more features but does it boost performance of wirelesS?
tq |
Jul 4 2006, 09:17 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Pretty much everything...Wireless , A-Z...!
Jul 4 2006, 10:02 PM
962 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: شه عالم |
QUOTE(shinigamicpt @ Jul 4 2006, 08:07 PM) erm sorry if i repeat wat other forumers hav ask i wud lyk 2 noe wat r the avantages of dd-wrt .. i noe it hs more features but does it boost performance of wirelesS? you can enable Speedbooster feature which is only available "originally" for GS m GX version with your normal G version. in terms of performance surely increase eg WDS mode etc... tq |
Jul 4 2006, 11:31 PM
1,528 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
I got a WRT54G v5 here and I just recently read about how to upgrade to DD-WRT.
http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFE Then prasys passed me a link for latest firmware which supports PPPoE, and I tried ...... SUCCESS. It's working and fast !! BTW I'm using firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (07/01/06) micro Thanks prasys for assisting and help configuring it. Now I can surf better haha. This post has been edited by Wuahaha: Jul 4 2006, 11:42 PM |
Jul 5 2006, 01:05 AM
2,404 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 4 2006, 05:02 PM) ![]() Uptime ! Why did you power off the router , it should be there..It should at least restart by itself..If you kill it after its flashed it would be the same...Try to flash it and leave it there , it would take several seconds to get 'steady' green light |
Jul 5 2006, 04:59 PM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
can ddwrt has more than 1 wireless ssid for different security level???
its a hassle.. coz my computer uses WPA-PSK while my NDS uses onli WEP protocol.. and not to mention my pda onli support WPA-TKIP |
Jul 5 2006, 05:02 PM
123 posts Joined: May 2005 |
iayo if hassle ma dun use the encryption lor...just disable it. then hide ur SSID...
Jul 6 2006, 12:06 AM
u can configure to use chilispot auth system which works like any standard hotspot management system which requires user to enter username and password before can enter the networks...
btw, have u ever try tmnet hotspot? It works something similar like that system.. edit : i miss understanding one part of it. U need another machine running chillispot and connected to WRT54 for them to works...still in theory mode, haven't get my wrt54gl yet! This post has been edited by azmihamzah: Jul 6 2006, 02:18 AM |
Jul 6 2006, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Jul 5 2006, 04:59 PM) can ddwrt has more than 1 wireless ssid for different security level??? with new v24 alpha...u can set up to 3 different SSID with different security levelits a hassle.. coz my computer uses WPA-PSK while my NDS uses onli WEP protocol.. and not to mention my pda onli support WPA-TKIP check out at their main website for details... |
Jul 6 2006, 09:34 AM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
Anyone tested the version v24 alpha? :-) 3ssid with one router is just like Cisco Airnet Access point
Jul 7 2006, 12:50 PM
1,399 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Destiny Island |
anyone here can gimme his ip or anything so i am able to c whats inside that firmware? (dun worry i dunno how to hack and i wont change settings, just to wanna browse through the features and settings
Jul 7 2006, 08:16 PM
12,090 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
Jul 8 2006, 01:16 AM
1,705 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(mokh @ Jun 10 2006, 07:51 PM) i just flashed my router with mini.. @mokheverything goes fine...untill i set port forwarding for torrent and limewire. when i set it,then save setting, the internet become super slow.cannot surf at all.i dont use torrent or limewire. just set it. why this happen? when i remove the setting, everything go back to normal..can surf the web as usual.. am i done something wrong? or should i set other setting to do port forwarding? I got a good place for you to fix that(works for me). Click here! Anyway, use Putty for secure shell client. Do not copy the commands immedietely. Fill it line by line cuz some of the signs is already given. (ignore this if you dont understand wth I was saying) Ooohhh.... anyway this might not fix it, but is useful if you plan to run bt 24/7. To fix your problem, try using Port Range Forwarding, since it is originally from linksys firmware One more thing, the firmware will reconnect internet connection if you change a setting at port, dmz ,etc. This post has been edited by blindbox: Jul 8 2006, 01:19 AM |
Jul 8 2006, 04:05 PM
1,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Yasud - Tash Murkon |
Ok really want to know.
Somone told me GL is out this week.. is it true?? which shop??? |
Jul 8 2006, 07:02 PM
1,026 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Linksys WRT54GL is available at lowyat 3rd Floor (forgot the company name)..price tag at RM260 or below
Jul 8 2006, 07:04 PM
1,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Yasud - Tash Murkon |
owh great.. thanks m8.. will inform bout the news.
Jul 8 2006, 10:23 PM
108 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Langkawi |
QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Jul 4 2006, 11:31 PM) I got a WRT54G v5 here and I just recently read about how to upgrade to DD-WRT. Hi there, I got V5 too. Where can I get the latest firmware like the one you are using wright now? http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFE Then prasys passed me a link for latest firmware which supports PPPoE, and I tried ...... SUCCESS. It's working and fast !! BTW I'm using firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (07/01/06) micro Thanks prasys for assisting and help configuring it. Now I can surf better haha. Want to feel the DD-WRT mania too .............. Fom my understanding, first you follow the guide from www.bitsum.com. Then u apply the firmware that prasys gave you. Am I wright? |
Jul 8 2006, 10:41 PM
1,528 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(die_257 @ Jul 8 2006, 10:23 PM) Hi there, I got V5 too. Where can I get the latest firmware like the one you are using wright now? Make sure u follow the guide and convert to DD-WRT first Want to feel the DD-WRT mania too .............. Fom my understanding, first you follow the guide from www.bitsum.com. Then u apply the firmware that prasys gave you. Am I wright? Then go here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?pa...%2F2006+-+0707/ Download the dd-wrt.v23_micro_wrt54g.bin make sure is the micro version else u cant flash |
Jul 8 2006, 10:55 PM
108 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Langkawi |
Thanks, will try it when I'm ready.
Woops, one more question. On the guide given, the author advised to use the micro generic version and not the one labelled WRT54G but you gave me the micro wrt54g version. Is this alright? This post has been edited by die_257: Jul 8 2006, 11:13 PM |
Jul 9 2006, 04:29 AM
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jan 22 2006, 07:13 AM) I'm currently using Hyperwrt, if I want to flash it to ddwrt v23, do I have to do reset or something? sure...the new QoS allow u to use BT productively...when u want to use IE, the router automatically give priority to HTTP connection while slowing the BT connection..Also is it worth to jump boat? I'm not in Wifi thing but more concerned abt download issue coz this router has been used by me and other user, if the other user runs BT then I will face slow down problem while surfing, even I limit the speed on the other user's BT also won't help, so I wonder it'll be any improvement in this case. |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:58 PM |