THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-
Wuahaha
Jul 4 2006, 11:31 PM
I got a WRT54G v5 here and I just recently read about how to upgrade to DD-WRT.  I say "Why not give it a shot and flash it" ... first I follow the guide: http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFEThen prasys passed me a link for latest firmware which supports PPPoE, and I tried ...... SUCCESS. It's working and fast !!  BTW I'm using firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (07/01/06) micro Thanks prasys for assisting and help configuring it. Now I can surf better haha. This post has been edited by Wuahaha: Jul 4 2006, 11:42 PM
Wuahaha
Jul 8 2006, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(die_257 @ Jul 8 2006, 10:23 PM) Hi there, I got V5 too. Where can I get the latest firmware like the one you are using wright now? Want to feel the DD-WRT mania too .............. Fom my understanding, first you follow the guide from www.bitsum.com. Then u apply the firmware that prasys gave you. Am I wright? Make sure u follow the guide and convert to DD-WRT first  Then go here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/down.php?pa...%2F2006+-+0707/Download the dd-wrt.v23_micro_wrt54g.bin make sure is the micro version else u cant flash
Wuahaha
Jul 15 2006, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(wilson88 @ Jul 15 2006, 02:02 AM) I would like to where to see my SNR margine using DD-WRT ??? I cant find the option on the original firmware ... WRT54G v5 is using the micro version or the mini version?? ... I flashed using micro .. but someone told me v5 only compatible with mini . I m confuse  Tat guy said typo already. For v5, u need to flash using micro version and not mini!
Wuahaha
Jul 21 2006, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(osxchd @ Jul 21 2006, 10:27 AM) if use upnp got speed problem? bcos my bt nv go over 50 with 1mbps connection... how about settings? No problem with UPNP settings. I'm using uTorrent (lowest memory usage). There is a minimum upload setting in order for the download to be max. I set to 8kB/s my download speed become max boosted to 70~80kB/s (depending wat u are downloading).
Wuahaha
Jul 25 2006, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(anfernee @ Jul 25 2006, 04:46 PM) Do you all know how to change the Cisco LED thing from orange to white or off using the DD-WRT ? When flashed to DD-WRT, it's like the LED has no use right? I tried playing it by holding the button and the color changes but nothing has been done.  Anyone knows how to program the button into an on/off switch for the Wi-fi?
Wuahaha
Jul 28 2006, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(wilson88 @ Jul 28 2006, 12:10 AM) seriously I dont know wat is that button for Edit : I just pressed it , and it changed to white colour ??? Wat it means ?????  From the original firmware it's the SES button, u press it to auto config wi-fi thing. Sry I'm not too sure about tat.  But after flashing to DD-WRT, it has no function at all, only changes color when u press it.
Wuahaha
Aug 16 2006, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(mobiusone @ Aug 16 2006, 11:22 PM) could you please provide me the link to this guide? This is the guide to how to flash to DD-WRT: http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFEAnd this is the site for latest DD-WRT firmware: http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads.phpFor WRT54G v5 only. Make sure u are using the dd-wrt v23 micro version only (generic or wrt54g doesnt matter).
Wuahaha
Aug 17 2006, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(mobiusone @ Aug 17 2006, 09:04 AM) phew...done it in less than 5 minutes Didnt ran into any troubles at all,everything proceeded smoothly.I worried too much in the first place lol. Plenty of new configuration and stuff like that,too bad i didnt have any time to explore it. Thanks guys btw...how do i limit the bandwidth of the wireless connection? instead of giving the wifi users within my vicinity full speed,i wanted to set the maximum speed for them to like 20-30 kbs. Should be under QoS section, not too sure about it maybe u can explore urself
Wuahaha
Aug 20 2006, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Aug 20 2006, 12:35 PM) Hi guys i have read out some forum speak on how to flash the WRT54G V5 to DD-WRT firmware. Just wondering is it stable and safe to do that? Absolutely safe and stable, so far I havent encounter any problems with it.
Wuahaha
Aug 20 2006, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Aug 20 2006, 02:54 PM) Is the performance really far more better then the ori firmware? And if i not mistaken, the warranty will be void if we change the firmware. (mine was under 3 years warranty). Tat all depends hahaha ... my guess is the warranty would be void. QUOTE(User61 @ Aug 20 2006, 03:00 PM) Dude, read the thread from the beginning or just go to dd-wrt.com. I've seen users here with tens of thousands of posts but still don't know how to read the thread from the beginning and blabber before using their brains. This can only happen in LowYat.net  This is why we have the forums, if all ppl know how to read they'll just Google themselves hahahahaha.
Wuahaha
Aug 20 2006, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Aug 20 2006, 04:02 PM) Well i guess i still have to stick with the ori firmware for quite some time due to the warranty. But still did anyone of you tend to having the router hang after using for 15hours+? (actually that the reason why i'm planning for the firmware change). Forget the warranty, you be better off with DD-WRT ! Here's the guide in case u dunno: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=8149354Dun blame me if u mess up ur router, flash at ur own risk!