THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

blindbox
post Jul 8 2006, 01:16 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(mokh @ Jun 10 2006, 07:51 PM)
i just flashed my router with mini.. biggrin.gif

everything goes fine...untill i set port forwarding for torrent and limewire. when i set it,then save setting, the internet become super slow.cannot surf at all.i dont use torrent or limewire. just set it. why this happen?

when i remove the setting, everything go back to normal..can surf the web as usual..

am i done something wrong? or should i set other setting to do port forwarding?
@mokh

I got a good place for you to fix that(works for me).

Click here!

Anyway, use Putty for secure shell client. Do not copy the commands immedietely. Fill it line by line cuz some of the signs is already given. (ignore this if you dont understand wth I was saying)

Ooohhh.... anyway this might not fix it, but is useful if you plan to run bt 24/7.

To fix your problem, try using Port Range Forwarding, since it is originally from linksys firmware biggrin.gif .

One more thing, the firmware will reconnect internet connection if you change a setting at port, dmz ,etc.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jul 8 2006, 01:19 AM
blindbox
post Jul 9 2006, 09:09 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Jul 9 2006, 04:34 AM)
for WRT54G v4 or WRT54GL, the flash memory is reduced to 4mb. So whenever u want to upgrade to DD-WRT generic/full version from original firmware by linksys u need to flash the mini version first, then follow by generic/full version which has bigger size.

But for WRT54G v5> u can only use mini version of DD-WRT firmwares
Correction, micro version.
blindbox
post Jul 10 2006, 07:03 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

check www.dd-wrt.com and see the guide to flashing v5, but then.... is there such thing is wrt54glv5?

WRT54G Router list.

See which one the best, i got v 3.1 here biggrin.gif fastest and most ram.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Jul 10 2006, 07:10 AM
blindbox
post Jul 15 2006, 08:21 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Is WRTSL54GS out in Malaysia already?

Btw, a bit off-topic... but I never know many don't know about this firmware before this thread started lol.
blindbox
post Aug 11 2006, 10:34 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Can someone edit the first page for this?

WRT54G p2p fix

This will fix problems regarding the router hanging after one night of heavy p2peering.
blindbox
post Aug 17 2006, 06:27 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Aug 16 2006, 01:43 PM)
Got mine too but rm202  laugh.gif
Mine was about that price also. Yeah those lowyat stores are selling wrt54g expensively unreasonably. Better buy those forumers here sell.
blindbox
post Aug 21 2006, 10:28 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Aug 21 2006, 12:11 AM)
I'm using WRT54G....can anyone link me to any sites to upgrade the firmware so i can control the bandwidth being distributed to other pcs??
(For WRT54G/GS/etc v1 to v4 only)
First of all, upgrade the firmware to mini version. Then, upgrade it again to standard version.

After you did that, there's a QoS option there. Some reported it broken, if it is, get a custom script from here (don't ask me how to use it).

For the firmware, check the first post.... and google is your best friend.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Aug 21 2006, 10:31 AM
blindbox
post Sep 30 2006, 07:07 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Sep 30 2006, 06:54 AM)
i got my WRT54G version 2.2 router a year ago

was using the linksys firmware all the while,on BT long hour aslo no problem

but recently the router keep hang after 2 hour of BT,i even upgrade to the latest firmware which was 4.30.5 and my router was rename as WRT54GL instead of WRT54G,but nothing seem to be improve.Now, i was thinking to upgrade to DD-WRT firmware.

i went to the dd-wrt website,i don't know what file are needed to be download,there are just too many file list on the download page.

and aslo any step need to do before flashing to dd-wrt,i don't want to screw up my router.
http://www.utorrent.com/faq.php#Special_no...G_GL_GS_routers
blindbox
post Nov 6 2006, 04:24 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Haratio @ Nov 5 2006, 10:10 AM)
Dear all sifu,

I am very new in this thread. I just flashed my WRT54G v5 to DDR-WRT last night. I need some advices from all of you on the settings. There are too many pages in this thread and very sorry i have no time to read everyone of it. My questions are:

1. I am using BitComet and eMule to download movies. What settings should i set to maximise the speed but does not compromise my surfing of internet?

2. I shared the connection with two wired notebook. The two notebooks always on the download at the same time. What should i do so that the downloads won't affect either one of the notebook?

3. I read about the QoS and port forwarding all these stuffs but i donno how should i proceed with it. Can anyone enlighten me?

Thank you very much on your help.

Cheers.  notworthy.gif
1. It won't compromise your surfing, somehow it auto gives priority to http.

If you're not satisfied, try QoSing.

2. There's a limit to your internet, if it is 512kb, it will stay that way. If you want the bandwidth to be balanced, again, QoSing.

3. Try discovering yourself, and try reading the help from the ..more button on the web interface. There's a wiki at dd-wrt's website as well, that might help you.
About portforwarding, click on Applications and gaming, click Port Forwarding for single ports, or Port Range Forwarding for ranges of ports (u can use this for single ports as well, doesn't matter).
Type in the application name (again, doesn't matter, you can type $h!+ and it won't care), the ip address of the computer you want it to be forwarded to(check your lan connection, put a static ip (the range is between 192.168.1.3 to 192.168.1.255) and the port range or the single port.

4. Good luck.

5. I discovered another thing, bt doesn't seem to bother my gaming hehehehe with my router.

blindbox
post Nov 20 2006, 10:01 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 19 2006, 04:50 PM)
so which WRT54G model should i get?
GL? or plain G? or GS?
mind to advise?
Try WRTSL54GS bwahhahaha. Beware, it is 100 ringgit pricier than the rest, and I'm not sure it is available in malaysia.

Use GL version btw, unless you can get GS models that aren't version 5 and above.
blindbox
post Dec 12 2006, 03:55 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2006, 10:07 PM)
is WRT300N hackable ? Based on broadcom chipset ?
Yes it is, check dd-wrt's website.

Oh and btw, there is that WRTSL54GS which is much powerful i think, oh wait, not (but costs rm 100 extra from wrt54gl and others).

This post has been edited by blindbox: Dec 12 2006, 03:57 PM
blindbox
post Jan 14 2007, 01:47 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Jan 12 2007, 06:41 PM)
The only difference was actually the SpeedBooster if you use the original Linksys firmware but with a 3rd party firmware, both models are the same.
Hmm, the help file on dd-wrt says that afterburner/speedbooster function only works on GS routers. I don't think it is the same.
blindbox
post Feb 1 2007, 07:38 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Feb 1 2007, 06:59 PM)
you should use QoS to prioritize the connections

Even with both BT and Emule on, my Active IP rarely hits 1k and above.
Ummm limit your BT speed? You can use the QoS but you'll need to prioritise based on tcp and udp port, since you can't check packets due to encryption.
blindbox
post Feb 4 2007, 11:05 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Feb 4 2007, 09:38 AM)
I would say only 1% if you follow all the instructions given. The 1% comes from maybe a power outage during flashing.
That shall be a big coincidence that it isn't funny. Don't worry if you brick your router, there's always a way to debrick.

That's not the point of my post though. Anyone know whether WRT350N is for sale at lowyat? I might buy a gigabit card heh, and the super increase of ram should help decrease the load.
blindbox
post Feb 7 2007, 03:08 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Those asking about QoS, I'm not really sure whether it works. Since my BT traffic is encrypted, I QoS based on TCP and UDP port and set it to bulk. Bulk says it uses whatever remains in the traffic. Anyway, I decided to play warcraft 3 after configuring my QoS, and people started complaining about 0.5 sec lag (I was the host) so I had to shut down BT in game. What I was downloading... hmmm I forgot, but I think it was during the time I wasn't throttled.
blindbox
post Feb 8 2007, 08:30 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Feb 7 2007, 04:47 PM)
Usually if you want to host a game, you can't have any BT or P2P running in the background. Players would want the best gaming experience therefore they will complain of any delay. If you are just a player, things should be going fine as hosting a game depends very much on your upload too.
The thing is.. my QoS is enabled, so there shouldn't be anything to worry about.
blindbox
post Feb 9 2007, 07:07 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(snowmei @ Feb 9 2007, 06:23 PM)
another one is when press disconnect for internet.....
the router like restarting..
Yeah, like, but it doesn't. When it reboots, the uptime timer resets.

Yeah, this firmware reboots itself on every change in settings (unless it is a port forward setting that is changed), which sucks for us who likes getting "good" ips.

@hardyboyz888: I'll try to see whether QoS works or not.
blindbox
post Apr 14 2007, 08:11 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(osxchd @ Apr 11 2007, 02:13 AM)
any1 teach me to flash back to linksys original firmware? i cant seem to find the guide in wiki... i need to flash it back to rma...

i bought another wrt54gl from mika bulk, goolias, dont need to flash to mini before standard? juz flash standard directly???
Uh.... linksys's website anyone? You could get their firmware there, and flash it back to linksys.

QUOTE(Seraph @ Apr 13 2007, 07:43 PM)
Not sure about RP PPPoE and STP, but DNSMasq is basically a lighter-weight option compared to the original DHCP daemon. Use it for both DNS and DHCP should free up some memory (because instead of 2 servers you only need 1) and responds to DNS a bit faster. DHCP Authoritative is only needed if you fill in a domain name so it'll respond to it... usually not used.

By the way, how much is the WRT54GL in malaysia?
RP PPPoE is pretty much a PPPoE driver, but is open source, and a hell lot buggier (and takes more memory) than windows's PPPoE driver, and linksys's custom optimized PPPoE driver (by default, DD-WRT uses Linksys's PPPoE driver, because their firmware's root is based on linksys's firmware anyway), and takes a hell lot more ram, and reduces speed (well not by much, I think).

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Apr 14 2007, 05:41 AM)
Have the developers fixed the memory leak problem?

The reason I use tofu11 instead of this is because of the memeory leaks and has to be rebooted every week or so.
I'm not sure, I haven't had any memory leak problem. I can let my router online for 40 days and nothing happens (40 days was my record, then lightning strikes, back to 0 days haha).

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 14 2007, 12:03 AM)
Hi, I'm using WRT54GL, recently, something is quite wrong with my torrent, so I just want confirmation from some of you guys who is active torrent downloaders on our settings.

I'm using DD-WRT v23 SP2 mini.
Wireless --> Advanced Settings tab
-----------------------------------------
Authentication Type: Auto
Basic Rate: Default
Transmission Rate: Auto
CTS Proctection Mode: Disable
Frame Burse: Disable

Beacon Interval: 50
DTIM Interval: 1
Fragmentation Threshold: 2346
RTS Threshold: 2347
Max Associated Clients: 128

AP Isolation: Disable
TX Antenna: Auto
RX Antenna: Auto
Preamble: Long
Xmit Power: 70
Noise Reference: -98
Afterburner: Disable
Wireless GUI Access: Enable

Radio Scheduling: Disable
WMM Support: Disable
Administration --> Management tab:
------------------------------------------
Maximum Ports: 4096
TCP Timeout (in seconds): 120
UDP Timeout (in seconds): 120
Is there anything else that I can tweak to improve my download performance? Let me know. Thanks.

Also, can someone teach me how to setup my QOS please??
Port forwarding perhaps? Your torrent might be throttled, causing you to get slow speeds.

To set up QoS, first you'll need to do a bandwidth test. By that I mean some major stress test. Download a file from a server you're getting almost full speed at, and do a multi connection download (download accelerators do these, such as FlashGet, or even DownThemAll which is an addon for firefox).

Check the graph, see what's the highest it was able to achieve. I recommend using Flashget. It uses real time download speed.

Start changing kilobytes to kilobit. For upload speed, seed something to the limit, again change kilobytes to kilobits and switch on your QoS, put in these values, and start QoSing. If you plan to QoS torrents, use specific TCP & UDP ports, since most torrent clients got their encryption enabled.

QUOTE(gigaforce @ Apr 7 2007, 01:55 AM)
ummm i've a problem with my linksys wrt5gs with standard linksys firmware.

i set it as a gateway, and spoof the router mac address to my pc's. i can connect to the internet, but my download manager, keep saying server that support resuming doesn't support it...

anyone experiencing the same problem?
Please try to do the same at another server.

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Apr 8 2007, 07:07 PM)
to set up static dhcp lease, it a bit tricky but just follow my method:

1. Go to dd-wrt web config (192.168.1.1)
2. Go to Administration>Services>DHCP server
3. Click add button (refer to the picture 1 attached). A set of 3 boxes will appear where you can enter the value. U may want to repeat according to how many static lease IPs u want to set.
4. Enter the parameter (MAC address, hostname, and ip) refer to the pic 2
5. Click save (refer to pic 3).

6. Repeat no3 if you want to add more static leases. Make sure u save the setting before click on Add/Remove or else all the parameter that u have type will be dissapeared.

7. Restart the router/pc if u had to.
There's a wiki for that, http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Static_DHCP tongue.gif.

QUOTE(goolias @ Apr 10 2007, 11:19 PM)
Hi, according to the DD-WRT homepage, the micro version is able to work in this model. However, requires JTAG cable to flash it.
Please read the dd-wrt wikis, there's a JTAGless way. http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFE

Please, don't misguide the others, lol.

Anyway, for those who're interested, I've been using DD-WRT about a year before this thread came. I'm using "DD-WRT v24 Beta (04/06/07) std" right now.

Added on April 14, 2007, 8:16 amForgot to add this, someone tell me if there is anyone selling WRT350N in Malaysia. I'm interested. If there isn't any, time to import, hehe...

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 14 2007, 08:19 AM
blindbox
post Apr 20 2007, 07:11 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Apr 14 2007, 11:49 PM)
guys help me out... setting this thing make me crazy... here the basic of my connection...

got 2 pc and 1 notebook....

main pc ---> Dlink DSL 504T modem router ----> Linksys 54G ---> 2nd pc
                                                                              -------> notebook

the problem is... the notebook cant get the right ip... (sigh) already take 3 hours to set this thing... seem auto DHCP thing wont work... but i have no idea to set this thing anymore... help.... sad.gif
Hmm I wonder what kind of setup do you want?

I'll give you the easiest though. Just set the Dlink DSL 504T modem router into a bridge and set Linksys 54G to connect, DHCP, etc.

You can even set one to do DHCP, set the other one to do PPPoE, but I'm not going into that (risk of failure, is quite high and might require you to do a factory default).

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 20 2007, 07:13 AM
blindbox
post May 10 2007, 06:35 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ May 9 2007, 10:44 PM)
thanks man...will give it a try

Added on May 9, 2007, 10:54 pmthe settings worked...awesome thumbup.gif but is this security setting safe tho? oh and btw, i noticed my torrent downloads are very slow...any settings to optimize torrent? thanks
Yes, do what snowmei said, and don't forget to make the TCP and UDP timeout to 120 sec. Ever heard of port forwarding by the way? Either you enable UPnP (should be enabled by default iI think) and make utorrent/or any other client use UPnP or you specify a port for your bt client and port range forward it (if you only want one port, you could use put them the same number).

By the way, that security setting is as safe as possible in terms of encryption. If it is against brute force, just make your code at least 20 length of random letters and numbers long.

This post has been edited by blindbox: May 10 2007, 06:41 AM

0.0532sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:40 PM