THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

justin_nys
post Jul 15 2006, 10:38 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 15 2006, 09:31 AM)
smile.gif Finally took the plunge and got myself a WRT54GS v4 yesterday. Purposely went up to KL from Malacca for a one-day-trip. sweat.gif Reached Lowyat on 12pm and hunted up and down for GL/GS. Sigh, no sign at all. 3rd floor only sells GS v5 and no sign of GL.

Went to the 4th floor and suprisingly TechDos is selling GS v4 with the label RM290. doh.gif 3rd floor is selling GS v5 for RM250 only! But then after bargain the salesperson quoted me RM275. Still unwilling to get from him though... Went to Linksys counter and geez! They quoted me RM330 for GS v4! Damn, its so freaking expensive!

doh.gif Ended up going back to TechDos and tried bargained with another salesperson, and he gave me RM260! Hehe, took it immediately and double checked the serial to confirm its a v4. Next is to hunt for Linksys usb adapter with speedbooster; and i got mine from 4th floor for RM220. At first i wanna get GL from Richx's bulk order which will cost me less than RM400 in total, but ended up leaving Lowyat with RM480 worth of goods.

Went home and immediately flashed it to DD-WRT v23 (not SP1), so frankly i didn't manage to test out the original firmware. There's a line of steps that is bolded and in RED color from the firmware upgrade instructions - WAIT FOR AROUND 5 MINUTES. Hands too itchy and i just click on "continue" without waiting...

Heck, i was diverted back to the firmware page, but without any nice GUI. Freaked me out man! I thought i did something wrong with the router!! Off the power switch and on it back... finally got the familiar black GUI thumbup.gif ! Yippie, success!

My GS is placed upstairs with both antenna parallel with the floor whereas my computer is downstairs, seperated by just a wall (ceiling to be more exact). Got 54MBps and excellent signal. I tried closing my room door (which adds another "wall" to the amount of barriers between the router and my PC), and i got good signal @ 36MBps. Left my PC on whole night running BT and manage to download 1.3GB last night, average download speed is 55kbps. cool.gif

Overall very satisfied with its performance! flex.gif  rclxms.gif

edit: Forgot to add, WRT54GL is on sale in Lowyat 4th floor. Price is a shocking RM270 each. rclxub.gif Here's some of my findings (14th July 2006):
- WRT54G v5 (no more older versions), didn't check out the price
- WRT54GS v5 (RM250 lowest i think, haven't bargain)
- WRT54GS v4 (RM260 lowest from TechDos but i'd grabbed the last unit, RM330 from  Linksys booth)
- WRT54GL (RM270, only available at 4th floor)
- WMP54GS (PCI adapter with Speedbooster, RM170 from TechDos)
- WUSB54GS (USB adapter with Speedbooster, RM220 from 4th floor)
You've got the skill to write articles. haha.

ldragon
post Jul 15 2006, 11:08 AM

1,026 posts

yrh0413, welcome to DD-WRT Club rclxms.gif
yrh0413
post Jul 15 2006, 06:11 PM

12,214 posts

blush.gif anyone mind telling me the improvements of Speedbooster? I still get 54MBps max leh
wilson88
post Jul 15 2006, 07:14 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

mind some one answer my question ? my question is on page 24 blush.gif
blindbox
post Jul 15 2006, 08:21 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Is WRTSL54GS out in Malaysia already?

Btw, a bit off-topic... but I never know many don't know about this firmware before this thread started lol.
OKLY
post Jul 15 2006, 08:31 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Jul 15 2006, 07:14 PM)
mind some one answer my question ? my question is on page 24 blush.gif
If I'm not wrong, there is no way to see your DSL SNR Margin for now.
yrh0413
post Jul 17 2006, 02:19 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Jul 15 2006, 08:31 PM)
If I'm not wrong, there is no way to see your DSL SNR Margin for now.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/ddwrt.phpIts under the Wireless category - Clients. smile.gif

wilson88
post Jul 17 2006, 02:35 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 17 2006, 02:19 PM)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/ddwrt.phpIts under the Wireless category - Clients. smile.gif
I cant find sweat.gif Using this firmware now DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (06/26/06) micro , is there any latest firmware that support PPPoE ?
yrh0413
post Jul 17 2006, 03:52 PM

12,214 posts

your GUI is same as the one in the link above? In the System Information page, under Wireless Client. The sample pic in the link shows no wireless client available, but there's a SNR category. I'm in my office now so can't post any screenie for you. tongue.gif

p/s: huh.gif PPPoE? I thought all routers have this? If not how did you set your Streamyx username and password for your Linksys router?

This post has been edited by yrh0413: Jul 17 2006, 03:53 PM
wilson88
post Jul 17 2006, 05:01 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

whoppps sorry for the confusion ... I m refering to DSL SNR margine
prasys
post Jul 17 2006, 05:46 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

You need to go to the forums -DDWRT and there is a special build for WRT54G/GS v5 with PPPoE support
OKLY
post Jul 17 2006, 05:48 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 17 2006, 02:19 PM)
Yeah. I was referring to DSL's SNR Margin and not the wireless SNR Margin. smile.gif
osxchd
post Jul 17 2006, 07:10 PM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

i wonder if i wan to switch to mini from std? any suggestion would b good... any1 of u tried the latest fw such as 24 or 23 sp2?
techno_fanatics
post Jul 18 2006, 02:56 PM

-Retired OCers-
1,006 posts

WRT54GS v1.1 user here flex.gif

with DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (05/16/06) std

This post has been edited by techno_fanatics: Jul 18 2006, 02:57 PM
yrh0413
post Jul 18 2006, 04:39 PM

12,214 posts

ohmy.gif where you got your v1.1? Bought few years back izzit?
Indecided
post Jul 19 2006, 11:33 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 13 2006, 04:41 PM)
I am having the exact same problem. I have read somewhere that WRT54G Wireless isnt that great....Try to change your channel to channel 1 and instead of WPA , use WEP. That should fix it. Change ACK Timing from 2000 to 0 . That should 'fix' your problem for now
prasys,

thanks! excellent help, did some reading on ACK and instead of disabling it completely set it to an effective range, say 100m to cover my house. Works like a charm now.

And to think it's default was 20000 = 20km biggrin.gif

Took a look at your "status" page you posted up here and noticed that you were running WDS with an Airport. When I return to the States, I have to get a ~200m link up and running with no LOS, through a block of apartments to another(mine) from campus.

I already have 2 WRT54G V4s stockpiled over there, with plans to pick up another.

HWZ has some useful pages on the WRT54g/gs here -> http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=998127

Any tips on WDS or should I be messing with a client/client bridge on the APs?

This post has been edited by Indecided: Jul 19 2006, 11:36 AM
azmihamzah
post Jul 19 2006, 09:10 PM

I love Nikon
962 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 15 2006, 06:11 PM)
blush.gif anyone mind telling me the improvements of Speedbooster? I still get 54MBps max leh
speedbooster only increased your coverage and stablility of your wireless connection, but not the speed

BS mentioned that the cheapest yet most exellent router is Buffalo WHR G54s which capable to transmit up to 125mbps...and quoted price at $43+ (around rm160). But unluckily it is currently not available in Malaysia. Maybe someone could manage a bulks order for us all here... icon_idea.gif

P/S: still waiting for any news from Richx...sighh... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by azmihamzah: Jul 19 2006, 09:11 PM
yrh0413
post Jul 20 2006, 09:53 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Jul 19 2006, 09:10 PM)
speedbooster only increased your coverage and stablility of your wireless connection, but not the speed

BS mentioned that the cheapest yet most exellent router is Buffalo WHR G54s which capable to transmit up to 125mbps...and quoted price at $43+ (around rm160). But unluckily it is currently not available in Malaysia. Maybe someone could manage a bulks order for us all here... icon_idea.gif
P/S: still waiting for any news from Richx...sighh... whistling.gif
huh.gif afaik speedbooster only increase the data transmission rate between LAN and WLAN, nothing to do with expanding the coverage and stability lo.

Ahh... richx... i got fed up with the waiting tongue.gif
cyclone9
post Jul 20 2006, 10:09 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

hey guys
i juz installed DD-wRT ..but i think my speed is limited to 30 k d/l rate sad.gif
anything to check or configure?
yrh0413
post Jul 20 2006, 11:40 PM

12,214 posts

huh.gif what Linksys router you're using? I'm on 512kbps streamyx package and getting 55~60kbps smile.gif Try port forwarding those BT ports.

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:49 AM