Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V3, Now with Android 4.2.1

G-17
post Nov 28 2012, 11:45 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Nov 28 2012, 11:09 AM)
If I OTA update,I will lose my root but all my data will remain right? I'm still on 4.1 BTW.

Yes. You'll lose root and custom recovery you have installed. Your data will remain, but I'm not 100% sure about the data saved by apps that require root, or configs that you might have edited under root (like build.prop). Again, this only applies to rooted devices running stock Android and the stock kernel.

redlyfs
post Nov 28 2012, 11:46 AM

T-Roll
971 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Nov 28 2012, 11:44 AM)
My 3G just arrived direct from US. Quite some wait time due to long online orders and black friday shipping.

[img=http://s12.postimage.org/oupxjkfmx/20121128_111918.jpg]

[img=http://s18.postimage.org/siii4ehlx/20121128_112320.jpg]
Nice! Congrats!
emy_xvidia
post Nov 28 2012, 11:48 AM

2,735 posts

to have successful OTA update, just make sure you haven't modified anything. If you modify anything, you should have known about it. everything must be stock, kernel, recovery, ROM etc. then just install Rootkeeper and protect the root. it's very simple. don't use the Supersu survival mode, that sucks and need to pay but didn't work on my side before. With Rootkeeper, everything works like a charm. tongue.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 28 2012, 11:52 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Nov 28 2012, 11:45 AM)
Yes. You'll lose root and custom recovery you have installed. Your data will remain, but I'm not 100% sure about the data saved by apps that require root, or configs that you might have edited under root (like build.prop). Again, this only applies to rooted devices running stock Android and the stock kernel.
I only rooted for the purpose of transferring my data. Still keeping stock ROM and stock kernel. I guessed I will give it a try later. If the data is gone then I will repeat the process again. Thanks for the reply.
Gilthoniel
post Nov 28 2012, 01:55 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Hey guys,

I have a HTC One X and a Nexus 7. On my HTC one x there is an option in facebook accounts (Settings>Accounts) to sync contacts and calendars. This enables facebook birthdays to appear in my Google Calendar (I'm using Google calendar not HTC Sense calendar)

However on my Nexus 7, the is no option for calendar sync. And even in the FB app, it does not have a section called 'other settings' which enables me to choose sync all contacts or sync only contacts in contact list.

My question is why are there different options and why is it that I can't enable my nexus 7 to sync with my FB calendar so that I can get all the birthdays on my calendar?

Secondly, the google calendar app in my phone has a menu option that allows me to choose what to display but on the nexus 7, no such menu item is found. It's the same app!

Is it because on stock rom, there is no such thing as facebook calendar sync?

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Nov 28 2012, 02:14 PM
jpaq
post Nov 28 2012, 02:21 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ace-user @ Nov 28 2012, 11:10 AM)
i tried reflashing the rom ady but the problem still exists..
i really can wait for 2 weeks cuz i need it for my studies =(
hopefully they'll pity me and replace my unit..lol..
Dude, the Service Centre is not gonna replace a new unit for you on the spot. The most is that they will tell you that they will replace the LCD part. If you are lucky, they have the part in stock. Otherwise, they will tell you they need to order the part from Taiwan. Total turn around time will be about 2 to 2.5 weeks in that case. What you can do is that you can request, after they have evaluated your unit, that you take it back with you instead of it sitting there as you need to use it. Then when the part arrives, tell them that they should call you to let you know and to send your unit in. Thereafter, part replacement may still need a few days as they are supposed to test it before handing it back to you.

They will only replace a 1-1 for you if they have tried to repair it unsuccessfully 2 to 3 times (usually 3, as what they told me).

From your description, it looks like you have a hardware problem - defective screen. But try what Benny suggested, flash back to stock ROM, unroot it and lock it back. This is just to see whether rooting was the cause of your problems. Highly unlikely, but better to try than having to deal with warranty claims. If problem persists, then you will have no other choice but to send it in (other than living with the defect).
benny888
post Nov 28 2012, 02:28 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 28 2012, 01:55 PM)
Hey guys,

I have a HTC One X and a Nexus 7. On my HTC one x there is an option in facebook accounts (Settings>Accounts) to sync contacts and calendars. This enables facebook birthdays to appear in my Google Calendar (I'm using Google calendar not HTC Sense calendar)

However on my Nexus 7, the is no option for calendar sync. And even in the FB app, it does not have a section called 'other settings' which enables me to choose sync all contacts or sync only contacts in contact list.

My question is why are there different options and why is it that I can't enable my nexus 7 to sync with my FB calendar so that I can get all the birthdays on my calendar?

Secondly, the google calendar app in my phone has a menu option that allows me to choose what to display but on the nexus 7, no such menu item is found. It's the same app!

Is it because on stock rom, there is no such thing as facebook calendar sync?
N7 calendar is basic unlike say HTC or Samsung which have added features
Anyway Google is never on good terms with Facebook n is not strange they do not include sync Facebook options
joe_pwr
post Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM

71 posts

Hi, just wanna ask, is it safe I buy the 16b version at lyp now,
considering many hardware problems i see.
Or there is a new batch for the 16gb ?
Thx
benny888
post Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM)
Hi, just wanna ask, is it safe I buy the 16b version at lyp now,
considering many hardware problems i see.
Or there is a new batch for the 16gb ?
Thx
What many hardware problems
joe_pwr
post Nov 28 2012, 02:35 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2012, 02:32 PM)
What many hardware problems
Ie : speaker problem, screen lift, etc...
Or should I just wait for the 32gb version
jpaq
post Nov 28 2012, 02:40 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ Nov 28 2012, 11:44 AM)
My 3G just arrived direct from US. Quite some wait time due to long online orders and black friday shipping.
Great stuff! Do let us know whether you have any problems with our Malaysian SIM cards and what telco are you using. Oh, and I believe it uses the micro SIM format, right?
Gilthoniel
post Nov 28 2012, 02:57 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2012, 02:28 PM)
N7 calendar is basic unlike say HTC or Samsung which have added features
Anyway Google is never on good terms with Facebook n is not strange they do not include sync Facebook options
Thanks Benny.

What I didn't know was that even with the me app, on a HTC or Samsung it will behave differently from on a Nexus... Same app!

Anyway I've solved this mystery of mine. What I did was I exported birthdays from facebook and pasted the URL into the web version of calendar. Once done, all birthdays are on my nexus 7!
benny888
post Nov 28 2012, 02:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Nov 28 2012, 02:35 PM)
Ie : speaker problem, screen lift, etc...
Or should I just wait for the 32gb version
Only few users reported such n this does not justify many hardware problem quote
Go read every tablet n phone thread n tell me one which does not have user reporting hardware issues
Even great apple ipad n iPhone have their share of complaints
If you are paranoid save your money n don't even buy it
joe_pwr
post Nov 28 2012, 03:07 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2012, 02:59 PM)
Only few users reported such n this does not justify many hardware problem quote
Go read every tablet n phone thread n tell me one which does not have user reporting hardware issues
Even great apple ipad n iPhone have their share of complaints
If you are paranoid save your money n don't even buy it
Thanks for the input smile.gif . Just realised how amazing the specs are relative to the price, not much to complain about... I think I'll go ahead and buy the 16gb.
Gilthoniel
post Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Nov 28 2012, 03:07 PM)
Thanks for the input  smile.gif . Just realised how amazing the specs are relative to the price, not much to complain about... I think I'll go ahead and buy the 16gb.
Just get it bro. You won't regret it.

I have an iPad 3 at home but I tend to use the nexus 7 more. Smaller and more compact its much easier to use for me although I must agree with Benny... The screen is damn jialat!
Cynox
post Nov 28 2012, 03:37 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Nov 28 2012, 03:07 PM)
Thanks for the input  smile.gif . Just realised how amazing the specs are relative to the price, not much to complain about... I think I'll go ahead and buy the 16gb.
just for sharing, Newegg Malaysia has new stock of 32GB ready to ship out - RM820.90 inclusive of shipping. I am grabbing one. biggrin.gif
benny888
post Nov 28 2012, 03:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM)

I have an iPad 3 at home but I tend to use the nexus 7 more. Smaller and more compact its much easier to use for me although I must agree with Benny... The screen is damn jialat!
I sold off my ipad mini 32 gb after only 3 weeks
Was impressed with its thinness, lightweight n nicer design n display
However practically using it was a dissapointment vs the nexus 7 especially in speeds of browsing, email content download, files management n YouTube streaming
End up I use the n7 most of the time
Text looks much better on the n7 vs ipad mini n that is important for me
Just sharing
joe_pwr
post Nov 28 2012, 04:06 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Nov 28 2012, 03:17 PM)

Thanks smile.gif , now definitely gonna get one.

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 28 2012, 03:37 PM)
just for sharing, Newegg Malaysia has new stock of 32GB ready to ship out - RM820.90 inclusive of shipping.  I am grabbing one.  biggrin.gif
Thanks for the info, btw can one buy form newegg malaysia office and buy directly with swiping physical credit card and not through online payment.
Cynox
post Nov 28 2012, 04:12 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(joe_pwr @ Nov 28 2012, 04:06 PM)
Thanks for the info, btw can one buy form newegg malaysia office and buy directly with swiping physical credit card and not through online payment.
i think some of the user here paid cash at their office. Not very sure on swiping CC at their office. You can PM them at their FB page - facebook.com/neweggmalaysia. Their response is fast.
joe_pwr
post Nov 28 2012, 04:17 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 28 2012, 04:12 PM)
i think some of the user here paid cash at their office.  Not very sure on swiping CC at their office.  You can PM them at their FB page - facebook.com/neweggmalaysia.  Their response is fast.
Will do... Thanks again for the info smile.gif

122 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:54 AM