Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V3, Now with Android 4.2.1

chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 08:14 PM

2,345 posts

Undecided over Kindle fire HD, Nexus 7 or Ipad Mini and finally today decided to get the Nexus 7. biggrin.gif

Now contacting newegg but wondering why they didn't bring in 16GB unit anytime soon. To me this capacity should be more than enough. Been living with Kindle fire 8GB for 8 months now. Not even enough space to install Fifa 12.

Hope the speaker is not as bad as described by almost everyone. tongue.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 08:41 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 20 2012, 08:29 PM)
Erm... In fact... Holding Galaxy Nexus (4.65"), 137g (I think) is also tiring. Actually it's not the weight that matter but is the 'pose'. You can do that repetitively with ease (take up put down take up put down) but not keeping same 'pose' for long time. Time to train your finger muscle tongue.gif

@chaukeng
Kindle Fire 8.9 HD brows.gif
The ideal one. That TI Omap 4470 chipset and THAT resolution. drool.gif

Too bad too expensive liao. If budget permit then i won't wait. laugh.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 08:48 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 20 2012, 08:43 PM)
I'm also waiting for 16GB Nexus 7 to be $199 at Newegg. But before this it's available for few days. But I checked few times... It's 249 not 199 doh.gif Or did I miss something? Maybe it rebate $50 or something? hmm.gif
I think the 249 could be the price before Google announce the 32GB one and drop the price of 16gb unit to 199. Newegg may be late to update or duno why. For some reason they are only selling the 32GB unit. cry.gif

Added on November 20, 2012, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 20 2012, 08:47 PM)
I wonder with that, does it signal the end of sub RM1K tablet. Although I can surely said that I'm not that satisfied with Nexus 7, there's really not much choice. Was considering the crisp iPad 3 but seem like second hand price is a bit high.
Read somewhere Sony is restraining themselves or distancing themselves away from the tablet market since they said the profit margin is really slim now. I guessed for our country its still ok since cheaper tablet like the Kindle and Nexus 7, 10 doesn't come with the subsidized price. But for country like US i guessed even ipad is feeling the threat.

Ipad 3 really nice haha. But 10 inch is not the size for me. Imaging myself playing asphalt 7 during a lecture. My lecturer will kill me. tongue.gif

p/s: Even the 2nd hand price for ipad 2 is still high. 800 for a 2nd hand unit without warranty.

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Nov 20 2012, 08:52 PM
chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 09:32 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 20 2012, 09:16 PM)
But the thing is... @ 249USD, the thing still sold out in few days. doh.gif
At least its still cheaper than some of the 2nd hand unit selling here. laugh.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 22 2012, 04:29 PM

2,345 posts

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Google-Nexus-7-Fli...=item3a7ada6701

^ one of the nicest and not too expensive cover i've managed to find from ebay. Any suggestions cause i don't see many variant in ebay aswell.

Anyone managed to find those RM10 screen protector deal? Sellers here are selling above 20 include postage. tongue.gif Cheapskate abit.
chaukeng
post Nov 23 2012, 06:05 PM

2,345 posts

Anyone knows of any other method to transfer those game saving data from my previous device to my nexus 7 now? Instead of using data sync, which requires root access. Don't plan to root my nexus atm.
chaukeng
post Nov 27 2012, 07:55 PM

2,345 posts

Seems like there are a few N9 combo Nexus 7 users here. Im one of them. tongue.gif Don't quite like android phone. But prefer and android tablet over an apple one.haha.

Btw, i've rooted my Nexus 7 using the toolkit. Have my data from my previous tablet transferred over through datasync. But will prefer my N7 to remain unrooted. Now here's the question, if i backup my data using the toolkit and unroot my N7, can i still restore the data from there? Thanks.
chaukeng
post Nov 28 2012, 11:09 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Nov 28 2012, 11:05 AM)
Sadly, I don't know any method other than Voodoo OTA RootKeeper. It's important to note that it will only work if you've protected your root (double signature verification with CWM, for example). I must disclaim that I've never tried this method before, though. If my device is rooted (like my previous GalNex) then I'm definitely on a custom ROM, in which case it just makes more sense to wait a few days for an updated image from the ROM dev. My Nexus 7 has been stock since I got it.

Some people say that Voodoo only works if you're running a rooted device with stock AOSP ROM, stock kernel and no modified root config files. Seen a lot of users complaining it didn't work if they had custom ROMS or kernels installed. No idea if this is true, it's just what I read on other sites/forums.
If I OTA update,I will lose my root but all my data will remain right? I'm still on 4.1 BTW.
chaukeng
post Nov 28 2012, 11:52 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Nov 28 2012, 11:45 AM)
Yes. You'll lose root and custom recovery you have installed. Your data will remain, but I'm not 100% sure about the data saved by apps that require root, or configs that you might have edited under root (like build.prop). Again, this only applies to rooted devices running stock Android and the stock kernel.
I only rooted for the purpose of transferring my data. Still keeping stock ROM and stock kernel. I guessed I will give it a try later. If the data is gone then I will repeat the process again. Thanks for the reply.
chaukeng
post Nov 28 2012, 09:47 PM

2,345 posts

update to 4.2 ady using OTA update. The data are still there but superuser is still here also. Which means im still rooted right? rclxub.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 12:01 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Nov 28 2012, 09:55 PM)
Download root checker from Playstore to check. I think you break root already.
Ya downloaded and confirm already lost root. notworthy.gif

Added on November 29, 2012, 12:05 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2012, 09:59 PM)
Don't think so
Having superuser does not mean you are rooted
Test n download titanium backup n see whether you can get it working
No need any guessing
titanium backup also not working. No more root access. Btw, anyone already receives 4.2.1 update?

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Nov 29 2012, 12:05 AM
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 10:58 AM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(toyumail @ Nov 29 2012, 10:37 AM)
Sorry wanna ask again since Nexus 32GB WiFi has international warranty (correct me if i'm wrong), if i buy from Newegg Malaysia, will i able to directly claim from Asus Malaysia if there is any problem? Or I must go through Newegg Malaysia?

Yes you can.
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 08:23 PM

2,345 posts

Anyone uninstalled superSu before? After some google it seems like its either we need root explorer or there are no certain 'confirm' method to uninstall it. Since im already unrooted, i can't be using the root explorer method.

I can hid superSu but i can't remove it entirely.
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 09:28 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:24 PM)
How did you end up in this situation having supersu retain and lost root ?
The only way to remove supersu is to flash back stock google image and this will delete all your stuffs completely including all your visible data in internal memory
Even if rooted you cannot uninstall supersu using say Titanium Backup
I update (OTA) to 4.2 and hence my root is gone. But superSu still remained.

http://androidforums.com/marquee-all-thing...-superuser.html

"Use root explorer and delete superuser.apk from the /system/app folder. Go to the Android market and download and install super user. Use root explorer again and delete su from /system/bin. Go to the market and uninstall super user.

Do a factory reset & you will be back to square one."

Some users from that particular forum actually found this method to be working. But need to do factory unlock.

Thank you uncle for the reply. But i guessed there's no other way around right? Or if i just leave superSu as it is, is it going to affect anything, say performance?

This post has been edited by chaukeng: Nov 29 2012, 09:30 PM
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 09:39 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:34 PM)
That android forum trick does not always work but than you need root to do it
Leaving supersu app there will not affect anything as it is not working, just a dead app
Why dont you root it back and expand the potential of your tablet ?
Im still quite new to rooting and flashing. The only device i've rooted is the kindle fire. the first gen one not the new one with locked bootloader. Its only few simple steps using the utility but i still messed it up getting bootloop 3 times.

Don't feel particularly 'secure' when my device is rooted. Btw, is the performance difference so huge between a custom rom and a stock one? Since N7 on stock already seems very good for me. tongue.gif

btw: If in any case i need to send n my N7 for warranty. Any chance i will be rejected if they spotted my superSu logo?
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 09:44 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(angah_as @ Nov 29 2012, 09:42 PM)
Keep spaming their mailbox until they reply u. True story

Btw im the lucky 1
On the last 2weeks, i paid them on friday morning, then they post N7 to me on the same day.
The next monday i already got my N7 ;-)
Happened to me once. Try puttng a comment on their facebook page saying your formal quotation haven't been replied yet and they will attend to you very quickly. Don't know if it works everytime la. smile.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 29 2012, 09:54 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:47 PM)
I have quoted here several times. My previous unit was with bootloader unlock, rooted and installed with Clockworkmod recovery. After one rom flash the tablet keeps rebooting only to clockworkmod and it cannot go beyond the recovery menu. I cannot even get it into fastboot mode to reflash stock rom
So no choice i send in to JB center and the tech straightaway know i have unlock bootloader, rooted and change recovery - he still tell me warranty is FOC and he will request new motherboard. However he screw up changing the motherboard and give me anew unit as replacement

BTW use the Nexus 7 toolkit - i always say this is an no brainer tool ( meaning literally no need brains also know how to use ) . Just pick and click what you want - no need to write manually any adb commands from terminal. If you know how to read, choose and click you can root, unroot, unlock/lock bootloader, flash recovery, flash stock google image etc etc
Sorry uncle, i've read before but this may just be a one-off case?

Ya i rooted my N7 few days back using the toolkit. Easier than the kindle fire's. I will do some reading over at xda first and if something caught my attention then i will root it again. But at least at the moment im very contented now. Even the speaker is good enough for me. biggrin.gif
chaukeng
post Dec 1 2012, 04:25 PM

2,345 posts

just receives 4.2.1 update. no noticeable difference yet.
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2012, 07:54 PM

2,345 posts

[quote=fwhoam,Dec 1 2012, 03:22 PM]
Please refer first page how to get Nexus 7 32gb at RM820.90 from newegg.

[/quotegoogle voice never recognises my broken english. btw i bought my sp from lelongseller.18 for 2 pieces include postage.
chaukeng
post Dec 2 2012, 10:34 PM

2,345 posts

Fail to locate any Nexus 7 Cover in S'pore, Melaka or Muar. So sad. In fact can't find any casing at all. Not even one. cry.gif

Ipad mini's everywhere....

0.0232sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:32 AM