214 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

reign226
post May 17 2008, 11:08 AM

804 posts

Thanks hunter. I've looked into both companies recommended by you and they are pretty interesting. Air Products do offer industrial placements but MOX did not specify, although I wrote to their HR seeking clarification.

I think I'm more interested in upstream...because we are an oil producing country so it's natural. Oilfield services is also nice, because they support the people in the upstream market so both of them are related to a certain extent. I realize that many O&G companies are not really seeking fresh graduates, preferring people with experience or am I wrong on this observation?

BTW, any other companies to recommend? Like MOX or Air Products, something that is related to O&G but not necessarily an O&G company...I haven't given much thought on that aspect of the industry.
Alansee
post May 17 2008, 12:10 PM

34 posts

i am fresh graduate from EE engineering and sponsored by Shell Scholarship.
i want to get into shell company. is it possible?? how to apply? any shell branch at kl? anyone got HR email??
hunterorz
post May 17 2008, 01:06 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 17 2008, 11:08 AM)
Thanks hunter. I've looked into both companies recommended by you and they  are pretty interesting. Air Products do offer industrial placements but MOX did not specify, although I wrote to their HR seeking clarification.

I think I'm more interested in upstream...because we are an oil producing country so it's natural. Oilfield services is also nice, because they support the people in the upstream market so both of them are related to a certain extent. I realize that many O&G companies are not really seeking fresh graduates, preferring people with experience or am I wrong on this observation?

BTW, any other companies to recommend? Like MOX or Air Products, something that is related to O&G but not necessarily an O&G company...I haven't given much thought on that aspect of the industry.
MOX and air product are competitor with market ratio of 65% (MOX) to 35% (air product)... so, MOX is much bigger than air product in malaysia.... btw,mox got offer internship everyyear...

wat course u taking now? chemical eng or mechanical?
O&G Upstream like to take fresh graduate, everyyear they will hire ppl frm time to time.... so,dont forget to watch out the newspaper and advertisement.....

U can try consulting company like accenture as well, their paid for fresh grad is rm3500 and rm1000 for internship trainee, the drawback is u hv to sit at office for a very long long hours.... ppl there are workaholic....
reign226
post May 17 2008, 04:04 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(hunterorz @ May 17 2008, 01:06 PM)
MOX and air product are competitor with market ratio of 65% (MOX) to 35% (air product)... so, MOX is much bigger than air product in malaysia....  btw,mox got offer internship everyyear...

wat course u taking now? chemical eng or mechanical?
O&G Upstream like to take fresh graduate, everyyear they will hire ppl frm time to time.... so,dont forget to watch out the newspaper and advertisement.....

U can try consulting company like accenture as well, their paid for fresh grad is rm3500 and rm1000 for internship trainee, the drawback is u hv to sit at office for a very long long hours.... ppl there are workaholic....
I'm currently doing a B.Eng in Manufacturing Engineering. I haven't graduated yet, so I'm just looking for internship placement for the end of this year. If I can get one from the O&G industry then that'd be great in helping me get into this industry. Consultancy companies also take in fresh grad/interns? I was under the impression that consultancy only hire people with experience cos I'd rather trust the advice of somebody experienced than a newbie right? Just my 2 sen, haha.
crapster
post May 17 2008, 07:09 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 17 2008, 04:04 PM)
I'm currently doing a B.Eng in Manufacturing Engineering. I haven't graduated yet, so I'm just looking for internship placement for the end of this year. If I can get one from the O&G industry then that'd be great in helping me get into this industry. Consultancy companies also take in fresh grad/interns? I was under the impression that consultancy only hire people with experience cos I'd rather trust the advice of somebody experienced than a newbie right? Just my 2 sen, haha.
Consultancy companies definitely take in interns, well, large MNC consultancy firms at least. Interns are especially handy in these kinda of companies since there's a lot of paper work to be dealt with. Examples I can think of off the top my head - go to meetings and write down the minutes (secretaries can't do this coz there's too many technical terms and jargons that only an engineer can understand), compile filing of reports and calculations for audit and tracking purposes, perform simple but repetitive technical analysis on the PC..... haha don't be too discouraged to hear this okay..
reign226
post May 17 2008, 09:35 PM

804 posts

Haha, I'm not discouraged, after all it's just hard work. Repetition...use AHK scripts =P. What consultancy companies are there related to O&G?
pc123
post May 21 2008, 09:58 PM

Validating
126 posts

I`m starting stpm now,it`s hard n suffering..n i hope my 6years(2 stpm+ 4 deagree) will affect my salary later on in life..
1). I wish to ask wat course you guys took b4 ending up in petrol type work in OnG companies. Chem engineering is 1 rite?mechanical? wat bout chemical n biomolecula engineer? any other? petrol enginner is the straightest 1 bt i`m afraid we might face oil problems later on..might as well major in sumting on both petrol n non-petrol.
2). Neglect my interests(i mean i hav), any idea how much a freshie tat works in OnG earns? Lets say..offshore n office jobs..i heard ppl who work offshores in MIri earns only 2k while sum may get >5k as a freshie eventho he`s workin in the office..wat r the reasons behind this? I`m kinda $.$ face..let salary talks now..
3). I`m oso interested in stuying in S`pore(NUS/NTU) nex time, just asking, is there any OnG indutries there? i noe nth bout sg! wats the job prospect in sg(jobs related to oil)? Second plan---> local univ...by ranking for the course i wanted(chem engineer) shud be like this rite? USM>UTM>UTP....
i need advice bout my future...sry for messy post n thz in advance...

This post has been edited by pc123: May 21 2008, 10:27 PM
Vervain
post May 21 2008, 11:33 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Removed Due to wrong input

This post has been edited by Vervain: May 22 2008, 08:32 AM
iDk
post May 21 2008, 11:49 PM

♂
1,124 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ May 21 2008, 11:33 PM)
Petronas is now extensively recruiting to fill up the empty vacancies. they have expand their business all over the world and currently short in loca man power as the veterans had been shifted over seas to handle oversea projects. Still, they are picky, unless you know someone inside whom can recommend you. Preferably HR department. Else you will have to go through the long evaluation.
accenture?
There are alot of OnG industries out there. The common ones are upstream and downstreams. Upstreams will fetch a better pay but you'll be playing dirty with mud. It all depends on service company and the position offered. Downstream on the other hand will be a less challenging as most of the work will be on plant. There are other firm which you can venture like design, construction and commissioning. E.g Construct platforms or jackup rigs, or setting up plants or pipelines or even manufacturing goods/tools. Generally everything applies. You will be surprised as most experience people are from roughnecks with highest pmr or spm qualifications. They do lack in education but the years of experience make them different from graduates or literates. If you throw them all the components, they can stack up built and even commence testing and work all by themselves, without the need of refering to all the running procedure manual booklet. Also there are builders and welders which too contribute to the success of rigs. In addition, chefs and catering also plays a major role on providing mouth watering daily cuisine. So basically there are alot of works which the rig requires. and If you don't mind hardship, learning the hard way with sweat and muscle aching work is one way of getting yourself equipped with the knowledge and skills of the future.
Blue
I think you havent see before experienced degree, master holder people. Roughneck doesnt mean low education person, roughneck means he will break your neck if you trying to be stupid with him.

Red
I doubt that! Do you know what is PtW? Do you know what is procedure? and what is the purpose of it? Without knowing what is the procedure, i 100% sure you cant even step into the plant or platform.

Please do not feed ppl with wrong info.

This post has been edited by iDk: May 21 2008, 11:54 PM
Vervain
post May 22 2008, 08:19 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

sorry. for my wrong info. Please void on my previous post.
mikhail
post May 22 2008, 10:28 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(christine85 @ May 16 2008, 06:37 PM)
haha.... will be joining this coming mid-june or july. tongue.gif now still preparing the documents and finish off the procedure first. now still in my hometown.. haha....
Lor, tengok u cakap berapi jer! biggrin.gif I thought joined in already! LOL!

allenultra
post May 22 2008, 10:35 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 21 2008, 09:58 PM)
I`m starting stpm now,it`s hard n suffering..n i hope my 6years(2 stpm+ 4 deagree) will affect my salary later on in life..
1). I wish to ask wat course you guys took b4 ending up in petrol type work in OnG companies. Chem engineering is 1 rite?mechanical? wat bout chemical n biomolecula engineer? any other? petrol enginner is the straightest 1 bt i`m afraid we might face oil problems later on..might as well major in sumting on both petrol n non-petrol.
2). Neglect my interests(i mean i hav), any idea how much a freshie tat works in OnG earns? Lets say..offshore n office jobs..i heard ppl who work offshores in MIri earns only 2k while sum may get >5k as a freshie eventho he`s workin in the office..wat r the reasons behind this? I`m kinda $.$ face..let salary talks now..
3). I`m oso interested in stuying in S`pore(NUS/NTU) nex time, just asking, is there any OnG indutries there? i noe nth bout sg! wats the job prospect in sg(jobs related to oil)? Second plan---> local univ...by ranking for the course i wanted(chem engineer) shud be like this rite?  USM>UTM>UTP....
1) Petroleum Engineering, then Mechanical Engineering.
2) exploration and service will get high pay as freshie
3) Local university who get recognisation in oil n gas sector, it has to be UTP. NUS/NTU no comment.
vicgray
post May 22 2008, 12:53 PM

281 posts

Just got a call from Maersk Contractors, Brunei. Will be going for aptitude test in Singapore. Any comment on this company?
hunterorz
post May 22 2008, 01:01 PM

80 posts

3). I`m oso interested in stuying in S`pore(NUS/NTU) nex time, just asking, is there any OnG indutries there? i noe nth bout sg! wats the job prospect in sg(jobs related to oil)? Second plan---> local univ...by ranking for the course i wanted(chem engineer) shud be like this rite?  USM>UTM>UTP....
1) If u r worry bout the oil and gas retrenchment because of oil shortage (which i think wont happen so soon)... then u can choose Chemical eng major in Process Engineering... but this is more to downstream or processing plant, for upstream drilling activity, mechanical is better....

2)Salary for freshie in oil and gas could vary frm rm2400- rm3500 depend on ur job scope and company backgroud...

for process/project/graduate engineer
Technip is rm2400
Petronas rm2500
Shell rm3500
contractor/vendor rm2200-2400
I am not 100% sure bout this salary range, just for ur reference....

I dont think STPM will gv u any advantage for u to enter Oil and gas MNC, STPM was one of the hardest and recognized exam in the world, but not anymore...
pc123
post May 22 2008, 01:49 PM

Validating
126 posts

allenultra..
3) Local university who get recognisation in oil n gas sector, it has to be UTP. NUS/NTU no comment.

1) U missed out chem engineer..any other course related to oil?
2) How high wil he earn?
3) My god! it seems lik UTP is best place for oil educations..true? If i`m not mistaken, USM n UTM ranks on top of UTP by ranking..is UTP climbing up?
any1 here have any opinions bout stuying oil-related course n then wat happen after grad? Share plz..thz..

hunterox...
1)STPM no longer recognise as world class exam? whr u get this info frm? tel me the web..i`ll go n read..
2)Did evry1 here start yur career in OnG with a basic pay of roughly 2.5k+?
To work offshore n with tat kind of pay..not worth it..how bout alowance n bonus?

This post has been edited by pc123: May 22 2008, 01:56 PM
christine85
post May 22 2008, 03:28 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(mikhail @ May 22 2008, 10:28 AM)
Lor, tengok u cakap berapi jer! biggrin.gif I thought joined in already! LOL!
Hehe.. laugh.gif tat is wat we call by enthusiasm but hey, im really asking around and hear the experience of those who really involve in O&G before i say those things... Not simply bluffing one.. blink.gif
mikhail
post May 22 2008, 03:39 PM

43 posts

yeah, enthusiastic is good, but we'll see what you say about working for SLB after 3 years wink.gif
pinkdalmation
post May 22 2008, 03:43 PM

229 posts

i asked my senior and she said that SLB is short term, fast cash .. people leave after 5-7 years and less benefit ..
and she said shell is long term, career until retirement .. but basic for freshie not as good lor ..

But yet another friend told me tht shell has alot alot of people, so theres a high chance you get ignored when working with them as a freshie

anyone can comment ?
allenultra
post May 22 2008, 04:00 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 22 2008, 01:49 PM)
allenultra..

1) U missed out chem engineer..any other course related to oil?
2) How high wil he earn?
3) My god! it seems lik UTP is best place for oil educations..true? If i`m not mistaken, USM n UTM ranks on top of UTP by ranking..is UTP climbing up?
any1 here have any opinions bout stuying oil-related course n then wat happen after grad? Share plz..thz..

hunterox...
1)STPM no longer recognise as world class exam? whr u get this info frm? tel me the web..i`ll go n read..
2)Did evry1 here start yur career in OnG with a basic pay of roughly 2.5k+?
To work offshore n with tat kind of pay..not worth it..how bout alowance n bonus?
1) If you want to get into upstream. Petroleum/Mechanical Eng stand a higher chance compared to Chemical Eng. I'll take course that give me higher chance, bigger advantage.
2) Starting pay around or more than RM5k, if u based overseas, even more.
3) Don't narrow your "knowledge" to those ranking. Check what makes those universities qualified to be in the ranking, how many courses they offer and how many courses UTP is offering for the time being. USM has petroleum engineering available? Compare the course itself. The reputation of it.

UM is very famous of its medic faculty, u sure others are equally good as well?
UTP reputation in oil n gas industry nowadays. UTP students stand a higher a chance.
Remember, I said stand a higher chance not "100% advantage" other local universities.

Reputation, higher chance. Does that consider as concrete reason?
You may not know it well now when it come to industrial internship opportunity and university career fair, you will know by then.

mikhail, Christine85 not working offshore, life can be "easier" while getting the same high pay tongue.gif

Vicgray, good luck n all the best smile.gif

This post has been edited by allenultra: May 22 2008, 04:03 PM
christine85
post May 22 2008, 04:22 PM

64 posts

LEt me add some more..
1) Geophysics. There is only one university tat offer this course in malaysia, USM and for every batch, there is only around 30 students, hence, u could see how big our market is. Also, geophysics are very demanded as these ppl are responsible in detecting the precise location of oil. Dont worry bout the oil problem, it's too early to think bout tat. there is only around 30-40% of oil&Gas being dig out from most of the reservoirs. SO, u can imagine, there's still a lot of oil, plus the discovery of giant reservoir lately.
2) Salary depends on the company but i could assure u something. For most of the O&G companies, the geophysics' salary is the same as engineer's. High salary for geophysicist because they are scientist, and usually we call them geoscientist. Eg: schlumberger, basic salary for fresh geophysicist=5K, Shell: basic salary+allowance=also 5k. others are 2-3k for basic salary, plus allowance some more.
3) I dont think that u need to waste so much money in private college etc. If u could, gettin' into local university is really not bad either. Think twice, is it wise for u to waste more money just to earn the same amount of money as the local uni students? Also, some companies, for example exxon mobil takes degree holders from local students while for oversea students, they are pretty much prefer the master students. Im malaysia, experience is more important than education level. U know why? because not all the things u learn in uni is used in ur future job. Hence, u'll need to learn new things when join the company.

Geophysicist also got lots of chances to travel around just like the engineer. Eg:Fresh geophysicist will be going to Abu dhabi with the engineers for 6days to attend the introductory trainings. If everything is alright, then the next destination of training will be in Houstan, texas. Engineering course is very good, but somehow, geophysics' market is bigger due to the low production of students every year. That is a course tat not many ppl know. Cheers~ smile.gif

Added on May 22, 2008, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(hunterorz @ May 22 2008, 01:01 PM)
1) If u r worry bout the oil and gas retrenchment because of oil shortage (which i think wont happen so soon)... then u can choose Chemical eng major in Process Engineering... but this is more to downstream or processing plant, for upstream drilling activity, mechanical is better....

2)Salary for freshie in oil and gas could vary frm rm2400- rm3500 depend on ur job scope and company backgroud...

for process/project/graduate engineer
Technip is rm2400
Petronas rm2500
Shell rm3500
contractor/vendor rm2200-2400
I am not 100% sure bout this salary range, just for ur reference....
I dont think STPM will gv u any advantage for u to enter Oil and gas MNC, STPM was one of the hardest and recognized exam in the world, but not anymore...
I was a STPM student. Its true that STPM would not give any advantage to enter O&G company but in fact, it helps u to strengthen ur academy foundation when u enter university. most of the things u study in STPM is relevent to wat is studied in university. I dont think that it is hard, provided tat u're consistence in ur study.ANd let me correct sth.... The basic salary for Shell's engineer is actually around 2.7k, but high housing allowance etc which makes the total salary to be around 5k.

Added on May 22, 2008, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(mikhail @ May 22 2008, 03:39 PM)
yeah, enthusiastic is good, but we'll see what you say about working for SLB after 3 years wink.gif
Haha... who said that im going to work for SLB for the rest of my life? This company is a stepping stone for the bigger planning in the future. Working for ppl is not my only option, there are lot more things to do outside, eg: business. i never think of working for ppl for the rest of my life. tongue.gif. Also, how bad do u think it will be for me when im work in office? Im not an engineers, but a geophysicist who deal with nothing but data. biggrin.gif

Added on May 22, 2008, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 22 2008, 03:43 PM)
i asked my senior and she said that SLB is short term, fast cash .. people leave after 5-7 years  and less benefit ..
and she said shell is long term, career until retirement .. but basic for freshie not as good  lor ..

But yet another friend told me tht shell has alot alot of people, so theres a high chance you get ignored when working with them as a freshie

anyone can comment ?
i have 2 seniors in Shell. What they adviced me is, go try out few years wt service companies, get the experience, get the high salary, then come back to Shell to get more benefits! laugh.gif Another employee from Pakistan told me tat 30 years in Shell is too long. Not worth it. ALso, service companies provide more intense training than the OIL companies do. U need to dig a lot of things on ur own in oil companies. But of course more benefits from OIL companies, eg: exxon, Petronas and Shell. Talking bout being ignore, its not true. Ppl in Shell work in team. They help each other to achieve higher quality outcomes. But of course, maybe it would differ a bit when we magnify it into different departments. tongue.gif But form wat i see last time when im doing internship in Shell, they took a great care about the things that i learned even though im only an intern, not to mention the among the colleagues~

This post has been edited by christine85: May 22 2008, 04:51 PM

214 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:35 PM