Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

hunterorz
post Apr 2 2008, 03:01 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Apr 2 2008, 02:13 PM)

we were divided into groups of 6..8 groups total.. we were required to designed and built a platform structure that can withstand 8 golf balls using A4 paper and cellophane tapes.

my frens who attend the interview on 2006 and 2007 also hv the same test... seem lk they never change the procedure and question...

hunterorz
post Apr 4 2008, 09:59 AM

80 posts

I took chemical engineering after finished my STPM, thought this course is very demanding in Oil and Gas industry... but seem like Oil and Gas upstream activity are more to mechanical...
dint know bout Geophysics during that time... should take this course sad.gif

hunterorz
post Apr 4 2008, 01:29 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Apr 4 2008, 11:13 AM)
Absolutely disagree with you. If we talk about O&G consultation firms, Process Department is the most crucial of all. Almost all initial informations required stems from them. I'd say they are the frontlines of design, very sought-after people hence highly paid. By the way, Process Engineers are almost always people with a background in chemical engineering.

You should be happy, in my company, Process Dept. has a healthy population of female engineers too. drool.gif  Should be the same elsewhere I guess.
Actualy wat i mean is O&G upstream and offshore, i not sure whether they need or hv any process engineer there (sorry for my stupid question,coz stil new to this industry)

In downstream activity like processing plant,i agree with u, process engineer is the key to everything... frm basic design, detail design,procurement,precommissioning and commissioning all leaded by process engineer. Salary wise, i think is not as high as those working offshore (correct me if im wrong) Unless u r commissioing team which will earn OT and extra allowance on site...

But, in a long run... Work as process engineer in O&G consultation firm is stil a better choice...
hunterorz
post Apr 11 2008, 12:11 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 10 2008, 08:40 PM)
Sigh me also same fate, should have taken up geophysic. damn.
me three,hahaha... din get any respond frm them... mayb my degree is not recognized by them... should go private college or Uni instead of form6 and gov Uni....
hunterorz
post Apr 16 2008, 01:32 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Apr 15 2008, 10:12 AM)
Hello all!
Can anyone here share with me the expected starting salary for a fresh grad. engineer at Weatherford? Not for the full-time field-based engineer, but more a office-based engineer with field visits required.
If nobody knows, then any bros/sisters please advice on how much one should request for.
Thanks y'all! rclxms.gif
Hey crapster, if im not mistaken u working in technip rite? I though their paid is not bad, u plan to hoop into upstream activities now?
hunterorz
post Apr 16 2008, 03:30 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Apr 16 2008, 02:58 PM)
Hehe yeah got no interest in consultancy design type of work... so try out for the services industry now, it looks much more appetising !

What about u hunterorz, what's your story? and and and... got any advice on how much salary to expect?
Erm, i will make the same choice if i were u, coz working as process engineer in technip hv no chances to go onsite... everyday office work,boring.... I cant tell u much bout the salary range coz I am stil very fresh to this industry.... but i believe ppl in this forum will able to gv u good advice,they are all very experience and informatic smile.gif

Actualy, i work in Consultancy firm as well, now at site commissioning a petronas plant in east malaysia... stil in dilema whether wana move to upstream ornot... coz the benefit and salary much higher.... But i will wait until finished the commissioning tongue.gif lots to learn overhere....
hunterorz
post May 7 2008, 07:20 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(h2oboy @ May 6 2008, 06:48 AM)
Hi, anyone work in Dialog Group? Thanks.
Dialog will gv rm2.3k for freshie.. this is the standard for last year...

hunterorz
post May 9 2008, 12:10 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(bigboy @ May 8 2008, 07:46 PM)
u knoww arr?? u work there ehh???
h2oboy, i guess u baru join this week... which anak syarikat u get??? smile.gif
Nope, i rejected the offer...
last year they offered me a position as assistant project engineer, rm2300 ..and rm100 allowance if not mistaken....
if u join dialog, most probaly u will involve in piping....

hunterorz
post May 12 2008, 12:28 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(bigboy @ May 10 2008, 12:14 PM)
oooo... but y u reject arr?? got a better offer meh??? dialog got a lot of subsidiaries.... if piping then ok lorrr...  smile.gif  i wanna try,ehehe coz i've read the career opportunities
I rejected straight away coz no chance to go onsite... the interviewer said probaly hv to wait 2-3 years...
if u like to do piping, then dialog is a good choice...
hunterorz
post May 15 2008, 12:33 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(christine85 @ May 14 2008, 05:11 PM)
Halo~ actually Petronas does not provide internship for students anymore except for their scholars. SO, its better if u try out other companies.. happy.gif
petronas does provide internship to non scholars.... i hv few friends get the internship offer eventot they are not frm UTP... they said they apply tru internet, but i doubt.... i think they use backdoor to secure a place in petronas....
U can try petronas penapisan melaka if u r frm malacca... every year they will take few student frm Public University, i got few coursemate and junior get the offer frm them, but all frm malacca....

but why u wana apply petronas? they dont hv proper training programme for internship students, u may end up doing some tiny tiny thing..... or read the manual everyday.....
I got one friend did his internship in Shell Global Solution, Marvelous experience... they never treat u like trainee, he hv to design reactor on his own, do presentation to stackholder, and even got chance to fly to german for few days meeting.....
I guess Christine can tell u more coz she did her internship at shell rite?
hunterorz
post May 16 2008, 12:30 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(christine85 @ May 15 2008, 02:18 PM)
actually there are students who are not from UTP but also are Petronas scholar, so, those ppl stand the chance to have internship there. U're sure that ur from is not a Petronas scholar?  hmm.gif weird.... recruiter from petronas last year told us that they dun wan any non-scholar students anymore for internship. Maybe change their mind again....  laugh.gif
Yea, i did my internship in Shell... only one word can describe it. FANTASTIC! especially when i compare it to other companies. Last time they gave me a project on seismic processing. they assign me a mentor who taught me how to use the software. Colleague there also very nice cox they will help u whenever u need them. they emphasize on teamwork a lot. Because i was also interacting with other interns from different department, i seen and understand that they also learned a lot of things, or should i say, too much to be compare to other companies. u'll get involve in their meeting, courses etc, which makes u feel like you're also a part of them. So it will be better if backspace go for other companies like shell, exxon, slb etc to get more precious experience. ciao~
nope, my friend is not a petronas scholar,he taking ptptn.... one of them said he ask someone working in petronas to help him get the internship... if u wana get a permanent job in petronas without network, for non-bumi and non scholar... the chances are less than 1%
...different story if u hv recommendation letter, can straight enter without any interview.... that why some of the petronas staff ask me to pakat with those petronas head thumbup.gif ...
But, their yearly increment only around 7-9% which is very low compare to other operator, bonus around 4-6 months.... so, i guess better stay at my current company first,hahhaha

hunterorz
post May 16 2008, 01:13 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 16 2008, 01:10 PM)
where are you working in hunter?
Engineering Consultation firm, basicly we design and build plant for client like petronas.... currently at petronas site commissioning....
How bout u? going to grad soon?
hunterorz
post May 17 2008, 07:28 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Jenn V @ May 16 2008, 02:44 PM)
Hunter, your company looking for people? I'm just graduated from UPM as Chemical Engineering background...
currently, my company only looking for experience engineer on contract basis to help in the construction and commissioing.... Malaysia office is more like marketing & administration office, all engineering design will done in oversea.
I will go there for training after finished my current project,yeah tongue.gif

Added on May 17, 2008, 7:46 am
QUOTE(reign226 @ May 16 2008, 04:18 PM)
Haha, that's kinda vague. I'm still in uni but I'm going to intern soon at the end of this year. Now still hunting around for the right place to train.
If u realy want to join Oil and Gas, then U hv to make up ur mind which side u wana join, Upstream or Downstream.... both section is totaly different, even u hv 10yrs experience and switch to the other side,they will treat u as fresh....
I think most of the ppl here are in upstream activity....

I guess only Shell provide intensive and proper training programme for their trainee... the rest is more like giving the exposure to u or ask u do some simple documentation....
btw, why not u try MOX or Air Product?

Added on May 17, 2008, 9:09 am
QUOTE(christine85 @ May 16 2008, 06:37 PM)
o.... i see.... yea.... Good network is more important than the capability in Petronas... haha.... really pathetic.....  sweat.gif
haha, dont forget petronas is a GLC.... that why after soo many year, they stil cant establish a strong technical expertise...

But Petronas does hv lot of experience ppl, i meet few who join as operator without any engineering degree and now already bcome plant manager...

This post has been edited by hunterorz: May 17 2008, 09:09 AM
hunterorz
post May 17 2008, 01:06 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 17 2008, 11:08 AM)
Thanks hunter. I've looked into both companies recommended by you and they  are pretty interesting. Air Products do offer industrial placements but MOX did not specify, although I wrote to their HR seeking clarification.

I think I'm more interested in upstream...because we are an oil producing country so it's natural. Oilfield services is also nice, because they support the people in the upstream market so both of them are related to a certain extent. I realize that many O&G companies are not really seeking fresh graduates, preferring people with experience or am I wrong on this observation?

BTW, any other companies to recommend? Like MOX or Air Products, something that is related to O&G but not necessarily an O&G company...I haven't given much thought on that aspect of the industry.
MOX and air product are competitor with market ratio of 65% (MOX) to 35% (air product)... so, MOX is much bigger than air product in malaysia.... btw,mox got offer internship everyyear...

wat course u taking now? chemical eng or mechanical?
O&G Upstream like to take fresh graduate, everyyear they will hire ppl frm time to time.... so,dont forget to watch out the newspaper and advertisement.....

U can try consulting company like accenture as well, their paid for fresh grad is rm3500 and rm1000 for internship trainee, the drawback is u hv to sit at office for a very long long hours.... ppl there are workaholic....
hunterorz
post May 22 2008, 01:01 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 21 2008, 09:58 PM)
I`m starting stpm now,it`s hard n suffering..n i hope my 6years(2 stpm+ 4 deagree) will affect my salary later on in life..
1). I wish to ask wat course you guys took b4 ending up in petrol type work in OnG companies. Chem engineering is 1 rite?mechanical? wat bout chemical n biomolecula engineer? any other? petrol enginner is the straightest 1 bt i`m afraid we might face oil problems later on..might as well major in sumting on both petrol n non-petrol.
2). Neglect my interests(i mean i hav), any idea how much a freshie tat works in OnG earns? Lets say..offshore n office jobs..i heard ppl who work offshores in MIri earns only 2k while sum may get >5k as a freshie eventho he`s workin in the office..wat r the reasons behind this? I`m kinda $.$ face..let salary talks now..
3). I`m oso interested in stuying in S`pore(NUS/NTU) nex time, just asking, is there any OnG indutries there? i noe nth bout sg! wats the job prospect in sg(jobs related to oil)? Second plan---> local univ...by ranking for the course i wanted(chem engineer) shud be like this rite?  USM>UTM>UTP....
i need advice bout my future...sry for messy post n thz in advance...
1) If u r worry bout the oil and gas retrenchment because of oil shortage (which i think wont happen so soon)... then u can choose Chemical eng major in Process Engineering... but this is more to downstream or processing plant, for upstream drilling activity, mechanical is better....

2)Salary for freshie in oil and gas could vary frm rm2400- rm3500 depend on ur job scope and company backgroud...

for process/project/graduate engineer
Technip is rm2400
Petronas rm2500
Shell rm3500
contractor/vendor rm2200-2400
I am not 100% sure bout this salary range, just for ur reference....

I dont think STPM will gv u any advantage for u to enter Oil and gas MNC, STPM was one of the hardest and recognized exam in the world, but not anymore...
hunterorz
post Jun 3 2008, 12:36 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(kmed @ Jun 1 2008, 07:28 PM)
Does anyone here know the starting pay for SBM fresh grad. process engineer?

I'm currently working in another consultancy comp, and I want to change the working environment as the place I'm working now sucks.

Anyone any idea?

P.S. Does anyone have any idea who pays the most among all the consultancies? Technip? or...?
erm... dont think SBM hire Process Engineer...
Technip is one of the highest pay consultancy company in Malaysia, eventhought their starting pay for fresh grad is around rm2400, but their yearly increment is around 25% to 35%... as a fresh Process Engineer, dont think bout salary, get ur experience first then only talk bout ur salary... try to get involved in certain process route and master it, this will help u to negotiate for ur salary in future...ofcoz site experiece like commissioining will be a added value to ur CV....
But frm wat i know, technip dint realy sent freshie to site for commissioning, u will sit in the office for 2 -3 years.... So, is better u join other smaller consultancy company that willing to sent u to site for commissioning....

hunterorz
post Jun 26 2008, 12:12 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(C0nKer @ Jun 25 2008, 04:44 PM)
I guess when people look at oil and gas, it has been, and will always be, upstream operation.

I got f**ed up on the deal being placed on MTBE processing plant. Pretty much 0 prospect with ***king limited potential as far as OnG is concerned.
yeap,normaly ppl only look at the upstream operation when they talk bout Oil and Gas, oil price hike only benefit the upstream operation, refiner stil hv to buy the crude oil at market price..their profit margin remain the same no matter how high the oil price go....

but ur statement of "zero prospect and limited potential" is abit over..... in the begining, ur salary may not comparable to those working in offshore,but after gaining more experience...ur basic could shoot up two to three fold.... furthermore,working in downstream gv u more flexible time for ur family and friends....

try to look at the bright side smile.gif u can change job anytime if u stil prefer upstream....

0.0633sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:55 PM