Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather
May 16 2008, 03:52 PM
43 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Christine85, tried to LDAP you and you're not there? Joined WG yet or not?
May 22 2008, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(christine85 @ May 16 2008, 06:37 PM) haha.... will be joining this coming mid-june or july. Lor, tengok u cakap berapi jer! |
May 22 2008, 03:39 PM
yeah, enthusiastic is good, but we'll see what you say about working for SLB after 3 years
May 22 2008, 05:25 PM
Christine, i'm office based too, Production Engineer. btw, never mentioned that you'd be at SLB the whole of your working life, just saying that you will get jaded working here.
SLB as a stepping stone is very good, although jumping to another Company after WG is a little tough. You're going to be doing what at WG? DP? Then your outlook is a little bleak though, although Jason has a presence here. LOL! we'll see how it goes when you actually join! Look me up, I'm in Rohas as well, though at the towers most of the time. --- allenultra, I know that Christine isn't going to the field, but there are challenges to desk jobs as well! |
May 23 2008, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(december88 @ May 23 2008, 06:44 AM) hey can you tell me what you do as a production engineer, do you work on site or office? Can you work offshore? What major did you do( mechanical, chemical , etc?). I have heard abt drilling and reservoir engineers so far, thinking about going into production. And is it true for petroleum engineering grads that most of them branch out in reservoir? Coz my senior told me that drilling will go to mechanical/mining engineers, and production to chemical engineers. Thanks. Lets see, background is from Uniten, degree Electronics / Electrical Engineering. got the conditional offer before i sat for my final sem final exams, so enjoy a bit last few months at Uni. Luckily passed all my subjects! Anyway, SLBs initial offer was for me to join Wireline, but I didn't want to become a field engineer, plus Wireline is the most challenging segment (albeit the most rewarding in terms of renumeration. Imagine getting a percentage of your service ticket, when your service ticket is a couple of million LOL!) So anyway I requested for an office based position. Went through interviews, bla bla bla and joined in initially under Information Management (production). Reshuffling of teams resulted me in Joining Production beginning last year. Anyway, a little job description lah. I do a lot of work with clients, mainly setting up their production data management systems. in other words, we setup systems that allows offshore / field data to be stored onshore, hence "Production Data Management". We have different applications depending on frequency of data (seconds / minutes etc) or if the client only needs daily data its a different app. Thats the data management side of it. The actual Production side comes in monitoring the production itself, trying to optimize from a well to field level in order to determine the best rate of production. A lot of factors lah, its not just opening the choke on a well as large as possible in order to generate the most liquid from the well, but you need to take into consideration the reservoir pressures, voidage replacement, gaslifting, water sweeping etc. Production engineers at clients / PSCs are usually office based, with short stints at the field during lifting / commissioning but they are now playing a more important role than before, especially now that oil is at $130. Its trying to maximize the existing production with the existing equipment / facilities with the most efficiency. Frankly speaking if you're with Schlumberger, your degree specialization isn't important, as long as it is an Engineering degree. Reason being is that training is ALWAYS provided, and you will always have someone to refer to, unless its a routine job. We have support networks worldwide with a database of known problems with solutions, plus bulletin boards where people ask questions and get replies from all over the world. In fact, a Masters degree isn't that important at Schlumberger either (a PhD lainlah) as everyone starts at the same step. The important thing is that you are willing to learn and do jobs that you may not like, and may not be in your job description. That is why they pay us what they do. We are always looking for people, but its so hard to hire. It may be language skills, attitude, not the right characteristics etc. In fact, I went through 5 interviews in order to get the job, and IIANM that is the norm. Job satisfaction is always there, especially since the clients look up to us to provide the best service out there. Ask any PSC out there, and when you mention Schlumberger, first thing they'll think is EXPENSIVE! How good is Schlumberger? Mention it to someone who knows the company and they will always mention that their brother / friend / wife's mother's cousin's grandson works / worked there! LOL! Hahahhahha! Panjangnya! Macam takde kerja! ---- Christine Outlook bleak as in migration path from WG is not so apparent, maybe because I'm from a different background. I know a lot of people in WG though, and things aren't as bright and shiny as they seem! LOL! Added on May 23, 2008, 10:28 am QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 23 2008, 09:32 AM) Anyone in Kemaman? I got an offer fr SLB, FET based in Kemaman.. Status is home country mobile . . what does that mean ? FET = Field Engineer TraineeHome Country Mobile is the package for those working in your own home country, but not working at your point of hire. There are mainly a few packages created by SLB and they contain, but not limited to: Home Country Resident Home Country Mobile Geomobile International Mobile and a few country specific ones such as EU Commuter, US Land etc. etc. For HCM, package is slightly better than HCR, where you get a housing allowances etc. etc. although of course, you're not staying at home lah. Which segment in Kemaman? This post has been edited by mikhail: May 23 2008, 10:28 AM |
May 23 2008, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 23 2008, 10:40 AM) Well testing services (DST/TCP) ... im not sure what that means cos whn i went to talk to the manager, he said the technical speciality (or something like that) will depend on company need later in the future.. and that status and location can change at any time DST = Drill Stem Testingwhat do you mean by not working at point of hire? point of hire being in kl? slb in malaysia only in srwk and kemaman right? TCP = Tubing Conveyed Perforation Well testing is a pretty good segment, Grade advancement is fastest throughout all the segments but its rough work. You'll be dealing with a lot of radioactive materials, MPFMs (Multi-Phase Flow Meters) etc. point of hire should be KL, SLB has a head office in KL, there is also SLB-EMC in Cyberjaya, although they take care of the Schlumberger Network (SiNet) worldwide, and bases in Kemaman, Labuan. There are also offices in Miri, but not sure whether that is just SIS or other segments as well. What your manager said is true, SLB tries to fit employees to the job at hand, so rather than just spending time working at the base on tools and stuff, you're also becoming an all-rounder. Also if there is a shortage of skilled labour abroad, then there are possibilities to do STAs (Short term assignments) abroad. Your package should be better than Christine's though! Side note: Another reason why I didn't take the field job is because of the attrition rate for FEs in SLB. 70% of FEs and FSs quit / fired within the first 3 years. Needed something a little more stable, although turning your back on 4.8k USD a month was pretty tough! Plus, rotation at the time was 8-2, 8 weeks on, 2 weeks off. Working 56 days in a row, 18 hour days is not something that I want to do! LOL! Now of course, its much easier, last I heard was 6-3 or 6-4, not so sure. |
Jun 12 2008, 03:13 PM
hey you guys were at workplace 21 jsut now to collect your tickets ke? I was the one playing pool... LOL
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:15 AM |