214 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

nagasie
post Mar 27 2008, 07:27 PM

343 posts

it think it open all the time. just apply online or go to career fair for fast track.
if u are fresh grad, make sure ur pointer is above 2.8 cgpa. if lower, can make some appeal, they might consider it.
SUSadvocado
post Mar 27 2008, 08:16 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(noellee69 @ Mar 21 2008, 10:13 PM)
bro, can giv me few example so tat i can google about the company lo;) coz i totally fresh in O&G industry... now try 2 read up more coz after i reading tis 32 pages, i dun c much discuss on structural engineer ..sigh ;( ...anyway thanx 4 helping
I am guessing Structural Engineers can also design Offshore Platform Structures, which basicly covers the whole Platform itself... it's like building a hotel in the middle of the sea, maximizing structural efficiency while minimizing the weight...

Not many people doing structurals i guess, and most if you start in consultant you will most likely be sitting infront of your computers while drawing 3D structures (and also piping) whole day, and night. The designs are probably done by those Structural Masters, coz you see, if the structure fails, the whole platform Lies on seabed. sweat.gif

If you are experienced enough and joins a client or service company, you will most likely be reviewing what has been designed and make decisions, and once everything is set you will have to go out and carry out the task of uprighting the whole platforms, I think they call it installation engineer or sumthing, quite an important role, but the whole process could take months and you'll have to work day and night, depending on the weather.

Just some random guesses. Hope it won't be misleading. thumbup.gif

karmakid
post Mar 27 2008, 08:19 PM

2,598 posts

QUOTE(nagasie @ Mar 27 2008, 07:27 PM)
it think it open all the time. just apply online or go to career fair for fast track.
if u are fresh grad, make sure ur pointer is above 2.8 cgpa. if lower, can make some appeal, they might consider it.
which company are you talking about?
Ddaniell
post Mar 27 2008, 10:11 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ Mar 27 2008, 06:13 PM)
do u know any job agency out there who can help to find similar job hunt ah?
yup....i will give it to u...i left the business card at my office...
karmakid
post Mar 27 2008, 10:25 PM

2,598 posts

ok ok..thx yea. will wait for u then.
noellee69
post Mar 27 2008, 11:20 PM

205 posts

thanx everyone for kind sharing wink.gif
nagasie
post Mar 28 2008, 02:18 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ Mar 27 2008, 08:19 PM)
which company are you talking about?
fro ur previous post, u are refering my company which is MMHE. SLB is not my company yet, maybe soon. icon_idea.gif
moshrckz
post Mar 28 2008, 06:43 PM

33 posts

how to get news on oil and gas industry in malaysia?

missed the oil and gas exhibition.. sigh..

any more coming up?
de_sengal
post Mar 29 2008, 02:30 PM

91 posts

nagasie, are u a permanent staff or contract?
nagasie
post Mar 29 2008, 03:17 PM

343 posts

permanent staff. what about you, de_sengal??
de_sengal
post Mar 29 2008, 09:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(nagasie @ Mar 29 2008, 03:17 PM)
permanent staff. what about you, de_sengal??
not permanent, not contract. still an intern there... so, what department u are?
jikass01
post Mar 30 2008, 02:20 AM

QUOTE(de_sengal @ Mar 29 2008, 09:55 PM)
not permanent, not contract. still an intern there... so, what department u are?
lotsa ppl from MMHE? hehe.. hav fun. a very very good place to learn and gain a strong basics. Just ignore the politics and all..
de_sengal
post Mar 30 2008, 07:41 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(jikass01 @ Mar 30 2008, 02:20 AM)
lotsa ppl from MMHE? hehe.. hav fun. a very very good place to learn and gain a strong basics. Just ignore the politics and all..
that's right. good place to learn the basic but if u really want 2 learn and gain exp. better work for subcon
nagasie
post Mar 30 2008, 10:25 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(de_sengal @ Mar 29 2008, 09:55 PM)
im in design and engineering department (electrical), marine conversion. which department are u in?? how many months left for intern??
de_sengal
post Mar 30 2008, 10:29 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(nagasie @ Mar 30 2008, 10:25 AM)
im in design and engineering department (electrical), marine conversion. which department are u in?? how many months left for intern??
engineering and construction department. bout 2 months left and then looking for a job as the internship is in my final sem.
wantutrifor5
post Mar 30 2008, 01:12 PM

1,191 posts

who go to petronas interview yesterday?
moshrckz
post Mar 31 2008, 04:11 PM

33 posts

sad.gif

any more oil and gas exhibition/conferrence bla bla coming up? except for AOGC off course. have to pay 3k per head

yesterday got petronas interview?
kevin1mil
post Mar 31 2008, 09:26 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 22 2008, 11:10 AM)
worleyparsons would be a good place for structural engineer to learn.
the workload is very heavy there, always OT.
a good place to learn.

I heard they only taking fresh graduates very good cgpa. >3.5
Well, seem like not many people aware that Civil/Structural Engineer can really work in Oil and Gas industry. Actually to work in oil and gas as structural engineers, you can become consultant, contractors, service engineers or working for client company.

For Consultant you can apply for,

Technip, Ranhill WorleyParsons, RNZ, MMC Oil Corp, Noble Denton, Germanischer Lloyd (Malaysia), APL, etc...

For Contractors (fabricating the structures),

Kencana HL, MMHE, Ramunia, Brooke Dock Yard, Sime Engineering Yard

For Service Engineers,

Aker Kvaerner, Single Buoy, J. RAY MCDERMOTT (normally prefer experienced engineer), Sapura Crest, etc...

For Client Engineer, you can apply for

Shell, Petronas, Talisman*, Murphy*, ExxonMobil* (* tend want experience structural engineer but can try)

For doing not related to structure, with high pay and long working hours, you can try to apply schlumberger.

There are more actually but this is what i can think of for now.

Btw I am structural engineer working in one of the consultant for less than a year (just graduated last year).
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 31 2008, 09:28 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(kevin1mil @ Mar 31 2008, 09:26 PM)
Well, seem like not many people aware that Civil/Structural Engineer can really work in Oil and Gas industry. Actually to work in oil and gas as structural engineers, you can become consultant, contractors, service engineers or working for client company.

For Consultant you can apply for,

Technip, Ranhill WorleyParsons, RNZ, MMC Oil Corp, Noble Denton, Germanischer Lloyd (Malaysia), APL, etc...

For Contractors (fabricating the structures),

Kencana HL, MMHE, Ramunia, Brooke Dock Yard, Sime Engineering Yard

For Service Engineers,

Aker Kvaerner, Single Buoy, J. RAY MCDERMOTT (normally prefer experienced engineer), Sapura Crest, etc...

For Client Engineer, you can apply for

Shell, Petronas, Talisman*, Murphy*, ExxonMobil* (* tend want experience structural engineer but can try)

For doing not related to structure, with high pay and long working hours, you can try to apply schlumberger.

There are more actually but this is what i can think of for now.

Btw I am structural engineer working in one of the consultant for less than a year (just graduated last year).
ask TS to add this onto the front page... notworthy.gif
SUSkockroach
post Apr 1 2008, 04:41 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

I felt it is quite difficult to get into the oil & gas industry, unless u know some one in the company. Send resume to a lot company yet no reply, sigh sigh

214 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0338sec    1.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:30 AM