Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

Ddaniell
post Jan 14 2007, 03:13 AM

154 posts

hey guys im doing my final sem now(civil engineering)...and decided to have a career with oil n gas company...
last time im doing practical training at an OnG consultant and it was great to have an experience there. my workscope just to design a model with a software called SACS 5.1.

just want to get your opinion...where should i go..whether consultant or fabricator?

Ddaniell
post Jan 20 2007, 04:50 PM

154 posts

the consultant is MMC Oil & Gas.

anyone can give opinion?which one i have to go...fabricator or consultant.
Ddaniell
post Jan 25 2007, 09:46 PM

154 posts

wah mucklampir..so tough meh ur interview...wuts the company's name huh?
Ddaniell
post Jul 3 2007, 10:16 PM

154 posts

i got an offer from O&G company based in KL...name Aker Kvaerner..
position = structural engineer and definitely work in office only
salary = 2.0 k - 2.2 k (freshie)

just want to know,how much pay can i get if i just work in office doing design over the years...and how far my career can grow?

can i get rm 5.0 k at my age 28? and izzit boring work in office?

currently i am working in construction company related to civil with salary 1.8k...so, should i accept or reject the offer??

can give me the benefit if i work in this company as structural engineer. the future benefit?

plz help me...ASAP!

This post has been edited by Ddaniell: Jul 3 2007, 10:19 PM
Ddaniell
post Mar 23 2008, 12:50 AM

154 posts

for fresh...i would like to suggest go to consultant or fabricator....dont go to client such as petronas or shell....because u will not learning the basic engineering.

get experience 1st with consultant and fabricator...and u build ur base...and identify ur interest in oil n gas...

if u have experience both in fabricator and consultant...ur salary will be high....very high....after u bored with engineering design...then u can jump to client such as shell..talisman...or petronas..

just my 2cents..
Ddaniell
post Mar 27 2008, 10:11 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(karmakid @ Mar 27 2008, 06:13 PM)
do u know any job agency out there who can help to find similar job hunt ah?
yup....i will give it to u...i left the business card at my office...
Ddaniell
post Aug 18 2008, 11:44 AM

154 posts

MMHE have raise their staff salary..

from rm2000++ they increase it to rm3000...backdated from april!

last time many ppl who work in MMHE not satisfied with their salary because MMHE give the lowest salary compare to other fabricator. but then, all staf they should be happy and smile because their salary have been increase...
(information : frens)

for ur information...aker kvaerner has change their name to aker solutions...check out their website.

any news about oil n gas...pls share with us...thanx!

Ddaniell
post Aug 18 2008, 03:05 PM

154 posts

yerp...i heard aker now dont have any future project..and no OT!
thats y ppl jump to other company...
for me..yeah..i will jump...i have to wait...gain more experience..give me some time...maybe another 1 year..then i jump..

and for u comat...do u want to jump?S**? eheh

FYI,
ramunia is a great company...but lately their management and financial got problem.

Ddaniell
post Aug 18 2008, 03:26 PM

154 posts

i hope all o&G services company will revise their salary...otherwise...i have to do part time business.huhu

Ddaniell
post Sep 13 2008, 03:02 PM

154 posts

yeah..i heard too...

now many companies come to south east asia...like malaysia..to setup company...maybe they want to explore new deep water reservoir...

for me...next year....i will jump...wait for the increment 1st and the bonus..huhu
Ddaniell
post Sep 18 2008, 03:10 PM

154 posts

did anyone know and have experience about these 2 companies, SBM and Bluewater..

how the work environment there? and the benefits?
Ddaniell
post Sep 18 2008, 10:02 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(sk_lim_taurus @ Sep 18 2008, 06:08 PM)
SBM, Single Buoy Monitor.. I did experience dealing with them last time... emm... the rate is consider average only. if you are fresh or junior, you can gain your experience there. what position that you are applying?

sorry, only heard Bluewater but never deal with them. biggrin.gif
im considering to apply there (SBM)...bcause i heard they can increase current salary up to 70% just only 1year experience....so damn high...

about bluewater...i heard...fresh graduate can get rm4k...is it true?

anyone? pls share...

Ddaniell
post Sep 20 2008, 03:45 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(comat @ Sep 19 2008, 08:34 AM)
SBM - SIngle Buoy Moooring
- consists of SBM Malaysia,Gusto MSC and SBM Offshore - SBM malaysia they is a engineering consultant mainly for the FPSO side.office in Plaza sentral,paywise quite good, so many Ex Ranhil Worley over there , no cubicle inside the office,they put 3 PC for each long table,and no OT.

Bluewater - Doing same like what SBM Malaysia do,both are competitor, office at Menara Citibank,
thanx...

they pay good? benefits?
Ddaniell
post Oct 12 2008, 12:38 AM

154 posts

oil n gas salary...should have adjustment every a year !

now...fresh can got high than experience worker... sigh !
Ddaniell
post Mar 26 2009, 02:35 PM

154 posts

yeah..hope so the economy will recover.
just get my increment, only 2% up..duh
Ddaniell
post Mar 29 2009, 11:31 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(comat @ Mar 27 2009, 12:36 PM)
But you got 13 months salary..so consider ok compare to other company.RWP already retrench 80 expat.
yeah..i heard too.
how about SBM?

Ddaniell
post Jun 22 2009, 01:08 PM

154 posts

hi all,
can anyone tell me what scope of work for field engineer.
i actually a structural engineer...have 2++ years experience in doing designing and analysis. office base.

any comment will be appreciate.thanks
Ddaniell
post Jun 22 2009, 04:43 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(zeusu @ Jun 22 2009, 01:25 PM)
Field engineer just means you go out to the job site i.e. drilling rig or production platform and carry out the work your company is hired to do.

So depending on what your company do, the job scope differs. Previous experience may or may not be applicable.
thanx.

Ddaniell
post Aug 25 2009, 11:23 PM

154 posts

Hi all,
is there anyone here have experience working with Technip Malaysia?
maybe could share some tips or how it looks like working environment in Technip.
I would appreciate any reply & comments from all of you.

TQ
Ddaniell
post May 24 2010, 02:24 PM

154 posts

Hi all,
if u already get offer from other big company, then suddenly your company counter offer with the same value of salary...how would u decide?

0.0246sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:47 AM