214 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

mat_joki
post Apr 1 2008, 05:28 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(wantutrifor5 @ Mar 30 2008, 01:12 PM)
who go to petronas interview yesterday?
Ermm...a lot of people came interview there...may be 1-2k...some of them 5 a.m already
in front MS Garden Kuantan Hotel...there 4 pre-sreening interview...

kevin1mil
post Apr 1 2008, 08:38 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 1 2008, 04:41 PM)
I felt it is quite difficult to get into the oil & gas industry, unless u know some one in the company. Send resume to a lot company yet no reply, sigh sigh
Well, I don't think it is hard if u have a good CGPA, they normally will called those first class scorer for an interview then can get through is another different story. As for my case, I am lucky that when i graduated last year is the time when the entire engineering market is blooming, so i got 2 offers from oil & gas companies. This year definitely need many forces in oil and gas industry with the high crude oil price with more than 100 USD per barrel.

I think client company like Petronas and Shell will review every applicant, they normally won't go for pointers just log in their website and do some personality test and they normally will call u for phone interview...

Just send out your resume, no harm trying. thumbup.gif

SUSkockroach
post Apr 1 2008, 10:05 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(kevin1mil @ Apr 1 2008, 08:38 PM)
Well, I don't think it is hard if u have a good CGPA, they normally will called those first class scorer for an interview then can get through is another different story.  As for my case, I am lucky that when i graduated last year is the time when the entire engineering market is blooming, so i got 2 offers from oil & gas companies. This year definitely need many forces in oil and gas industry with the high crude oil price with more than 100 USD per barrel.

I think client company like Petronas and Shell will review every applicant, they normally won't go for pointers just log in their website and do some personality test and they normally will call u for phone interview...

Just send out your resume, no harm trying.  thumbup.gif
I'm currently still first class, yet did not get any reply. Sigh. Do I need to send resume to them even though they don't have any opening or wat?
blasturanus
post Apr 1 2008, 11:43 PM

458 posts

i've been shortlisted for schlumberger 2nd interview .. my interview is 2moro..any last minute tips would be very much appreciated

will update soon
kevin1mil
post Apr 2 2008, 04:09 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 1 2008, 10:05 PM)
I'm currently still first class, yet did not get any reply. Sigh. Do I need to send resume to them even though they don't have any opening or wat?
For consultant they need opening but you can try send also. Send to RWP or Technip so far i know RWP got opening for graduate engineer.

As for shell, they recruit ppl whole year round so u can just send over to them anytime..
Shinichi
post Apr 2 2008, 08:16 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all,

May I know how is the prospect of being a business analyst in O&G industry?

And let say my current salary is 2k, will I get huge increment (>50%) if I join O&G company? Or just maybe 20-30% of my current salary?

allenultra
post Apr 2 2008, 08:30 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 2 2008, 08:16 AM)
Hi all,

May I know how is the prospect of being a business analyst in O&G industry?

And let say my current salary is 2k, will I get huge increment (>50%) if I join O&G company? Or just maybe 20-30% of my current salary?

O&G industry, if u have experience, you will get a lot payrise.
If you without any experience, don't dream too much.

For office based employee, usually those high earners are those "not young" people with several years of experience.
jimbet1337
post Apr 2 2008, 12:54 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(kevin1mil @ Mar 31 2008, 09:26 PM)
Well, seem like not many people aware that Civil/Structural Engineer can really work in Oil and Gas industry. Actually to work in oil and gas as structural engineers, you can become consultant, contractors, service engineers or working for client company.

For Consultant you can apply for,

Technip, Ranhill WorleyParsons, RNZ, MMC Oil Corp, Noble Denton, Germanischer Lloyd (Malaysia), APL, etc...

For Contractors (fabricating the structures),

Kencana HL, MMHE, Ramunia, Brooke Dock Yard, Sime Engineering Yard

For Service Engineers,

Aker Kvaerner, Single Buoy, J. RAY MCDERMOTT (normally prefer experienced engineer), Sapura Crest, etc...

For Client Engineer, you can apply for

Shell, Petronas, Talisman*, Murphy*, ExxonMobil* (* tend want experience structural engineer but can try)

For doing not related to structure, with high pay and long working hours, you can try to apply schlumberger.

There are more actually but this is what i can think of for now.

Btw I am structural engineer working in one of the consultant for less than a year (just graduated last year).
Just to add, Single Buoy Moorings (SBM) and Aker Kvaerner are consultants also. smile.gif
blasturanus
post Apr 2 2008, 02:13 PM

458 posts

2nd interview was hell.. it's exactly like the reality show, The Apprentice..minus the media coverage.

we were divided into groups of 6..8 groups total.. we were required to designed and built a platform structure that can withstand 8 golf balls using A4 paper and cellophane tapes.

than later we have to justify the design, and 3 judges just bombard us like there's no 2moro.. it's totally stressful, similar to their work env IF u were selected to join Schlumberger..
this evening is the result for shorlisted candidates. 3 interview will be conducted 2morofor those selected ones.. it'll be hell then!
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2008, 02:17 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Apr 2 2008, 02:13 PM)
2nd interview was hell.. it's exactly like the reality show, The Apprentice..minus the media coverage.

we were divided into groups of 6..8 groups total.. we were required to designed and built a platform structure that can withstand 8 golf balls using A4 paper and cellophane tapes.

than later we have to justify the design, and 3 judges just bombard us like there's no 2moro.. it's totally stressful, similar to their work env IF u were selected to join Schlumberger..
this evening is the result for shorlisted candidates. 3 interview will be conducted 2morofor those selected ones.. it'll be hell then!
ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
no pain no gain... too many engineers thanks to the degree factories we have in malaysia... so they need more screening to filter out the not so good ones
hunterorz
post Apr 2 2008, 03:01 PM

80 posts

my frens who attend the interview on 2006 and 2007 also hv the same test... seem lk they never change the procedure and question...

blasturanus
post Apr 2 2008, 05:15 PM

458 posts

IMO, Schlumberger recruitment team is the most tough, arrogant, ... i mean, they have every rights to do so since they are the number 1 highest paying service company in the world.
kevin1mil
post Apr 2 2008, 05:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Apr 2 2008, 05:15 PM)
IMO, Schlumberger recruitment team is the most tough, arrogant, ... i mean, they have every rights to do so since they are the number 1 highest paying service company in the world.
They do pay the highest in malaysia for fresh grad...
blasturanus
post Apr 2 2008, 06:00 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(kevin1mil @ Apr 2 2008, 05:47 PM)
They do pay the highest in malaysia for fresh grad...
Rm 5080 basic.. n 2nd round interview, i'm out.. rclxms.gif but i gained some really good experience , no doubt nod.gif
kevin1mil
post Apr 2 2008, 06:02 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Apr 2 2008, 06:00 PM)
Rm 5080 basic.. n 2nd round interview, i'm out.. rclxms.gif  but i gained some really good experience , no doubt nod.gif
ooo....nvm nvm if u still want to work in o & g industry there are many companies you can apply for.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2008, 07:44 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(blasturanus @ Apr 2 2008, 05:15 PM)
that's not true... you dont know how much those ppl in investment firms get paid... they might be one of the highest paying in msia though
allenultra
post Apr 2 2008, 08:30 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 2 2008, 07:44 PM)
that's not true... you dont know how much those ppl in investment firms get paid... they might be one of the highest paying in msia though
read again his word.

highest paying service company.

assume to be "oil n gas service company", I thought Baker Hughes pays betteR?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Apr 2 2008, 09:29 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Apr 2 2008, 08:30 PM)
read again his word.

highest paying service company.

assume to be "oil n gas service company", I thought Baker Hughes pays betteR?
yea... investment is counted as service too... unless he says engineering services... but u should see how much those servising NASA earns...

iDk
post Apr 2 2008, 10:07 PM

1,124 posts

ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
boy oh boy, it is consider normal and everyday routine to work in that kind of environment. So what i would say to those interview is very very normal and it is the first door to the company, their ppl will ask you all kind of questions, judge you from all kind of angle, and evaluate you from tip to toe. My suggestion to this kind of interview, only talk when you are 200% confirm you know what are you talking, doing and who you talking to, or else better just shut up and sit down. Do not try to lie to them, that's the worst case of all.

This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 2 2008, 10:28 PM
blasturanus
post Apr 2 2008, 11:00 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Apr 2 2008, 10:07 PM)
boy oh boy, it is consider normal and everyday routine to work in that kind of environment. So what i would say to those interview is very very normal and it is the first door to the company, their ppl will ask you all kind of questions, judge you from all kind of angle, and evaluate you from tip to toe. My suggestion to this kind of interview, only talk when you are 200% confirm you know what are you talking, doing and who you talking to, or else better just shut up and sit down. Do not try to lie to them, that's the worst case of all.
yupe.. u've to stand out from the rest during group projects too nod.gif

214 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:16 PM