214 Pages « < 192 193 194 195 196 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

mohd80
post Jun 23 2010, 11:32 AM

hi there

anybody knows bout sigur ros sdn bhd? is it a good place to start your career in in OnG?..my little bro recently got an offer as graduate trainee there..but currently he already has a job but not in OnG area...anyone can give advise?

thanx in advance!! rclxms.gif
AlexFancypants
post Jun 24 2010, 04:56 PM

17 posts

I just got an invitation to a briefing and interview session with Technip. It's for the Graduate Skill Enhancement Program in Piping Design, done together with SHRDC. Here is a link of a blog post, where I originally got the info from.

->Linkey

Any of you guys been to these interview or joined the program?

They said they would also be a test, what kind of questions should I expect?

How about currently employed candidates? To they prioritized on unemployed ones?

thanks in advance
skinnydude
post Jun 24 2010, 06:12 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(AlexFancypants @ Jun 24 2010, 04:56 PM)
I just got an invitation to a briefing and interview session with Technip. It's for the Graduate Skill Enhancement Program in Piping Design, done together with SHRDC. Here is a link of a blog post, where I originally got the info from.

->Linkey

Any of you guys been to these interview or joined the program?

They said they would also be a test, what kind of questions should I expect?

How about currently employed candidates? To they prioritized on unemployed ones?

thanks in advance
i also got the offer and i dont know what to expect.. good luck bro.. =) thumbup.gif
Lordraven
post Jun 25 2010, 02:11 AM

QUOTE(apis_jay @ Oct 4 2009, 09:58 AM)
Well, you can check http://www.fugro.com/careers for any vacancies... Which company you working right now?

I'm myself not very sure what the requirement for working with ROV (as I'm in survey division sad.gif ). If you got skills they required why not.
BTW, Fugro got new ROV division in Singapore.
Hi Mr Apis Jay,

May i know what is the basic salary for engineer at Fugro Geodetic....
Is there any benefit or extra allowance...
ipman76
post Jun 25 2010, 10:55 PM

hi, anyone heard of this company called Exheat? they provide heating and control solutions in oil and gas industry...any thoughts on this company?
mia_sara
post Jun 27 2010, 11:40 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(kiroshell @ Jun 25 2010, 07:13 PM)
Did you apply for the processing geophysics post?
What is your background? They tend to look for engineering / physics / mathematics grads. Would really help if you can expose yourself with signal processing, since seismic is all about signals.

CGGVeritas is actually gaining lots of good grounds recently, very strong competition with westerngeco (schlumberger). It's really a good company to work for, somemore based in KLCC. Anyway, to answer your question, why don't you try calling their HRD to enquire about your status? Who knows, last I check with a friend there, more than 200 is applying for a limited number of positions.

Good luck!
yup..i apply for processing geophysics post
my background is physic and my major is nuclear science

thanx for your advice..i'll try to find some info about signal processing
would i sound too desperate if i call them?
simple person
post Jun 28 2010, 04:57 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mia_sara @ Jun 27 2010, 11:40 AM)
yup..i apply for processing geophysics post
my background is physic and my major is nuclear science

thanx for your  advice..i'll try to find some info about  signal processing
would i sound too desperate if i call them?
no harm for calling.
it shows dat u really interested with this position.
bro, try ur best.
parys
post Jun 28 2010, 05:15 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jun 2 2010, 04:03 PM)
It's discipline dependent my friend. Market rate for freshies should be earning around decent RM300-400.

Again, it depends on your discipline.
nah...if petronas...only RM80/day for offshore..other contractors ranging RM110-150 for Field engineer..

freshie cant get 300-400/day...UNLESS, u are working with SLB/BH/HBRTN which they pay 1.5x(Basic) for u are offshore..something like that..not quite sure..

believe me..if u work offshore (for freshie) and got Rm300-400/day allowance..u are in a very damn rich company..dont QUIT.hahha biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 28, 2010, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 28 2010, 07:14 PM)
Hey really curious here,
since i see to get involve in OnG field mostly are all mechanical engineers,wanna know what about civil engineers?
if im a civil engineer,i really wanna whats the job prospective in OnG field.
cos i heard mostly civil engineers are all about build massive buildings and development.
hope to hear more.
u can go for Offshore geotechnical (soil investigation); structure installation engineer (field eng); structure engineer (design) ; environment engineer (very rare)....thats it..cheers.~

Added on June 28, 2010, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(terencechong86 @ May 29 2010, 11:17 PM)
hey guys, i've been offered a job from 3rd party supporting/services company. i'm wondering what is the future for working in such company? the company is small and new.
at the very least it can give u platform and intro to OnG business..so no loss if u r not working yet.

This post has been edited by parys: Jun 28 2010, 05:21 PM
mus123
post Jun 28 2010, 06:39 PM

does a manufacturing engineer get a job in oil and gas industry??
is it demanding??
kasutdidi
post Jun 28 2010, 11:32 PM

39 posts

i want to ask, can a gradute in mathematic jumps to engineering field? suddenly i find a great interest in OnG and interested to be part of it if can do so... biggrin.gif

if can, (IF) what type of position should i apply for?
Nemesis181188
post Jun 29 2010, 12:42 AM

635 posts

Hello people.I'm currently a fresh graduate searching for a job role hopefully in OnG companies.Apart from renown companies such as Shell, Bp etc what other companies are there and how are their basic salaries like?As for the major companies what are usually their requirements..

I would like to know roughly how are your experiences like..

Thanks so much
parys
post Jun 29 2010, 11:42 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(kasutdidi @ Jun 29 2010, 12:32 AM)
i want to ask, can a gradute in mathematic jumps to engineering field? suddenly i find a great interest in OnG and interested to be part of it if can do so...  biggrin.gif

i think u can read from upper reply la.... ade mention..

Added on June 29, 2010, 11:43 am
QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jun 29 2010, 01:42 AM)
Hello people.I'm currently a fresh graduate searching for a job role hopefully in OnG companies.Apart from renown companies such as Shell, Bp etc what other companies are there and how are their basic salaries like?As for the major companies what are usually their requirements..

I would like to know roughly how are your experiences like..

Thanks so much
1st and foremost... u should know there are Client, Contractor, Service Provider, Operator Company....do ur research and u will know which part of OnG suits u best. biggrin.gif

cheers thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by parys: Jun 29 2010, 11:43 AM
junah
post Jun 29 2010, 05:44 PM

hi all,
does anyone know about shell global solutions? How is it different from regular Shell ?

right now I am working in contractor as instrument engineer. but I wanna change my career since I am a girl and I don't see much future for a girl in instrument field. I like to work in oil and gas but prefer to work as consultant (dealing with study report and bla bla bla). Is Shell Global Solutions kind of the right place for that kind of work ?

thank you for the answer.
apis_jay
post Jun 29 2010, 05:58 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Lordraven @ Jun 25 2010, 02:11 AM)
Hi Mr Apis Jay,
May i know what is the basic salary for engineer at Fugro Geodetic....
Is there any benefit or extra allowance...
The basic salary maybe not the highest compared among competitors/other service companies. Like me only RM2k++. (Since I'm base in Malaysia sad.gif) Maybe the basic can be higher if you have experience working in offshore before. But total salary include allowance would be RM7-8k (if work in a full month).

Anyway, you will be entitled onshore/offshore allowance when working per day. If you still in probation, you get the lowest, USD30 (I think, forgot already). Since I'm in Grade II now, I will get USD70/day when offshore and USD 40/day when onshore. Other benefit like KWSP, SOS and others (can't remember. tongue.gif)
december88
post Jun 29 2010, 06:18 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(kasutdidi @ Jun 28 2010, 11:32 PM)
i want to ask, can a gradute in mathematic jumps to engineering field? suddenly i find a great interest in OnG and interested to be part of it if can do so...  biggrin.gif

For maths grad to go to engineering would depends on what assignment you get from the company, usually you will be assigned with the things that are related to what you know. But it is possible to jump to engineering if you have the opportunity.
I know geologists( good in maths) work as engineers as well ones they progress through the career ladder, and have proven that they can be and progress in an engineering role.
For maths grad, try to aim for reservoir modelling, heaps of maths especially geostats, and statistics involved in modelling.
luyut
post Jun 29 2010, 06:33 PM

178 posts

any rumor of good ong companies recruiting freshies?
kenzo lee simmons
post Jun 29 2010, 11:51 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(luyut @ Jun 29 2010, 06:33 PM)
any rumor of good ong companies recruiting freshies?
yerp. any news?? pls share. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Noyze
post Jul 2 2010, 11:05 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

LOADS of them are out there. Just jump in and join lor. But you must know one thing about the OnG community, we might be a huge industry but we are a small community, hence most ppl in OnG know each other before some got into it, in other words, go rub shoulders with some OnG ppl and get them to pull you in. hehehe
pandikar
post Jul 2 2010, 01:15 PM

229 posts

Could you pull me in, Noyze? hehe biggrin.gif
carloz28
post Jul 3 2010, 07:59 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

[quote=parys,Jun 28 2010, 05:15 PM]
nah...if petronas...only RM80/day for offshore..other contractors ranging RM110-150 for Field engineer..

freshie cant get 300-400/day...UNLESS, u are working with SLB/BH/HBRTN which they pay 1.5x(Basic) for u are offshore..something like that..not quite sure..

believe me..if u work offshore (for freshie) and got Rm300-400/day allowance..u are in a very damn rich company..dont QUIT.hahha biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Really? I suggest you do more market research first. Oil and Gas companies doesn't consist of SLB, BH and HBRTN only.

214 Pages « < 192 193 194 195 196 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:45 PM