Deadlifting, Go heavy or go home?

pleowcw
post Dec 27 2012, 06:06 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 27 2012, 05:44 PM)
For those doing above 100kg deadlifts, how's your grip?

raw+overhand?
raw+mixed?
gloves+overhand?
gloves+mixed?

my current sticking point is the grip. fingers are literally getting ripped off my hands.
bottle neck is grip strength for me too.
i wanna to develop strength proportionally, that's why i try to stick to overhand as much as possible. i got serious left/right strength imbalance btw.
no strap, i figure if my grip can't handle it, i have no biz pulling higher weight.
gloves doesn't help grip strength at all, nor reduce callous, worse still, sometimes it screws up the grip or path.
belt is sometimes necessarily to help u squeeze through the last 2 rep or so.
mikehuan
post Dec 27 2012, 06:52 PM

6,160 posts

raw+overhand?
raw+mixed?
gloves+overhand?
gloves+mixed?

my current sticking point is the grip. fingers are literally getting ripped off my hands.
If you are doing progressive overload your grip will always be your limitation.

Im doing raw overhand till 140 then switch to mixed. Occasionally ill try overhand for heavier, just to test if I could do it
whatdamn
post Dec 27 2012, 11:47 PM

347 posts

Mixed grip. Chalk added when testing maxes or heavy singles.

Nice to see more people deadlifting heavy.
sickboy
post Dec 27 2012, 11:54 PM

473 posts

Is my DL routine correct?

After reps set ( 2 sets normally) of warm up, I go pyramid up with singles only. And I started mixed grip at beginning of my singles.

My main goal is Back development > strength

This post has been edited by sickboy: Dec 27 2012, 11:55 PM
pleowcw
post Dec 28 2012, 12:28 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Dec 27 2012, 11:54 PM)

After reps set ( 2 sets normally) of warm up, I go pyramid up with singles only. And I started mixed grip at beginning of my singles.

hi sickboy,
i think ok one. as long as, (1) u warm up properly, and (2) u pull heavy enough, too light tak ada rasa...
i am deadlifting every workout now just to get back to near my previous number.
eventually gotta cut it down to maybe just once a week or once every two weeks,
because lower back muscle just isn't recovering fast enough.

weighted chin/pull up is good for overall back though.
mikehuan
post Dec 28 2012, 02:48 AM

6,160 posts

Nothing wrong with it i suppose but i have always felt that singles should be done only when testing maxes. I usually do triples or doubles leading to a single pr attempt.

If not testing maxes i bump it up to 5ish reps. Personally feel singles that is not your max isnt giving any benefit doing it.

To each their own i guess. If back development is your priority i would recommend bumping ip your reps to 5 or 6 reps per set
whatdamn
post Dec 28 2012, 08:45 AM

347 posts

i agree with mike in that if you're doing singles, you should be pulling at around the 90-95% of your 1RM.

for back development, you might want to consider including some bent over barbell rows and lat pull downs on top of your deadlift to get a thicker upper back.
sickboy
post Dec 28 2012, 11:58 PM

473 posts

Many thanks guys~ Yes Im doing the pyramid singles around my max of range. That's why I start mixed grip from there on.

Currently putting DL (sometimes some hypers, I'm yet to try on Good morning) with hamstring exercises on one day and I enjoy it. All the other back exercises on another day, take away the taxes from DL.

Quad workout on another day of its own.
joeblows
post Dec 29 2012, 06:02 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(pleowcw @ Dec 27 2012, 11:16 AM)
no, not super easy. but achievable for most of us, and fun as hell.

i just start going back to gym on dec 5. yesterday was my 10th session & i did 130kgx2x5. currently a bit out of shape @ 80kg, adding up weight progressively. up 5kg 3 times a week.
my old record back in 09 was 190kgx3x5 @ 70kg. just when i was about to hit 3x, alas, real life kacau and i got posted oversea and stop lifting weight.  vmad.gif (70kg is my lean weight with around 14% bf, i am short at 5"6')
remembering back those days in 09 was fun. i have a gym buddy who was like 6"2' or something like that, >100kg, who easily out-deadlifted me 50kg or more, always taunting me, calling me *****, making me furious as hell. but fostering up the competitive spirit.

i deadlift raw, no strap, only mix-grip or belt when i feel weak, regular stance. i do have a pair of sturdy weightlifting shoes though, not those regular nike, that helps.
I want to see those 190kg x3 pulls.

At 5"6 70kg 14%, your lean mass is not that great (no offense). I am 5"7 75kg at worst 13-14% as well and I would be hard pressed to do 190kgx3. 190kg is more than 4 plates each side and not many people can do that with good form in KL.
mikehuan
post Dec 29 2012, 07:31 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(joeblows @ Dec 29 2012, 06:02 PM)

At 5"6 70kg 14%, your lean mass is not that great (no offense). I am 5"7 75kg at worst 13-14% as well and I would be hard pressed to do 190kgx3. 190kg is more than 4 plates each side and not many people can do that with good form in KL.
Lean muscle mass isnt a good scale for strength. I would like to see the pulls to but your premise to deduce his strength by his lbm is wrong.

alien9
post Dec 29 2012, 08:02 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 29 2012, 07:31 PM)
Lean muscle mass isnt a good scale for strength. I would like to see the pulls to but your premise to deduce his strength by his lbm is wrong.
I would agree with mikehuan here. Lean body mass is not equal to strength, at least to a certain degree. Most people seems to think that big muscle = big poundage.
janson_kaniaz
post Dec 29 2012, 08:26 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Dec 29 2012, 08:02 PM)
I would agree with mikehuan here. Lean body mass is not equal to strength, at least to a certain degree. Most people seems to think that big muscle = big poundage.
IMO

big muscle = big poundages
small muscle doesn't mean small poundages.
xelrix
post Dec 29 2012, 09:14 PM

419 posts

better cns/muscle recruitment thingie = bigger strength (means his body use his musclefibers more efficiently)
bigger muscle mass = bigger strength potential (means if he trains that particular exercise/movement more, he could go higher)

cns = car acceleration
muscle mass = top speed
joeblows
post Dec 30 2012, 02:02 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 29 2012, 07:31 PM)
Well, technically we are both correct.

While I agree with you that lean muscle mass is not a good scale for strength in most csses we are talking about close to 3x bodyweight here.

At that end of the scale , I do insist that "the little things" including lbm, and grip type (overhand or mixed) do start to matter a fair bit.
bkfeng89
post Dec 30 2012, 01:47 PM

695 posts

raw+overhand?
raw+mixed?
gloves+overhand?
gloves+mixed?

I always go with a mixed grip.

Currently my work sets are 3-3-3-3-3 reps, pyramid upwards.
Coming back to deadlifting after a long hiatus, manage to hit 105kg. A movement to make you hate life.
mikehuan
post Dec 30 2012, 04:07 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(xelrix @ Dec 29 2012, 09:14 PM)
better cns/muscle recruitment thingie = bigger strength (means his body use his musclefibers more efficiently)
bigger muscle mass = bigger strength potential (means if he trains that particular exercise/movement more, he could go higher)

cns = car acceleration
muscle mass = top speed
CNS would more loosely be likened to your gear transmission, imo.

QUOTE(joeblows @ Dec 30 2012, 02:02 AM)
Well, technically we are both correct.

While I agree with you that lean muscle mass is not a good scale for strength in most csses we are talking about close to 3x bodyweight here.

At that end of the scale , I do insist that "the little things" including lbm, and grip type (overhand or mixed) do start to matter a fair bit.
i guess. but however rare they may be. some people do extraordinary things everyday. even if we dont see them dont mean they didnt do it. 3xBW for me is elite level. Would love to see anyone here do it.

pulled 170kg for a single yest though lol. Looks like strength didnt leave me yet tongue.gif. initially planned for 165kg but pulled that with no problems so i went for another set. gonna be a pr attempt next week.
pleowcw
post Dec 31 2012, 03:15 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 27 2012, 02:46 PM)
Dont suppose yu got any vIDs?
QUOTE(pleowcw @ Dec 27 2012, 03:39 PM)
no at the moment, i will try to video it next monday @ 305 lbs hopefully.
hi hi hi, happy new year!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Q6-HiurriE&feature=youtu.be

note:
1. dec 31, 2012, ~ 11.45am, 12th workout session, slightly later than usual.
2. form jalan a bit hoh, i know i know. not use to getting video, should have taken more time to reset properly between rep. nevermind, there is always the next workout.
3. sorry, was 295 lbs, not 305 lbs as previously written. busted last friday's dl workout. instead of 2x5, did something like 6 singles. so weight stayed the same.
4. lower back fatigue is still there. on high sight, should had taken a more gradual incremental increase instead of those 20 lbs jump per session earlier on. now got no choice by to cut down the frequency and number of set.

QUOTE(joeblows @ Dec 29 2012, 06:02 PM)
sure bro, my pleasure. but you gotta wait a while though. even by optimistic projection, it will be sometimes in march or april. cny, planned vacation, inevitable reset and what not.

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 30 2012, 04:07 PM)
pulled 170kg for a single yest though lol. Looks like strength didnt leave me yet tongue.gif. initially planned for 165kg but pulled that with no problems so i went for another set. gonna be a pr attempt next week.
Congratulation bro!

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 30 2012, 04:07 PM)
...3xBW for me is elite level. Would love to see anyone here do it.
if i may kepuchi a little, may i know ur height and weight? because upon further thinking, ya, i forget that usually taller, bigger people have lower multiples. having said that, i still think it is doable for most regular people, or at least can put that down as a target in ur new year resolution loh ho?

if i may also say so, get a proper weightlifting shoe loh. a little bit of elevated hard heel really helps. http://www.roguefitness.com/rogue-weightlifting-shoes.php

lastly, just to share two youtube clips with u guys which i enjoyed very much. these people are damn hardcore! do it until u faint! do it until u puke!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdkN6JszCMk]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE09LkzoRpg]

This post has been edited by pleowcw: Dec 31 2012, 03:17 PM

mikehuan
post Dec 31 2012, 04:42 PM

6,160 posts

176cm, 74ish kg.

yeah i agree, shorter people deadlift easier, lol.

i deadlift barefoot, never seem to need a hard sole shoe, at least for the moment

edit: saw your vid. nice! never thought of changing grips midway thru the set. might try that.

This post has been edited by mikehuan: Dec 31 2012, 04:45 PM
ascension
post Jan 2 2013, 10:47 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Dec 27 2012, 06:52 PM)
If you are doing progressive overload your grip will always be your limitation.

Im doing raw overhand till 140 then switch to mixed. Occasionally ill try overhand for heavier, just to test if I could do it
Did you do any grip training? Need some advise on deadlifts as my overhand grip gives way when i do anything above 100kg, have to do mixed grip for work weight. Feels so weird though.
alien9
post Jan 2 2013, 10:52 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ascension @ Jan 2 2013, 10:47 AM)
Did you do any grip training? Need some advise on deadlifts as my overhand grip gives way when i do anything above 100kg, have to do mixed grip for work weight. Feels so weird though.
You have to or you need to use straps to deadlift. Almost all raw deadlifter have huge forearm because they need the grip strength. Farmers walk, using fat-gripz or any grip exercises should help you deadlift better without using straps.

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0311sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:04 AM