119 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

kweng84
post Dec 27 2006, 02:25 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 20 2006, 09:21 AM)
Now that i've removed the kucing from my exhaust, i plan to install a 4-2-1 exhaust header in the future. The question is, do i need to change the whole piping to complement the new header?
It is not compulsory. Changing the whole piping to a bigger inlet size will smoothen ur ride in high ends. But, it also depends to the end muffler u r using. If u r using straight flow, it is recommended to change ur piping size as well.
shinjite
post Dec 27 2006, 03:47 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 20 2006, 09:21 AM)
Now that i've removed the kucing from my exhaust, i plan to install a 4-2-1 exhaust header in the future. The question is, do i need to change the whole piping to complement the new header?
not really necessary, but it is better to do so
But beware of your FC, sometimes it helps sometimes it doens't~~
thom_chai
post Dec 27 2006, 11:05 PM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 27 2006, 03:47 PM)
not really necessary, but it is better to do so
But beware of your FC, sometimes it helps sometimes it doens't~~
You mean by changing the header or the piping that might affects the fc? The header that i wanted is the one from powerzone smile.gif
whatdamn
post Dec 28 2006, 10:56 PM

347 posts

thom_chai,
the only reason you fuel consumption might increase is because you think you feel the power, so you keep a wide open throttle (WOT).

the feel is minimal and will leave you wanting more power.
kweng84
post Dec 29 2006, 07:22 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 27 2006, 11:05 PM)
You mean by changing the header or the piping that might affects the fc? The header that i wanted is the one from powerzone smile.gif
nah.. i dont think he means that..but headers depend on individuals. Everyone's driving style isn't the same, u might wanna rev until 3krpm and shifts...but some will like to revv till 6krpm and shifts...So, the power needed at different rpm band needs different header designs.
shinjite
post Dec 30 2006, 02:27 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Dec 27 2006, 11:05 PM)
What I mean is by the piping, header its okay
kweng84
post Jan 24 2007, 11:45 AM

205 posts

Piping won't really affect your FC if you mod the piping to bigger size but remain in the correct range of inlet size. Try not getting sizes which is not suitable and my opinion would be changing to +15% would be the best. However, if you've modded the system to TOTAL straight flow, then, i would think it is compulsory for you to go for bigger piping but not too big like i have mentioned, this is to increase your HP or top speed. Like wise, if you're on SFLOW setup(swirling bullet/sflow muffler/4-1 extractor), i would say NO to piping size increment. Just my 2 cents afterall biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kweng84: Jan 24 2007, 11:47 AM
PonG
post Jan 24 2007, 03:34 PM

102 posts

what is the best setup for kancil 660?

If change 3-1 extractor have any effect?
kweng84
post Jan 27 2007, 08:41 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(PonG @ Jan 24 2007, 03:34 PM)
what is the best setup for kancil 660?

If change 3-1 extractor have any effect?
Bro, stock design is already 3-1. However, changing to a bigger inlet one will help in better pick up power.
lonewolf
post Feb 13 2007, 03:47 PM

3,945 posts

i have a question...

presume i have 2 sets of 4-1 extrac..

but the join for the 4 pipe is at a diffrent position..

one is nearer to the engine...one is further...

so what;s the difference in performance gain?
TSsoulfly
post Feb 16 2007, 03:19 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

the further will give better midrange power
sledgehammer
post Feb 24 2007, 10:33 AM

664 posts

wanna ask the sifu all here.... smile.gif

for simple mod like a forumer here selling in automotive garage, the Mini Turbo, i understand that it actually provides auxilary intake for the engine.... but the auxilary intake actually bypass the maf or map sensors....

all cars come from manufacturer is tuned to run richer a little bit to prolong the engine life....
thus this gadget shd cause the engine to run a little leaner than stock....

so theoretically if the air fuel mixture is slightly leaner than stock after using mini turbo, will it cause any problem?

or the AF ratio will be more perfect (close to 14:1) after using this gadget? (since stock setting is always running richer than usual)
steamboat
post Feb 25 2007, 04:34 PM

232 posts

wan to ask... drop-in or open pod filter better for an auto car?
VarioCam
post Feb 26 2007, 05:29 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 14 2006, 03:01 PM)

6. Catalytic converter...to remove or not?
It depends. Cat converters are the biggest restriction to the exhaust gas flow. Removing it will definitely release some more power, but it is bad for environment. If your engine is badly tuned or always running rich, I suggest that just leave them on. Cat converters do not contribute anything to exhaust noise.
soulfly,

does that mean if my fueling will be a lot more richer if i remove the cat?
i thought it's gonna be tad leaner due to more airflow meh? rclxub.gif

sledgehammer
post Feb 26 2007, 07:21 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(VarioCam @ Feb 26 2007, 05:29 PM)
soulfly,

does that mean if my fueling will be a lot more richer if i remove the cat?
i thought it's gonna be tad leaner due to more airflow meh?  rclxub.gif
if i am not mistaken, engine which run rich or badly tune will lead to black smoke emission.... thus the cat will actually reduce the pollution via its chemical reaction...

pls correct me if i am wrong coz i am still newbie in cars.. notworthy.gif
TSsoulfly
post Feb 26 2007, 08:57 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

the CAT's purpose is to reduce emission

it does not affect fuel consumption by itself. most probably it'll be just driver's foot behaviour.

but theoretically more power = more fuel
icyd
post Feb 26 2007, 09:24 PM

727 posts

to sifu's here..after more reading,i found myself to be more confused abt this exhaust mod thing.but the idea i have in mind is restrictive=more torque,less top speed, free flow=more top speed,less torque.is this correct?can we use this as general rule of thumb? so,does it mean removing cat con is reduce restriction thus only increase power in high rpm?

im getting even more confused when some shop i asked,if want pickup,reduce restriction,go for straight flow muffler.
tunertoobe
post Feb 26 2007, 10:01 PM

9,309 posts

It's not about the exhaust being restrictive. This is a common mistake among people, back pressure doesnt contribute into producing more torque.

Actually, smaller exhausts leads to a faster exhaust gas speed(Bernoulli principle). When the exhaust is traveling out, it leaves a pocket of vacuum behind it. This pocket of vacuum makes it easier for the next pulse of exhaust gas to go out(less restriction). But this only works if the gases are in pulses(like in lo revs). As the gas moves out in a stream(higher revs), its useless so bigger exhausts produce more power.
Just as an example, have you ever thought why exhaust pipes of a bus is small?

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 26 2007, 10:04 PM
icyd
post Feb 26 2007, 10:23 PM

727 posts

oic..good xplanation there.so what happen when the pipe too small?there'll be even more torque then,like the case of bus exhaust.so whenever theres increment of pipe diameter,some amount of torque will disappear,or shifted to higher rpm,straight flow or s-flow doesnt matter.correct me if im wrong
tunertoobe
post Feb 26 2007, 10:50 PM

9,309 posts

I'm not sure what happens if the pipe is too small.
I'm not sure the physics behind a straight flow exhaust, but I think it's something about making sure the input and output pressure difference minimal. When the exhaust gas goes through a bend, the gases slow down and the exhaust behind it piles up, making it more restrictive.

Not sure if my explanation is accurate as I am not a tuner, need sifus to explain. tongue.gif

119 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:33 PM