7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

100k car reccomendation..PLS HELP!

post Sep 5 2012, 10:10 PM

1,549 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 5 2012, 05:59 PM)
Forte K3 releasing in Korea around end of year or by early next year according to my uncle working in Seoul.

Thus, as usual..would be reaching our shores by end of 2013 or 2014...since i urgently need a new car by this month, Forte still a viable option. but nonetheless, will test drive the inspira and fiesta this saturday.

The Forte, my colleague got one and drove around just now during lunch...like the feeling of the interior for its price and the updated GPS touch screen, with the free bodykit some more..looks like an impressive deal

haish, maybe it's just bad timing for me to buy a new car..if buy forte now, 2014 new model comes out here..if i wana sell in 4-5 years, i wonder what's the value to trade-in..if around 40k still acceptable, but got feeling around 20k..can anyone predict? i doubt but pls do if u know some info
Haha......4-5 years later nobody can predict lah....but maybe base on data below...u can predict by yourself... biggrin.gif

2011 model

model MV Current Selling Price
naza Forte 1.6sx - 71k 85.8k
Altis 1.6 - 90k 106.6k
Civic 1.8 S-L - 99k 116k
Mazda 3 SDN - 83k 101.3k

City S - 68k 86k
Vios G - 74k 87.3k or 89.6k
Ford Fiesta 1.6 Sdn - 64k 83.3k

All MV is from Allianz insurance

http://www.autoclaims.com.my/agv1/home.php

rclxms.gif
yzlum
post Sep 5 2012, 10:18 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Sep 5 2012, 03:59 PM)
For me... i have same dillemma like you too. But in the end i choose PC after test drive tons of cars.

With your budget. You can get more than 10 types of car and depends what you want and need in the end. I recommend test drive all the car and choose one which fits u best.

In my opinion, if you can wait that is,, Prius C is a good choice as 100% not made in Malaysia and rank high in safety feature as one of the VSC with 7 Airbag. Credit also go to Elantra for this tech. google it up and u see how safe it is with VSC system in place.

Not only that PC is the best in MPG as it can go 51 MPG in city driving as you drive in city. Test drive it first. I can safety say its more powerful than Vios and good at FC + safety feature.

Downside its small, so if you use it for second car and you dont mind small car. I think its a good car to drive around town as easy to park as well.

But then it all down to your preference. Ford Fiesta is not bad as well . With Kia K3 arriving soon. If you can wait , maybe test drive it and maybe you like it more. ^^ .
Yaya agree with this !! ^^ Just booked my Prius C !!
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 5 2012, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(yzlum @ Sep 5 2012, 10:18 PM)
Yaya agree with this !! ^^ Just booked my Prius C !!
Congrats yzlum! Hope you'll enjoy ur new car rclxms.gif

yzlum
post Sep 6 2012, 12:25 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 5 2012, 10:28 PM)
Congrats yzlum! Hope you'll enjoy ur new car  rclxms.gif
Haha thanks thanks.. but still gotta wait super long.. till next year feb only can receive car lol..
cybermaster98
post Sep 6 2012, 08:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ Sep 5 2012, 07:06 PM)
I think forte 2.0 FC not bad compared to my vios.
I personally own a forte2.0 and my FC is around 7.3l/100km.
Around 80% hiway and 20% city.
Rm 50 Ron95 can go for 330 - 350km.
My ex car vios rm50 can go for around 380km.

I think not bad rite thumbup.gif

Btw, I think safety features in forte 2.0 is the best among all the cars that u mentioned rite hmm.gif
Pls correct me if I m wrong. smile.gif
Always use L/100km for any discussions regarding fuel consumption. Its really pointless using money.

Fuel consumption is really more influenced by the way you drive. You can have the best power to weight ratio and still rake up high fuel bills just by driving un-economically. Thats why i think this discussion on fuel consumption is actually quite redundant.

There are some Kia Optima K5 owners which have achieved a range of 905km with 63L of fuel driving at 110kmph on 100% highway. That's about 7L/100km which is quite good since the K5 is a heavy car and considered underpowered. But there are others who get far less economical readings.

On my previous Vios, ive achieved 6.7L/100km on 100% highway at about 120kmph and 7.5L/100km in 100% city driving. But ive also obtained far less economical readings during hard driving.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 6 2012, 08:56 AM
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 11:04 AM

Good morning my fellow helpful forumers,

I met up with a friend yesterday who studied automotive engineering and worked with Mazda, VW, Honda and Toyota. He was giving me a suggestion of getting a pre-reg Polo Sport for under 100k..I'm willing to fork out RM10k downpayment, so my loan for the Polo would probably b around 80-90k..but interest rate could be from 2.5% to 3.5%..

He still has friends at VW and knows a few of the sales ppl there too..currently scouting for the Polo Sport for me..also he was sayin 'If you get a pre-reg Polo S, in few years time if you want to change to a Golf, it's easier to trade in since your a VW customer already'

Anyways, what do you guys think?
cokelatpanda
post Sep 6 2012, 11:12 AM

292 posts

Polo sport, you mean polo tsi ka. Do you think you prepared to bela a conti. If yes, why not, for a nice ride.
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 11:17 AM

yea, the Polo 1.2 TSi, depends if my friend can scout for me a pre-reg one..he sed should be around RM90k..so if i put 10k downpayment, so loan around 80k, just that the interest rate would b higher since its pre-reg unit
cybermaster98
post Sep 6 2012, 11:45 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 11:17 AM)
yea, the Polo 1.2 TSi, depends if my friend can scout for me a pre-reg one..he sed should be around RM90k..so if i put 10k downpayment, so loan around 80k, just that the interest rate would b higher since its pre-reg unit
Dont forget that a Conti is a totally different ballgame. Its not just the purchase price which you need to take into consideration.
SUSxeda
post Sep 6 2012, 11:46 AM

740 posts

QUOTE(cokelatpanda @ Sep 6 2012, 11:12 AM)
Polo sport, you mean polo tsi ka. Do you think you prepared to bela a conti. If yes, why not, for a nice ride.
QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 11:17 AM)
Listen to Cokelat. There's a lot of other things to consider when buying a car instead of just the car's price.

Main concern would be maintenance. Cost to service, cost to replace wear and tear part, cost to fix something in case you get into an accident, etc.

Conti maintenance will not be cheap. I don't think you can afford it, or more accurately, I don't think you would want to afford it.
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 12:14 PM

That's very true, really appreciate you guys pointing out on this..Polo service interval around 15k KM and cost around RM500-600. Road tax is cheap but anyone know abt the insurance for the Polo S TSi?

But still I'm goin to discuss with my parents n close friends abt this too..bcuz now what I'm worried abt the Forte is the resale value since the new one is out soon...even i just saw Fiesta spyshots of the next gen model... sad.gif
ferrari38
post Sep 6 2012, 12:36 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 6 2012, 08:54 AM)
Always use L/100km for any discussions regarding fuel consumption. Its really pointless using money.

Fuel consumption is really more influenced by the way you drive. You can have the best power to weight ratio and still rake up high fuel bills just by driving un-economically. Thats why i think this discussion on fuel consumption is actually quite redundant.

There are some Kia Optima K5 owners which have achieved a range of 905km with 63L of fuel driving at 110kmph on 100% highway. That's about 7L/100km which is quite good since the K5 is a heavy car and considered underpowered. But there are others who get far less economical readings.

On my previous Vios, ive achieved 6.7L/100km on 100% highway at about 120kmph and 7.5L/100km in 100% city driving. But ive also obtained far less economical readings during hard driving.
I already mentioned 7.3l/100km wo...
Didn't u saw it? blink.gif
As long as we compared based on same price of RON and routes, I don't see got any pointless or unfair wo shakehead.gif
MR_alien
post Sep 6 2012, 12:45 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:14 PM)
That's very true, really appreciate you guys pointing out on this..Polo service interval around 15k KM and cost around RM500-600. Road tax is cheap but anyone know abt the insurance for the Polo S TSi?

But still I'm goin to discuss with my parents n close friends abt this too..bcuz now what I'm worried abt the Forte is the resale value since the new one is out soon...even i just saw Fiesta spyshots of the next gen model...  sad.gif
if u want a good car that is good in everyway, u dn't care so much abt resale value
if u car sooo much abt resale value....thn u should have go for vios...superior resale value but crappy spec
bennedict82
post Sep 6 2012, 01:16 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:14 PM)

But still I'm goin to discuss with my parents n close friends abt this too..bcuz now what I'm worried abt the Forte is the resale value since the new one is out soon...even i just saw Fiesta spyshots of the next gen model...  sad.gif
When you want to resell your car? If next 2 - 3 yrs, then dont get Forte. But if you thinking to keep car for 5-6 yrs, I think now if you get any car also will be the same. Because all car model will be renewed every 3-5 yrs. Keep in mind if you get VIOS today, next 2-3 yrs will have new model and still the price will be dropped.

Forte is cheap and full of spec. Of course has some minor problem such as rattling dashboard. But worth to buy. You can wait for next 1 or 2 yrs for K3. But I dont think you will get 80k ++ price. That should at least in 95-100K price.

Same to other gadgets handphone or computer. You can wait forever but get nothing.

I agreed you cannot buy something almost obsolete. But Forte will not happen so soon. K3 will only come maybe next year or 2014. I guess.

Added on September 6, 2012, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 6 2012, 01:16 PM)
When you want to resell your car? If next 2 - 3 yrs, then dont get Forte. But if you thinking to keep car for 5-6 yrs, I think now if you get any car also will be the same. Because all car model will be renewed every 3-5 yrs. Keep in mind if you get VIOS today, next 2-3 yrs will have new model and still the price will be dropped.

Forte is cheap and full of spec. Of course has some minor problem such as rattling dashboard. But worth to buy. You can wait for next 1 or 2 yrs for K3. But I dont think you will get 80k ++ price. That should at least in 95-100K price.

Same to other gadgets handphone or computer. You can wait forever but get nothing.

I agreed you cannot buy something almost obsolete. But Forte will not happen so soon. K3 will only come maybe next year or 2014. I guess.
You cannot always wait for next gen one lah .... neverending .... The Forte got many discounts now .. because it will be replaced. You pay for what you get. You always pay more for new gen. smile.gif

Same for mobile phone....

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Sep 6 2012, 01:18 PM
alg7_munif
post Sep 6 2012, 01:32 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 6 2012, 08:54 AM)

What is it pointless using money when discussing fuel consumption? Is it because you don't know how to calculate? Afterall, it is pointless talking about fuel consumption if you don't know how much money will be saved by using a more fuel efficient car.

Rm 50 Ron95 can go for 330 - 350km.

RM50 / RM1.90/L = 26.3 L
26.3L / 330km * 100 = 7.97 L/100km
100/7.97 = 12.5 km/L

TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 01:46 PM

haish, got so many points here that are very true..mayb should just wait till new year and see any new models coming...save more money for downpayment, so lower loan.
MR_alien
post Sep 6 2012, 03:54 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 01:46 PM)
haish, got so many points here that are very true..mayb should just wait till new year and see any new models coming...save more money for downpayment, so lower loan.
if u keep like that, thn next year thn next year again
thn u end up didn't buy a car becuz every year out new car
Area51SE
post Sep 6 2012, 04:20 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 6 2012, 01:16 PM)

Added on September 6, 2012, 1:18 pm
You cannot always wait for next gen one lah .... neverending .... The Forte got many discounts now .. because it will be replaced. You pay for what you get. You always pay more for new gen. smile.gif

Same for mobile phone....
The Vios is due to be replaced ady . Based on UMW, they already mentioned that they will be bringing in the New Vios next year 2013
FollowMeRogerThat
post Sep 6 2012, 05:05 PM

236 posts

If can wait then won't hurt to get 2013 model regardless of which car, research again by then, if not headache for no reason now

I will go for honda crz if you up your budget

If not just go have a look and test drive all your choices now, you should have your answer by then, keep reading others opinion probably will get your nowhere

This post has been edited by FollowMeRogerThat: Sep 6 2012, 05:17 PM
zenix
post Sep 6 2012, 05:16 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 5 2012, 02:25 AM)
Hi guys,

I know its another pls help me decide kind of topic. But I'm lookin to buy a new car and would like sifus here opinions.
Currently i'm willing to pay up till RM1k for monthly..but I am as well considering the maintenance issues and fuel consumption, etc.

Do note, in terms of investment in property and future, I am quite secured. Thus my priority is my car as my working place is about 30km from my office(damansara) and I use the MEX highway a lot.

My top choices now are
1. Ford Fiesta XTR
2. Ford Ranger
3. Kia Forte 1.6 SX or 2.0
4. Hyundai Elantra
5. Honda City

Please advise and I'm open to any other suggestions or comments.
In addition, my current car the Naza Suria is having high mileage and in order to save it, the new car will by my daily driver and my Naza Suria will b used for driving around in short distances.
Thanks guys! Hope ppl can help me out
K5 thumbup.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0169sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:44 AM