100k car reccomendation..PLS HELP!

SUSxeda
post Sep 6 2012, 05:30 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:14 PM)
That's very true, really appreciate you guys pointing out on this..Polo service interval around 15k KM and cost around RM500-600. Road tax is cheap but anyone know abt the insurance for the Polo S TSi?

But still I'm goin to discuss with my parents n close friends abt this too..bcuz now what I'm worried abt the Forte is the resale value since the new one is out soon...even i just saw Fiesta spyshots of the next gen model...  sad.gif
Don't just consider the cost of normal service and normal maintenance. Normal service and normal maintenance for all new cars are around the same, since it's just changing lubricants and such.

The things you need to consider are the spare parts. I don't know about other cars, since I drive an Inspira, but part of buying a car, is that you would need to be willing to fork out money for the spare parts - Just in case.

Let's just talk about Inspira, since that's the only one I know. Sure, it's a good car, but I'm not going to sugar coat it, it's an expensive car to maintain.

Did you know Inspira's headlights cost 1.6k per side? Yes, PER SIDE. Motorized headlights from Mitsubishi, that's why they're so expensive. Break it, and you'll cry.

Inspira's CVT costs 27k, without labour. Our wipers cost 160+ to replace, instead of typical 50+ for original Bosch.

Inspira's Throttle Body is 3.5k, without labour. The only cheap part in Inspira, are the absorbers, 100+ each, because they're from Proton. The rest of the major parts are from Mitsubishi, making them expensive.

And that's just talking about Inspira. I'm not trying to say Inspira is a bad car, but I'm trying to make you understand that you need to cosnider a lot of things when buying a car. Sure, all these things would not need to be replaced every year, and chances are, you will never need to replace it, BUT, what if, you got into a bad accident? What if, you don't want to claim your insurance for repairing your car? What if, you have no choice but to replace all these parts with your own money?

I'm pretty sure Continental car's parts would be more expensive. Inspira is, just a proton, at the end of the day rolleyes.gif

Though I keep seeing Mitsubishi logo on my car's parts whistling.gif

Not here to discourage you from getting a car, but I'm here to show you the realistic view of owning a car. It's not just all fun and joy of driving in your brand new car, picking up girls.

zenix
post Sep 6 2012, 05:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

its a simple fact.
going from B to C segment the cost difference can be significant.
stinger82
post Sep 6 2012, 06:13 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Sep 6 2012, 05:30 PM)
Don't just consider the cost of normal service and normal maintenance. Normal service and normal maintenance for all new cars are around the same, since it's just changing lubricants and such.

The things you need to consider are the spare parts. I don't know about other cars, since I drive an Inspira, but part of buying a car, is that you would need to be willing to fork out money for the spare parts - Just in case.

Let's just talk about Inspira, since that's the only one I know. Sure, it's a good car, but I'm not going to sugar coat it, it's an expensive car to maintain.

Did you know Inspira's headlights cost 1.6k per side? Yes, PER SIDE. Motorized headlights from Mitsubishi, that's why they're so expensive. Break it, and you'll cry.

Inspira's CVT costs 27k, without labour. Our wipers cost 160+ to replace, instead of typical 50+ for original Bosch.

Inspira's Throttle Body is 3.5k, without labour. The only cheap part in Inspira, are the absorbers, 100+ each, because they're from Proton. The rest of the major parts are from Mitsubishi, making them expensive.

And that's just talking about Inspira. I'm not trying to say Inspira is a bad car, but I'm trying to make you understand that you need to cosnider a lot of things when buying a car. Sure, all these things would not need to be replaced every year, and chances are, you will never need to replace it, BUT, what if, you got into a bad accident? What if, you don't want to claim your insurance for repairing your car? What if, you have no choice but to replace all these parts with your own money?

I'm pretty sure Continental car's parts would be more expensive. Inspira is, just a proton, at the end of the day  rolleyes.gif

Though I keep seeing Mitsubishi logo on my car's parts  whistling.gif

Not here to discourage you from getting a car, but I'm here to show you the realistic view of owning a car. It's not just all fun and joy of driving in your brand new car, picking up girls.
perhaps u should buy the turbo car from them brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

azfamy
post Sep 6 2012, 06:17 PM

55 posts

Wah proton parts so cheap
SUSxeda
post Sep 6 2012, 06:32 PM

740 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Sep 6 2012, 06:13 PM)
perhaps u should buy the turbo car from them  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Hehe brows.gif
AHY20
post Sep 6 2012, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 5 2012, 02:25 AM)
Hi guys,

I know its another pls help me decide kind of topic. But I'm lookin to buy a new car and would like sifus here opinions.
Currently i'm willing to pay up till RM1k for monthly..but I am as well considering the maintenance issues and fuel consumption, etc.

Do note, in terms of investment in property and future, I am quite secured. Thus my priority is my car as my working place is about 30km from my office(damansara) and I use the MEX highway a lot.

My top choices now are
1. Ford Fiesta XTR
2. Ford Ranger
3. Kia Forte 1.6 SX or 2.0
4. Hyundai Elantra
5. Honda City

Please advise and I'm open to any other suggestions or comments.
In addition, my current car the Naza Suria is having high mileage and in order to save it, the new car will by my daily driver and my Naza Suria will b used for driving around in short distances.
Thanks guys! Hope ppl can help me out
Hi bro, pls consider peugeot 408 in your list, search for blue box for test drive first.

TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(AHY20 @ Sep 6 2012, 08:29 PM)
Hi bro, pls consider peugeot 408 in your list, search for blue box for test drive first.
Walao, pug 408 how much ady? haha i think around 120k or more right
MR_alien
post Sep 6 2012, 09:40 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Sep 6 2012, 05:30 PM)

its normal that the more expensive the car, the more expensive the parts is...its always has been like that
and the wiper, no need to change OEM, just buy bosch as long as its the same size, less than 100 for both here in LYN
and the CVT is normal price actually, and this is no matter what car u drive(cheap or expensive)
saga's CVT itself also cost 25k(almost same as inspira as well)
some parts are especially expensive cuz they dn't spoil so quickly or easily(u can use for 5 years and still is ok)
and the absorber isn't from proton la, proton dnt make absorber, most probably from kayaba(japanese company) = they mass produce, thats why its cheap
but parts are expensive but in maintainance, u save cuz it uses timing chain, u dn't need to change the timing belt and water pump every 80k KM

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Sep 6 2012, 09:41 PM
kadajawi
post Sep 6 2012, 10:02 PM

544 posts

Fiesta. The XTR (or sedan if you want to spend less on the same car... the normal hatch is not as good) is a safe car (important when you are on the road a lot), quite economic, it's young and hip.
stinger82
post Sep 6 2012, 10:26 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 6 2012, 09:40 PM)
its normal that the more expensive the car, the more expensive the parts is...its always has been like that
and the wiper, no need to change OEM, just buy bosch as long as its the same size, less than 100 for both here in LYN
and the CVT is normal price actually, and this is no matter what car u drive(cheap or expensive)
some parts are especially expensive cuz they dn't spoil so quickly or easily(u can use for 5 years and still is ok)
and the absorber isn't from proton la, proton dnt make absorber, most probably from kayaba(japanese company) = they mass produce, thats why its cheap
but parts are expensive but in maintainance, u save cuz it uses timing chain, u dn't need to change the timing belt and water pump every 80k KM
saga cvt is half price of the car?

lmao....laugh.gif
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 6 2012, 11:05 PM

http://paultan.org/2012/09/05/ford-fiesta-...#comment-807489

The new Fiesta unveiled...I wonder when it will reach here, expected to be released in Europe on 1st of January according to the article.
MR_alien
post Sep 6 2012, 11:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Sep 6 2012, 10:26 PM)
saga cvt is half price of the car?

lmao....laugh.gif
it is...u can go ask proton SC or just go saga club there and ask
the CVT GB is actually half price of the car but that is if u want to change it after it spoiled
but if its the unit that they install in mass production, of course cheaper than that
if not, how can they price a car at that price...not to mention haven't add engine

SUSxeda
post Sep 7 2012, 12:00 AM

740 posts

Thank you, captain obvious. You totally missed the point of my post. Its not about whether the parts are cheap or expensive, it's about the fact that these things needs to be taken into consideration when buying a car.

Don't need to try to be a smartass.
TSRudyZ07
post Sep 7 2012, 12:51 AM

Dnt fight fight lar...I'm sure he meant it in joking tone and manner, play along lor..anyways..if anyone like me considering a car..I guess either wait for new year or buy da latest city/polo/focus..bcuz mostly the rest of the popular choices like forte n fiesta r gna b face lifted..or go for the hybrid cars I guess..we r here I hope to help each other, not argue k..thnks guys
zweimmk
post Sep 7 2012, 07:14 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 7 2012, 12:51 AM)
Dnt fight fight lar...I'm sure he meant it in joking tone and manner, play along lor..anyways..if anyone like me considering a car..I guess either wait for new year or buy da latest city/polo/focus..bcuz mostly the rest of the popular choices like forte n fiesta r gna b face lifted..or go for the hybrid cars I guess..we r here I hope to help each other, not argue k..thnks guys
TS, how much money can you put down for down payment? So much easier to calculate based on what you can afford rather than throw a bunch of cars out there for you to select. Work it out based on how much down payment you can give and we'll be able to select a bunch of cars that's available to you within that 1k monthly installment you can make.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2012, 07:55 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Sep 6 2012, 01:32 PM)
What is it pointless using money when discussing fuel consumption? Is it because you don't know how to calculate? Afterall, it is pointless talking about fuel consumption if you don't know how much money will be saved by using a more fuel efficient car.

Rm 50 Ron95 can go for 330 - 350km.

RM50 / RM1.90/L = 26.3 L
26.3L / 330km * 100 = 7.97 L/100km
100/7.97 = 12.5 km/L
U just dont get it do you? If everybody does the calculations wouldnt it be easier to just discuss instead of doing our own calculations? And most ppl who quote price vs distance travelled are only ballpark figures. But once u take the trouble to calculate, then ure most likely gonna come out with something more accurate. If money vs distance is acceptable then why is that all our car motoring experts on Paultan, CBT, Autocar, etc all use L/100KM to compare? Its pointless using money cuz the cost of fuel can change at any time and if ure using that for comparison then u lose any point of future reference.

Get rid of that unnecessary sarcasm in your posts. We're here to discuss facts and provide info for TS to help make up his mind.
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2012, 08:12 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(RudyZ07 @ Sep 6 2012, 12:14 PM)
That's very true, really appreciate you guys pointing out on this..Polo service interval around 15k KM and cost around RM500-600. Road tax is cheap but anyone know abt the insurance for the Polo S TSi?

But still I'm goin to discuss with my parents n close friends abt this too..bcuz now what I'm worried abt the Forte is the resale value since the new one is out soon...even i just saw Fiesta spyshots of the next gen model...  sad.gif
Bro, dont bother too much about the published cost of servicing. If you check the periodic cost of servicing, almost all car manufacturers will show low figures because they are only considering the lubricants, filters, spark plugs and other minor stuff. This wont cost much.

The real cost comes when u need to replace parts thru wear & tear. I spent about RM 12K on UMW servicing and minor part replacements for my 2003 Vios until i sold it this year. And i didnt have any major part replacement except the shock absorbers which i did on my own outside. I was very lucky that all my major parts lasted this long maybe because it was the 1st gen Vios which many say was among the best built.

So a majority of that RM12K which i spent was on normal and major servicing. This isnt all that cheap if you ask me and this too for only a entry level Vios 1.5E. Costs have increased much more now as compared to back then and if you go with a Conti then be prepared to spend much more.
dares
post Sep 7 2012, 08:16 AM

834 posts

Saga's Punch CVT is RM12-13k not incl. installation, not >RM20k as previously believed smile.gif

This post has been edited by dares: Sep 7 2012, 08:16 AM
deric79k
post Sep 7 2012, 08:53 AM

1,551 posts

i still prefer toyota, my old altis 1.8g , already 10 years... still prefect , mileage is dam high , no ppl believe it , 445000 km
cybermaster98
post Sep 7 2012, 10:07 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Sep 7 2012, 08:53 AM)
i still prefer toyota, my old altis 1.8g , already 10 years... still prefect , mileage is dam high , no ppl believe it , 445000 km
WOW! shocking.gif

445,000 in 10 years only? That's like 44,500km a year. Yes u better stick to it cuz your resale value will be poor.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0242sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:41 AM